Iron Man Blu-ray 9/30 - Page 23 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #661 of 1219 Old 09-30-2008, 01:41 PM
Senior Member
 
Officer Steve's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: 30 min from Houston
Posts: 231
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by longhaul747 View Post

Oh boy....

Major audio problems on my set up. In some scenes I see them talking but no dialog. In others I can hear them but muffled. Overall sound seems muffled. Did a Test Tone and all speakers are accounted for. .

Mine will probably arrive tomorrow from Bestbuy.com (hopefully), it didn't come today. Wondering if anyone is having any audio issues w/ Denon (788) receivers? Though, if i understand correctly this shouldn't be an issue if my blu-ray player is a PS3? The audio is processed through the PS3? Hell, i don't know how it does it, but i don't want any issues.

thanks,
Officer Steve

Officer Steve
Officer Steve is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #662 of 1219 Old 09-30-2008, 01:47 PM
357
Advanced Member
 
357's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 691
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
On the defective disc that I encounted the True HD sounded muffled as well. My setup is PS3 and an Onkyo SR705. Audio was sent via PCM.
357 is offline  
post #663 of 1219 Old 09-30-2008, 01:56 PM
Advanced Member
 
SugarBowl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 800
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Desides View Post

Just got home with my copy of IM. Attempting playback on a PS3 hooked up via HDMI to a Samsung LN32A550 (1080p capable.) When I load the movie from the XMB, I'm greeted with a pulsing image of the Arclight reactor from the movie, and nothing happens. I have the new (blue disc) version, by the way.

What the heck is going on?

mines doing the same.. On a Sony x10S internal drive with powerdvd.

UPDATE.. it finished after about 5 minutes
SugarBowl is offline  
post #664 of 1219 Old 09-30-2008, 02:04 PM
Advanced Member
 
tbass2k's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Alabama
Posts: 916
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 14
Warning: Spoiler! (Click to show)
Spoiler  
Warning: Spoiler! (Click to show)
In the theater the convoy ambush scene was several minutes long, why in the hell did they move pretty much all of it to the deleted/extended scenes on the blu-ray? That was an essential plot piece IMO. Did anyone else notice this? Excuse me if this has been discussed already, I don't recall reading about it here or in any reviews for the blu-ray.
tbass2k is offline  
post #665 of 1219 Old 09-30-2008, 02:07 PM
Advanced Member
 
longhaul747's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Seattle
Posts: 523
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
A little update on my situation. I stopped my Blu Ray player and went into the players setup menu. The audio compression modes for PCM output were set to on. I normally leave them set to off. I did a firmware upgrade last week and it might have reset defaults. Not sure if this has anything to do with audio output through HDMI or not but audio seems improved over what I was getting before but still seems somewhat limited. I tried the L Night button again and I still get "Not Available". Still not sure what is up with the L Night feature but I suspect its still in midnight mode.
longhaul747 is offline  
post #666 of 1219 Old 09-30-2008, 02:16 PM
357
Advanced Member
 
357's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 691
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Late Night won't work for mine either. I don't think that it works with PCM.
357 is offline  
post #667 of 1219 Old 09-30-2008, 02:21 PM
Newbie
 
Kainofury's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Northfield, OH
Posts: 5
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
I just opened my blu ray version that I purchased from best buy. I put it in my ps3 and it sat at the loading screen for a good 5-10 minutes. It works, but i was curious if anyone else ran into this issue.
Kainofury is offline  
post #668 of 1219 Old 09-30-2008, 02:29 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Snickering Hound's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 1,839
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by Kainofury View Post

I just opened my blu ray version that I purchased from best buy. I put it in my ps3 and it sat at the loading screen for a good 5-10 minutes. It works, but i was curious if anyone else ran into this issue.

I'm having the same issue with my copy of Ironman purchased at Walmart on my Panasonic DMP-BD50.

I popped in the disc, it says network connection started and it was locked up for 5 minutes.

"We did not have business relations with that company, Fuh Yuan."
Snickering Hound is offline  
post #669 of 1219 Old 09-30-2008, 02:30 PM
Senior Member
 
ExAnim8r's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Canada
Posts: 291
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Oops, must have missed this thread. I too have the blue ring of death. But it hasn't started up yet...

-Ex
ExAnim8r is offline  
post #670 of 1219 Old 09-30-2008, 02:32 PM
AVS Special Member
 
General Kenobi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Kalifornistan
Posts: 5,923
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 82 Post(s)
Liked: 357
Quote:
Originally Posted by BrandonJF View Post

The steelbook is available at Future Shop in Canada (and there are plenty on Ebay - they have been going for $40-$50 so far). The US TWEC stores (Suncoast, FYE, Sam Goody...) are seeling a steelbook for the DVD version.

That's weak, I'm not paying $40 for it but it sure would be nice to have a copy in a case with all the info on the back and no bulky slip cover.

