My Blu-Ray Movie Burning Experiences... - Page 27 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #781 of 2482 Old 12-07-2007, 01:50 PM
AVS Special Member
 
dr1394's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Mizar 5
Posts: 3,149
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 11 Post(s)
Liked: 19
Quote:
Originally Posted by space2001 View Post

ok problem the file I am hexediting is 21 gigs after I hexedit it the file is only 600 megs, I don't think its opening the whole file.

I am using XVI32 for it, am I doing something wrong.

Thanks

I don't think XVI32 will work on really large files. On my old laptop (with only 256 MB of RAM), it usually fails to even open large files.

The more I think about this issue, the more I think it's futile (at least with a hex editor).

Ron

HD MPEG-2 Test Patterns http://www.w6rz.net
dr1394 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #782 of 2482 Old 12-07-2007, 05:42 PM
AVS Special Member
 
space2001's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Posts: 2,039
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 8 Post(s)
Liked: 22
yah I tired a diffrent hex editor but I keep running out of swap space

going to try on my other computer and see if I can get it to work it has more space
space2001 is offline  
post #783 of 2482 Old 12-08-2007, 07:28 AM
Newbie
 
Pascal Bourgeois's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 1
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
A real and great thank to you for your short "user guide".
THis allowed me to do my first steps in blue ray professionnal authoring !
Pascal Bourgeois is offline  
post #784 of 2482 Old 12-08-2007, 09:29 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Phloyd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Santa Clara, CA
Posts: 2,879
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by dr1394 View Post

The more I think about this issue, the more I think it's futile (at least with a hex editor).

I tend to agree, unless you can find one that can 'edit in place' and will do a 'replace all' kind of function.

Something else to note is that once you change all of the time ratios (and fix the illegal flag) you will still need to change the pulldown flags to 'frames' and fix the buffer delays - these kinds of things would be very difficult with a hex editor.

If you don't do those things, it will simply do the same thing that it does now only at 24/30 the original speed...
Phloyd is offline  
post #785 of 2482 Old 12-08-2007, 11:36 AM
AVS Special Member
 
space2001's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Posts: 2,039
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 8 Post(s)
Liked: 22
I have done 2 replacement on a 1 gig file and it works perfectly with no problems.

so now I just have to figure out a way to do it to a 21 gig file.
space2001 is offline  
post #786 of 2482 Old 12-08-2007, 05:55 PM
AVS Special Member
 
dr1394's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Mizar 5
Posts: 3,149
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 11 Post(s)
Liked: 19
Quote:
Originally Posted by space2001 View Post

I have done 2 replacement on a 1 gig file and it works perfectly with no problems.

so now I just have to figure out a way to do it to a 21 gig file.

That's encouraging. I have a small command window program that you can use to chop a big file into smaller chunks.

http://www.w6rz.net/clip.zip

The usage is:

clip

For example:

clip bits0001.mpv bitsclip0.mpv 0 1000000000

clip bits0001.mpv bitsclip1.mpv 1000000000 1000000000

clip bits0001.mpv bitsclip2.mpv 2000000000 1000000000

clip bits0001.mpv bitsclip3.mpv 3000000000 1000000000

and so on.

Then you can reassemble with copy /b bitsclip0.mpv+bitsclip1.mpv+bitsclip2.mpv+bitsclip3.mpv editedclips.mpv

Ron

HD MPEG-2 Test Patterns http://www.w6rz.net
dr1394 is offline  
post #787 of 2482 Old 12-08-2007, 08:53 PM
AVS Special Member
 
space2001's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Posts: 2,039
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 8 Post(s)
Liked: 22
dr1394 that is great only problem with that is if I cut it wrong I could cut it accross one of the headers and then can screw up the file.
space2001 is offline  
post #788 of 2482 Old 12-08-2007, 10:42 PM
AVS Special Member
 
dr1394's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Mizar 5
Posts: 3,149
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 11 Post(s)
Liked: 19
Quote:
Originally Posted by space2001 View Post

dr1394 that is great only problem with that is if I cut it wrong I could cut it accross one of the headers and then can screw up the file.

Yes, but you could manually check the end of each file. Or you could check the reassembled file with h264_parse and grep.

http://www.w6rz.net/h264_parse.zip

http://gnuwin32.sourceforge.net/packages/grep.htm

For example:

C:\\xfer>h264_parse bits0001.mpv | grep time_scale
time_scale: 48000
time_scale: 48000
time_scale: 48000
time_scale: 48000

C:\\xfer>h264_parse bits0001.mpv | grep num_units
num_units_in_tick: 1001
num_units_in_tick: 1001
num_units_in_tick: 1001
num_units_in_tick: 1001

C:\\xfer>h264_parse bits0001.mpv | grep pict_struct
pict_struct: 0
pict_struct: 0
pict_struct: 0
pict_struct: 0

C:\\xfer>h264_parse bits0001.mpv | grep gaps_in_frame
gaps_in_frame_num_value_allowed_flag: 0
gaps_in_frame_num_value_allowed_flag: 0
gaps_in_frame_num_value_allowed_flag: 0
gaps_in_frame_num_value_allowed_flag: 0

Since it's a huge file, save the output into a file.

