What kind of connections should I wire up inside the drywall? - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 3 Old 12-10-2007, 01:12 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
asincero's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 61
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
My TV and the rest of the A/V gear are separated by a considerable distance. So that I don't have ugly wire running all over the place, I'm going to install the wire inside the walls. My TV supports a myriad of inputs (two HDMI, two components, two composites, VGA, and S/Video). My question is should I bother supporting all of these connection types to future-proof my install, or should I just do HDMI and maybe VGA? I don't plan on buying any video equipment that doesn't support a digital output if I can help it. Also, if I ever replace the TV in the future I'll be sure to make sure it has digital inputs. So it would seem like bothering with the component, composite, and S/Video cabling would be both a waste of time and a whole lot of money.

Opinions?
asincero is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 3 Old 12-10-2007, 01:25 PM
Senior Member
 
grigsby's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Winder GA
Posts: 209
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by asincero View Post

My TV and the rest of the A/V gear are separated by a considerable distance. So that I don't have ugly wire running all over the place, I'm going to install the wire inside the walls. My TV supports a myriad of inputs (two HDMI, two components, two composites, VGA, and S/Video). My question is should I bother supporting all of these connection types to future-proof my install, or should I just do HDMI and maybe VGA? I don't plan on buying any video equipment that doesn't support a digital output if I can help it. Also, if I ever replace the TV in the future I'll be sure to make sure it has digital inputs. So it would seem like bothering with the component, composite, and S/Video cabling would be both a waste of time and a whole lot of money.

Opinions?

I would run HDMI providing thats what your gear is running on now or what you expect it to be running on. Fry's sells some nice wall plate/hdmi deals.

If you want to future proof the situation run conduit from the location to that of your other equipment and leave a pull string inside the conduit....that way if something changes you can simply pull the new wires.
grigsby is offline  
post #3 of 3 Old 12-10-2007, 06:21 PM
Member
 
mauiguy100's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 62
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
run some 2" conduit then you can easily run whatever cables you want and change them out when something new comes along or a cable goes bad. future proof and cheap
mauiguy100 is offline  
Reply General Home Theater & Media/Game Rooms

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off