Officer Steve - That's kinda what I was wondering. I'm using a Denon 3801 connected to a Pany BD10A via analogs but it seems like some of these audio compliants have to do with the disc and some with gear settings

My Rig

Kenobi's 31 Days of Horror:

 

2012

2011

2010

2009

General Kenobi is offline  
post #671 of 1219 Old 09-30-2008, 02:33 PM
Member
 
ttowne's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 34
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Sony BDP-BX1 and so far no problems with Iron Man BD. I have only watched the first half hour though.
ttowne is offline  
post #672 of 1219 Old 09-30-2008, 02:34 PM
Senior Member
 
Dr_Kn0w's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 390
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
It's probably downloading the BD Live information to your BD player. The first time always takes a few minutes. Once it's fully downloaded, the next time you play this BD it won't take as long (only when there are new updates to BD Live).

This also happened with the Transformers BD. Nothing's wrong, nothing's defective. Those of you who had HD DVD, would know of these initial downloads with a lot of HD DVDs
Dr_Kn0w is offline  
post #673 of 1219 Old 09-30-2008, 02:36 PM
AVS Special Member
 
tbird8450's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 2,003
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 25 Post(s)
Liked: 36
Has anyone seen the Blu-Ray for sale in Costco? If so, what was the price in-store?

Thanks.
tbird8450 is offline  
post #674 of 1219 Old 09-30-2008, 02:36 PM
Senior Member
 
ExAnim8r's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Canada
Posts: 291
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
It just started working, took around 10 minutes... Crazy that BD-Live slows it down THAT much.

-Ex
ExAnim8r is offline  
post #675 of 1219 Old 09-30-2008, 02:36 PM
Senior Member
 
Dr_Kn0w's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 390
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Foxbat121 View Post

That's single most anoying thing back when I played my HD DVDs. I personally don't care much about those interactive junks. But I was forced to sit there and wait for over 10 minutes for most of my HD DVDs to finish downloading the crap out of the slow server of the studios. I quickly learnt to disconnect my player from internet and disable downloading.

Glad I don't have a BD 2.0 player. I never watch extras and downloaded contents anyway.

Yeah, I didn't mind it too much. There are a bunch of threads already started about the downloading time. People are beginning to think they have defective discs because of the whole recall.....this should be fun....
Dr_Kn0w is offline  
post #676 of 1219 Old 09-30-2008, 02:40 PM
Senior Member
 
Dr_Kn0w's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 390
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by ExAnim8r View Post

It just started working, took around 10 minutes... Crazy that BD-Live slows it down THAT much.

-Ex

Just initially....it's got to get the info downloaded to your player for the first time. You can imagine that the server is getting hit pretty hard today as everyone's been loading up their copy of Iron Man.

As a side note, if you cancel the download, the movie will try to download the content the next time you load the disc which will lead to a slow waiting period again. It's best to wait the first time around, cuz moving forward, you won't have to wait that long.
Dr_Kn0w is offline  
post #677 of 1219 Old 09-30-2008, 02:57 PM
AVS Special Member
 
taxman48's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Long Island, NY
Posts: 2,515
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 33 Post(s)
Liked: 71
Anyone know what that big tube is that is given away with each purchase? Giving it to my neighbors grandson and want to know what to call it.. Bought it at BB..with free lithograph and Repulsor magnet.. thanks

taxman48 is offline  
post #678 of 1219 Old 09-30-2008, 02:59 PM
AVS Special Member
 
sharkcohen's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 6,281
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 17
Guess I better get my copy in my player and start the download process if I want to watch it later tonight, LOL.

Back off man, I'm a scientist.
sharkcohen is offline  
post #679 of 1219 Old 09-30-2008, 03:01 PM
AVS Special Member
 
BrandonJF's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 1,118
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by taxman48 View Post

Anyone know what that big tube is that is given away with each purchase? Giving it to my neighbors grandson and want to know what to call it.. Bought it at BB..with free lithograph and Repulsor magnet.. thanks

It's a poster tube.
BrandonJF is offline  
post #680 of 1219 Old 09-30-2008, 03:09 PM
Senior Member
 
Spooky's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Posts: 404
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Kainofury View Post

I just opened my blu ray version that I purchased from best buy. I put it in my ps3 and it sat at the loading screen for a good 5-10 minutes. It works, but i was curious if anyone else ran into this issue.

I'm at 35 minutes and counting. WTF!?!?! Unacceptable!

Thanks,

Spooky
Spooky is offline  
post #681 of 1219 Old 09-30-2008, 03:12 PM
Senior Member
 
Dr_Kn0w's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 390
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mikazaru View Post

Transformers' loading times were nothing out of the ordinary for me. There definitely seems to be something wrong with this disc. I am using a ps3.

