Total Recall 2012 - Page 10 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #271 of 338 Old 03-29-2013, 09:00 PM
 
gregzoll's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 2,524
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 32
Getting the drop-outs also on a rented copy of the Blu-Ray from netflix, on our Sony BDP-S590, playing back through the Denon AVR-1613 that we have. Bad thing is, the last update for the 590, was back in 2012, no recent update issued by Sony. The Denon cannot be updated, due to no user method of doing so. Would have to send back to Denon if they did have a update for it.
gregzoll is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #272 of 338 Old 04-01-2013, 09:35 PM
Advanced Member
 
mgrotel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Posts: 546
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 27
Getting some audio dropouts on Ghost Protocall. It stays synced, but still has dropouts. Not sure if its related
mgrotel is offline  
post #273 of 338 Old 04-01-2013, 09:35 PM
Advanced Member
 
mgrotel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Posts: 546
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 27
Getting some audio dropouts on Ghost Protocall. It stays synced, but still has dropouts. Not sure if its related
mgrotel is offline  
post #274 of 338 Old 04-02-2013, 05:40 AM
 
gregzoll's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 2,524
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 32
Never had issues with dropouts with Ghost Protocol on my older BDP-s370, but it seems that the S590 is more susceptible to this issue.
gregzoll is offline  
post #275 of 338 Old 04-02-2013, 08:08 AM
 
gregzoll's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 2,524
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 32
Same issue with new copy from Netflix, with Total Recall. Same audio drop-outs in the same scenes. Sent an email to Sony, and sending a note back with the disc, when it goes back to Netflix.
gregzoll is offline  
post #276 of 338 Old 04-10-2013, 09:27 AM
AVS Special Member
 
p5browne's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Sudbury, Ontario, CANADA
Posts: 3,760
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 43 Post(s)
Liked: 168
Will be interesting if the Version in the Sony 4K Movie Server has the same issues?
p5browne is offline  
post #277 of 338 Old 04-11-2013, 11:31 AM
Newbie
 
NAT1976's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: London
Posts: 11
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Ghost Protocol played fine on my Cambridge Audio 650BD, no drop outs
NAT1976 is offline  
post #278 of 338 Old 04-12-2013, 07:19 AM
AVS Special Member
 
p5browne's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Sudbury, Ontario, CANADA
Posts: 3,760
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 43 Post(s)
Liked: 168
Quote:
Originally Posted by NAT1976 View Post

Ghost Protocol played fine on my Cambridge Audio 650BD, no drop outs

But was your Blu-ray player set to PCM or Bitstream?
p5browne is offline  
post #279 of 338 Old 04-12-2013, 07:35 AM
Advanced Member
 
mrfattbill's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 786
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 58
Quote:
Originally Posted by p5browne View Post

Will be interesting if the Version in the Sony 4K Movie Server has the same issues?

That was the FIRST thing I thought of when I looked at that thread, lol.

Bill
mrfattbill is online now  
post #280 of 338 Old 04-14-2013, 12:11 PM
AVS Special Member
 
p5browne's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Sudbury, Ontario, CANADA
Posts: 3,760
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 43 Post(s)
Liked: 168
I guess Sony is happy with their so called Fix, and that will be the end of it!
Maybe if they'd made more money off the movie originally, they'd pay more attention. I guess they forget, after sales sometimes do a lot better then the screenings, but when you make it that the average joe can't play the Blu-ray properly, the after sales become an after thought! Only us Die Hards even care!
p5browne is offline  
post #281 of 338 Old 04-14-2013, 02:51 PM
 
gregzoll's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 2,524
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 32
Quote:
Originally Posted by p5browne View Post

I guess Sony is happy with their so called Fix, and that will be the end of it!
Maybe if they'd made more money off the movie originally, they'd pay more attention. I guess they forget, after sales sometimes do a lot better then the screenings, but when you make it that the average joe can't play the Blu-ray properly, the after sales become an after thought! Only us Die Hards even care!
Sony told me that the fix for TR, was to update the firmware on a brand new BDP-S590, with the latest firmware, which was built in 2012. I did also get confirmation that they were having their software engineers look into it, due to the scheme may have been updated since they rolled out the firmware (duh, who would have funked).

