Beware Speed - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
Old 11-17-2006, 04:58 PM - Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
billymerritt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Tampa, FL
Posts: 331
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 16
Originally Posted by Roger Mathus
SPEED is the first Blu-ray disc that I have encountered that will not load. It tries then the tray opens. I have tried cleaning and re-boot of the Samsung player. No help. I have the latest firmware and five other Fox titles and all previous purchases load and play fine.

Anyone else having problems with SPEED?

YES!
Also Speed won't play for me either, tried unplug, cleaned disc, and have latest firmware on the Sammy. Sammy reads disc and returns message saying this disc will not play. I will return disc to Amazon.com. It looks to me like the disc was never burn at factory, just looks like a blank disc when compared to other BD discs, also was no insert of any kind on left side of case when opened which all the others like Behind E.L. have upcoming Fox titles.

Bill
billymerritt is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 11-17-2006, 05:08 PM
Senior Member
 
Roger Mathus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Redmond, Oregon
Posts: 259
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
I got a second copy from Amazon with the same result. Both discs from Amazon had no insert on left side and there was no security stickers on the package. It was, however, shrink wrapped. Some people are reporting no problems other than slow load. It appears that a bad batch got out the door and arrived at Amazon. Your analysis that it is blank disc seems very likely as there are no product or lot marks on the reverse side near the center.
Roger Mathus is offline  
Old 11-17-2006, 08:22 PM
Advanced Member
 
calvin c's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 559
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Mine is from Amazon, but did play fine on my panny. No sleeve either. Seemed a little slow to load too, almost like KOH.
calvin c is offline  
Old 11-17-2006, 08:24 PM
Senior Member
 
Video Engineer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 418
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Make sure latest firmware is installed.
Video Engineer is offline  
Old 11-17-2006, 09:38 PM
AVS Special Member
 
ThePrisoner's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 2,177
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 35 Post(s)
Liked: 18
Picked up The Transporter today. Loaded about the same time it takes my other BD's to load. Looks like this problem is being narrowed down to The Speed disc itself.

Panasonic 60GT30
Denon X4100
Oppo BDP-103
Definitive Technology BP-8060ST CS-8060HD SR-8040BP ProMonitor 800 (front heights)
SVS 2x PC12-NSD
Dolby Atmos 5.2.2
ThePrisoner is offline  
Old 11-17-2006, 10:16 PM
Senior Member
 
Roger Mathus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Redmond, Oregon
Posts: 259
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Yes, I have the latest firmware. No problem with all the other Fox discs. Just SPEED.
Roger Mathus is offline  
Old 11-18-2006, 07:17 AM
AVS Special Member
 
ThePrisoner's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 2,177
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 35 Post(s)
Liked: 18
Maybe during the week we'll get more info as to what happened with certain copies of Speed. Some people get the disc to play after about 4-5min. Looks like I'll pass on buying t for now, bummer.

Panasonic 60GT30
Denon X4100
Oppo BDP-103
Definitive Technology BP-8060ST CS-8060HD SR-8040BP ProMonitor 800 (front heights)
SVS 2x PC12-NSD
Dolby Atmos 5.2.2
ThePrisoner is offline  
Old 11-18-2006, 07:31 AM
Senior Member
 
palofex's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Ohio
Posts: 435
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
It seems that everyone having issues not being able to load discs is using the Sammy...
palofex is offline  
Old 11-19-2006, 07:33 AM
Senior Member
 
paulbh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Posts: 361
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by palofex View Post

It seems that everyone having issues not being able to load discs is using the Sammy...

No problems playing Speed last night on the Panasonic with FW 1.2. It looked very nice. Maybe this thread should be "Beware Speed on Samsung"?
paulbh is offline  
Old 11-19-2006, 08:04 AM
Senior Member
 
gas_leak's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Georgia
Posts: 247
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
No problem with Speed here, I'm using a Sammy with latest firmware. Got mine from Circuit City and the box came with an insert and a firmware upgrade warning card.
gas_leak is offline  
Old 11-19-2006, 08:36 AM
AVS Club Gold
 
joerod's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: MIDWEST (just outside Chicago)
Posts: 22,129
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 83 Post(s)
Liked: 117
No problem here either. Of course I am using the DTHEATER version...

