PS3 owners on a budget, who want lossless HD audio - Look here. - Page 17 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools
post #481 of 504 Old 10-17-2007, 10:45 AM
Member
 
Jenova's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 131
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I was running my 360 through the 605 via component and the image looks much softer. I plugged it directly to my lcd (the digital optical out into the 605) and it looked a lot better and sharper. Does anyone have a softer looking image when it goes through the 605 via component?

could overheating degrade the PQ? I had the 605 in a tight unventilated space for a while but it never crashed.

btw, my PS3 and cable box runs through the 605 via HDMI and looks fine.
Jenova is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #482 of 504 Old 10-17-2007, 11:12 AM
AVS Special Member
 
theflux's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 1,203
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jenova View Post

I was running my 360 through the 605 via component and the image looks much softer. I plugged it directly to my lcd (the digital optical out into the 605) and it looked a lot better and sharper. Does anyone have a softer looking image when it goes through the 605 via component?

could overheating degrade the PQ? I had the 605 in a tight unventilated space for a while but it never crashed.

btw, my PS3 and cable box runs through the 605 via HDMI and looks fine.

With your 360, what resolution are you outputting to the 605?
theflux is offline  
post #483 of 504 Old 10-17-2007, 11:36 AM
Member
 
HijoDeDios's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 27
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
i also was curious if the HK 247 will do 7.1 PCM, basically what problems will i run into using the 247?
HijoDeDios is offline  
post #484 of 504 Old 10-17-2007, 12:03 PM
Member
 
Jenova's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 131
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by theflux View Post

With your 360, what resolution are you outputting to the 605?

my 360 is set to 1080p My display is also 1080p
Jenova is offline  
post #485 of 504 Old 10-17-2007, 12:57 PM
AVS Special Member
 
kamspy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Cincy,OH
Posts: 1,038
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I have a 3.1 set-up (I just prefer it. The surround sound is loved by all, but it distracts me.) Theater Dimensional is enough surround sound for me, there are some (few) 5.1 tracks that I liked but the majority of them actually pulled me away from the movie. I use my old rear speakers in my bedroom now.

So I have my PS3 hooked up to my Onkyo TX-SR601 via optical, does this mean I lose the dedicated sub channel when I select PCM? What setting should I have it on to maintain the dedicated sub channel?

Please PM me if you know the answer to this one. I would really appreciate it and thank you in advance o audio master

Only watches movies on celluloid in the DOP's personal home theater.
kamspy is offline  
post #486 of 504 Old 10-17-2007, 01:34 PM
Advanced Member
 
fronn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: St. Paul, MN
Posts: 544
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by HijoDeDios View Post

but the SD channels aren't 1080i/p, they are probably 480, so would I then have issues?

If you connect your DVR box through HDMI it will be fine... the DVR box will be scaling them to 1080i/p anyways (just like before), so you won't get any scaling artifacts like you potentially could if you had to run it through component -> hdmi -> TV. You'll really have to compare it yourself, as there may not be any depending on your DVR's scaling and TV's scaling.

It will get scaled once from 480i/p to 1080i/p and just look kind of ugly (as SD tends to on HDTVs)...

I haven't noticed any ugly scaling artifacts from choosing 720p on the DVR and then having the TV scale to 1080p (outside of the ugliness of 480 TV being upconverted to 1080). I have my DVR going through component and have it running in 720p and then my tv scales to 1080p (my DVR's HDMI port doesn't work). SD Looks the same as it did before on my TV.

Quote:


i also was curious if the HK 247 will do 7.1 PCM, basically what problems will i run into using the 247?

As far as 7.1 PCM, I think it supports it, but I don't think it'll allow you to run a 5.1 PCM as 7.1 PCM like many other receivers.
fronn is offline  
post #487 of 504 Old 10-17-2007, 01:42 PM
Advanced Member
 
fronn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: St. Paul, MN
Posts: 544
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by kamspy View Post

I have a 3.1 set-up (I just prefer it. The surround sound is loved by all, but it distracts me.) Theater Dimensional is enough surround sound for me, there are some (few) 5.1 tracks that I liked but the majority of them actually pulled me away from the movie. I use my old rear speakers in my bedroom now.

So I have my PS3 hooked up to my Onkyo TX-SR601 via optical, does this mean I lose the dedicated sub channel when I select PCM? What setting should I have it on to maintain the dedicated sub channel?

