descent causing problems with ps3? - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 31 Old 01-02-2007, 01:28 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
jattsp's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 97
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
i want to pick up descent on blu ray but here that it is causing problems with the ps3.........some of the ps3s have died and have to be sent back .....i have a 20 gb, and havent experienced a single problem, and have had it for a little more than a month now.

just wanna now if i should go ahead with the purchase.
jattsp is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 31 Old 01-02-2007, 01:54 PM
Advanced Member
 
inca's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Atlanta
Posts: 918
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I have watched descent twice now without a hiccup on my 20 gig ps3, plays it just fine. I think that is only one guy that you are talking about and his system just so happened to breath its last breath while it was playing Descent. I could have done the same with an SD-Movie.
inca is offline  
post #3 of 31 Old 01-02-2007, 02:02 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Dave Mack's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: NYC
Posts: 11,966
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 13
some..?
Dave Mack is offline  
post #4 of 31 Old 01-02-2007, 04:20 PM
Advanced Member
 
Tripjammer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 872
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by jattsp View Post

i want to pick up descent on blu ray but here that it is causing problems with the ps3.........some of the ps3s have died and have to be sent back .....i have a 20 gb, and havent experienced a single problem, and have had it for a little more than a month now.

just wanna now if i should go ahead with the purchase.

I watched The Desent on my 60 gb PS3...not problems...It had an awesome picture 5 stars!

Playstation Network Name: Aiphanes
Warhawk Clan: Knights of HalfBros
Resistance Clan: Knights of HalfBros
Folding@home Team 56396

Knights of Halfbros Team STATS
Tripjammer is offline  
post #5 of 31 Old 01-02-2007, 07:56 PM
Member
 
mark.hannis's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Valley Forge, PA
Posts: 75
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I also watched The Descent today on my 60gig ps3 with no problems.
mark.hannis is offline  
post #6 of 31 Old 01-02-2007, 08:00 PM
Senior Member
 
Apollo 13's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: ohio
Posts: 283
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
just boght movie today and plays great on my PS3.
Apollo 13 is offline  
post #7 of 31 Old 01-02-2007, 08:04 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
bfdtv's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 13,484
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
There are no problems with Descent if you have a recent / latest firmware on your PS3.
bfdtv is offline  
post #8 of 31 Old 01-02-2007, 08:45 PM
AVS Special Member
 
metalsaber's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Western, Pennsylvania
Posts: 3,628
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 83 Post(s)
Liked: 100
The first time I put the disc in, it did not recognize it at all. I ejected it and put it back in. Worked like a charm afterwards. Never had that project since or before that.
metalsaber is online now  
post #9 of 31 Old 01-02-2007, 09:03 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Earz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Grand Rapids Michigan
Posts: 4,313
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by bfdtv View Post

There are no problems with Descent if you have a recent / latest firmware on your PS3.

No problems even with stock firmware on my 60gb...and the multi channel PCM audio is pretty sweet to.
Earz is offline  
post #10 of 31 Old 01-02-2007, 09:08 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
DaveFi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Natick MA
Posts: 17,180
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 26
I read on the net that if you try to play The Descent on your PS3 it explodes.

XBOX Live: Wagmman
PSN: Wagg
BFBC2: Wagman
Steam: Wag

My Second Life character looks and acts exactly like me except he can fly.
DaveFi is offline  
post #11 of 31 Old 01-02-2007, 09:15 PM
 
vincentnyc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 1,945
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
rumor is that...there is an "easter egg" if u play the movie backward 3 times on ur ps3.
vincentnyc is offline  
post #12 of 31 Old 01-02-2007, 09:20 PM
Member
 
fragglerock585's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 107
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by DaveFi View Post

I read on the net that if you try to play The Descent on your PS3 it explodes.


Classic!
fragglerock585 is offline  
post #13 of 31 Old 01-02-2007, 10:27 PM
AVS Special Member
 
txfilmguy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: My bachelor pad is in North Dallas, TX
Posts: 1,681
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
"Descent" does not work on the Sony standalone Blu-ray player, but I have not read anything about problems playing it on the PS3 or any other player outside of this thread.
txfilmguy is offline  
post #14 of 31 Old 01-02-2007, 10:30 PM
AVS Special Member
 
GizmoDVD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 4,020
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Works fine on my PS3 20 minutes ago.
GizmoDVD is offline  
post #15 of 31 Old 01-02-2007, 10:55 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Dave Mack's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: NYC
Posts: 11,966
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 13
more fud
Dave Mack is offline  
post #16 of 31 Old 01-03-2007, 01:25 PM
Advanced Member
 
paxi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 519
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by jattsp View Post

i want to pick up descent on blu ray but here that it is causing problems with the ps3.........some of the ps3s have died and have to be sent back .....i have a 20 gb, and havent experienced a single problem, and have had it for a little more than a month now.

just wanna now if i should go ahead with the purchase.


