Anyone try Combo HD-DVD in a PS3?? - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 15 Old 01-11-2007, 09:55 AM - Thread Starter
Advanced Member
 
inca's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Atlanta
Posts: 918
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Please don't flame me because I said HD-DVD PS3 in the same sentence, I know its blasphemy here. Anyways I am just curious if anyone has tried to watch the SD-DVD side of the HD-DVD disc in a PS3. I know there is absolutely no compelling reason to as if you have the disc you obviously have a HD-DVD player, but I was just curious if the disc is going to get stuck??

I heard one guy sticking and Combo in a LG Slot loading player and it got stuck, so I am wondering if the new True-HD format by Warner will give us PS3 owners a problem since we also have slot loading players?? What do you think?
inca is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 15 Old 01-11-2007, 09:58 AM
Senior Member
 
Bob Meridian's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 359
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Stuck? lol It's shouldn't get stuck seeing how its about the same size of a normal DVD.

Jaws on HD-DVD? We're gonna need a bigger disc!
Bob Meridian is offline  
post #3 of 15 Old 01-11-2007, 10:00 AM - Thread Starter
Advanced Member
 
inca's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Atlanta
Posts: 918
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bob Meridian View Post

Stuck? lol It's shouldn't get stuck seeing how its about the same size of a normal DVD.

I know, but thats supposed to be the same for the combo disc. Its supposed to be the same dimensions, but it caused the DVD to get stuck in the player. Perhaps the player just broke when he put the disc in, coincidental.
inca is offline  
post #4 of 15 Old 01-11-2007, 10:03 AM
AVS Special Member
 
beatboy77's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Colorado Springs, CO
Posts: 2,970
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by inca View Post

Please don't flame me because I said HD-DVD PS3 in the same sentence, I know its blasphemy here. Anyways I am just curious if anyone has tried to watch the SD-DVD side of the HD-DVD disc in a PS3. I know there is absolutely no compelling reason to as if you have the disc you obviously have a HD-DVD player, but I was just curious if the disc is going to get stuck??

I heard one guy sticking and Combo in a LG Slot loading player and it got stuck, so I am wondering if the new True-HD format by Warner will give us PS3 owners a problem since we also have slot loading players?? What do you think?

Yes, I have done this and the SD-DVD side works fine.

~Josh

hidefpreview
beatboy77 is offline  
post #5 of 15 Old 01-11-2007, 10:25 AM - Thread Starter
Advanced Member
 
inca's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Atlanta
Posts: 918
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I know what the whole point of combo disc is, I'm just saying that there was a member on here stating how he will never again purchase a combo disc since it messed up his LG slot loading player by getting stuck because it was too thick. I was just curious if it happened to anyone else, especially on the PS3 since it is also slot loading. So please no more" Duh, why do you think they made combo discs, to play in both players, Duh!" I was just curious if it happened to anyone else lol.
inca is offline  
post #6 of 15 Old 01-11-2007, 10:56 AM
AVS Special Member
 
GamerGuyX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Kentwood, Michigan
Posts: 1,473
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by inca View Post

I know what the whole point of combo disc is, I'm just saying that there was a member on here stating how he will never again purchase a combo disc since it messed up his LG slot loading player by getting stuck because it was too thick.

How was it to thick when combo discs have the same thickness of a standard DVD?
GamerGuyX is offline  
post #7 of 15 Old 01-11-2007, 02:57 PM
AVS Club Gold
 
joerod's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: MIDWEST (just outside Chicago)
Posts: 22,100
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 75 Post(s)
Liked: 111
I was wondering about that to. Good question...

For my latest Reviews and Stuff google -> Joe Rod Home Theater .Com
Check out my Dolby Atmos/Surround first take:

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
joerod is offline  
post #8 of 15 Old 01-11-2007, 04:19 PM - Thread Starter
Advanced Member
 
inca's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Atlanta
Posts: 918
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by GamerGuyX View Post

How was it to thick when combo discs have the same thickness of a standard DVD?

I don't know, perhaps it was a flaw on a batch or something. Don't you guys remember that member who posted that he put in a combo disk into his SD-DVD LG player and it got stuck because it wasn't thin enough?? Thats the only reason I ask, I know that the physical dimensions and what not "should" be exactly the same as what a normal disc should be, I just read that one post and was curious if anyone else had this problem with a slot loading player, perhaps if no one else had this problem then it was just his DVD player that was all kinds of funked up.
inca is offline  
post #9 of 15 Old 01-11-2007, 05:02 PM
 
Frank Stein's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 472
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by inca View Post

Don't you guys remember that member who posted that he put in a combo disk into his SD-DVD LG player and it got stuck because it wasn't thin enough??

Don't remember that post. But then I don't have time to read most of the posts on the forum.


Quote:
then it was just his DVD player that was all kinds of funked up.

[/quote]

I think his life may have been "funked up" if this happened to him.
Frank Stein is offline  
post #10 of 15 Old 01-11-2007, 05:03 PM
 
Frank Stein's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 472
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by inca View Post

I don't know, perhaps it was a flaw on a batch or something..


Can you tell us the odds that this kind of QA problem, the incorrect thickness of the disk, would have happened?
Frank Stein is offline  
post #11 of 15 Old 01-11-2007, 06:43 PM
Senior Member
 
Taha24's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 321
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
someone tell me if the HD DVD side plays in a PS3
Taha24 is offline  
post #12 of 15 Old 01-11-2007, 07:25 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
DaveFi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Natick MA
Posts: 17,175
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 26
Stop making up **** you know to be untrue.

This is like saying I heard a rumour that if you play The Descent on a PS3 it explodes.

BOOM!

XBOX Live: Wagmman
PSN: Wagg
BFBC2: Wagman
Steam: Wag

My Second Life character looks and acts exactly like me except he can fly.
DaveFi is offline  
post #13 of 15 Old 01-11-2007, 07:52 PM
Member
 
thebigandy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Las Vegas
Posts: 52
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Taha24 View Post

someone tell me if the HD DVD side plays in a PS3

Don't ask (I don't have the brightest friends)........ But no it does not


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
thebigandy is offline  
post #14 of 15 Old 01-11-2007, 07:53 PM - Thread Starter
Advanced Member
 
inca's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Atlanta
Posts: 918
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by DaveFi View Post

Stop making up **** you know to be untrue.

This is like saying I heard a rumour that if you play The Descent on a PS3 it explodes.

BOOM!

What the hell is wrong with you people, damn you guys love to be so damned offensive don't you. Why do you think I would go making this stuff up, so that I can get the kind of response posted above? man you people need to have a drink and just settle down, lol. Lots of crazy's on here.

Read this link, the very last post by LeeB99.

http://www.avsforum.com/avs-vb/showthread.php?t=769748
inca is offline  
post #15 of 15 Old 01-12-2007, 05:36 AM
tsb
AVS Special Member
 
tsb's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 4,917
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
most likely FUD
tsb is offline  
Reply Blu-ray Software

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off