Screws for Mount in Metal Stud - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 26 Old 05-03-2007, 11:16 PM - Thread Starter
s4b
Member
 
s4b's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 63
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I just bought a mount from Costco for my 50" plasma. It's made by sanus. The instructions say that the screws aren't made for metal studs. What kind of screws are the correct type to use in metal studs? Would I be able to take the screw in to home depot and get a comparable type for metal studs?
s4b is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 26 Old 05-04-2007, 03:46 AM - Thread Starter
s4b
Member
 
s4b's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 63
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Oh well, I think I might be out of luck. I've been scouring online and found that most recommend not even hanging a large plasma on metal studs.
s4b is offline  
post #3 of 26 Old 05-04-2007, 07:02 AM
Advanced Member
 
rgroves's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Knoxville, TN
Posts: 508
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Yea, metal studs are not load bearing. They not built to handle the weight.

You'll have to tear out the drywall and reinforce the metal studs with 2x4's and figure out exactly where you want the TV and build framing in that area to support it.

I don't know if you built your room or not, and if you did, I'm sorry that you'll have to re-do some of your work. If not, what was that bozo that built it thinking?? metal studs are primarily used in Office construction, home SHOULD be wood 2x4 or better studs. Sorry, not trying to flame you....

I'M FORMAT NEUTRAL
13 HD and no more
10 BR
300+ SD
rgroves is offline  
post #4 of 26 Old 05-04-2007, 07:42 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Neuner's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Location: San Antonio
Posts: 1,357
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by rgroves View Post

Yea, metal studs are not load bearing. They not built to handle the weight.

Really?






It would be ideal to have metal or wood blocking to distribute the load over several studs. We have hung kitchen wall cabinets on metal studs which weigh about the same as a 50" plasma with no issues and per the engineer on the project. We are currently hanging 46" LCD screens on metal studs for a $250M Casino Hotel. Although metal studs seem flemsy(sp?) when integrated into a system they are very strong.

You can do external blocking. Use a 1/4" to 3/8" piece of plywood smaller than the size of your plasma, but large enough to be screwed into several studs which should be 16"oc (so about 34"wide x 24"tall). Screw the plywood into each stud it covers 8"oc vertically. Screw your mount into the plywood. It will be behind your plasma so you can't see it unless your mount swivels out. I found that typical drywall screws work the best. The fine thread versions made specifically for metal studs strip out too easy.
Neuner is offline  
post #5 of 26 Old 05-04-2007, 08:06 AM
Advanced Member
 
NeoOiler's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Edmonton, Canada
Posts: 683
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
They are not load bearing individually but together they are strong. Do as neuner said. As long as you span a few studs you will be fine. I have done it before as well.

Metal studs only for office construction, where do you get that info? Man when I was in home depot on the weekend, the amount of metal studs people were buying they must be building a lot of offices around here..haha


Ryan

IM FINALLY FINISHED...(WELL ALMOST)

THE PITT CONSTRUCTION THREAD
NeoOiler is offline  
post #6 of 26 Old 05-04-2007, 09:52 AM
Advanced Member
 
rgroves's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Knoxville, TN
Posts: 508
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
That's what I meant....Using 2 or 3 studs probably will fail, but I guess some external framing would work just as well.

As long at it's covered up who cares what the mounting looks like...

I'M FORMAT NEUTRAL
13 HD and no more
10 BR
300+ SD
rgroves is offline  
post #7 of 26 Old 05-04-2007, 10:00 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Neuner's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Location: San Antonio
Posts: 1,357
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Neuner View Post

Really?


You can do external blocking. Use a 1/4" to 3/8" piece of plywood smaller than the size of your plasma.

Better yet, get a mounting plate made just for this application: http://www.peerlessindustries.com/dy...oductId/149236
Neuner is offline  
post #8 of 26 Old 05-04-2007, 10:17 AM
Advanced Member
 
NeoOiler's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Edmonton, Canada
Posts: 683
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Yeah, my brothers mount he bought came with one of those. Made it super easy.

Ryan

IM FINALLY FINISHED...(WELL ALMOST)

THE PITT CONSTRUCTION THREAD
NeoOiler is offline  
post #9 of 26 Old 05-04-2007, 10:19 AM
Senior Member
 
osiris13's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Portland, Oregon
Posts: 242
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Virtually all newer condo/loft/apartment buildings in urban areas use metal framing.
osiris13 is offline  
post #10 of 26 Old 05-04-2007, 10:20 AM
Senior Member
 
osiris13's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Portland, Oregon
Posts: 242
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 10
To mount it on metal studs, you can use heavy-duty toggler bolts mounted directly into the stud. As long as you hit 4 of them, you should be perfectly fine.
osiris13 is offline  
post #11 of 26 Old 05-04-2007, 01:30 PM
Member
 
