Chariots of Fire 30th Anniversary Edition - Page 3 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #61 of 84 Old 07-14-2012, 07:07 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Josh Z's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Planet Boston, source of the spice, Melange.
Posts: 20,043
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 256 Post(s)
Liked: 343
Quote:
Originally Posted by jimbotron View Post

The US one is 16x9 while the Fox version is cropped to 1.85:1. You can see added information on the top and bottom of the US version.

What this means is that the U.S. version is open matte, not that the Fox version is "cropped." Technically, the movie's OAR is 1.85:1.

Warner has a policy of opening all mattes on 1.85:1 movies to 16:9. The difference is a few scan lines and doesn't affect the compositional intent.

Josh Z
Writer/Editor, High-Def Digest (Blog updated daily!)
Curator, Laserdisc Forever

My opinions are my own, and do not necessarily reflect those of my employers.

Josh Z is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #62 of 84 Old 07-28-2012, 11:48 AM
Member
 
ZebraMajor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 197
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Bought the UK version and it skips ahead 3 minutes at 1:23 just as the first race is being run. Disc was loose in the package but there's no visible scratches on it. Using a PS3 as my player. Anyone else having this problem?
ZebraMajor is offline  
post #63 of 84 Old 07-28-2012, 07:00 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Shaded Dogfood's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Terminus and the Lake of Light
Posts: 4,836
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 24 Post(s)
Liked: 34
Bought the UK version and it skips ahead 3 minutes at 1:23 just as the first race is being run. Disc was loose in the package but there's no visible scratches on it. Using a PS3 as my player. Anyone else having this problem?

Maybe a firmware issue in your player?

CW Hinkle
Shaded Dogfood is online now  
post #64 of 84 Old 07-28-2012, 11:54 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
oink's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Shuloch
Posts: 26,553
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 63 Post(s)
Liked: 815
Quote:
Originally Posted by ZebraMajor View Post

Bought the UK version and it skips ahead 3 minutes at 1:23 just as the first race is being run. Disc was loose in the package but there's no visible scratches on it. Using a PS3 as my player. Anyone else having this problem?
I'll check it on my Oppo 83 tomorrow.

A.P.S. deserve our protection....join the cause today!
oink is offline  
post #65 of 84 Old 07-29-2012, 07:47 AM
Member
 
ZebraMajor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 197
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by oink View Post

I'll check it on my Oppo 83 tomorrow.

The time code is 1:23:34 to be exact. I've tried it on both my slim and fatty PS3s with the latest firmware and got the same problem.
ZebraMajor is offline  
post #66 of 84 Old 08-03-2012, 12:38 AM
Advanced Member
 
SC0TLANDF0REVER's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Raleigh, NC
Posts: 762
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Quote:
Originally Posted by Shaded Dogfood View Post

Bought the UK version and it skips ahead 3 minutes at 1:23 just as the first race is being run. Disc was loose in the package but there's no visible scratches on it. Using a PS3 as my player. Anyone else having this problem?

Maybe a firmware issue in your player?

Quote:
Originally Posted by ZebraMajor View Post

Quote:
Originally Posted by oink View Post

I'll check it on my Oppo 83 tomorrow.

The time code is 1:23:34 to be exact. I've tried it on both my slim and fatty PS3s with the latest firmware and got the same problem.

I just checked on my Day 1 PS3 (BIG FATTY) after upgrading to the latest FW - 4.21.

My copy from the UK isn't exhibiting any skipping at or around that time mark.

Ðave -
It was technically a single shenanigan, more like a hijink...

SC0TLANDF0REVER is offline  
post #67 of 84 Old 08-03-2012, 05:17 PM
Member
 
ZebraMajor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 197
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by SC0TLANDF0REVER View Post

I just checked on my Day 1 PS3 (BIG FATTY) after upgrading to the lasted FW - 4.21.
My copy from the UK isn't exhibiting any skipping at or around that time mark.

