My Blu-Ray Movie Burning Experiences... - Page 26 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #751 of 2482 Old 11-26-2007, 04:07 PM
Advanced Member
 
MozartMan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Motown/HockeyTown
Posts: 630
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by benjust View Post

Hi Guys,

Has anyone tried muxing AVC video and AC3/AAC audio from existing files (ie. MKV/OGM files) into a BD9 layout without transcoding?

I just found out about BD9 and I would love to convert a bunch of existing HD material into BD9 discs for use on a standalone player.

However, I definately do NOT want to transcode/reencode the video or audio.

benjust,

Check out original TSRemux thread on Doom9 forum. I think somebody was able to do that.

http://forum.doom9.org/showthread.php?t=125447
MozartMan is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #752 of 2482 Old 11-29-2007, 08:43 AM
AVS Special Member
 
alluringreality's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 3,159
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 25 Post(s)
Liked: 34
In more working on our patterns disk it appears that my BDP-S1 works different than the PS3. I can play our mpeg2 files (no audio) unconverted with BDMV on a DVD with the levels looking correct as previously described. The PS3 apparently has to go to file mode to play that way. We are probably needing a way to get the Ulead software to accept video and not transcode it using the AVCHD option

In http://www.sonycreativesoftware.com/...ssageID=556357 there is talk about Movie Factory being able to accept video and not having to transcode it when going to AVCHD by 4eyes. Has anyone been able to do that and have it play as an AVCHD on the PS3? Basically we want to do the encoding and then just have Ulead accept the video and not transcode it, similar to how the Blu-ray option works for mpeg2 video. We have tried feeding it a couple mov files, but even with the "do not..." check set it still transcodes. Any ideas?


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
alluringreality is offline  
post #753 of 2482 Old 12-01-2007, 02:10 PM
AVS Special Member
 
space2001's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Posts: 2,043
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 9 Post(s)
Liked: 22
it would be great if we could a get a tool that can fix avc files so we don't have to re-encode them.

I have tons of avc files from my DVR that I would like to put on Blu-ray, but they are not complient.
space2001 is offline  
post #754 of 2482 Old 12-01-2007, 03:50 PM
Senior Member
 
cinemeccanica's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 248
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Good Job benes!! thank you
cinemeccanica is offline  
post #755 of 2482 Old 12-02-2007, 08:31 PM
AVS Special Member
 
alluringreality's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 3,159
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 25 Post(s)
Liked: 34
Quote:
Originally Posted by space2001 View Post

it would be great if we could a get a tool that can fix avc files so we don't have to re-encode them.

I keep reading that the Ulead software should accept m2ts. Have you tried TsRemux?


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
alluringreality is offline  
post #756 of 2482 Old 12-03-2007, 04:53 AM
AVS Special Member
 
space2001's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Posts: 2,043
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 9 Post(s)
Liked: 22
I have tried a whole bunch of different methods, but it introduces stuttering in the video and the audio is off. the best I have found is xmuxer Pro, but there is still audio delay on it.

it has to do with AVC on HD DVD with all the flags they put in the AVC file. I believe is its a 23.97fps but flagged as 29.97. Which is not in the blu-ray standard. VC-1 seems to work well. havn't had any problems with those.
space2001 is offline  
post #757 of 2482 Old 12-03-2007, 02:03 PM
Newbie
 
framura's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 7
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hi benes,

I followed your guide to re-author some my BDs or HD-DVDs (to remove some audio launguages without any video reencoding) and my produced BDs works very well (now I would like to add some menu but it's not easy).

I have only a problem: subtitles.

With Scenarist the only sub format file accepted it's BDN (an xml file descriptor) and associated png images or exists another way to import subtitles file?

Can you help me?

TIA

P.S.: thanks for your guide
framura is offline  
post #758 of 2482 Old 12-04-2007, 05:45 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Brajesh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2000
Location: Metro Atlanta
Posts: 5,757
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 54 Post(s)
Liked: 47
Have you guys authored Blu-ray to DVD-Rs w/MPEG2 content? When I use TSRemux, I end up w/an AVCHD disc, as my PS3 sees it, even though it's MPEG2. Disc autoplays, but no video w/sound only. If I use Ulead DVDMF6+ HD pack to author a BDMV, my PS3 sees the DVD-R as a "Data Disc" & won't autoplay.