BearDown54's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 19
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
My recommendation would be to return your mount back to Costco for a Peerless mount. ALL peerless mounts have a metal stud option, whether it is simply using their metal stud togglers or purchasing an additional metal stud wall plate for no more than $30.00. Unfortunately Costco does not sell these additional metal stud accessories for Peerless, but you can call them once you have purchased your mount to place your order. The most popular mount on the market right now is Peerless' LMAM1940 (model # may change, but it is the articulating wall arm for 19-40" screens) for sale at all Costco locations for no more than $90.00. Really hopes this helps!
BearDown54 is offline  
post #12 of 26 Old 05-05-2007, 03:16 AM - Thread Starter
s4b
Member
 
s4b's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 63
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Wow, thanks for the advice all. This is a new home in a new development. All of the houses here are metal framed. It was mentioned as long as I hit a "few studs." Does that mean two are enough? I can pretty much only hit two of them with the costco mount. I guess I could hit four of them with the wood blocking (or peerless wall plate). Or would the heavy-duty togglers be ok straight into just the two middle studs?

Below is a picture and where the studs are. You'll also see the costco mounting plate. Sorry, I had to photoshop the plate in there. I'll take a look at the peerless mounts if I have time this weekend.

The TV is 48.5" x 31.1" x 3.7" and 97 lbs.

s4b is offline  
post #13 of 26 Old 05-08-2007, 02:18 AM - Thread Starter
s4b
Member
 
s4b's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 63
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Bump.

So are two studs strong enough? Not sure I can get the wood blocking on center on the 2 outer studs if I try for all 4 studs. Without the wood peeking out the sides anyway.
s4b is offline  
post #14 of 26 Old 05-08-2007, 05:17 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Neuner's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Location: San Antonio
Posts: 1,357
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by s4b View Post

Bump.

So are two studs strong enough?

Yes. It will be mostly vertical load at roughly 50 lbs each stud. Not much moment since your screen will be hugging the wall.
Neuner is offline  
post #15 of 26 Old 05-08-2007, 05:56 AM
HOME THEATER CONTRACTOR
 
BIGmouthinDC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Northern VA
Posts: 20,435
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 110 Post(s)
Liked: 510
BIGmouthinDC is offline  
post #16 of 26 Old 10-15-2007, 12:59 AM - Thread Starter
s4b
Member
 
s4b's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 63
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Finally an update. It's been 5 months in the making. I finally got my TV up on the wall.

Here are the final specs:

- monoprice cables all around (a whole s*load of cables)
- Costco mount (made by Sanus)
- Toggler toggle bolts from Home Depot (3/8")
- Powerbridge power outlet system

I wanted to use the flush mount, but I didn't think I could get the TV that close to the wall (1.5") with all the cables in the back, plus the TV plug was sticking out too much from the outlet. So I went with the tilt mount option. The back of the TV is about 3.5" from the wall.

I used four Toggler bolts into the metal studs and four into straight drywall. So eight Toggler bolts total. It's sturdy and I'm not worried about the TV (knock on wood ). The TV is 97 pounds. Maybe 5 or so more with the mount.

I decided to buy the Powerbridge system instead of wiring my own outlet. Easy as hell to use. Simple and elegant.

The bottom of the TV is 38" from the floor.



All in all I'm very happy the way it turned out. Thanks to those that chimed in with their advice.
s4b is offline  
post #17 of 26 Old 10-15-2007, 09:30 AM
Member
 
MattCleary's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Pearland, TX
Posts: 89
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I saw the title of your post and thought I'd pass along the toggler-bolt info... as I continued to read I noticed that A. someone already had, and B. This is an older thread and the TV is now on the wall. SO... GOOD JOB! Looks nice (Toggler bolts rock huh?)
MattCleary is offline  
post #18 of 26 Old 10-15-2007, 01:06 PM
kbp
Senior Member
 
kbp's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 299
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
To clarify. The structural metal studs used to for exterior and/or load bearing walls are NOT the same as the metal studs used to frame interior non-load bearing partition walls. Structural metal studs are at least 20 gage material., usually more, even up to 12 gage, and have larger flanges and return lips. Perfectly fine for hanging TVs, using the right fasteners. Drywall partition studs, on the other hand, are made from thinner gage material, usually 25 gage, and have smaller flanges and returns. I'm sure TVs have been hung in these types of walls, but because the stud material is so much thinner, I would probably reinforce the area for larger TVs.
kbp is offline  
post #19 of 26 Old 10-15-2007, 02:19 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Lee L's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2000
Location: Morrisville, NC USA
Posts: 2,090
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Quote:
Originally Posted by kbp View Post

To clarify. The structural metal studs used to for exterior and/or load bearing walls are NOT the same as the metal studs used to frame interior non-load bearing partition walls. Structural metal studs are at least 20 gage material., usually more, even up to 12 gage, and have larger flanges and return lips. Perfectly fine for hanging TVs, using the right fasteners. Drywall partition studs, on the other hand, are made from thinner gage material, usually 25 gage, and have smaller flanges and returns. I'm sure TVs have been hung in these types of walls, but because the stud material is so much thinner, I would probably reinforce the area for larger TVs.

