My Blu-Ray Movie Burning Experiences... - Page 16 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #451 of 2482 Old 06-07-2007, 03:49 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Phloyd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Santa Clara, CA
Posts: 2,879
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
You can use Nero to create a UDF 2.5 .nrg file that ImgBurn can use.

Just change the 'target' when you have your BD ready to burn from the Sony Burner to an 'Image File' (I forget the actual term they use).

No idea about Roxio.

You can create an image file with DVDit Pro HD that should also burn with ImgBurn.

Content is key. See the stats -
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
-
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
-
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
-
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
Phloyd is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #452 of 2482 Old 06-07-2007, 03:52 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Phloyd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Santa Clara, CA
Posts: 2,879
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by pteittinen View Post

PS3 recognized the disc, started playing it but after a few seconds of a black screen it threw up an error message "This is an invalid disc. (80029941)."

That sounds like a problem with the content, not the UDF.

What did you use to author the m2ts file?

In all my testing, I believe any of those invalid messages have been caused by an invalid m2ts file.

Content is key. See the stats -
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
-
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
-
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
-
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
Phloyd is offline  
post #453 of 2482 Old 06-08-2007, 12:41 AM
AVS Special Member
 
pteittinen's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: Finland
Posts: 3,790
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Phloyd View Post

You can use Nero to create a UDF 2.5 .nrg file that ImgBurn can use.

But discs created with Nero won't work on PS3, so I don't think that helps. I'll give it a shot, though.

Quote:


You can create an image file with DVDit Pro HD that should also burn with ImgBurn.

Image creation is greyed out in mine.

Quote:


That sounds like a problem with the content, not the UDF. What did you use to author the m2ts file? In all my testing, I believe any of those invalid messages have been caused by an invalid m2ts file.

And yet, the same data burned with Roxio 9 creates a perfectly working disc. I haven't authored the data, I'm just testing various burning applications and for that, I did a rip of a movie which came on a BD25 disc. All these test burns seem to indicate that not all UDF 2.5 burns are equally compatible with PS3, or some applications (like Roxio 9) do something special while burning that makes the disc compatible. It could be a question of a few differently written sectors.

Please, feel free to call me by my first name, Petri.
pteittinen is offline  
post #454 of 2482 Old 06-08-2007, 10:00 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Phloyd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Santa Clara, CA
Posts: 2,879
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
My only comment is... that is all very strange!

If I come up with anything more useful I will let you know.

Content is key. See the stats -
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
-
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
-
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
-
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
Phloyd is offline  
post #455 of 2482 Old 06-08-2007, 02:58 PM
Advanced Member
 
MozartMan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Motown/HockeyTown
Posts: 630
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
TSRemux - very interesting development.

http://forum.doom9.org/showthread.php?t=125447
MozartMan is offline  
post #456 of 2482 Old 06-09-2007, 09:20 AM
Newbie
 
tsw01's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Hong Kong
Posts: 12
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
This is my first BD image file. Please use pando to download and burn with ImgBurn.
http://cache.pando.com/soapservices/...B372BCB2E601E2
tsw01 is offline  
post #457 of 2482 Old 06-09-2007, 10:25 AM
AVS Special Member
 
pteittinen's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: Finland
Posts: 3,790
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Phloyd View Post

My only comment is... that is all very strange!

Yes, it is, but I've made some progress.

Managed to create a disc which works in PS3 by creating a .NRG image with Nero and burning the image with the latest ImgBurn. The problem was that an earlier version of Nero selected UDF2.5 automatically when you compiled a Blu-ray project. This new version defaults to UDF1.02 for some reason, and I had to force it manually to UDF2.5. Disc worked fine after that. That'll teach me to trust burning apps...

Please, feel free to call me by my first name, Petri.
pteittinen is offline  
post #458 of 2482 Old 06-09-2007, 06:12 PM
Advanced Member
 
MozartMan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Motown/HockeyTown
Posts: 630
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by MozartMan View Post

TSRemux - very interesting development.

http://forum.doom9.org/showthread.php?t=125447

Looks like "poor man BDMV authoring" will be available soon:

http://forum.doom9.org/showthread.php?t=125447&page=11
MozartMan is offline  
post #459 of 2482 Old 06-12-2007, 04:46 AM
Member
 
Laura Palmer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 149
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
So does the HDV --> DVDit Pro HD --> Nero --> PS3 method work 100% now?