Please PM me if you know the answer to this one. I would really appreciate it and thank you in advance o audio master

It'll send it as a 2.0 stereo. I'm not sure you'd necessarily lose everything when it converts it to 2.0 like you would if it did just take the L/R channels alone and send those, dialog would often be way too quiet and wouldn't sound right in that case -- I'm pretty sure it'll combine most of the sound information from the 5.1 into those 2 channels so your receiver should be able to pull out enough bass to send to the sub and dialog should sound okay. You'll have to do some comparisons to see what sounds better for you.
fronn is offline  
post #488 of 504 Old 10-17-2007, 01:47 PM
Member
 
HijoDeDios's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 27
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by fronn View Post

If you connect your DVR box through HDMI it will be fine... the DVR box will be scaling them to 1080i/p anyways (just like before), so you won't get any scaling artifacts like you potentially could if you had to run it through component -> hdmi -> TV. You'll really have to compare it yourself, as there may not be any depending on your DVR's scaling and TV's scaling.

It will get scaled once from 480i/p to 1080i/p and just look kind of ugly (as SD tends to on HDTVs)...

I haven't noticed any ugly scaling artifacts from choosing 720p on the DVR and then having the TV scale to 1080p (outside of the ugliness of 480 TV being upconverted to 1080). I have my DVR going through component and have it running in 720p and then my tv scales to 1080p (my DVR's HDMI port doesn't work). SD Looks the same as it did before on my TV.



As far as 7.1 PCM, I think it supports it, but I don't think it'll allow you to run a 5.1 PCM as 7.1 PCM like many other receivers.

so basically my extra 2 speakers won't be in use unless I am watching a BD or playing a game on ps3 that outputs 7.1? is this something that could be changed with firmware or is it available in the 347 or any other comparable HK unit or would i have to look elsewhere, i just can't get over the aesthetics of HK units
HijoDeDios is offline  
post #489 of 504 Old 01-02-2008, 08:59 AM
cpc
AVS Club Gold
 
cpc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Location: Toronto,ON,Canada
Posts: 7,504
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Any more news on the horizon?
cpc is offline  
post #490 of 504 Old 01-02-2008, 09:04 AM
AVS Special Member
 
jkcheng122's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Houston, TX
Posts: 5,481
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 30
Quote:
Originally Posted by cpc View Post

Any more news on the horizon?

news on what?
jkcheng122 is offline  
post #491 of 504 Old 01-02-2008, 09:18 AM
AVS Special Member
 
robertc88's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Central NJ
Posts: 3,639
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
^^^^

I assume what most are hoping will eventually happen with the audio for bitstream of HD Master. I bought the Panny BD30 so I can wait. If not, I may eventually sell the PS3.
robertc88 is offline  
post #492 of 504 Old 01-02-2008, 08:54 PM
cpc
AVS Club Gold
 
cpc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Location: Toronto,ON,Canada
Posts: 7,504
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Actually, I need PCM over HDMI 1.1
cpc is offline  
post #493 of 504 Old 01-02-2008, 09:00 PM
 
ABCD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Canada
Posts: 670
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by robertc88 View Post

^^^^

I assume what most are hoping will eventually happen with the audio for bitstream of HD Master. I bought the Panny BD30 so I can wait. If not, I may eventually sell the PS3.

If it is in your budget, it would be better to avoid the PS3 and buy a player that streams DST-MA and a HDMI 1.3 receiver. As the old saying goes, "a cheque in your hand is better than 2 in the mail".

Personally, I am beginning to wonder if we will ever see internal decoding of DTS-MA by any player including the PS3 (and not due to technical reasons).
ABCD is offline  
post #494 of 504 Old 01-10-2008, 03:32 PM
Member
 
rotate928's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 15
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Were there any new product announcements for reasonably priced receivers at CES?
rotate928 is offline  
post #495 of 504 Old 01-10-2008, 03:49 PM
AVS Special Member
 
almostinsane's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Posts: 4,027
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 24
Pioneer announced a few cheapies.
almostinsane is offline  
post #496 of 504 Old 01-10-2008, 05:35 PM
Advanced Member
 
ooms's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 568
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
what about people who do not use a receiver, but just plug HDMI from PS3 to TV? They cant get lossless?
ooms is offline  
post #497 of 504 Old 01-10-2008, 05:38 PM
Senior Member
 
EricST's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Southern Indiana
Posts: 496
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I am super super happy with my Denon 2307ci.
I have it hooked up to my Tosh A2 & PS3 and they both work great.
I got DTS sound out of The Simpsons Movie and it sounded great. But so far thats the only DTS movie i have watched yet.