Man, this is exactly what I was thinking all along and you come in last thing and beat me to it.

I do commercial construction and when a client wants wall hung TV's we usually run some 5/8 plywood from stud to stud behind the TV. If someone comes back and retrofits, I have seen installers use togglers as well and it works fine for TV's that are not on arms, just be carefull. Even though the 25 gage is thin, as long as the hole is clean, it spreads the load out fine on the back of the drywall.

If you have a swinging arm mount where you get lots leverage at the end of the arm, then the only way is put wood in the wall.

XBOX Live: SheriffTruman

Do you want a nice Keystone Jack panel behind your TV with HDMI, and Toslink? Check This Thread at AVS
Lee L is offline  
post #20 of 26 Old 06-07-2010, 09:50 PM
Newbie
 
Prangsta's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 9
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
2 comments bothered me.
1) using 1/4 inch plywood would be a bad idea, at most you will get three or four threads grabbing the plywood, you may as well just grab your drywall screws and screw them into your drywall (I'm kidding, don't do that).
2) span several studs! The guys TV was 50" that means to hit 3 of them you are putting a piece of plywood the exact same width as the TV (48"), that would look..interesting.
Toggle bolts are fine for lighter TVs. If I was hanging a plasma though, I would be cutting open the wall and wedging some 2x4 between the studs. Putting a piece of drywall across 2 studs isn't as strong, but easier I suppose and would likely hold most sets.
I know this is an old thread, but people rely on them for proper information imo.
Prangsta is offline  
post #21 of 26 Old 02-20-2011, 05:04 PM
Newbie
 
riverwade's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Posts: 1
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
fyi, You can hit 3 studs across 32" providing you are 16" OC.

Unless you know you have the heavier gauge metal studs, doing the plywood trick that Nuener suggests will let you sleep easier at night.
riverwade is offline  
post #22 of 26 Old 02-21-2011, 04:48 PM
Senior Member
 
cshepard's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: NC
Posts: 345
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 18
What riverwade said.
cshepard is offline  
post #23 of 26 Old 09-18-2011, 07:17 PM
Newbie
 
Fkvideo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Posts: 1
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hi all.
I've been reading many of the post and was questioning an option I was considering.
My plan is to run two 1x4's across the stud spans, anchor those into the studs, likely with toggle bolts, hopefully 4/1x4, then mount the mount in the middle of the 1x4 with a bunch of screws
If anyone still checks this and there are any concerns with this plan please please please let me know.
P.s. My tv or rated at roughly 27lbs

Hope to hear from you

Fk
Fkvideo is offline  
post #24 of 26 Old 09-19-2011, 05:41 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Neuner's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Location: San Antonio
Posts: 1,357
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Fk;

I'm not confident that the 1x4 won't split for what you are wanting to do. You also have to consider the Moment that will be placed on the boards and connections. 26lbs is vertical load but it depends on how much it will stick out from the wall.

The 1x4's may split too easily at the toggle bolts but I could be wrong. Most likely depends on how you install it. That's the reason I wouldn't do it. Plywood is great because of the multi-layers of cross grain.

If you do move forward with your idea, make sure to pre-drill the holes in the 1x4 and don't over tighten. It will cause it to split and severly weaken.
Neuner is offline  
post #25 of 26 Old 09-19-2011, 05:50 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Neuner's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Location: San Antonio
Posts: 1,357
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
FYI - I recently moved and installed my 46", 84lb LCD with a 30" extension. I mounted between two studs back in a cubby that were 24" apart. I cut a 15/16" thick piece of plywood the width of the studs and about 2-inches taller than the mount itself. I used a lag bolt with washers in each corner of the plywood along with the smaller ones that came with the mount to connect the mount to the plywood. Holds up great with no signs of flex. I've maneuvered the TV about for a better angle and there doesn't appear to be any weakness. If there is any, it's in the mount itself.

I painted the plywood to match the wall and you never see it back there.
Neuner is offline  
post #26 of 26 Old 01-08-2012, 05:13 PM
Senior Member
 
buellwinkle's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Laguna Niguel, CA
Posts: 415
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Always looks better mounted on the wall. I have metal studs I have to deal with too. I was thinking of getting a monoprice mount that's 33.5", so hopefully I can span 3 studs and put in 6 toggler toggle bolts and that should hold it. Looking to get a 3D 50" Plasma, weighs 60# for an LG and 50# for a Samsung.
buellwinkle is offline  
Reply General Home Theater & Media/Game Rooms

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off