The Lord Of The Rings Extended - Page 187 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #5581 of 5590 Old 08-16-2014, 05:36 PM
AVS Special Member
 
wuther's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 1,382
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 88 Post(s)
Liked: 31
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dan Hitchman View Post
Given the model of your receiver, you're only playing the DTS lossy track off the Blu-ray. You'll have to move up to something that can decode DTS Master Audio lossless. The bass is thunderous on my setup.

Perhaps something that can decode Dolby Atmos as well.
A lot of current BDs do not even give a lossy option so I guess that poster would be missing out of a lot.
wuther is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #5582 of 5590 Old 08-16-2014, 06:56 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Dan Hitchman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2000
Location: Northern Colorado
Posts: 8,842
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 721 Post(s)
Liked: 417
Quote:
Originally Posted by wuther View Post
A lot of current BDs do not even give a lossy option so I guess that poster would be missing out of a lot.
Yup. Antiquated gear. At least things don't move as fast in the A/V world as the computer market. If it did, I think I would cry.

Listen up, studios! Just say "NO" to DNR and EE!!
Dan Hitchman is online now  
post #5583 of 5590 Old 08-16-2014, 07:05 PM
Newbie
 
kagetora13's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 4
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Thanks for the feedback. Guess i will upgrade at somepoint. Just caught me off guard as i have not kept up with all the changes. Maybe i can have the ps3 decode some audio?
kagetora13 is offline  
post #5584 of 5590 Old 08-16-2014, 07:29 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Dan Hitchman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2000
Location: Northern Colorado
Posts: 8,842
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 721 Post(s)
Liked: 417
Quote:
Originally Posted by kagetora13 View Post
Thanks for the feedback. Guess i will upgrade at somepoint. Just caught me off guard as i have not kept up with all the changes. Maybe i can have the ps3 decode some audio?
That's only if you can send the internally decoded data as uncompressed PCM via HDMI cable. Your Technics has no HDMI input, nor does it allow for multi-channel PCM. Sorry to say this, but it's time to upgrade... sooner rather than later.

And do you have an early "fat" PS3 or a newer "slim" model that can bitstream raw audio files like Dolby TrueHD and DTS Master Audio lossless over HDMI? If it's the former and not the latter, get yourself a cheap stand alone Blu-ray player. You'll need a player that can bitstream for Dolby Atmos and DTS-UHD object based surround as content is released.

Listen up, studios! Just say "NO" to DNR and EE!!

Last edited by Dan Hitchman; 08-16-2014 at 07:37 PM.
Dan Hitchman is online now  
post #5585 of 5590 Old 08-17-2014, 04:14 PM
AVS Special Member
 
wuther's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 1,382
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 88 Post(s)
Liked: 31
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dan Hitchman View Post
That's only if you can send the internally decoded data as uncompressed PCM via HDMI cable. Your Technics has no HDMI input, nor does it allow for multi-channel PCM. Sorry to say this, but it's time to upgrade... sooner rather than later.

And do you have an early "fat" PS3 or a newer "slim" model that can bitstream raw audio files like Dolby TrueHD and DTS Master Audio lossless over HDMI? If it's the former and not the latter, get yourself a cheap stand alone Blu-ray player. You'll need a player that can bitstream for Dolby Atmos and DTS-UHD object based surround as content is released.
At the risk of going off topic, shouldn't kagetora just get a Dolby TrueHD and DTS HD Master supported receiver?
wuther is offline  
post #5586 of 5590 Old 08-17-2014, 04:34 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Dan Hitchman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2000
Location: Northern Colorado
Posts: 8,842
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 721 Post(s)
Liked: 417
Quote:
Originally Posted by wuther View Post
At the risk of going off topic, shouldn't kagetora just get a Dolby TrueHD and DTS HD Master supported receiver?
Well, yes. But if the OP only has a fat PS3 then it's a moot point. He'll need both a new processor and a new player.

Listen up, studios! Just say "NO" to DNR and EE!!
Dan Hitchman is online now  
post #5587 of 5590 Old 08-17-2014, 05:23 PM
Advanced Member
 
Bluescale's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Oregon
Posts: 846
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 216 Post(s)
Liked: 90
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dan Hitchman View Post
Well, yes. But if the OP only has a fat PS3 then it's a moot point. He'll need both a new processor and a new player.
He only needs a new player if he cares about Atmos. Otherwise, the fat PS3 is just fine.
Bluescale is online now  
post #5588 of 5590 Old 08-17-2014, 05:46 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Dan Hitchman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2000
Location: Northern Colorado
Posts: 8,842
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 721 Post(s)
Liked: 417
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bluescale View Post
He only needs a new player if he cares about Atmos. Otherwise, the fat PS3 is just fine.
Unless Sony fixed something with a firmware update, there was some issues with DTS-Master Audio decoding if you went with a 7.1 system. It would automatically up-convert 5.1 to 7.1 and you couldn't add your own post processing in the receiver or pre-amp.

But if that's okay with the OP.

Listen up, studios! Just say "NO" to DNR and EE!!
Dan Hitchman is online now  
post #5589 of 5590 Old 08-24-2014, 07:10 PM
Newbie
 
kagetora13's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 4
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Sorry for the delay. Busy week. I have a ps3 slim. I will see how the year goes and upgrade as I watch the market. Thank you.
kagetora13 is offline  
post #5590 of 5590 Old 08-24-2014, 07:29 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Dan Hitchman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2000
Location: Northern Colorado
Posts: 8,842
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 721 Post(s)
Liked: 417
Quote:
Originally Posted by kagetora13 View Post
Sorry for the delay. Busy week. I have a ps3 slim. I will see how the year goes and upgrade as I watch the market. Thank you.
Be sure whatever you get has Atmos decoding and then you can use the slim PS3 to bitstream over to the decoder.

Listen up, studios! Just say "NO" to DNR and EE!!
Dan Hitchman is online now  
Reply Blu-ray Software

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off