Thanks. I've already setup the return to Amazon UK.
ZebraMajor is offline  
post #68 of 84 Old 08-06-2012, 12:17 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
oink's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Shuloch
Posts: 26,553
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 63 Post(s)
Liked: 815
After watching the first 30 minutes tonite, I am not impressed.

The video is disappointing.
Detail is low and poor resolving of grain is a problem.

Audio is clear, but doesn't distinguish itself.

It's a shame...with the London Olympics happening this movie wasn't given the care and attention it deserves in its BD release.mad.gif

A.P.S. deserve our protection....join the cause today!
oink is offline  
post #69 of 84 Old 08-06-2012, 09:58 AM
Member
 
Swiss HD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Switzerland
Posts: 119
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
@oink

Did you watch the same disc as i have watched?

I tought the PQ is excellent
Swiss HD is offline  
post #70 of 84 Old 08-06-2012, 10:06 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
oink's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Shuloch
Posts: 26,553
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 63 Post(s)
Liked: 815
Quote:
Originally Posted by Swiss HD View Post

@oink
Did you watch the same disc as i have watched?
I tought the PQ is excellent
I have the U.K. version I got from Amazon.

A.P.S. deserve our protection....join the cause today!
oink is offline  
post #71 of 84 Old 08-07-2012, 01:02 AM
AVS Special Member
 
mhafner's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Location: Switzerland
Posts: 4,595
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 24
Quote:
Originally Posted by ZebraMajor View Post

Quote:
Originally Posted by oink View Post

I'll check it on my Oppo 83 tomorrow.

The time code is 1:23:34 to be exact. I've tried it on both my slim and fatty PS3s with the latest firmware and got the same problem.

Same issue here on 3 different players. Goes back to Amazon.
mhafner is offline  
post #72 of 84 Old 08-09-2012, 01:44 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
oink's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Shuloch
Posts: 26,553
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 63 Post(s)
Liked: 815
Quote:
Originally Posted by ZebraMajor View Post

Bought the UK version and it skips ahead 3 minutes at 1:23 just as the first race is being run. Disc was loose in the package but there's no visible scratches on it. Using a PS3 as my player. Anyone else having this problem?
I have the U.K version and mine did NOT skip forward.
Oppo 95 used.

A.P.S. deserve our protection....join the cause today!
oink is offline  
post #73 of 84 Old 08-11-2012, 12:30 AM
Member
 
jimbotron's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 189
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 11
I received a copy of the BD/CD combo from Amazon UK today. I gave it a spin on both my OPPO 93 and my laptop, and there were no skipping issues. The PQ is amazing.

This is the first time I've seen it with the cricket scene. I like it. I'm happy to be rid of the obviously dubbed-in profanity by the crippled baggage handler so that it would get a PG rating.
jimbotron is offline  
post #74 of 84 Old 08-11-2012, 10:00 AM
Advanced Member
 
Flexx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: South Florida
Posts: 856
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Was watching the U.S. Digibook version just now and at around the 1:17 minute mark the player just froze. Ejected, retried, froze at same spot. Ejected, retried skipping to the next chapter, around 1:25, still freezing. Disc was spotless, bought at Best Buy the week of release.

Player is an Oppo BDP-95, latest firmware, has had no other disc-related issues in the 18 months that I've had it.
Flexx is offline  
post #75 of 84 Old 08-11-2012, 10:15 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
oink's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Shuloch
Posts: 26,553
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 63 Post(s)
Liked: 815
Quote:
Originally Posted by Flexx View Post

Was watching the U.S. Digibook version just now and at around the 1:17 minute mark the player just froze. Ejected, retried, froze at same spot. Ejected, retried skipping to the next chapter, around 1:25, still freezing. Disc was spotless, bought at Best Buy last week.
Player is an Oppo BDP-95, latest firmware, has had no other disc-related issues in the 18 months that I've had it.
I'll check my U.K on my 95 and let you know.
BTW, I didn't check it at 1:17 or 1:25.

Is anyone else having issues I can check for?