I personally would not mind getting paid to have the job of watching movies all day on various BR players, then handing in the notes to the software engineers.
gregzoll is offline  
post #282 of 338 Old 04-14-2013, 04:39 PM
Senior Member
 
Angler55's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Mouth of the AuSable River, Michigan
Posts: 408
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 15
Quote:
Originally Posted by gregzoll View Post

Sony told me that the fix for TR, was to update the firmware on a brand new BDP-S590, with the latest firmware, which was built in 2012. I did also get confirmation that they were having their software engineers look into it, due to the scheme may have been updated since they rolled out the firmware (duh, who would have funked).

I personally would not mind getting paid to have the job of watching movies all day on various BR players, then handing in the notes to the software engineers.

You and me both! With a real nice home theater set up just for me!

Al
Angler55 is offline  
post #283 of 338 Old 04-14-2013, 10:00 PM
AVS Special Member
 
p5browne's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Sudbury, Ontario, CANADA
Posts: 3,760
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 43 Post(s)
Liked: 168
The only Model that has had a FW Update is the BDP-S5100, in February.
Sony keeps telling us to do FW updates, but fails, even on their own Sony Models, to deliver!
I stand by what I posted above! (Maybe they're trying to get us to buy the newer model?)
p5browne is offline  
post #284 of 338 Old 04-14-2013, 10:18 PM
Advanced Member
 
Rich86's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: USA - California
Posts: 738
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 27
Quote:
Originally Posted by p5browne View Post

The only Model that has had a FW Update is the BDP-S5100, in February.
Sony keeps telling us to do FW updates, but fails, even on their own Sony Models, to deliver!
I stand by what I posted above! (Maybe they're trying to get us to buy the newer model?)

I do not believe Sony is doing anything to convince folks to buy newer model players in order to avoid audio dropouts with "Total Recall" 2012 - since the older model players seem to handle it just fine. My Sony BDP-S1000ES plays it perfectly with Dolby TrueHD selected. And my player firmware is free of any cinavia corruption. Hmmmm . . is cinavia processing of corrupted Dolby TrueHD audio tracks possibly the problem here?

A long-time audio/video addict!
Rich86 is offline  
post #285 of 338 Old 04-15-2013, 09:51 AM
 
gregzoll's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 2,524
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 32
Quote:
Originally Posted by p5browne View Post

The only Model that has had a FW Update is the BDP-S5100, in February.
Sony keeps telling us to do FW updates, but fails, even on their own Sony Models, to deliver!
I stand by what I posted above! (Maybe they're trying to get us to buy the newer model?)
I only changed from the s370 to the s590, because I wanted an updated unit that could do Netflix in 5.1, and have wifi, along with a better processor in it. My old one is still sitting on my dining room table, waiting for time to take over to friends of ours, to hook it up for their daughter.
gregzoll is offline  
post #286 of 338 Old 04-15-2013, 11:24 AM
AVS Special Member
 
p5browne's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Sudbury, Ontario, CANADA
Posts: 3,760
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 43 Post(s)
Liked: 168
Quote:
Originally Posted by Rich86 View Post

I do not believe Sony is doing anything to convince folks to buy newer model players in order to avoid audio dropouts with "Total Recall" 2012 - since the older model players seem to handle it just fine. My Sony BDP-S1000ES plays it perfectly with Dolby TrueHD selected. And my player firmware is free of any cinavia corruption. Hmmmm . . is cinavia processing of corrupted Dolby TrueHD audio tracks possibly the problem here?