I want to burn my first Blu-Ray movie tonight.
Laura Palmer is offline  
post #460 of 2482 Old 06-12-2007, 06:08 AM
Newbie
 
tsw01's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Hong Kong
Posts: 12
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Laura Palmer View Post

So does the HDV --> DVDit Pro HD --> Nero --> PS3 method work 100% now?

I want to burn my first Blu-Ray movie tonight.

you don't need nero.
tsw01 is offline  
post #461 of 2482 Old 06-12-2007, 07:05 AM
Member
 
Laura Palmer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 149
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Oh is that right? I thought that there was some UDF-version related issue and that's why people were using Nero and ImgBurn.

I can skip that step now?

One more thing. Will I need to transcode 1440x1080 into 1920x1080? Or will it allow me to store 1440x1080 on the disc without needing to re-encode/transcode?

I am also interested in alternative codecs to MPEG-2. If I have a film that is in AIC or Cineform, would you think exporting back to MPEG-2 is the best option, or something like AVC or VC1?

Has anyone compared these codecs for Blu-Ray playback from their HDV sources?

And if I were to export to AVC or VC1 @ 1920x1080 would I need to change the pixel aspect ratio?
Laura Palmer is offline  
post #462 of 2482 Old 06-12-2007, 08:17 AM
Member
 
Laura Palmer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 149
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hmmm this may be a dumb question but... can I mix formats with Blu-Ray?

If I were to encode it in all of those formats: MPEG-2, VC1, AVC ...could I add them all to the same Blu-Ray disc to compare them?

That'd be the best option I suppose, just not sure if it's possible or not. It's just a short 15 minute film so I'd have more than enough space to fit it a few times over.

Any suggestions?
Laura Palmer is offline  
post #463 of 2482 Old 06-12-2007, 10:24 AM
Member
 
Laura Palmer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 149
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Interesting. I just noticed that 1440x1080 only needs to be transcoded if you plan on authoring your Blu-Ray disc in MPEG-2.

If I'm understanding this correctly, Blu-Ray discs support 1440x1080 if you're encoding in either VC1 or AVC. Whereas if I stick with MPEG then I will need to transcode to 1920x1080.

Am I correct in this conclusion?
Laura Palmer is offline  
post #464 of 2482 Old 06-12-2007, 11:36 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Phloyd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Santa Clara, CA
Posts: 2,879
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
BD is capable of handling 1440x1080i for MPEG2.

The DVDit Pro HD limitations might be hindering you.

Also DVDit Pro HD does not do AVC or VC1 at this time.

I suggest going to the Roxio forums to see what others have done to get HDV to BD to work.

Content is key. See the stats -
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
-
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
-
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
-
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
Phloyd is offline  
post #465 of 2482 Old 06-12-2007, 11:48 AM
Member
 
Laura Palmer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 149
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I guess I'm either misreading the chart, or the chart is incorrect then. The information I found was on EMediaLive.com and it was in the Authoritative BD FAQ and it said that MPEG-2 wasn't in the supported 1440x1080 resolution. I guess that would have to be incorrect though considering it's often discussed that HDV can go directly to BD without transcoding. So I'm not really sure what EMediaLive is saying then.
Laura Palmer is offline  
post #466 of 2482 Old 06-26-2007, 04:49 PM
Member
 
SS Scott's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 19
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
1440x1080 is legal on BDMV (menus) and DVDit Pro HD will accept it and if the stream is legal, just pass it through. 1440x1080 is legal on BDAV (no menus)

HDV video is not legal on BDMV. It requires a transcode. HDV video is, however, legal for BDAV.
SS Scott is offline  
post #467 of 2482 Old 06-27-2007, 02:20 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Phloyd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Santa Clara, CA
Posts: 2,879
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by SS Scott View Post

HDV video is not legal on BDMV. It requires a transcode. HDV video is, however, legal for BDAV.

I didn't know that - what aspect of it is 'not legal'?

This is useful to know.

