Transformers: Dark of the Moon NOT playing in Dolby TrueHD 7.1 (??) - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 14 Old 06-30-2012, 03:48 PM - Thread Starter
Advanced Member
 
KtrainHurricane's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: HOLLYWOOD, FL
Posts: 609
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 19 Post(s)
Liked: 11
I have an Onkyo-709 receiver, PS3, and Panasonic ST30 television. My Playstation is updated, and I have not had problems like this before. Yes, I DID go to the Languages menu and select "English Dolby TrueHD 7.1" (had that "problem" with my copy of Blade Runner). When I scroll through the "Listening Modes" on my receiver I can choose PLIIx, DTS: Neo 6, all the THX options, Dolby Digital, Dolby EX, etc...but no TrueHD. Can somebody help me?!

KtrainHurricane is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 14 Old 06-30-2012, 04:04 PM
AVS Special Member
 
KMFDMvsEnya's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: SLC, UT
Posts: 1,191
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 40
Under the audio setup of your PS3 is DTHD 7.1 enabled?

Personally prefer to have the player decode rather than bitstream, also I have a 5.1 system so I have to limit output to those channels.

Best Regards
KvE

Politics is like a corral, no matter where you are you'll always be shovelling it.

KMFDMvsEnya is offline  
post #3 of 14 Old 06-30-2012, 05:05 PM - Thread Starter
Advanced Member
 
KtrainHurricane's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: HOLLYWOOD, FL
Posts: 609
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 19 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by KMFDMvsEnya View Post

Under the audio setup of your PS3 is DTHD 7.1 enabled?
Personally prefer to have the player decode rather than bitstream, also I have a 5.1 system so I have to limit output to those channels.
Best Regards
KvE

Yes, Dolby TrueHD 7.1 is enabled on my PS3. I always allow the receiver to decode the audio itself; however, once I realized it wasn't outputting TrueHD I attempted to scroll through the options to manually select it...but that obviously was not possible.

KtrainHurricane is offline  
post #4 of 14 Old 06-30-2012, 07:57 PM
Member
 
daveshouse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 179
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by KtrainHurricane View Post

Yes, Dolby TrueHD 7.1 is enabled on my PS3. I always allow the receiver to decode the audio itself; however, once I realized it wasn't outputting TrueHD I attempted to scroll through the options to manually select it...but that obviously was not possible.

Is this the 3d version or regular? The 3d version won't play Dolby TrueHD and display in 3d at the same time on the Playstation. Only DTS-Master HD works with 3d at the moment
daveshouse is offline  
post #5 of 14 Old 06-30-2012, 08:26 PM - Thread Starter
Advanced Member
 
KtrainHurricane's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: HOLLYWOOD, FL
Posts: 609
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 19 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by daveshouse View Post

Is this the 3d version or regular? The 3d version won't play Dolby TrueHD and display in 3d at the same time on the Playstation. Only DTS-Master HD works with 3d at the moment

Ahh I see. Yes it it the 3D version, and I was not completely aware of the fact that Playstation won't play 3D and TrueHD at the same time - I did some searching on the internet and read that to be the case, but all the posts/threads I found were from February 2012 or prior...I thought there was a chance that a PS3 update had solved this issue since then. Thanks for the reply!

KtrainHurricane is offline  
post #6 of 14 Old 07-01-2012, 12:53 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Dan Hitchman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2000
Location: Northern Colorado
Posts: 8,246
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 303 Post(s)
Liked: 288
You would make a great case study for the purchasing of a cheap standalone 3D Blu-ray player to compliment a PS3. wink.gif

Listen up, studios! Just say "NO" to DNR and EE!!
Dan Hitchman is offline  
post #7 of 14 Old 07-01-2012, 10:15 PM - Thread Starter
Advanced Member
 
KtrainHurricane's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: HOLLYWOOD, FL
Posts: 609
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 19 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dan Hitchman View Post

You would make a great case study for the purchasing of a cheap standalone 3D Blu-ray player to compliment a PS3. wink.gif

I have one...but decided to leave it in the living room. I actually had the PS3 in the living room and my Panasonic Blu-ray player in my movie room, but wanted the option of playing video games (have been into Rocksmith lately) in the movie room.