Nothing to do with the Dolby, is your Bitstream Turned On?
p5browne is offline  
post #287 of 338 Old 04-15-2013, 02:25 PM
Newbie
 
NAT1976's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: London
Posts: 11
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by p5browne View Post

But was your Blu-ray player set to PCM or Bitstream?

Bitstream always
NAT1976 is offline  
post #288 of 338 Old 04-15-2013, 03:58 PM
Advanced Member
 
bguzman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Stockton, CA
Posts: 760
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 19
Quote:
Originally Posted by NAT1976 View Post

Ghost Protocol played fine on my Cambridge Audio 650BD, no drop outs

Quote:
Originally Posted by p5browne View Post

But was your Blu-ray player set to PCM or Bitstream?

Quote:
Originally Posted by NAT1976 View Post

Bitstream always

Ghost Protocol played fine bitstreamed on my Oppo 83, however on Total Recall it was drop out city. When I switched to LPCM Total Recall played just fine.

bguzman is offline  
post #289 of 338 Old 04-15-2013, 04:27 PM
AVS Special Member
 
p5browne's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Sudbury, Ontario, CANADA
Posts: 3,760
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 43 Post(s)
Liked: 168
Missed that one! Since this was a Total Recall Forum, didn't dawn on me that he was posting a totally different Movie!
Thought my older BDP-S5000 was playing Total Recall 2012 OK, until the beginning of Chapter 9 - no could do. Actually froze as they came through the door. Had to Reset.
p5browne is offline  
post #290 of 338 Old 04-17-2013, 10:11 AM
Advanced Member
 
Rich86's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: USA - California
Posts: 738
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 27
Quote:
Originally Posted by p5browne View Post

Nothing to do with the Dolby, is your Bitstream Turned On?

My system is set to bitstream lossless audio to my receiver - no player conversions to pcm allowed.
since cinavia is an imbedded audio corruption at the analog level which players with cinavia installed and activated constantly look for, why not consider it as the culprit for brief interruptions of the lossless audio data flow to a receiver causing an audible audio dropout? it would seem that something is briefly interrupting the data flow to the receiver for some folks? and it also seems that newer players have the problem - but not older players (so maybe cinavia vs. pre-cinavia)? It's just an idea for consideration.

A long-time audio/video addict!
Rich86 is offline  
post #291 of 338 Old 04-17-2013, 10:12 AM
Advanced Member
 
Rich86's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: USA - California
Posts: 738
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 27
Quote:
Originally Posted by p5browne View Post

Missed that one! Since this was a Total Recall Forum, didn't dawn on me that he was posting a totally different Movie!
Thought my older BDP-S5000 was playing Total Recall 2012 OK, until the beginning of Chapter 9 - no could do. Actually froze as they came through the door. Had to Reset.

Now that sounds like a defective disc? Why would it freeze unless the disc was unreadable at that spot?

A long-time audio/video addict!
Rich86 is offline  
post #292 of 338 Old 04-17-2013, 05:57 PM
Senior Member
 
DMark1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Lancaster, PA
Posts: 422
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 19
I HAVE FOUND A SOLUTION TO THE TOTAL RECALL BLU-RAY AUDIO DROPOUT PROBLEM!!

I just watched the first 30 minutes of the movie in Dolby TrueHD 7.1 with ZERO DROPOUTS. Here's how:

I made a backup rip of the blu-ray movie using Makemkv and saved it on my Baetis Audio Revolution media server hard drive as an .mkv file. I ripped just the main feature and the lossless TrueHD 7.1 track, so as to avoid all the previews, special features, and other crap. I run Jriver Media Center 18 on the Baetis server, so I played Total Recall back through Jriver, outputting it as HDMI bitstream from the Baetis server to my prepro - an Onkyo PS-SC5508- which handled the decoding to Dolby TrueHD 7.1.

No audio dropouts were heard!!!

