A&J's Home theater construction thread start to finish - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 

post #1 of 48 Old 10-23-2006, 12:15 AM - Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hello everyone I am a newbie to this site but I have read many many of your threads. The wife and I are finishing off our basement to get some more room in the house.

Here is a lay out of our basement the foundation size is approx 30'x30' not a huge house so we are making use of all available space. The utility room has all of the hvac hanging down from the rafters so using that space is not an option.

Here are some construction pictures

This is what it currently looks like heading into the basement

This shot is from the east wall looking back at the stairs. To the left is the theater, to the right is the bathroom and egress and behind me the gas fireplace

Although the HT part of the room will be on the south end the room is fairly large being about 22 feet long.

This picture is looking south from the egress window. The plumbing you see will be cut out and raised into the rafters. Then pushed agaisnt the south wall and built in to a shallow depth gas fireplace mantle along with the stack. Out of site and wont looked boxed in.

This picture is looking towards the screen wall

This picture is of the closet. although we are using it for a AV room we thought we might as well make a closet for selling purposes. Now it can be considered a bedroom.

This next picture is of the batroom area where the sink and toilet will be. The two will be seperated by a wall

The next picture shows the shower area, the previous owner used this space for a closet but we thought it would be perfect for a shower. All three walls are cinder block.

I would love to hear opinions and what you think. I will keep this thread updated with photos.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 48 Old 10-23-2006, 01:12 AM - Thread Starter

here is a picture of the egress we put in