For my latest Reviews and Stuff google -> Joe Rod Home Theater .Com
Check out my Dolby Atmos/Surround first take:
http://hstrial-jrodriguez996.homeste...=1409517748063
joerod is offline  
Old 11-19-2006, 05:26 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Earz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Grand Rapids Michigan
Posts: 4,313
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I was hoping the Philips version had the newer firmware for this problem....but it does not.

I had to start the movie 4-5 times to get the circle swirls...and finally have it play.

Looks pretty good though...with nice sound also.
I only watched the D-theater version once...so I can't recall if this version is some what better....or the same.
Earz is offline  
Old 11-20-2006, 10:15 AM
Senior Member
 
Roger Mathus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Redmond, Oregon
Posts: 259
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
I called Fox Consumer Department and the person I talked to indicated that they had no other inquiries regarding problems with SPEED. They told me I could return the product to Fox and that they would evaluate and send replacement disc in about 4-6 weeks.

The phone number that I obtained from the Fox Home Video website is 1-888-223-2FOX.
Roger Mathus is offline  
Old 11-20-2006, 10:18 AM
AVS Special Member
 
patrick99's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 3,912
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Apparently both Speed and League of Extraordinary Gentlement require the update to play on Samsung, because of Java features.
patrick99 is offline  
Old 11-20-2006, 11:50 AM
Member
 
clarkbar911's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Chandler, AZ
Posts: 99
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I cannot get Speed to work on Sammy with upgraded firmware. No problem with X3, Transporter, LXG. I don't think it had a security seal or insert. Received mine from DVDEmpire.
clarkbar911 is offline  
Old 11-20-2006, 03:03 PM - Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
billymerritt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Tampa, FL
Posts: 331
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 16
Quote:
Originally Posted by Roger Mathus View Post

I called Fox Consumer Department and the person I talked to indicated that they had no other inquiries regarding problems with SPEED. They told me I could return the product to Fox and that they would evaluate and send replacement disc in about 4-6 weeks.

The phone number that I obtained from the Fox Home Video website is 1-888-223-2FOX.

I got second Speed disc from Amazon, same problem, Sammy ejects disc and says disc will not play. Will call Fox as you did and let them know there are more of us with this disc problem! Guess I will just get refund from Amazon for this title!

Bill
billymerritt is offline  
Old 11-20-2006, 04:42 PM
AVS Special Member
 
HomerJay's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Posts: 1,560
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Quote:
Originally Posted by joerod View Post

No problem here either. Of course I am using the DTHEATER version...

I saw some Fox titles the other day (I don't believe it was Speed) and couldn't believe my eyes when I saw 18Mbps listed as the bitrate. Aren't new technologies supposed to improve on the old? The D-VHS copy I have (assuming all Fox titles are the same; only a few are marked) is 28.2Mbps. All I can say is wow, way to go Fox. Just over 1/2 the bitrate of D-VHS...YEAH!!
HomerJay is offline  
Old 11-21-2006, 07:33 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Brajesh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2000
Location: Metro Atlanta
Posts: 5,925
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 148 Post(s)
Liked: 68
Mine won't play either. I have the latest firmware installed on my Sammy.

HD Media Keen Videosaurus
Brajesh is offline  
Old 11-21-2006, 08:21 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
JOHNnDENVER's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 13,377
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 12
I was going to pick this up tonight too.. Not so sure now.
JOHNnDENVER is offline  
Old 11-21-2006, 02:26 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Vern Dias's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 1999
Location: Allen TX USA
Posts: 4,978
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
No problem on my Panasonic.....

Vern
Vern Dias is offline  
Old 11-21-2006, 09:49 PM
Member
 
hammer99's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 94
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Mine finally arrived from Amazon, no problems on my Sammy (latest firmware).
hammer99 is offline  
Old 11-21-2006, 10:35 PM
Senior Member
 
StuDBaker's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 285
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by joerod View Post

No problem here either. Of course I am using the DTHEATER version...