Edit: For those that are impatient and don't care about BD Live, disabling the network connection will result in much faster load times.

I hear ya, this is brutal....although I think a lot of it has to do with everyone hammering Paramount's servers today with this initial loading as well as the BD Live content for Transformers. Once the initial loading is complete (it may take 2 times to be fully complete) it should fly by every other time (at least we hope)

Quote:
Originally Posted by sharkcohen View Post

Guess I better get my copy in my player and start the download process if I want to watch it later tonight, LOL.

That's what I'm doing right now!!
Dr_Kn0w is offline  
post #682 of 1219 Old 09-30-2008, 03:16 PM
AVS Special Member
 
sharkcohen's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 6,281
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 17
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dr_Kn0w View Post

That's what I'm doing right now!!

So am I, 5 minutes and counting. I guess we're only contributing to the problem

Back off man, I'm a scientist.
sharkcohen is offline  
post #683 of 1219 Old 09-30-2008, 03:20 PM
AVS Special Member
 
rutlian's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 1,962
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by tbird8450 View Post

Has anyone seen the Blu-Ray for sale in Costco? If so, what was the price in-store?

Thanks.

$27.99 (bluray)
$22.00 (dvd)
$39.99 (giftset with bobblehead)

Peter
Enjoy HD no matter what......
rutlian is offline  
post #684 of 1219 Old 09-30-2008, 03:20 PM
Senior Member
 
Spassvogel42's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 240
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
So does this have a straight English 5.1 track at all???

I don't have a receiver capable of TrueHD, and when I'm watching the disc, I only get surround out of the Spanish and French tracks over optical.

Very lame if there's no way to access a regular 5.1 track.
Spassvogel42 is offline  
post #685 of 1219 Old 09-30-2008, 03:20 PM
Advanced Member
 
longhaul747's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Seattle
Posts: 523
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by tbass2k View Post

Warning: Spoiler! (Click to show)
Spoiler  
Warning: Spoiler! (Click to show)
In the theater the convoy ambush scene was several minutes long, why in the hell did they move pretty much all of it to the deleted/extended scenes on the blu-ray? That was an essential plot piece IMO. Did anyone else notice this? Excuse me if this has been discussed already, I don't recall reading about it here or in any reviews for the blu-ray.

I have not watched it completely through yet but did they cut the scene when he is demonstrating his missile and says something like "This is how mom does it, this is how god does it and this is how America does it....and everything has been pretty good so far" or something along those lines. When he fires the missile and it detonates in the side of the mountain it contains some serious bass. I am pretty sure its in the beginning of the movie. I watched the first 30 minutes and did not see it.
longhaul747 is offline  
post #686 of 1219 Old 09-30-2008, 03:20 PM
AVS Special Member
 
kevivoe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 2,831
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by SugarBowl View Post

mines doing the same.. On a Sony x10S internal drive with powerdvd.

UPDATE.. it finished after about 5 minutes

Mine is taking 2 minutes so far so I jumped into this forum. I will wait and edit this message.

Freaked out for a bit .... but 5 minutes better not be every time I pop this in!
kevivoe is offline  
post #687 of 1219 Old 09-30-2008, 03:21 PM
Member
 
osum26's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 66
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by tbass2k View Post

Warning: Spoiler! (Click to show)
Spoiler  
Warning: Spoiler! (Click to show)
In the theater the convoy ambush scene was several minutes long, why in the hell did they move pretty much all of it to the deleted/extended scenes on the blu-ray? That was an essential plot piece IMO. Did anyone else notice this? Excuse me if this has been discussed already, I don't recall reading about it here or in any reviews for the blu-ray.

Uh the scene was the exact same as it was in the theater. Also, the sound was just fine through out the whole film. The bass was boomin and the dialogue was crystal clear.
osum26 is offline  
post #688 of 1219 Old 09-30-2008, 03:27 PM
Newbie
 
Timerift's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Malvern, PA
Posts: 1
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I've been sitting for about 25 minutes now. I guess the spec for BD Live didn't allow for the idea of stuff being downloaded in the background.
Timerift is offline  
post #689 of 1219 Old 09-30-2008, 03:28 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
thebland's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: Detroit, Michigan USA
Posts: 23,973
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 287 Post(s)
Liked: 157
2.0 is bad..

My Home Theater of the Month- Le Petit Trianon

There are more than a handful of [op amps] that sound so good that most designers want to be using them as opposed to discreet transistors. Dave Reich, Theta 2009
thebland is online now  
post #690 of 1219 Old 09-30-2008, 03:30 PM
AVS Special Member
 
sharkcohen's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 6,281
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 17
Quote:
Originally Posted by thebland View Post

2.0 is bad..

Implemented like this, I definitely agree. You'd think they would have including a way of canceling the download.

Back off man, I'm a scientist.
sharkcohen is offline  
Reply Blu-ray Software

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off