May the Force be with you.
EricST is offline  
post #498 of 504 Old 01-10-2008, 07:29 PM
Member
 
wudevious's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 100
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jenova View Post

my 360 is set to 1080p My display is also 1080p

might be stupid, but does your tv (when you hit the display button) show 1080p on your tv (when using the component to receiver setup)? what do you run from your receiver to your tv?
wudevious is offline  
post #499 of 504 Old 01-12-2008, 03:08 PM
Newbie
 
KanataStrikes's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 3
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Go easy on me folks here... I haven't a bloomin' clue.

Anyways, I'm thinking of getting one of the these Onkyo TX-SR605 recievers (seems a good choice, no?). So how do I get this connected to my TV and PS3? Do I put a HDMI cable from my PS3 to the reciever and then a HDMI cable from the reciever to my TV?

What about putting my Wii and 360 into the reciever? Could I just plug an optical cable in from my 360 to reciever and it would work ok? Not sure if Wii supports optical so how would I connect that through component?

Also, what speakers would be recommended for said reciever. I'm thinking 7.1 here. Nothing to expensive but good quality all the same. Don't really like the long vertical types but whichever goes.

Thanks in advance for any help. It's worth 2 cookies.

Oh and try to keep it as simple as possible. I've got an headache just thinking about it.
KanataStrikes is offline  
post #500 of 504 Old 01-12-2008, 04:38 PM
Senior Member
 
cdhender's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 493
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by KanataStrikes View Post

Go easy on me folks here... I haven't a bloomin' clue.

Anyways, I'm thinking of getting one of the these Onkyo TX-SR605 recievers (seems a good choice, no?). So how do I get this connected to my TV and PS3? Do I put a HDMI cable from my PS3 to the reciever and then a HDMI cable from the reciever to my TV?

Yep. That's how I have mine and it ....is.... AWESOME

Quote:
Originally Posted by KanataStrikes View Post

What about putting my Wii and 360 into the reciever? Could I just plug an optical cable in from my 360 to reciever and it would work ok? Not sure if Wii supports optical so how would I connect that through component?

Again, yep that's how I have my 360. For ps3 I use HDMI, for 360 I use optical, it works great. I don't own a Wii so I can't help you there.

Quote:
Originally Posted by KanataStrikes View Post

Also, what speakers would be recommended for said reciever. I'm thinking 7.1 here. Nothing to expensive but good quality all the same. Don't really like the long vertical types but whichever goes.

Thanks in advance for any help. It's worth 2 cookies.

I'll let someone else answer this. I bought a home theater in-a-box a few years ago (Onkyo) and while I like it, I think there are better options out there

Quote:
Originally Posted by KanataStrikes View Post

Oh and try to keep it as simple as possible. I've got an headache just thinking about it.

It really is simple. That's the great thing about HDMI, it makes life easier IMO.
cdhender is offline  
post #501 of 504 Old 04-10-2008, 09:40 AM
Senior Member
 
Jazar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 237
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Now that the PS3 can decode DTS:MA by next week, I think this thread will have more relevance now that more users will be interested in the best 'bang for the buck' receivers.
Jazar is offline  
post #502 of 504 Old 04-10-2008, 09:56 AM
AVS Special Member
 
robertc88's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Central NJ
Posts: 3,639
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
All along I felt the thread needs a sticky.
robertc88 is offline  
post #503 of 504 Old 04-10-2008, 10:15 AM
AVS Special Member
 
shadowrage's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 3,780
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Someone should do an A-B with the PS3. Without the full blown MA and then with.

Ridiculous codec tier sig gone. Still AVC/24bit lossless fanboy.

Studio quality tier
Most Major studios>Small Studios>dogs>cats>Warner(the guys that do new movies)
shadowrage is offline  
post #504 of 504 Old 04-10-2008, 10:53 AM
Moderator
 
PooperScooper's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Leominster MA
Posts: 19,959
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 70 Post(s)
Liked: 323
I don't know why this thread is here. Except for the last page of posts it was active "pre-AVS cleanup" of HDM areas. There's no reason for the thread to be here. If anything, it should be in the receiver forum and "billyju(?)" just started a thread there. Or maybe the BD player forum. It won't be a sticky if it's PS3 only. Stickies are now only for common things for all BD players.

Please, can somebody do this: Start a new thread (not here if it's hardware related) and make a clear statement of what the intent is to be. Or just go to the Amps and Receiver's forum. Thanks.

larry

Opportunity is missed by most people because it is dressed in overalls and looks like work. -- Thomas Alva Edison
PooperScooper is offline  
Closed Thread Blu-ray Software

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off