Finding Nemo - Page 5 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #121 of 135 Old 01-02-2013, 11:20 AM
Advanced Member
 
Greg_R_STL's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: St. Louis MO
Posts: 555
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6 Post(s)
Liked: 19
Watched Nemo last week (2D) with a Marantz SR 7005 and an Oppo 83, and noticed no dropouts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
Greg_R_STL is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #122 of 135 Old 01-02-2013, 02:10 PM
Member
 
geoffreyc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 43
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I presume you were watching/listening over hdmi?

Bitstream or lpcm?
geoffreyc is offline  
post #123 of 135 Old 01-02-2013, 02:15 PM
Advanced Member
 
Greg_R_STL's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: St. Louis MO
Posts: 555
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6 Post(s)
Liked: 19
Quote:
Originally Posted by geoffreyc View Post

I presume you were watching/listening over hdmi?
Bitstream or lpcm?

Yes, HDMI and PCM.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
Greg_R_STL is offline  
post #124 of 135 Old 01-02-2013, 02:57 PM
AVS Special Member
 
COACH2369's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Knoxville, TN
Posts: 1,703
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 91 Post(s)
Liked: 77
Quote:
Originally Posted by Greg_R_STL View Post

Yes, HDMI and PCM.

So.... it sounds like if you listen with PCM it isn't a problem?!?

This is so frustrating...eek.gif
COACH2369 is online now  
post #125 of 135 Old 01-02-2013, 04:17 PM
Advanced Member
 
Greg_R_STL's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: St. Louis MO
Posts: 555
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6 Post(s)
Liked: 19
Quote:
Originally Posted by COACH2369 View Post

So.... it sounds like if you listen with PCM it isn't a problem?!?
This is so frustrating...eek.gif

It could be. The Brave thread seems to back up that idea.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
Greg_R_STL is offline  
post #126 of 135 Old 01-03-2013, 04:45 AM
Member
 
geoffreyc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 43
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I still got dropouts with LPCM - had to use old fashioned co-ax dd5.1 out
geoffreyc is offline  
post #127 of 135 Old 01-03-2013, 07:18 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Closet Geek's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 1,980
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 36 Post(s)
Liked: 116
Quote:
Originally Posted by COACH2369 View Post

So.... it sounds like if you listen with PCM it isn't a problem?!?
This is so frustrating...eek.gif

Yes it is. But this issue goes back a ways (about a year) for me. I've never done any exhaustive investigating but it's possible that this problem goes back as far as the Star Wars BD release. There was one moment of the Star Destroyer flyover that had a dropout but I was running bitstream at the time. It was one little glitch so I didn't worry much about it and never considered it being a bitstream/PCM issue. A few months later I noticed a few dropouts on other movies and eventually one day I noticed that my sound was completely off. First thinking it was just a volume issue or the BD wasn't automatically choosing the lossless format. Then I realized my receiver (Denon-PS3-HDMI) wasn't decoding. After playing around with it I stumbled on the fact that PCM worked (after switching back to Bitstream to verify). Of course, I don't have the TrueHD/DTS-MA icons on my screen, which annoys me and I'm not quite convinced it doesn't sound a touch better. At any rate, what's odd to me is that this all seemed to be a delayed issue. There are a handful of movies that played fine up until a certain point and all of a sudden they won't play properly over bitstream. I've made no updates to my receiver or ps3 and still this issue popped up. Something is fishy about it all if you ask me.
Closet Geek is online now  
post #128 of 135 Old 01-03-2013, 11:38 AM
AVS Special Member
 
KBMAN's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Grass Valley, CA
Posts: 2,870
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 23 Post(s)
Liked: 42
update your PS3 and get back to us.....there are quite a bit of decoding options/settings in the PS3. I sold my fat years ago to get the slim that could bitstream to my Integra DHC-40.1 preamp. I've had ZERO issues with Brave and Finding Nemo. The only frustrating thing is on my video feed...and it is frustrating; my 35 ft HDMI cable running thru the attic is making a slight 'pause' at random times on all, if not most 2.35:1 films. The most i've seen this is with the newest Star Trek. OK, end of rant, and back OT for finding nemo wink.gif