All I want to be able to do is create a BDMV w/MPEG 2 on a DVD-R that the PS3 will autoplay properly. Can it be done?

HD Media Keen Videosaurus
Brajesh is offline  
post #759 of 2482 Old 12-04-2007, 05:56 AM
Newbie
 
framura's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 7
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Some progress on subtitle side: I have created a BDN file with timing info from sst file (created by supread) and imported in Scenarist: it works.

I able to display subtitle with PDVD but I must to know how to set subtitle position on screen automatically but it's a start.

Bye
framura is offline  
post #760 of 2482 Old 12-04-2007, 06:09 AM
Advanced Member
 
MozartMan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Motown/HockeyTown
Posts: 630
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Brajesh View Post

Have you guys authored Blu-ray to DVD-Rs w/MPEG2 content?
..........
All I want to be able to do is create a BDMV w/MPEG 2 on a DVD-R that the PS3 will autoplay properly. Can it be done?

Yes, I did.
.....
Yes, it can.

I used TSremux. It plays perfectly on PS3.
I used .TS file (1920x1080) recorded from cable broadcast on one DVD+RW disk, and I used .M2T HDV file (1440x1080i) on the second disk. With HDV file I had to demux video and audio, re-encode MPA audio track to AC3, and then mux back. Blu-ray specs don't allow MPEG audio on BDMV disks.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Brajesh View Post

When I use TSRemux, I end up w/an AVCHD disc, as my PS3 sees it, even though it's MPEG2.

That's the way DMZ released the latest version of TSremux so you can put MPEG-2 videos on DVDs as BDMV disk and play on PS3 or stand alones. Kudos to DMZ!
Blu-ray specs don't allow MPEG-2 on DVD, only AVCHD. So, TSRemux fools PS3 and makes the DVD disk to look like AVCHD disk with AVCHD video.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Brajesh View Post

Disc autoplays, but no video w/sound only.

May be bad video, or bad burn.
MozartMan is offline  
post #761 of 2482 Old 12-04-2007, 08:32 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Brajesh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2000
Location: Metro Atlanta
Posts: 5,757
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 54 Post(s)
Liked: 47
MozartMan, I'll try doing MPEG2 as AVCHD w/TSRemux on DVD media again. When burning w/Nero, do I need to do anything special other than...
1. Choose DVD-ROM (UDF)
2. Choose partition manually to UDF 2.50
3. Drag BDMV & CERTIFICATE folders to root of DVD structure
4. Label the DVD 'BD_TEST' or anything (does it matter?)
5. Burn

Do I need to set the DVD writer to "physical disc" type using Nero? ... or leave it as automatic? or DVD-ROM? Thanks.

HD Media Keen Videosaurus
Brajesh is offline  
post #762 of 2482 Old 12-04-2007, 08:51 AM
AVS Special Member
 
maxleung's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Calgary, Alberta, Canada
Posts: 3,495
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 13
framura, how did you create the BDN file? Can you provide step-by-step? Thanks!
maxleung is offline  
post #763 of 2482 Old 12-04-2007, 09:21 AM
Advanced Member
 
MozartMan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Motown/HockeyTown
Posts: 630
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Brajesh View Post

MozartMan, I'll try doing MPEG2 as AVCHD w/TSRemux on DVD media again. When burning w/Nero, do I need to do anything special other than...
1. Choose DVD-ROM (UDF)
2. Choose partition manually to UDF 2.50
3. Drag BDMV & CERTIFICATE folders to root of DVD structure
4. Label the DVD 'BD_TEST' or anything (does it matter?)
5. Burn

Do I need to set the DVD writer to "physical disc" type using Nero? ... or leave it as automatic? or DVD-ROM? Thanks.

Your process is the same as mine. Label doesn't matter.

