Played The Avengers Blu Ray and nearly blew out my speaker system. What gives? - AVS Forum

AVS Forum > Blu-ray & HD DVD > Blu-ray Software > Played The Avengers Blu Ray and nearly blew out my speaker system. What gives?

Blu-ray Software

1ceTr0n's Avatar 1ceTr0n
02:30 AM Liked: 32
post #1 of 16
04-21-2013 | Posts: 126
Joined: Sep 2011
Dear sweet Christ, I rented Avengers tonight using my new sony BDP-BX510 blu ray player through my Yamaha HTR-5930 5.1 DTS system I've had for years and the movie when it got to an action damn near blew out my surround system sub woofer because of the insane amount of bass that came out of nowhere because I had to raise the volume to be able to hear people speak.

Either the movie on the disc has some REALLY weird balance issues that required me to basically disable my subwoofer or the fact that blue ray has some type of audio code that raises the volume level, I had to crank my system way down and put the speakers in straight more less I piss off every single neighbor in my apt complex by keeping it in surround sound mode.


What the hell gives with Blue Ray discs that would throw my normally balanced 5.1 system for Xbox 360 optical sound usage completely out of whack like this that damn near turned my apt to an earthquake?
dryasanne's Avatar dryasanne
05:40 AM Liked: 19
post #2 of 16
04-21-2013 | Posts: 245
Joined: Oct 2011
You should really go out and get the Bluray X-Men First Class, and give that a spin in your hometheater :-)
nathanddrews's Avatar nathanddrews
08:52 AM Liked: 77
post #3 of 16
04-21-2013 | Posts: 946
Joined: Jun 2012
It's unlikely that the balance issue is with the disc. Avengers is a well-crafted disc. My dad has that same receiver and it doesn't support HD audio, so you have to downmix from the Blu-ray player over COAX. Make sure your settings on the player are correct. Then I'd recommend adjusting the gain and crossover of your subwoofer until you can hear the dialog without waking your neighbors.
1ceTr0n's Avatar 1ceTr0n
10:47 AM Liked: 32
post #4 of 16
04-21-2013 | Posts: 126
Joined: Sep 2011
What settings would I need to adjust for downmixing?
nathanddrews's Avatar nathanddrews
10:59 AM Liked: 77
post #5 of 16
04-21-2013 | Posts: 946
Joined: Jun 2012
What I meant is that it already is downmixing, but you may need to tweak some settings in your Blu-ray player if possible. Check your manual and the player's audio settings to be sure.
KBMAN's Avatar KBMAN
12:43 PM Liked: 45
post #6 of 16
04-21-2013 | Posts: 2,896
Joined: Jan 2002
if you can't fugure it out, just turn up your center speaker, then lower the OVERALL volume.....
thebland's Avatar thebland
01:37 PM Liked: 166
post #7 of 16
04-21-2013 | Posts: 24,021
Joined: Jan 2001
That is a classic sign of problematic poor room acoustics and / or a sub that just cannot handle the lowest frequencies. When you have to turn up the dialog, you either have a high noise floor and / or a dip in the frequencies where vocals are... so consequently you have to increase the volume to bring up those vocal frequencies in order to hear them - thereby raising your sub levels s well. Then the subs nearly blow out at a dynamic scene. EQing yoyur subs might to the most to help if all else seems good.

This is a home theater site for enthusiast. Your problem is in many ways the impetus for most here who spend the $$ to improve their rooms (e.g. better speaker placement, digital signal processing, room correction, acoustical materials, and professional audio calibration.

I've spent $$$ acoustically treating my room, adding digital signal processing and EQ, having it professionally calibrated and buying subs that really can't blow out at most any level. When you get all things right, you place your volume at a level you prefer and never need to touch it. Good luck!
1ceTr0n's Avatar 1ceTr0n
01:59 PM Liked: 32
post #8 of 16
04-21-2013 | Posts: 126
Joined: Sep 2011
^^^^ Yeah, not gonna happen for my apt town house and basic sound system.
Toe's Avatar Toe
02:20 PM Liked: 554
post #9 of 16
04-21-2013 | Posts: 13,318
Joined: Apr 2002
Quote:
Originally Posted by 1ceTr0n View Post

^^^^ Yeah, not gonna happen for my apt town house and basic sound system.