Content is key. See the stats -
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
-
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
-
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
-
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
Phloyd is offline  
post #468 of 2482 Old 06-28-2007, 01:35 PM
Member
 
SS Scott's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 19
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
you know, I really don't know... must be something in the headers or with the GOP structure. could be something that may be able to be corrected with restream or video redo as you have done with HDTV recordings...

By the way, can you go over to the Roxio forums and post your HDTV workflow over there (changing headers and GOP lengths, etc). I think it would be beneficial for the community to see that.
SS Scott is offline  
post #469 of 2482 Old 07-03-2007, 11:05 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Phloyd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Santa Clara, CA
Posts: 2,879
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Heh - I will have to remember what I did. I have not done that sort of thing for a while. It is pretty straightforward though iirc.

I will try and get a sample of some unaltered HDV footage and see what I can work out also...

Content is key. See the stats -
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
-
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
-
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
-
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
Phloyd is offline  
post #470 of 2482 Old 07-05-2007, 10:01 AM
Member
 
MattDJ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 15
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I have a MPEG2 movie file 1920 by 1080, what programs (and a guide how to?) do i need? I have a Pioneer Blu Ray burned (and hope to watch on the Samsung BDP1000)... Any links helpful. Thanks!
MattDJ is offline  
post #471 of 2482 Old 07-05-2007, 11:29 AM
Senior Member
 
plee's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Posts: 214
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by MattDJ View Post

I have a MPEG2 movie file 1920 by 1080, what programs (and a guide how to?) do i need? I have a Pioneer Blu Ray burned (and hope to watch on the Samsung BDP1000)... Any links helpful. Thanks!

Your drive probably came with some software probably Cyberlink. If you file is compliant it should be pretty straightforward (no re-coding)... Also, if you do \\BDMV you'll need to make sure you have the correct firmware on the BDP1000 (I think the original 1.0 firmware works...)

Only a few blu-ray authoring programs: DVDit HD Pro, PowerProducer, Movie Factory, and Adobe CS3, just to name a few...
plee is offline  
post #472 of 2482 Old 07-05-2007, 01:21 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Neo1965's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: CANADA!
Posts: 3,525
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by MattDJ View Post

I have a MPEG2 movie file 1920 by 1080, what programs (and a guide how to?) do i need? I have a Pioneer Blu Ray burned (and hope to watch on the Samsung BDP1000)... Any links helpful. Thanks!

Here's one way that will work on samsung BDP-1000 (ie: BDAV)
1. Make sure there are no errors (especially for ts streams).
2. Mux it into .mpg format.
3. Get Cyberlink DVD Producer 4.0. Go to cyberlink website and get the latest update.
4. Test this on BD-RE first so you can always reuse the media. Import the title into the cyberlink SW and burn it to disk. Note chapter points don't work on my BDP1000, but they do work on my PS3 since FW 1.4 (maybe earlier).
5. Put the BD-RE into the samsung BDP1000 and watch video.

Note. The audio becomes stereo. Have not figured out how to fix this yet.
Neo1965 is offline  
post #473 of 2482 Old 07-05-2007, 01:23 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Neo1965's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: CANADA!
Posts: 3,525
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by Laura Palmer View Post

Hmmm this may be a dumb question but... can I mix formats with Blu-Ray?

If I were to encode it in all of those formats: MPEG-2, VC1, AVC ...could I add them all to the same Blu-Ray disc to compare them?

That'd be the best option I suppose, just not sure if it's possible or not. It's just a short 15 minute film so I'd have more than enough space to fit it a few times over.

Any suggestions?

Yes it works, but they have to be different titles. Note you need to code this up yourself as the commercial apps still don't have good support outside of mpeg2.
Neo1965 is offline  
post #474 of 2482 Old 07-05-2007, 02:04 PM
Member
 
Laura Palmer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 149
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Anybody authoring with Encore CS3 yet? What have your experiences been?
Laura Palmer is offline  
post #475 of 2482 Old 07-07-2007, 10:55 AM
Member
 
pixel_'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 50
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Laura Palmer View Post

Anybody authoring with Encore CS3 yet? What have your experiences been?