Not doubting you, but please post some reputable links that you have read re: this - I have not heard of this.
paxi is offline  
post #17 of 31 Old 01-04-2007, 12:25 PM
Member
 
bonedaddy77's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Jacksonville, FL
Posts: 65
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Just watched it last night on my 60gb PS3. It worked flawless and the movie was great.
bonedaddy77 is offline  
post #18 of 31 Old 01-04-2007, 12:40 PM
Advanced Member
 
NickFoley's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Out There Somewhere
Posts: 634
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Worked fine on my 60GB PS3 yesterday.
NickFoley is offline  
post #19 of 31 Old 01-04-2007, 04:52 PM
Member
 
Herby's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Hialeah, Fl.
Posts: 67
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I have had no issues at all while playing this BD on my PS3.
The pop-up menu is super fast and very fluid. Go to any special feature and once it is done it goes back to the spot you where watching in the movie. The Dolby Digital 5.1 EX track sounds great. Since I don't have a receiver that supports PCM the DD track was the only one I could listen to. Of course the PQ is great.
There was no freezing at all for me throughout the past few days I have been messing with it.
Herby is offline  
post #20 of 31 Old 01-04-2007, 05:36 PM
Member
 
tracemhunter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 166
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
works fine on my 20gb.

Blu-ray exclusive
tracemhunter is offline  
post #21 of 31 Old 01-20-2007, 05:35 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Karnis's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2000
Location: Frederick MD USA
Posts: 6,862
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 13
I can confirm it doesnt work on the BDP-1, I just get a white screen. I am updated to 1.50....
Karnis is offline  
post #22 of 31 Old 01-20-2007, 06:08 PM
Senior Member
 
Jeffroy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Calgary, AB, Canada
Posts: 355
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Really great disc, no problems on my 20 gig.

Even though I saw this in the theatre, it still scared the crap out of me at home.

Dual Supporter as of January 4, 2007!
Feels so nice...
Jeffroy is offline  
post #23 of 31 Old 01-20-2007, 06:11 PM
Member
 
Jayadub's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Puget Sound, WA
Posts: 58
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Quote:
Originally Posted by Karnis View Post

I can confirm it doesnt work on the BDP-1, I just get a white screen. I am updated to 1.50....

And I can confirm that it does play without a glitch on the BDP-1 with firmware 1.50. I just viewed it last night along with all the extras.

I will say that it took the longest time to load though, at least 90 seconds before the white screen showed and several more seconds (20 or so) for the LionsGate loading screen to appear. After that it was flawless.
Jayadub is offline  
post #24 of 31 Old 01-20-2007, 07:32 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Karnis's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2000
Location: Frederick MD USA
Posts: 6,862
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jayadub View Post

And I can confirm that it does play without a glitch on the BDP-1 with firmware 1.50. I just viewed it last night along with all the extras.

I will say that it took the longest time to load though, at least 90 seconds before the white screen showed and several more seconds (20 or so) for the LionsGate loading screen to appear. After that it was flawless.

Yeah, I posted too soon, I had the same experience as well. It does work but it takes forever to run like you said. Really good movie too.
Karnis is offline  
post #25 of 31 Old 01-20-2007, 10:15 PM
nyg
AVS Special Member
 
nyg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 6,687
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Played flawlessly on my 20GB PS3. Looking forward to viewing it again. Great movie!
nyg is offline  
post #26 of 31 Old 01-21-2007, 07:13 AM
Member
 
rollingrock's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 30
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
played fine on my 60gb PS3

great movie to boot!
rollingrock is offline  
post #27 of 31 Old 01-24-2007, 01:45 AM
Senior Member
 
Chris Dotur's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Greater Alaska
Posts: 383
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Played fine on my 60 GB.
Chris Dotur is offline  
post #28 of 31 Old 01-24-2007, 09:44 AM
Senior Member
 
eliocon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Bloomfield, NJ
Posts: 437
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 16
Movie played perfectly on my 60GB. The interview with Neil Marshall hiccupped a lot though. I need to watch it again and see if it's still happening.
eliocon is offline  
post #29 of 31 Old 02-04-2007, 07:36 AM
Senior Member
 
mmburke's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2000
Location: Fort Lauderdale, FL
Posts: 285
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
It would not play on my Phillips. I left it in the machine while doing something else and it started on its own after about half an hour. But it wouldn't respond to any remote signals.
Very weird.

Mark
mmburke is offline  
post #30 of 31 Old 03-10-2007, 08:11 AM
Advanced Member
 
ctakim's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 898
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Watched this last night with the latest firmware update on my PS3 60 GB and had numerous freezes lasting about 10 secs (about 8 to 10 times throughout the movie). If I just waited things restarted. Only after the move was over I noticed I had my sound set to 6.1 PCM track, not the dolby digital 5.1.

It was a Netflix disc, but it looked close to brand new, no visible scratches or scuff marks.

Enjoyed the movie, but the freeze ups were annoying.
ctakim is offline  
Reply Blu-ray Software

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off