When you select "Manual" and choose UDF 2.50, "physical disk" should show up as default option. If not, select it.
MozartMan is offline  
post #764 of 2482 Old 12-04-2007, 10:27 AM
Newbie
 
framura's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 7
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by maxleung View Post

framura, how did you create the BDN file? Can you provide step-by-step? Thanks!

The BDN file it's a file with following format:
------------------------------------------------------------










line0001.png

..
..
..


----------------------------------------------------

Various xml TAGs are autoexplicative: the above xml it's for graphic subtitle (images linexxxx.png) but it's also possible to use text subtitle (but in this case are required many others attribute, like palette, colors).

You can import a similar xml file with import BDN Scenarist function and to insert the associated PG in the clip.

To create a BDN file now I would like to develop a little program to create it from sst file (easy for Graphic BDN file, not easy for Text BDN file format).

Bye
framura is offline  
post #765 of 2482 Old 12-04-2007, 10:49 AM
AVS Special Member
 
maxleung's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Calgary, Alberta, Canada
Posts: 3,495
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Thanks framura, that is very helpful!
maxleung is offline  
post #766 of 2482 Old 12-05-2007, 05:43 AM
AVS Special Member
 
space2001's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Posts: 2,043
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 9 Post(s)
Liked: 22
I was able to Hexedit the header of a AVC and remove the 3:2 crap, but now I get a FrameRateCode is incorrect, does anyone know where in the header that would be
space2001 is offline  
post #767 of 2482 Old 12-05-2007, 11:05 AM
AVS Special Member
 
space2001's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Posts: 2,043
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 9 Post(s)
Liked: 22
thanks Benes for all your help, I wonder if a BD9 will work on the ps3 now
space2001 is offline  
post #768 of 2482 Old 12-05-2007, 11:48 AM
AVS Special Member
 
space2001's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Posts: 2,043
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 9 Post(s)
Liked: 22
I have successfully done a hd dvd to AVCHD you need a AVC structure.

http://www.hdtvtotal.com/module-page...-pid-1051.html

that is where I got the structure from and you have to do some Hexediting on the playlist file, but other then that it workd really well and you can DTS 1.5mbs

first use evodemux.
then EActo to convert teh DD+ or TRUEHD to DTS or DD
Then use scenarist to author it.
after split the M2TS using the HDsplit into 4 gig(single layer) or 8.5 gig(dual layer) chunks
then use TSremux for each file and just overwrite the proper files with the AVCHD Structure and don't for get to rename the files from the mini blu-ray guide.
space2001 is offline  
post #769 of 2482 Old 12-05-2007, 12:17 PM
AVS Special Member
 
dr1394's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Mizar 5
Posts: 3,151
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 12 Post(s)
Liked: 19
Quote:
Originally Posted by space2001 View Post

I was able to Hexedit the header of a AVC and remove the 3:2 crap, but now I get a FrameRateCode is incorrect, does anyone know where in the header that would be

I believe it's derived from timing_info. The frame rate is calculated by dividing time_scale by num_units_in_tick. In the example below, 27000000 / 450450 = 59.94. But that's an illegal frame rate if frame_mbs_only_flag = 1. It's needs to be changed to 23.976 fps. In Blu-ray AVC streams, the values num_units_in_tick = 1001 and time_scale = 48000 or num_units_in_tick = 5005 and time_scale = 240000 are used.

Also, gaps_in_frame_num_value_allowed_flag must be set to zero.

