BBC region free discs not working on my BD players - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 43 Old 01-31-2012, 10:16 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
shadyJ's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 7,005
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 388 Post(s)
Liked: 603
I recently purchased two region free BD disc sets from Amazon.co.uk, (Sherlock Complete Series and Frozen Planet) but they have playback problems with both my BD players. They do work on my BD Roms in my computer, but I would much rather watch them on my BD players. The first parts of the disc played (the BBC logo and intro) but the menu wasn't functioning on one player, and the other player could display the menu but not video, although I was able to hear audio.

Can anyone tell me what the cause and solution might be? Google hasn't been that helpful thus far. By the way, I am in the US, don't know if BBC discs which haven't had an American release might be a cause, and also, before you ask, the disc players are up to date regarding firmware.
shadyJ is online now  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 43 Old 01-31-2012, 11:00 AM
Senior Member
 
InspectorToschi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 308
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Video resolution: 1080/50i

I had the same problem. Knew they were region free, but didn't know it was encoded at 50i. Ended up returning season 1 myself.
InspectorToschi is offline  
post #3 of 43 Old 01-31-2012, 12:44 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
shadyJ's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 7,005
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 388 Post(s)
Liked: 603
OK, that explains it. Thanks for the heads-up.
shadyJ is online now  
post #4 of 43 Old 01-31-2012, 09:38 PM
Newbie
 
sharkcat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Alabama
Posts: 2
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Samsung blu-ray players work with 1080 50hz region free material.
Sony's do NOT.
sharkcat is offline  
post #5 of 43 Old 02-02-2012, 04:18 PM
Advanced Member
 
vanilla rice's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Posts: 550
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
do samsung players convert the 50hz signal at all or does it just pass through? i'm just wondering if one would need a special tv to accept the signal that comes out of a samsung when it reads a 50hz disc.

thanks
vanilla rice is offline  
post #6 of 43 Old 02-02-2012, 04:32 PM
AVS Special Member
 
ss9001's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: metro Atlanta
Posts: 8,696
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 248 Post(s)
Liked: 340
how about the oppo's 93/95. IIRC they should, but never tried it yet.
I'd like to order Caprica from amazon france, and it's also 1080/50. Can someone confirm?

Steve
ss9001 is offline  
post #7 of 43 Old 02-03-2012, 01:15 AM
Newbie
 
sharkcat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Alabama
Posts: 2
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I have Samsung TV's. I assume the player converts it to 60hz.
Two Sony's connected to the same Samsung TV's did not play, just a blank screen w no sound even with the latest firmware.
Sony says their US player cannot play 50hz material even thought it works with region free discs.
sharkcat is offline  
post #8 of 43 Old 02-03-2012, 05:26 AM
One-Man Content Creator
 
wmcclain's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 17,630
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 590 Post(s)
Liked: 375
Quote:
Originally Posted by ss9001 View Post

how about the oppo's 93/95. IIRC they should, but never tried it yet.
I'd like to order Caprica from amazon france, and it's also 1080/50. Can someone confirm?

All the OPPOs support 50hz sources. You can output as 50hz or convert to 60hz.

-Bill
wmcclain is online now  
post #9 of 43 Old 02-03-2012, 06:54 AM
AVS Special Member
 
ss9001's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: metro Atlanta
Posts: 8,696
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 248 Post(s)
Liked: 340
^^
thanks, Bill. I knew an Oppo expert would show up

Steve
ss9001 is offline  
post #10 of 43 Old 02-03-2012, 07:12 PM
Advanced Member
 
vanilla rice's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Posts: 550
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by sharkcat View Post

I have Samsung TV's. I assume the player converts it to 60hz.
Two Sony's connected to the same Samsung TV's did not play, just a blank screen w no sound even with the latest firmware.
Sony says their US player cannot play 50hz material even thought it works with region free discs.

thanks. i have a Sharp TV. my samsung player + sharp tv combo plays 50hz discs fine, but not my PS3 + sharp tv combo results in a blank screen as well.
vanilla rice is offline  
post #11 of 43 Old 02-07-2012, 02:44 PM
Member
 
withnail's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 121
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Can also confirm that these discs work in my LG BD611 player. The same disc would not work in a PS3 connected to the same set.
withnail is offline  
post #12 of 43 Old 02-07-2012, 03:04 PM
One-Man Content Creator
 
wmcclain's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 17,630
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 590 Post(s)
Liked: 375
Quote:
Originally Posted by withnail View Post

Can also confirm that these discs work in my LG BD611 player. The same disc would not work in a PS3 connected to the same set.