Have you done a basic calibration for each of the channels with an SPL meter and calibration disc such as Avia or DVE to get everything balanced at the LP?
1ceTr0n's Avatar 1ceTr0n
02:25 PM Liked: 32
post #10 of 16
04-21-2013 | Posts: 126
Joined: Sep 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by Toe View Post

Have you done a basic calibration for each of the channels with an SPL meter and calibration disc such as Avia or DVE to get everything balanced at the LP?

Huh?
Toe's Avatar Toe
04:29 PM Liked: 554
post #11 of 16
04-21-2013 | Posts: 13,318
Joined: Apr 2002
Quote:
Originally Posted by 1ceTr0n View Post

Huh?


Look at page 22 of your owners manual.........

http://usa.yamaha.com/products/audio-visual/av-receivers-amps/htr/htr-5930_black__u/?mode=model


You need to adjust the individual speaker levels at your listening position so they are all the same volume and balanced. You also need to do some general bass management by setting your speakers to small or large, set speaker distances, etc......if you have not done so. Refer to page 52-55

You can set the levels with either the internal test tone of your receiver, or better yet with a calibration disc like Avia or Digital Video Essentials (these discs will walk you through how to do this with your SPL meter). You will also need a SPL meter which you can get from various places such as Radio shack or Amazon so you can measure the speaker levels and then adjust/balance them.




http://www.amazon.com/Velleman-AVM2050-ANALOGUE-SOUND-LEVEL/dp/B000LR169Q/ref=sr_1_20?ie=UTF8&qid=1366582875&sr=8-20&keywords=SPL+meter
Wendell R. Breland's Avatar Wendell R. Breland
07:56 AM Liked: 60
post #12 of 16
04-22-2013 | Posts: 4,419
Joined: Sep 1999
In addition to the one Toe recommenced there is one available from Radio Shack here. If you want to spring for a better SPL meter then a calibrated one can be found here. If you have an iPad then you could use the SPL Meter app that is available on the cheap, it is better than no meter at all.
Wendell R. Breland's Avatar Wendell R. Breland
08:16 AM Liked: 60
post #13 of 16
04-22-2013 | Posts: 4,419
Joined: Sep 1999
iPad (or iPhone) dB Meter info here. IMO, I would not use the app in place of a good SPL Meter. The app should work in a pinch.


Toe's Avatar Toe
08:50 AM Liked: 554
post #14 of 16
04-22-2013 | Posts: 13,318
Joined: Apr 2002
Quote:
Originally Posted by Wendell R. Breland View Post

In addition to the one Toe recommenced there is one available from Radio Shack here. If you want to spring for a better SPL meter then a calibrated one can be found here. If you have an iPad then you could use the SPL Meter app that is available on the cheap, it is better than no meter at all.

Thanks for the info Wendell. Do you happen to know how high the calibrated meter reads for taking max SPL? My cheap analog meter stops at 126db and I would like to not only get a better meter at some point like the one you linked, but one that can read a bit higher.

Thanks for the app info as well.
Wendell R. Breland's Avatar Wendell R. Breland
11:52 AM Liked: 60
post #15 of 16
04-22-2013 | Posts: 4,419
Joined: Sep 1999
Quote:
Originally Posted by Toe View Post

Do you happen to know how high the calibrated meter reads for taking max SPL?

130 dB SPL, info here. That seems to be the limit of most of the lower cost SPL meters. Like many other inexpensive SPL meters, they should not be be used for frequency response testing.

To get high level (140 dB) testing and wideband response will require something like the Brüel & Kjær line of meters. These meters most likely cost in the multi thousands. Brüel & Kjær is a pro line of equipment and IMHO, make the BEST microphones in the world, we were lucky to have some at my work place.
Toe's Avatar Toe
02:08 PM Liked: 554
post #16 of 16
04-22-2013 | Posts: 13,318
Joined: Apr 2002
Quote:
Originally Posted by Wendell R. Breland View Post

130 dB SPL, info here. That seems to be the limit of most of the lower cost SPL meters. Like many other inexpensive SPL meters, they should not be be used for frequency response testing.

To get high level (140 dB) testing and wideband response will require something like the Brüel & Kjær line of meters. These meters most likely cost in the multi thousands. Brüel & Kjær is a pro line of equipment and IMHO, make the BEST microphones in the world, we were lucky to have some at my work place.

Great info Wendell. Thanks! smile.gif
Reply Blu-ray Software

Subscribe to this Thread

Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3