Code:
C:\\xfer>h264_parse bits0001.mpv | more
h264_parse - mpeg4ip version 1.5.0.1
Nal length 6 start code 4 bytes
 ref 0 type 9 Access unit delimeter
   primary_pic_type: 0
Nal length 47 start code 4 bytes
 ref 3 type 7 Sequence parameter set
   profile: 100
   constaint_set0_flag: 0
   constaint_set1_flag: 0
   constaint_set2_flag: 0
   constaint_set3_flag: 0
   level_idc: 41
   seq parameter set id: 0
   chroma format idx: 1
   bit depth luma minus8: 0
   bit depth chroma minus8: 0
   Qpprime Y Zero Transform Bypass flag: 0
   Seq Scaling Matrix Present Flag: 0
   log2_max_frame_num_minus4: 12
   pic_order_cnt_type: 0
    log2_max_pic_order_cnt_lsb_minus4: 4
   num_ref_frames: 2
   gaps_in_frame_num_value_allowed_flag: 1
   pic_width_in_mbs_minus1: 119 (1920)
   pic_height_in_map_minus1: 67
   frame_mbs_only_flag: 1
     derived height: 1088
   direct_8x8_inference_flag: 1
   frame_cropping_flag: 1
     frame_crop_left_offset: 0
     frame_crop_right_offset: 0
     frame_crop_top_offset: 0
     frame_crop_bottom_offset: 4
   vui_parameters_present_flag: 1
    aspect_ratio_info_present_flag: 1
     aspect_ratio_idc:1
    overscan_info_present_flag: 0
    video_signal_info_present_flag: 1
     video_format: 5
     video_full_range_flag: 0
     colour_description_present_flag: 1
      colour_primaries: 1
      transfer_characteristics: 1
      matrix_coefficients: 1
    chroma_loc_info_present_flag: 0
    timing_info_present_flag: 1
     num_units_in_tick: 450450             <-----------------
     time_scale: 27000000                  <-----------------
     fixed_frame_scale: 1
    nal_hrd_parameters_present_flag: 1
     cpb_cnt_minus1: 0
     bit_rate_scale: 0
     cpb_size_scale: 0
      bit_rate_value_minus1[0]: 359374
      cpb_size_value_minus1[0]: 921599
      cbr_flag[0]: 0
     initial_cpb_removal_delay_length_minus1: 30
     cpb_removal_delay_length_minus1: 7
     dpb_output_delay_length_minus1: 7
     time_offset_length: 0
    vcl_hrd_parameters_present_flag: 0
    low_delay_hrd_flag: 0
    pic_struct_present_flag: 1
    motion_vectors_over_pic_boundaries_flag: 1
    max_bytes_per_pic_denom: 0
    max_bits_per_mb_denom: 0
    log2_max_mv_length_horizontal: 12
    log2_max_mv_length_vertical: 12
    num_reorder_frames: 4
     max_dec_frame_buffering: 4
Ron

HD MPEG-2 Test Patterns
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
dr1394 is online now  
post #770 of 2482 Old 12-05-2007, 12:46 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
bfdtv's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 13,484
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by alluringreality View Post

In http://www.sonycreativesoftware.com/...ssageID=556357 there is talk about Movie Factory being able to accept video and not having to transcode it when going to AVCHD by 4eyes. Has anyone been able to do that and have it play as an AVCHD on the PS3? Basically we want to do the encoding and then just have Ulead accept the video and not transcode it, similar to how the Blu-ray option works for mpeg2 video. We have tried feeding it a couple mov files, but even with the "do not..." check set it still transcodes. Any ideas?

I've done that.

You've got to use valid AVCHD format files. A Quicktime movie is not a valid AVCHD format file.

HDTV Recorder Comparison Chart | DTVPal DVR FAQ | New! TiVo Premiere (Series4) FAQ |
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
bfdtv is offline  
post #771 of 2482 Old 12-05-2007, 01:19 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Phloyd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Santa Clara, CA
Posts: 2,879
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by dr1394 View Post

Also, gaps_in_frame_num_value_allowed_flag must be set to zero.

Hi Ron,

I have always wondered why HD DVD has this flag set. It would not seem reasonable for a packaged media encode to have gaps in the frame num sequence I would think...?

Do you have any insight into why AVC for HD DVD has this flag set (where, as you noted, it is not allowed in BD compatible AVC).

Just curious.

Content is key. See the stats -
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
-
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
-
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
-
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
Phloyd is offline  
post #772 of 2482 Old 12-05-2007, 05:12 PM
AVS Special Member
 
space2001's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Posts: 2,043
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 9 Post(s)
Liked: 22
Quote:
Originally Posted by dr1394 View Post

I believe it's derived from timing_info. The frame rate is calculated by dividing time_scale by num_units_in_tick. In the example below, 27000000 / 450450 = 59.94. But that's an illegal frame rate if frame_mbs_only_flag = 1. It's needs to be changed to 23.976 fps. In Blu-ray AVC streams, the values num_units_in_tick = 1001 and time_scale = 48000 or num_units_in_tick = 5005 and time_scale = 240000 are used.