You might post this info in the List of Blu-ray movies authored in 1080i50 thread. Post #2 is a list of players and their 50hz capability. I don't know if it is still maintained but it would be handy to record your test in the thread anyway.

-Bill
wmcclain is online now  
post #13 of 43 Old 02-07-2012, 10:52 PM
Advanced Member
 
dargo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 716
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 11 Post(s)
Liked: 43
Quote:
Originally Posted by ss9001 View Post

how about the oppo's 93/95. IIRC they should, but never tried it yet.
I'd like to order Caprica from amazon france, and it's also 1080/50. Can someone confirm?

yep i have a oppo-83 and play Sherlock plus other BBC titles from UK
dargo is offline  
post #14 of 43 Old 02-08-2012, 08:17 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
gwsat's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Tulsa
Posts: 14,762
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 269 Post(s)
Liked: 548
As the Sherlock BDs from Amazon UK are encoded using 50i, am I to assume that, despite being region free, they can't be played on my PS3? The PS3 is connected to a Yamaha RX-V3900 receiver, which is in turn connected, also via HDMI, to a Pioneer Kuro PDP-6020FD display. Any insights on this issue would be appreciated.
gwsat is offline  
post #15 of 43 Old 02-08-2012, 08:50 AM
Member
 
withnail's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 121
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by gwsat View Post

As the Sherlock BDs from Amazon UK are encoded using 50i, am I to assume that, despite being region free, they can't be played on my PS3? The PS3 is connected to a Yamaha RX-V3900 receiver, which is in turn connected, also via HDMI, to a Pioneer Kuro PDP-6020FD display. Any insights on this issue would be appreciated.

I've had no luck playing these in my PS3, but they have worked in my BD611 and they're both connected to the same Sony LCD. Hope that helps.
withnail is offline  
post #16 of 43 Old 02-08-2012, 10:38 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Patsfan123's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Quincy, MA
Posts: 1,845
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
A US model PS3 will never output 50i no matter what it is connected to.

Michael

Collection: DVD | High-def
Patsfan123 is offline  
post #17 of 43 Old 02-08-2012, 11:14 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
gwsat's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Tulsa
Posts: 14,762
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 269 Post(s)
Liked: 548
Quote:
Originally Posted by Patsfan123 View Post

A US model PS3 will never output 50i no matter what it is connected to.

This confirms my suspicions. Bad news though it is, I appreciate the feedback. Looks like I will just have to order the Sherlock Season 1 BDs from Amazon US, although they will be more than twice as expensive as they are on the Amazon UK site. Worse, the Season 2 BDs are not yet available from Amazon US.
gwsat is offline  
post #18 of 43 Old 03-05-2012, 11:52 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Tulpa's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 10,026
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 59
Confirming same problem with my Funai built Onkyo BD-SP809 player.

Don't believe everything on the Interwebz! A duck's quack DOES echo!
Tulpa is offline  
post #19 of 43 Old 03-06-2012, 03:01 AM
AVS Special Member
 
IanD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2000
Posts: 1,847
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 22
Quote:
Originally Posted by gwsat View Post

This confirms my suspicions. Bad news though it is, I appreciate the feedback. Looks like I will just have to order the Sherlock Season 1 BDs from Amazon US, although they will be more than twice as expensive as they are on the Amazon UK site. Worse, the Season 2 BDs are not yet available from Amazon US.

Alternatively, purchase a cheap Bluray player that will convert 50Hz->60Hz and can be region switched: it should pay for itself in no time.
IanD is offline  
post #20 of 43 Old 05-29-2012, 05:01 AM
Newbie
 
guyren's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2012
Posts: 4
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hi guys

Am no techie so would v much appreciate some help. Have just bought a Philips BD3000 Blu Ray player and am experiencing the same issues other guys have raised, specifically the intros will play on BBC dvds -- both audio and video -- but then they will just stop after about 40secs and I get a blank screen and it won't respond to Play or any other button except Eject.

My TV is a Sony Bravia and is HD capable. I've not had any problem playing plain DVDs purchased from Amazon.uk on either my standard DVD player or this new BD player. It just seems to be the BBC ones -- I've tried both Blackadder and Attenborough's Life series ones -- same result.

Cheers

Guy Reynolds
guyren is offline  
post #21 of 43 Old 05-29-2012, 05:27 AM
One-Man Content Creator
 
wmcclain's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 17,630
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 590 Post(s)
Liked: 375
Quote:
Originally Posted by guyren View Post

Hi guys

Am no techie so would v much appreciate some help. Have just bought a Philips BD3000 Blu Ray player and am experiencing the same issues other guys have raised, specifically the intros will play on BBC dvds -- both audio and video -- but then they will just stop after about 40secs and I get a blank screen and it won't respond to Play or any other button except Eject.