Have tried Encore CS3, but the quality is not as good as i expected e.g. H.264 with Blu-ray.. I think its not a pro encoder inside...
pixel_ is offline  
post #476 of 2482 Old 07-07-2007, 03:32 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Marc D Carra's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2000
Location: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 1,172
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Well I'm back in the Blu-Ray burning game today with something I've never been able to do previously:

Using the old version of Moviefactory 5, I was able to create an Blu-ray disc image, burn it to a dual layered DVDR using Nero, and have it succesfully playback (with full 5.1 audio) in my new Samsung BDP1200 blu-ray player!! I watched Empire Strikes Back all the way through , without any glitches whatsoever. Picture and sound are perfect!

Personally, this is a first for me. Using DVDR and DL DVDR media is much cheaper than burning to BDR or BDRE, and even if it means splitting the movie onto two DL DVDR's, it's still a better option for me.

Marc.

MDC
Marc D Carra is offline  
post #477 of 2482 Old 07-07-2007, 05:40 PM
Member
 
Laura Palmer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 149
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by pixel_ View Post

Have tried Encore CS3, but the quality is not as good as i expected e.g. H.264 with Blu-ray.. I think its not a pro encoder inside...

Interesting.

Adobe is probably still using MainConcept (for MPEG-2 anyway) which I never really liked, but people don't seem to have that big a problem with.

So what about using an external encoder like ProCoder or something, and then just using EncoreDVD for strictly the authoring stage?

That brings me to my next question. All the documentation and videos I've been watching show this more of an export option than a Blu-Ray optimized authoring solution from the ground up.

Can this take advantage of the new capabilities that Blu-Ray offers (as far as menus go I mean) ?
Laura Palmer is offline  
post #478 of 2482 Old 07-08-2007, 12:15 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Tom Roper's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Denver, Colorado
Posts: 3,761
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 12 Post(s)
Liked: 16
Quote:
Originally Posted by Marc D Carra View Post

Well I'm back in the Blu-Ray burning game today with something I've never been able to do previously:

Using the old version of Moviefactory 5, I was able to create an Blu-ray disc image, burn it to a dual layered DVDR using Nero, and have it succesfully playback (with full 5.1 audio) in my new Samsung BDP1200 blu-ray player!! I watched Empire Strikes Back all the way through , without any glitches whatsoever. Picture and sound are perfect!

Personally, this is a first for me. Using DVDR and DL DVDR media is much cheaper than burning to BDR or BDRE, and even if it means splitting the movie onto two DL DVDR's, it's still a better option for me.

Marc.

That's what I want to be able to do. I wonder how compatible your dual layered DVDR is on other players? I suspect not very, but if the end game for you is personal playback, you have your solution.

I have Movie Factory 5 in the retail box, not installed on this PC. I did use it previously, but now I use MF6+ which doesn't offer the option of making a BD image, just BDAV directly burned onto BD media. I don't as yet have a BD burner, but have been considering one. So the choice for me, is to do what you're doing with MF5 on red laser with limited compatibility, or pay the price for an expensive burner and media to be assured of playback compatibility on most Blu-Ray players, I guess.
Tom Roper is offline  
post #479 of 2482 Old 07-08-2007, 01:08 AM
Member
 
pixel_'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 50
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Laura Palmer View Post

Interesting.

Can this take advantage of the new capabilities that Blu-Ray offers (as far as menus go I mean) ?

Yes Encore CS3 and Premiere CS3 is using Mainconcept. As for the menus... you can only make normal menus like SD menus for Blu-ray, no pop-up menus or such things. And you can make Blu-ray with MPEG2-HD or H.264 with PCM or AC3 audio.
pixel_ is offline  
post #480 of 2482 Old 07-08-2007, 08:36 AM
Member
 
Laura Palmer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 149
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Thanks for the info.

Are you doing any Blu-Ray projects from HDV footage by any chance? Can you recommmend a good workflow?

As soon as my copy of CS3 arrives I'll want to make a Blu-Ray project from my Cineform AVI files off a Sony HVR-V1U camcorder, but I'm not sure if it'd be better as H.264 or MPEG-2. I recall there being a report a while ago that said H.264 was the better option, but I'm wondering if that's the case since HDV is obviously MPEG-2.

I won't be using MainConcept though. I really dislike the results of MainConcept. Hopefully someone will be able to recommend settings for ProCoder which is what I use.
Laura Palmer is offline  
Reply Blu-ray Software

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off