Also, gaps_in_frame_num_value_allowed_flag must be set to zero.

Code:
C:\\xfer>h264_parse bits0001.mpv | more
h264_parse - mpeg4ip version 1.5.0.1
Nal length 6 start code 4 bytes
 ref 0 type 9 Access unit delimeter
   primary_pic_type: 0
Nal length 47 start code 4 bytes
 ref 3 type 7 Sequence parameter set
   profile: 100
   constaint_set0_flag: 0
   constaint_set1_flag: 0
   constaint_set2_flag: 0
   constaint_set3_flag: 0
   level_idc: 41
   seq parameter set id: 0
   chroma format idx: 1
   bit depth luma minus8: 0
   bit depth chroma minus8: 0
   Qpprime Y Zero Transform Bypass flag: 0
   Seq Scaling Matrix Present Flag: 0
   log2_max_frame_num_minus4: 12
   pic_order_cnt_type: 0
    log2_max_pic_order_cnt_lsb_minus4: 4
   num_ref_frames: 2
   gaps_in_frame_num_value_allowed_flag: 1
   pic_width_in_mbs_minus1: 119 (1920)
   pic_height_in_map_minus1: 67
   frame_mbs_only_flag: 1
     derived height: 1088
   direct_8x8_inference_flag: 1
   frame_cropping_flag: 1
     frame_crop_left_offset: 0
     frame_crop_right_offset: 0
     frame_crop_top_offset: 0
     frame_crop_bottom_offset: 4
   vui_parameters_present_flag: 1
    aspect_ratio_info_present_flag: 1
     aspect_ratio_idc:1
    overscan_info_present_flag: 0
    video_signal_info_present_flag: 1
     video_format: 5
     video_full_range_flag: 0
     colour_description_present_flag: 1
      colour_primaries: 1
      transfer_characteristics: 1
      matrix_coefficients: 1
    chroma_loc_info_present_flag: 0
    timing_info_present_flag: 1
     num_units_in_tick: 450450             <-----------------
     time_scale: 27000000                  <-----------------
     fixed_frame_scale: 1
    nal_hrd_parameters_present_flag: 1
     cpb_cnt_minus1: 0
     bit_rate_scale: 0
     cpb_size_scale: 0
      bit_rate_value_minus1[0]: 359374
      cpb_size_value_minus1[0]: 921599
      cbr_flag[0]: 0
     initial_cpb_removal_delay_length_minus1: 30
     cpb_removal_delay_length_minus1: 7
     dpb_output_delay_length_minus1: 7
     time_offset_length: 0
    vcl_hrd_parameters_present_flag: 0
    low_delay_hrd_flag: 0
    pic_struct_present_flag: 1
    motion_vectors_over_pic_boundaries_flag: 1
    max_bytes_per_pic_denom: 0
    max_bits_per_mb_denom: 0
    log2_max_mv_length_horizontal: 12
    log2_max_mv_length_vertical: 12
    num_reorder_frames: 4
     max_dec_frame_buffering: 4
Ron

ron how would I change these values to make my file correct for Blu-ray I want to avoid having to rencode the video. thanks
space2001 is offline  
post #773 of 2482 Old 12-05-2007, 06:05 PM
AVS Special Member
 
dr1394's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Mizar 5
Posts: 3,151
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 12 Post(s)
Liked: 19
Quote:
Originally Posted by space2001 View Post

ron how would I change these values to make my file correct for Blu-ray I want to avoid having to rencode the video. thanks

This is just for the frame rate.

Original HD-DVD H.264 elementary stream:



Edited:



Ron

HD MPEG-2 Test Patterns
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
dr1394 is online now  
post #774 of 2482 Old 12-05-2007, 06:38 PM
AVS Special Member
 
dr1394's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Mizar 5
Posts: 3,151
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 12 Post(s)
Liked: 19
Quote:
Originally Posted by Phloyd View Post

Hi Ron,

I have always wondered why HD DVD has this flag set. It would not seem reasonable for a packaged media encode to have gaps in the frame num sequence I would think...?