So, just how did you stick a DVHS tape into a DVD slot?
StuDBaker is offline  
Old 11-22-2006, 07:12 AM
Blu-ray Reviewer
 
Ralph Potts's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Middletown NY
Posts: 9,506
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 209 Post(s)
Liked: 685
Greetings,

I watched Speed on my Panasonic with no problem other than a longer load time. Pic and sound quality are very decent.

Regards,

Ralph C. Potts
Blu-ray Reviews
AVS Forum
My Home Theater
My DVD/HD DVD/Blu-ray Collection
Ralph Potts is offline  
Old 11-22-2006, 09:47 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
JOHNnDENVER's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 13,377
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Well, I gave it a miss for now. I picked up a few titltes after work, after my FW update completed n my Sammy.
JOHNnDENVER is offline  
Old 11-22-2006, 12:39 PM
Member
 
uscjordan23's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 29
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Looks good on PS3
uscjordan23 is offline  
Old 11-22-2006, 04:15 PM
AVS Special Member
 
dvdguru's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Shelby, NC. previously in Charlotte
Posts: 1,186
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
UPDATE: After receiving the most current firmware disc and loading it on the Sammy today, both Speed and Behind Enemy Lines now play for me. Before the firmware update they both would sputter along with the whole screen going green every few seconds...

Elite PRO-70X5FD!

dvdguru

Xbox Live Gamertag: AVS Steve
dvdguru is offline  
Old 11-29-2006, 07:17 AM - Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
billymerritt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Tampa, FL
Posts: 331
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 16
I received email from Amazon today giving me 100% refund for Speed, it seems they have had many of these returned. I had 2 discs from them and neither one would play as other members have also. Message on Sammy was "this disc will not play" and yes have latest firmware installed. I read on other posts random discs from different studios will not play, so???? is it the Sammy or the disc? This is the question?

Bill
billymerritt is offline  
Old 11-29-2006, 05:33 PM
AVS Club Gold
 
chipvideo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Seattle
Posts: 877
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by billymerritt View Post

I received email from Amazon today giving me 100% refund for Speed, it seems they have had many of these returned. I had 2 discs from them and neither one would play as other members have also. Message on Sammy was "this disc will not play" and yes have latest firmware installed. I read on other posts random discs from different studios will not play, so???? is it the Sammy or the disc? This is the question?

I have the same problem with Ice Age 2 and another one from netflix. Both discs were brand new with zero scratches. The other disc of the 3 played fine. Using the sammy BD1000. Not sure what to think of that. I also have the latest firmware installed.
chipvideo is offline  
Old 11-29-2006, 06:06 PM
Senior Member
 
Roger Mathus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Redmond, Oregon
Posts: 259
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
I had two copies of SPEED from Amazon and neither would load on the Samsung player. I returned one to Fox. No problem with other Fox titles but several did slow load.

Today, I got new Sony BDP-S1 player and it was able to load and play SPEED but the load process took a very long time.

My take on the problem is that perhaps both the player and the disc contribute to the problem. Note that it appears that SPEED causes no problems to many Samsung players
There was a similar problem in early days of DVD where the disc was at the edge of spec limit. When a player was also within but at edge of spec the disc would not read. I think that the problem was corrected by more careful production of the disc. As I recall, this involved a number of early Anchor Bay discs.

This is from memory, so if someone who is more of expert on disc production and specs please correct or supplement.
Roger Mathus is offline  
Old 11-30-2006, 01:49 AM
Advanced Member
 
Jules343's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Posts: 926
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by joerod View Post

No problem here either. Of course I am using the DTHEATER version...

Now how did you get that to load in the Sammy?

Quote:
Originally Posted by StuDBaker View Post

So, just how did you stick a DVHS tape into a DVD slot?

Damn I'm slow today. First the MPAA thread and now this.

PSN ID: Ass
Jules343 is offline  
 
Thread Tools


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off