Now Showing - What We Watched - Page 269 - AVS | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 
post #8041 of 8065 Old 02-15-2015, 04:25 AM
AVS Special Member

Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 83 Post(s)
Liked: 90
Watched Gone Girl
3.8/5 (amazon 3.8/5, imdb 8.2/10, rotten tomatoes 88%, AVS Ralph Potts: 4/5)
I've had this in my queue for a while. It was better than I thought it was going to be.
Once I discovered what she did for a living it was predictable but still enjoyable, even well crafted, except the last minute which is awful.
No big surprise, its said the book is better.
Casting Missi Pyle (alien Laliari of Galaxy Quest (1999)) as CNN Nancy Grace alike, although it did reflect the zero integrity outrage of the actual show (one day outraged against, the next in favour but outraged against something peripheral, the next in favour of the peripheral but outraged...) -- Missi Pyle has been in lots of things but I only ever see Laliari.
(It didn't suffer from a lack of space ships or time travel)
Budget $61 million. Gross: $367 million.
Quote:
There was nothing wrong with David Fincher's directing, the acting, or cinematography or any other production aspect... But, DAMN, if that wasn't the most disappointing ending to an otherwise satisfying film. The way it ended just left me wanting for new, yet un-invented expletives to shout in expression of my disappointment as to how it ended.

An amateur built the Ark. Titanic was built by professionals. Of course Noah took a little advice.

Last edited by BasementBob; 02-15-2015 at 04:48 AM.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #8042 of 8065 Old 02-15-2015, 04:43 AM
AVS Special Member

Watched Automata (2014)
2.2/5 (amazon 3/5, imdb 6.1/10, rotten tomatoes 31%)
I've had this in my queue for a while. It was worse than I thought it was going to be.