Basement Theater/Gaming/Bar/Dream Room Build and Help - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 

post #1 of 6 Old 08-15-2017, 06:52 PM - Thread Starter

Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 11 Post(s)
Liked: 14
Basement Theater/Gaming/Bar/Dream Room Build and Help

I guess it's time for me to start this thread. Purchased a condo last Fall almost a year in the place and I'm finally able to get to my basement theater/gaming/bar room build. Things are starting to ramp up quickly and I need to bounce some ideas off the experts on here, so while right now this thread won't be very impressive, I hope it starts informative for others working on builds as well.

Some background on me.... I work in the TV industry, so I do want to put together the best build possible however I do have some limits (ie I still need to pay bills every month) so while I have a general plan in my head my goal is the best bang for the buck. Certain components I'm spending a little more now because I hope they last me for awhile down the road, and other components I'm not going all out on at the moment.

What I want out of the build. 4K for movie and gaming. This will also get some TV watching but won't be the main TV screen. Dolby Atmos, planning on 7.1.4, though I'm well aware the space might not be optimal for it, but again I know this isn't my last home.

The Space
Finished basement, new flooring and paint be done. Bar area to be built probably come early 2018. I'll add detailed measurements and a floorplan in the next few days, my brother is currently drafting it for me.

Component Plan