A.P.S. deserve our protection....join the cause today!
oink is offline  
post #76 of 84 Old 08-11-2012, 10:25 AM
Advanced Member
 
Flexx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: South Florida
Posts: 856
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Copy also skips on Panny DMP-BDT100. Hopefully it's just a bad copy.

Will pick up another copy and report back.
Flexx is offline  
post #77 of 84 Old 08-11-2012, 10:41 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
oink's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Shuloch
Posts: 26,553
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 63 Post(s)
Liked: 815
Quote:
Originally Posted by Flexx View Post

Copy also skips on Panny DMP-BDT100. Hopefully it's just a bad copy.
Will pick up another copy and report back.
I have seen BDs that don't appear to have anything at all on them that will skip and then "magically" work after washing with water.
I know it seems unlikely, but I swear I have seen it happen.

A.P.S. deserve our protection....join the cause today!
oink is offline  
post #78 of 84 Old 08-11-2012, 12:18 PM
Advanced Member
 
Flexx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: South Florida
Posts: 856
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
'twas a bad copy. Replacement worked fine.

This looked magnificent. Fantastic blu-ray.
Flexx is offline  
post #79 of 84 Old 08-12-2012, 07:04 AM
Moderator
 
PooperScooper's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Leominster MA
Posts: 19,791
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 48 Post(s)
Liked: 73
Watched the UK BD yesterday. No skips and I thought the PQ was just fine.

larry

Opportunity is missed by most people because it is dressed in overalls and looks like work. -- Thomas Alva Edison
PooperScooper is offline  
post #80 of 84 Old 08-25-2012, 04:30 AM
Member
 
ZebraMajor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 197
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I returned my skipping UK copy of Chariots Of Fire to Amazon UK and opted for a refund since I had to pay for the return postage (which they reimbursed) and I didn't want to risk going through that hassle again if I got another bad disc. They received the return last week.

Today Amazon UK sent me this e-mail:
Quote:
Since you ordered this product, the manufacturer has discovered a technical issue with the disc “freezing” between 1h 23m and 1 hr 24m.

A corrected version of this product will soon be available and we're working to ensure you that you receive a replacement disc as soon as possible. The replacement will be sent out as soon as new stock of this item is received from our supplier an it'll be dispatched to the same address. There'll be no additional charge for your replacement order. Once the new order is sent out you'll be notified by e-mail to confirm the date, contents and method of delivery.

So there was a glitch on the disc and I'm apparently getting a free replacement. I just went from mildly disappointed back to satisfied. Everytime I expect Amazon to disappoint over some issue they step up and make it right. They are one of the few businesses that have always given me great customer service.
ZebraMajor is offline  
post #81 of 84 Old 08-25-2012, 10:33 AM
Member
 
jimbotron's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 189
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 11
I received the same e-mail this morning. I didn't send the original back since it plays fine on my OPPO and laptop, but if they want to send a free replacement, I'm all for it, just in case it glitches later. Would I have to return my original disc?
jimbotron is offline  
post #82 of 84 Old 10-02-2012, 05:29 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
oink's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Shuloch
Posts: 26,553
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 63 Post(s)
Liked: 815
Although didn't request it, I received a replacement disk today.

A.P.S. deserve our protection....join the cause today!
oink is offline  
post #83 of 84 Old 10-02-2012, 06:55 PM
Advanced Member
 
SC0TLANDF0REVER's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Raleigh, NC
Posts: 762
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Quote:
Originally Posted by oink View Post

Although didn't request it, I received a replacement disk today.

Me too - and my original disk wasn't defective. At least in my Fatty PS3 anyway. I guess I'll keep both to make sure I have a working copy when I step up to an Oppo.

Ðave -
It was technically a single shenanigan, more like a hijink...

SC0TLANDF0REVER is offline  
post #84 of 84 Old 10-02-2012, 08:00 PM
Member
 
ZebraMajor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 197
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Got my replacement disc yesterday. I was expecting a replacement copy with the packaging, not just the disc. So now I have a lose disc with no case. Free is free I guess.
ZebraMajor is offline  
Reply Blu-ray Software

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off