Blu Ray discs of Old Movies - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 

post #1 of 6 Old 12-03-2012, 09:31 PM - Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I'm new to Blu Ray discs, but is there any benefit to getting the Blu Ray version of old movies that I already own on DVD? For example, are classic movies like Casablanca or even late 80's or 90's movies even shot in HD to benefit from the additional resolution? How about for animated Disney or newer Pixar movies?
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 6 Old 12-03-2012, 10:19 PM
AVS Special Member

Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Sure is!

Check out these reviews of Casablanca:

http://www.blu-ray.com/movies/Casablanca-Blu-ray/33623/#Review

http://bluray.highdefdigest.com/6198/casablanca_70th.html

Let me add this thought, however--the bigger the screen size the more noticeable the visual improvement will be. What size is your TV?

Most Blu rays also offer true lossless sound which is another factor which you might enjoy.

If you're a fan of the Universal Monsters then the newly released

http://bluray.highdefdigest.com/7298/classic_monsters_essential.html

may be of interest to you. (But buy the Amazon,uk version to save a lot of money if you're looking for a bargain. Same films and they'll play on your U.S. Blu ray player.)

http://www.amazon.co.uk/Universal-Classic-Monsters-Essential-Collection/dp/B008H45YSO/ref=sr_1_1?ie=UTF8&qid=1354601929&sr=8-1
post #3 of 6 Old 12-04-2012, 02:25 AM
AVS Special Member

Quoted: 60 Post(s)
Liked: 777
Absolutely!

Alien is arguably the best looking movie in my nearly 300 disc blu-ray collection. However, not all catalog titles have great or even good looking blu-ray transfers. My collection of the 1st 6 Star Treks movies is pretty mediocre at best.