KtrainHurricane is offline  
post #8 of 14 Old 07-02-2012, 10:06 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Josh Z's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Planet Boston, source of the spice, Melange.
Posts: 19,923
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 145 Post(s)
Liked: 318
Quote:
Originally Posted by KtrainHurricane View Post

Ahh I see. Yes it it the 3D version, and I was not completely aware of the fact that Playstation won't play 3D and TrueHD at the same time - I did some searching on the internet and read that to be the case, but all the posts/threads I found were from February 2012 or prior...I thought there was a chance that a PS3 update had solved this issue since then. Thanks for the reply!

The PS3 was updated to allow both 3D and DTS-HD Master Audio at the same time, but still cannot do TrueHD and 3D simultaneously.

Josh Z
Writer/Editor, High-Def Digest (Blog updated daily!)
Curator, Laserdisc Forever

My opinions are my own, and do not necessarily reflect those of my employers.

Josh Z is offline  
post #9 of 14 Old 07-02-2012, 06:34 PM
AVS Special Member
 
muffinmcfluffin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: San Mateo, California
Posts: 1,295
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 69
Quote:
Originally Posted by Josh Z View Post

The PS3 was updated to allow both 3D and DTS-HD Master Audio at the same time, but still cannot do TrueHD and 3D simultaneously.

Do you happen to know off the top of your head which firmware it is that corrected this?
muffinmcfluffin is online now  
post #10 of 14 Old 07-02-2012, 07:54 PM
Advanced Member
 
QuiGonJosh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Posts: 822
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 17
I think it's just 7.1 TrueHD and 3D. I think 5.1 TrueHD and 3D is okay, but I'm not 100% sure. My PS3 wouldn't play the 7.1 track on the 3D Transformers either.
QuiGonJosh is offline  
post #11 of 14 Old 07-03-2012, 10:10 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Josh Z's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Planet Boston, source of the spice, Melange.
Posts: 19,923
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 145 Post(s)
Liked: 318
Quote:
Originally Posted by QuiGonJosh View Post

I think it's just 7.1 TrueHD and 3D. I think 5.1 TrueHD and 3D is okay, but I'm not 100% sure. My PS3 wouldn't play the 7.1 track on the 3D Transformers either.

I believe it's any form of TrueHD and 3D, regardless of 5.1 or 7.1.

I don't know the exact firmware that fixed DTS-HD MA, but whatever is the latest on the network should take care of it, I'd think.

Josh Z
Writer/Editor, High-Def Digest (Blog updated daily!)
Curator, Laserdisc Forever

My opinions are my own, and do not necessarily reflect those of my employers.

Josh Z is offline  
post #12 of 14 Old 10-18-2012, 12:27 AM
Newbie
 
sookymonster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Posts: 1
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Its still having this problem. I was wondering why True HD only worked sometimes. Now I realise its the ps3's fault. I just confirmed it by trying my 2D Transformers. Thanks anyway, it does still suck. C'mon SOny!!mad.gif
sookymonster is offline  
post #13 of 14 Old 11-05-2012, 12:51 PM
AVS Special Member
 
lovingdvd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Posts: 8,818
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 23
Quote:
Originally Posted by Josh Z View Post

The PS3 was updated to allow both 3D and DTS-HD Master Audio at the same time, but still cannot do TrueHD and 3D simultaneously.

Is it correct to assume that the PS3 still cannot do TrueHD with 3D? Any rumors for when they will implement this?
lovingdvd is offline  
post #14 of 14 Old 11-10-2012, 01:26 PM
AVS Special Member
 
PeterTHX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 1,851
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 8 Post(s)
Liked: 21
Quote:
Originally Posted by sookymonster View Post

Its still having this problem. I was wondering why True HD only worked sometimes. Now I realise its the ps3's fault. I just confirmed it by trying my 2D Transformers. Thanks anyway, it does still suck. C'mon SOny!!mad.gif

Quote:
Originally Posted by lovingdvd View Post

Is it correct to assume that the PS3 still cannot do TrueHD with 3D? Any rumors for when they will implement this?

Probably if enough people write in about it they will get around to it.

Esepcially since TrueHD is much less CPU intensive to decode. If they can do DTS-MA & 3D then they can do TrueHD.

My opinions do not reflect the policies of my company
PeterTHX is offline  
Reply Blu-ray Software

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off