My TV is a Sony Bravia and is HD capable. I've not had any problem playing plain DVDs purchased from Amazon.uk on either my standard DVD player or this new BD player. It just seems to be the BBC ones -- I've tried both Blackadder and Attenborough's Life series ones -- same result.

Cheers

Guy Reynolds

Welcome to AVSForum.

I sounds like those titles might contain 50hz content and your player doesn't support it. But DVDs from the UK should be 50hz also and it is odd (but not impossible) that your player works with 50hz DVDs but not BR.

I would try to (1) verify that the problem titles have 50hz content (try some googling) and (2) find a thread for the player and ask there if it supports 50hz BR.

Does the player have any control for switching between PAL and NTSC output? Could be your display doesn't like 50hz input, but it should give something like an "unsupported mode" message.

It might be a region code problem, but the BBC BR titles I have bought have been region free, and your player should give you a message if not.

-Bill
wmcclain is online now  
post #22 of 43 Old 05-30-2012, 03:14 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Kilian.ca's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Ex-50Hz, now 60Hz
Posts: 1,901
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 36
BBC documentary Blu-ray discs UK version: ALL are region FREE, generally pre-2009 are either 1080p24 or 1080i60, after that 1080i50. Some opening studio logos and screens could be 1080p24 or 1080i60. Extras on DVD can be region 2 576i50 "PAL". If you get past opening logos and then get blank screen or play stops it can't be wrong region but simply main feature is 1080i50.

Human Planet 1080i50
Life 1080i50 (opening BBC EARTH screen 1080i60)
Nature's Great Events 1080i50
Planet Earth 1080p24 (extras 1080i60)
Planet Earth SE 1080i50 (extras: region 2 DVD: 576i50 & Blu-ray: 1080i50 & 1080i60)
South Pacific 1080i60
The Great Rift 1080i50
Top Gear Polar Special 1080p24 (not 1080i60 as stated)
Yellowstone 1080i60
Wonders of the Solar System 1080i50
Wonders of the Universe 1080i50

Others not sure:
Galapagos - US ver is 1080p24
Earth both series - not sure
Frozen Planet - don't have it yet, likely 1080i50
Great Barrier Reef - don't have it yet
Wild China (2008) - US ver is 1080i60

Audiosceptics accept audio trials using 25 people. A recent Oxford study with over 353,000 patient records from 639 separate clinical trials shows for every 1,000 people taking diclofenac or ibuprofen there would be 3 additional heart attacks, 4 more cases of heart failure and 1 death every year.

Kilian.ca is offline  
post #23 of 43 Old 05-30-2012, 05:37 AM
Blues In Thirds
 
javry's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Doha, Qatar
Posts: 2,523
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by gwsat View Post

This confirms my suspicions. Bad news though it is, I appreciate the feedback. Looks like I will just have to order the Sherlock Season 1 BDs from Amazon US, although they will be more than twice as expensive as they are on the Amazon UK site. Worse, the Season 2 BDs are not yet available from Amazon US.

Also - Assuming you are in the UK, it seems like it took longer to get stuff from Amazon US than from Amazon UK when I lived there. And if you can get someone in the states to buy them and send them to you as a care pkg, that might help with expenses. Disregard if you're not an expat living in the UK.

Have you considered purchasing an Oppo?
javry is offline  
post #24 of 43 Old 05-30-2012, 05:43 AM
Blues In Thirds
 
javry's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Doha, Qatar
Posts: 2,523
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by gwsat View Post

As the Sherlock BDs from Amazon UK are encoded using 50i, am I to assume that, despite being region free, they can't be played on my PS3? The PS3 is connected to a Yamaha RX-V3900 receiver, which is in turn connected, also via HDMI, to a Pioneer Kuro PDP-6020FD display. Any insights on this issue would be appreciated.

I'd have to believe this would have more to do with where you buy the PS3. Surely a PS3 bought in the UK would play a 50hz disk.
javry is offline  
post #25 of 43 Old 05-30-2012, 11:19 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Jon S's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 1999
Location: Sunny Hawaii
Posts: 2,786
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 93 Post(s)
Liked: 57
Quote:
Originally Posted by javry View Post

I'd have to believe this would have more to do with where you buy the PS3. Surely a PS3 bought in the UK would play a 50hz disk.

yes.. but it would not work in the states...