I believe that in the ripping process, Makemkv probably stripped out whatever crazy copy protection scheme was causing all these bluray players to experience audio dropouts when playing the Dolby TrueHD 7.1 audio track. Now, with a clean backup file, I can play the movie in TrueHD without the dropouts, and without having to bother switching to LPCM on a bluray player, like my Oppo 105. Not to mention the ease of having all my media at my fingertips with the Baetis media server and the slick Jriver interface!!!

Another plus is that now I have a backup file of the movie in case the original disc is damaged or destroyed.

BTW, this process also worked on the Brave blu-ray, which had similar problems with Dolby TrueHD 7.1 audio dropouts.

For those of you that have media servers, give it a try and let us know if it works for you too. If you don't have a media server yet, feel free to contact me by PM.


Fine Music, Movies, Wine, and Friends - A Life Well Lived!
DMark1 is offline  
post #293 of 338 Old 04-17-2013, 10:48 PM
Advanced Member
 
Rich86's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: USA - California
Posts: 738
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 27
/\ /\ /\
Seems like a lot of expense and trouble to me, as opposed to just shoving the titles you seem to have problems with into a player that handles them correctly.
I'll stick with my pre-cinavia Sony BD players - they bitstream Dolby TrueHD to my Yamaha receiver for all the titles folks have complained about perfectly fine.

A long-time audio/video addict!
Rich86 is offline  
post #294 of 338 Old 04-23-2013, 06:35 PM
AVS Special Member
 
p5browne's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Sudbury, Ontario, CANADA
Posts: 3,760
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 43 Post(s)
Liked: 168
Purchased a Sony BDP-SX510 (Sony BDP-S5100) from COSTCO tonight. Firmware Updated to:

4/19/2013 Version M15.R.0121 File Size 100.80 MB

Tried the Total Recall dropout test. No Dropouts! But, there's also no Dolby BitStream setting either, plus the HDMI Audio is on Auto, so who's to say it isn't dropping to the PCM?
p5browne is offline  
post #295 of 338 Old 04-24-2013, 02:24 PM
Advanced Member
 
Rich86's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: USA - California
Posts: 738
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 27
Quote:
Originally Posted by p5browne View Post

Purchased a Sony BDP-SX510 (Sony BDP-S5100) from COSTCO tonight. Firmware Updated to:

4/19/2013 Version M15.R.0121 File Size 100.80 MB

Tried the Total Recall dropout test. No Dropouts! But, there's also no Dolby BitStream setting either, plus the HDMI Audio is on Auto, so who's to say it isn't dropping to the PCM?

Doesn't your receiver display what type of digital audio it is receiving and processing?

Looking at the manual for this player - hdmi audio set to auto looks correct - but also make sure "BD Audio Mix" is "off" in the player to bitstream lossless audio.

A long-time audio/video addict!
Rich86 is offline  
post #296 of 338 Old 04-24-2013, 03:56 PM
AVS Special Member
 
p5browne's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Sudbury, Ontario, CANADA
Posts: 3,760
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 43 Post(s)
Liked: 168
Quote:
Originally Posted by Rich86 View Post

Doesn't your receiver display what type of digital audio it is receiving and processing?

Looking at the manual for this player - hdmi audio set to auto looks correct - but also make sure "BD Audio Mix" is "off" in the player to bitstream lossless audio.

HDMI Audio was on Auto, and I turned the BD Audio Mix to Off. But was only doing a short test on my system before placing this player in my wife's kitchen system. Still, the newer model Sony BD players get FW updates, my older 590s and 790 still back in 2012! Never though to look at the display. May try again on the wife's system where the player plugs directly into her Samsung 32", and where the display is easier to see then last night ontop of my OPPO 93. (Which also has not had a FW upgrade to take care of the problem.)
p5browne is offline  
post #297 of 338 Old 04-24-2013, 11:08 PM
Advanced Member
 
Rich86's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: USA - California
Posts: 738
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 27
Quote:
Originally Posted by p5browne View Post

HDMI Audio was on Auto, and I turned the BD Audio Mix to Off. But was only doing a short test on my system before placing this player in my wife's kitchen system. Still, the newer model Sony BD players get FW updates, my older 590s and 790 still back in 2012! Never though to look at the display. May try again on the wife's system where the player plugs directly into her Samsung 32", and where the display is easier to see then last night ontop of my OPPO 93. (Which also has not had a FW upgrade to take care of the problem.)