Do you have any insight into why AVC for HD DVD has this flag set (where, as you noted, it is not allowed in BD compatible AVC).

Just curious.

To be honest, I'm still on the learning curve with H.264 syntax. The whole frame numbering scheme seems fairly complex, and I haven't really grokked it yet.

My gut feeling is that just changing gaps_in_frame_num_value_allowed_flag to 0 may not be enough. You may have to go and fix up the frame numbers to avoid playback issues. Dunno.

It almost seems like these Blu-ray H.264 restrictions were done to specifically prevent HD-DVD content from ending up on Blu-ray.

Ron

HD MPEG-2 Test Patterns
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
dr1394 is online now  
post #775 of 2482 Old 12-05-2007, 07:51 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Phloyd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Santa Clara, CA
Posts: 2,879
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by dr1394 View Post

To be honest, I'm still on the learning curve with H.264 syntax. The whole frame numbering scheme seems fairly complex, and I haven't really grokked it yet.

My gut feeling is that just changing gaps_in_frame_num_value_allowed_flag to 0 may not be enough. You may have to go and fix up the frame numbers to avoid playback issues. Dunno.

It almost seems like these Blu-ray H.264 restrictions were done to specifically prevent HD-DVD content from ending up on Blu-ray.

Perhaps.

With respect to the frame gap thing, the frame num variable for AVC is one of the strangest things I have seen for quite some time in 'syntax' space. That said, the gap flag seems to me to be a mechanism for broadcast to allow for frames dropped due to outages. I could be wrong, but that is what it seems to me.

So it seems very odd to enable it for a packaged media encode.

I am sure that if there were gaps in the frame_num sequence it would cause at least a little problem for the decoder if that flag was not set. I was kinda hoping you would know ... perhaps we should ask Amir.

Content is key. See the stats -
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
-
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
-
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
-
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
Phloyd is offline  
post #776 of 2482 Old 12-06-2007, 09:22 AM
AVS Special Member
 
alluringreality's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 3,159
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 25 Post(s)
Liked: 34
Is there any chance that the ps3bdfix from http://www.avsforum.com/avs-vb/showt...5#post12369935 would work to get BDMV on DVD from Ulead Movie Factory to play on the PS3 as an AVCHD? From reading the thread I got the impression that might not be the issue with why BDMV on DVD will work on my BDP-S1 but not on the PS3.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
alluringreality is offline  
post #777 of 2482 Old 12-06-2007, 05:31 PM
AVS Special Member
 
space2001's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Posts: 2,043
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 9 Post(s)
Liked: 22
Quote:
Originally Posted by dr1394 View Post

This is just for the frame rate.

Original HD-DVD H.264 elementary stream:



Edited:



Ron

I get an error in mui generator

invalid timing info(DTS of 12th AU is not greater than DTS of previous AU
space2001 is offline  
post #778 of 2482 Old 12-06-2007, 06:07 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Phloyd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Santa Clara, CA
Posts: 2,879
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by space2001 View Post

I get an error in mui generator

invalid timing info(DTS of 12th AU is not greater than DTS of previous AU

The header shown appears in the stream many times - you will need to change all of them to be consistent.

Content is key. See the stats -
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
-
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
-
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
-
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
Phloyd is offline  
post #779 of 2482 Old 12-06-2007, 08:29 PM
AVS Special Member
 
space2001's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Posts: 2,043
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 9 Post(s)
Liked: 22
thanks
space2001 is offline  
post #780 of 2482 Old 12-07-2007, 01:04 PM
AVS Special Member
 
space2001's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Posts: 2,043
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 9 Post(s)
Liked: 22
ok problem the file I am hexediting is 21 gigs after I hexedit it the file is only 600 megs, I don't think its opening the whole file.

I am using XVI32 for it, am I doing something wrong.

Thanks
space2001 is offline  
Reply Blu-ray Software

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off