If it's not a BIG screen, it's not a theater...
Jon S is offline  
post #26 of 43 Old 05-30-2012, 11:44 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Phantom Stranger's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Between the known and the unknown...
Posts: 3,215
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 97 Post(s)
Liked: 101
Quote:
Originally Posted by javry View Post

I'd have to believe this would have more to do with where you buy the PS3. Surely a PS3 bought in the UK would play a 50hz disk.

The only Region A PS3s that can play PAL frame rates are from Hong Kong.
Phantom Stranger is online now  
post #27 of 43 Old 05-30-2012, 11:48 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
gwsat's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Tulsa
Posts: 14,762
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 269 Post(s)
Liked: 548
It's possible to buy BD players in the US that have been converted in a manner to guarantee they will play any disc from anywhere. I bought a cheap LG BD player from World-Import.com, which even after the installation of the conversion chip costs less than $200. I have bought a bunch of Region B BDs from Amazon.uk and all but one have played flawlessly. Don't know what was wrong with the one that would't play, Kind Hearts and Coronets, but Amazon.uk gave me a credit for the price of the disc and shipping. I have really enjoyed the flexibility the all regions BD player has provided and Amazon.uk has proved to be just as reliable as Amazon.com.
gwsat is offline  
post #28 of 43 Old 05-31-2012, 11:31 PM
Newbie
 
guyren's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2012
Posts: 4
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by wmcclain View Post

Welcome to AVSForum.

I sounds like those titles might contain 50hz content and your player doesn't support it. But DVDs from the UK should be 50hz also and it is odd (but not impossible) that your player works with 50hz DVDs but not BR.

I would try to (1) verify that the problem titles have 50hz content (try some googling) and (2) find a thread for the player and ask there if it supports 50hz BR.

Does the player have any control for switching between PAL and NTSC output? Could be your display doesn't like 50hz input, but it should give something like an "unsupported mode" message.

It might be a region code problem, but the BBC BR titles I have bought have been region free, and your player should give you a message if not.

-Bill

Thanks Bill. I've just been on the phone to Philips global support. Amazingly, no-one has ever raised this issue with them before so they're going to look into it. I suspect I'll have to buy a player that converts 50hz to 60hz etc.
guyren is offline  
post #29 of 43 Old 05-31-2012, 11:35 PM
Newbie
 
guyren's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2012
Posts: 4
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Thanks for this info. I'm based in New Zealand. I haven't tried any actual BR discs yet but if I buy them from the UK the region thing shouldn't be an issue as NZ is in the same region, i.e. B, as Europe.
It's just been my BBC dvds that have played up in this way. Thing is I don't want to risk buying a BBC BR product and have it play in the same way. I'll wait till Philips get back to me and if there's no answer from them try and find a BR player that will play 1080i/50hz discs,
guyren is offline  
post #30 of 43 Old 05-31-2012, 11:36 PM
Newbie
 
guyren's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2012
Posts: 4
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Kilian.ca View Post

BBC documentary Blu-ray discs UK version: ALL are region FREE, generally pre-2009 are either 1080p24 or 1080i60, after that 1080i50. Some opening studio logos and screens could be 1080p24 or 1080i60. Extras on DVD can be region 2 576i50 "PAL". If you get past opening logos and then get blank screen or play stops it can't be wrong region but simply main feature is 1080i50.

Human Planet 1080i50
Life 1080i50 (opening BBC EARTH screen 1080i60)
Nature's Great Events 1080i50
Planet Earth 1080p24 (extras 1080i60)
Planet Earth SE 1080i50 (extras: region 2 DVD: 576i50 & Blu-ray: 1080i50 & 1080i60)
South Pacific 1080i60
The Great Rift 1080i50
Top Gear Polar Special 1080p24 (not 1080i60 as stated)
Yellowstone 1080i60
Wonders of the Solar System 1080i50
Wonders of the Universe 1080i50

Others not sure:
Galapagos - US ver is 1080p24
Earth both series - not sure
Frozen Planet - don't have it yet, likely 1080i50
Great Barrier Reef - don't have it yet
Wild China (2008) - US ver is 1080i60


Thanks for this info. I'm based in New Zealand. I haven't tried any actual BR discs yet but if I buy them from the UK the region thing shouldn't be an issue as NZ is in the same region, i.e. B, as Europe.
It's just been my BBC dvds that have played up in this way. Thing is I don't want to risk buying a BBC BR product and have it play in the same way. I'll wait till Philips get back to me and if there's no answer from them try and find a BR player that will play 1080i/50hz discs.
guyren is offline  
Reply Blu-ray Software



Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off