The audio dropouts folks complain about are not necessarily due to players having older firmware. In my experience, Sony players do not seem to require a lot of firmware updates to play titles - I have never had a title fail due to needing a firmware update to play. The very few titles I have ever had a problem with were defective - and replacement discs played perfectly. No firmware updates were required in my older Sony player (BDP-S1000ES) to properly play "Total Recall - 2012" with Dolby TrueHD being bitstreamed to my Yamaha RX-V3900.

A long-time audio/video addict!
Rich86 is offline  
post #298 of 338 Old 04-25-2013, 08:41 AM
AVS Special Member
 
p5browne's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Sudbury, Ontario, CANADA
Posts: 3,760
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 43 Post(s)
Liked: 168
My 590s and 790, all fail the Bitstream test. Best place to test. Scene 8, then going into 9, right at the beginning when he enters the door, and walks in. My older 5000 froze as soon as he walked through the door. Bitstream Off, works OK on all of them. The BDP-SX510 played on my set without issue, also on the wife's system, but there's no display to tell whether it dropped off Auto and down to PCM on the wife's Sony Amp System. My 1000 and some 360s are all gathering dust in the basement. (Wife had to have ALL rooms with NetFlix wireless availabilty, so she can flit from room to room and keep up with what ever she's watching.)
p5browne is offline  
post #299 of 338 Old 04-25-2013, 03:37 PM
Advanced Member
 
Rich86's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: USA - California
Posts: 738
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 27
It would be interesting to test this title in bitstream mode with your Sony BDP-S1000es. It plays fine in my s1000es in my system. The firmware for the 5000 seems to be the same basic firmware as the 350/550 - but the s1000 firmware is a different series. My S1000 has firmware #14 installed from June 2012.

A long-time audio/video addict!
Rich86 is offline  
post #300 of 338 Old 04-25-2013, 04:48 PM
AVS Special Member
 
p5browne's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Sudbury, Ontario, CANADA
Posts: 3,760
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 43 Post(s)
Liked: 168
Quote:
Originally Posted by Rich86 View Post

It would be interesting to test this title in bitstream mode with your Sony BDP-S1000es. It plays fine in my s1000es in my system. The firmware for the 5000 seems to be the same basic firmware as the 350/550 - but the s1000 firmware is a different series. My S1000 has firmware #14 installed from June 2012.

Apparently, the other Sonys are a 560, 760 and the 1000. Fortunately, the 1000 accepted my OPPO Wireless USB and is currently updating to the FW ending in 14..
Conclusion - 1000 worse than the 5000!
Starting from the beginning, everything goes fine until ReKall, then everything smears and freezes. Leave it alone, then it's skipped forward to after he killed all the police.
Ran Scene 8, then in to Scene 9. Momentarily Freezes as he enters his key into the door. Once through the door, freezes like on the 5000.
Settings: Audio Output: HDMI; Audio (HDMI): Auto; BD Audio Setting: Direct; Audio ATT: Off; Dolby Digital: Dolby Digital; DTS: DTS; 96KHZ/24Bit; Audio DRC: Auto; Downmix: Dolby Surround
Yamaha AVR Displaying Cinema DTS
p5browne is offline  
Reply Blu-ray Software

Tags
Total Recall , Samsung 3d Blu Ray Player Model Bd E5500 , Sony Blu Ray Disc Player Bdp S790 , Pioneer Bdp 51fd Bonusview Blu Ray Player , Oppo Bdp 93 Blu Ray Player
Gear in this thread

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off