Terrence
"Hey Vasquez, have you ever been mistaken for a man?...."No, have you?" -ALIENS

KBMAN is offline  
post #129 of 135 Old 01-03-2013, 05:58 PM
AVS Special Member
 
IanD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2000
Posts: 1,840
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 22
Apart from seeing the TrueHD or DTS-HD MA logos appear on an AVR, is there really any advantage bitstreaming instead of decoding in the player?

Remember that player decoding generally is synchronous between audio and video, unlike a PC where there are asynchronous clocks for the two streams.
IanD is offline  
post #130 of 135 Old 01-03-2013, 08:33 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Josh Z's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Planet Boston, source of the spice, Melange.
Posts: 20,099
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 305 Post(s)
Liked: 359
Quote:
Originally Posted by IanD View Post

Apart from seeing the TrueHD or DTS-HD MA logos appear on an AVR, is there really any advantage bitstreaming instead of decoding in the player?

If you want to process the signal with Dolby ProLogic IIx, IIz or similar DSPs, many receivers will not do that with a multi-channel PCM input.

Josh Z
Writer/Editor, High-Def Digest (
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
)
Curator,
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


My opinions are my own, and do not necessarily reflect those of my employers.

Josh Z is offline  
post #131 of 135 Old 01-04-2013, 05:46 AM
AVS Special Member
 
COACH2369's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Knoxville, TN
Posts: 1,703
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 91 Post(s)
Liked: 77
Disney just needs to correct the issue in all the discs they put out... then we don't have to play the "wonder" game. wink.gif
COACH2369 is online now  
post #132 of 135 Old 01-04-2013, 06:02 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Closet Geek's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 1,980
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 36 Post(s)
Liked: 116
Not just Disney!
Closet Geek is online now  
post #133 of 135 Old 01-04-2013, 07:38 PM
AVS Special Member
 
IanD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2000
Posts: 1,840
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 22
Quote:
Originally Posted by Josh Z View Post

If you want to process the signal with Dolby ProLogic IIx, IIz or similar DSPs, many receivers will not do that with a multi-channel PCM input.

Is this for matrixed soundtracks?

Since TrueHD and DTS-HD are primarily discrete soundtracks, the solution would be for the studios not to use matrixing but to follow the discrete model.

I understand that matrixed 6.1 soundtracks can cause a lot of issues.

Whilst I originally thought that some recent releases contained DD+ companion embedded soundtracks to TrueHD, I was incorrect and they are DD EX 6.1 matrixed instead, but maybe that is enough to cause dropout issues with some equipment.

Out of interest, does anyone know if bitstreaming sends the whole THD+DD-EX stream to an AVR, or is only the THD component sent?
IanD is offline  
post #134 of 135 Old 01-05-2013, 01:14 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Cinema Squid's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Austin, TX
Posts: 2,864
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by IanD View Post

Out of interest, does anyone know if bitstreaming sends the whole THD+DD-EX stream to an AVR, or is only the THD component sent?

I don't know this with 100% certainty, but they are probably both sent. The packets of the embedded lossy DD have the same stream identifier as the TrueHD packets and for bitstreaming that's likely all that is checked when determining what to send over the wire.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

Cinema Squid is offline  
post #135 of 135 Old 03-13-2013, 03:07 PM
Member
 
geoffreyc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 43
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Watched this again tonight - same setup Oppo BDP-93 & Yamaha RX-A2010 only this time disabled HDMI 1 output from the player (QDEO Chip) and used HDMI 2 (Mediatek Chip)
and lo and behold no dropouts via bitstream!

Had also had dropouts during first few seconds of 'Prometheus' (3D version) and using the above connection setup this was also ok.

Have yet to try 'Brave' which another I had also had dropouts with.
geoffreyc is offline  
Reply Blu-ray Software

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off