C:\\xfer>h264_parse bits0001.mpv | grep time_scale > check_time_scale.txt

Ron

HD MPEG-2 Test Patterns http://www.w6rz.net
dr1394 is offline  
post #789 of 2482 Old 12-10-2007, 01:12 PM
AVS Special Member
 
space2001's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Posts: 2,039
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 8 Post(s)
Liked: 22
I found a good hex editor but I am still having problems with the audio delay.

beside the video portion in EVODemux it says +83ms

so I put an audio delay of 1:23 in scenarist but it still is off

also now there is pixelation in the video every little bit which something tells me hexediting the video screwed it up some how.
space2001 is offline  
post #790 of 2482 Old 12-10-2007, 02:26 PM
Newbie
 
framura's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 7
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Some other news about BD subtitles: to create a BDN file format and to convert a subtitle file (like srt o sub format) I found EZConvert (http://www.eztitles.com/index.php?page=19).

This program it's able to convert a srt file and to create PNG 8 bit images and relative BDN file: it's perfect to work with Scenarist HDMV.

Only drawback: it's not free (I used a trial version).

Bye
framura is offline  
post #791 of 2482 Old 12-10-2007, 03:13 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Phloyd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Santa Clara, CA
Posts: 2,879
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by space2001 View Post

beside the video portion in EVODemux it says +83ms

so I put an audio delay of 1:23 in scenarist but it still is off

83 ms is 2 frames at 24 fps.
Phloyd is offline  
post #792 of 2482 Old 12-11-2007, 07:09 AM
Member
 
jdatpslp's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Posts: 140
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Does anyone know of a method for burning a Blu-ray disk with multichannel uncompressed PCM audio? I have Sony Vegas Pro 8 and apparently it only supports stereo PCM, a big disappointment since it otherwise will burn a BDMV right off the timeline. Thanks.
jdatpslp is offline  
post #793 of 2482 Old 12-11-2007, 07:36 AM
Senior Member
 
cinemeccanica's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 248
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
After wasting more than one moth in tests on this, I discovered the ONLY way is to USE Sonic Scenarist BDA 4.3. The 4.2 edition won't allow you to add a multichannel PCM track, the wav 5.1 multichanel doesn't match the LPCM channel mapping required by scenarist, and even if you remap the wav to lpcm with eac3to having the correct channel mapping, scenarist 4.2 will give you a read error. The 4.3 version (for the cheap price of $60000) allows to load up to 8 separate mono wav files and so the problem is solved. I suggest you to forget Nero and DVDit pro because they re-encode the video streamand also Adobe Encore (really the worst one). Ulead HD power pack for movie factory is good (it does not re-encode streams) but cannot accept elementary streams, so you cannot give it a .m2v or .h264 or .vc-1 video file plus varoius separate audio tracks to make a multi audio track disc. So the best way (and the only one if you are a serius user) is Scenarist, or if you are so lucky Bluprint
cinemeccanica is offline  
post #794 of 2482 Old 12-11-2007, 08:00 AM
Member
 
jdatpslp's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Posts: 140
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
It is my understanding that there are ways around the file size limit (which isn't an issue for me anyway). I checked DVDit Pro HD and it too appears limited to stereo PCM. 60 grand for Scenarist? Nope, that is more than my entire project budget! Blu-print meshes nicely with Vegas. Wonder how much that little "add-on" would cost
jdatpslp is offline  
post #795 of 2482 Old 12-11-2007, 08:44 AM
AVS Special Member
 
maxleung's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Calgary, Alberta, Canada
Posts: 3,495
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 13
jdatpslp: I talked to Sony sales and Blu-print is $60,000. To evaluate it you need to use a hardware dongle that you ship back to them after the trial period is over or else they charge you the full price.
maxleung is offline  
post #796 of 2482 Old 12-11-2007, 10:30 AM
Senior Member
 
cinemeccanica's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 248
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I contacted SONY too and requested the trial version of Blu Print with a 30 day Dongle.After the trail period you'll have to re-ship the software and dongle, but this is OK for me.Anyway they state you must have a D&B number http://www.dnb.com/us/ but I'm a private user, not a part of any company. So I cannot be eligile for trying such a software.
cinemeccanica is offline  
post #797 of 2482 Old 12-11-2007, 12:25 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Phloyd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Santa Clara, CA
Posts: 2,879
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I believe that there is (or at least was) a number of bugs with Sox and multichannel WAVe files. For that reason, trying to do multichannel WAV with programs that use Sox for conversion is doomed to much sadness and failure. If you have a hex editor handy and can work out the problems by looking at the WAV specification, I believe it is possible to patch the Sox output so that it will work.
Phloyd is offline  
post #798 of 2482 Old 12-13-2007, 08:08 PM
AVS Club Gold
 
MKANET's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2000
Location: NORCAL
Posts: 5,723
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 15
I just tried making a blu-ray BD-RE movie disc using Nero 8. When I tried to play the disc in my PS3, I get the following error:

This Video Cannot be played
(80029945)


What am I doing wrong? Is there a simple and cheap software that just works? Or, do I have to be an assembly language programmer to do this? Unbelievable...

Can your HTPC Media Center / DVR Do this??

SageTV: Unrestricted full-quality 12 tuner HD Premium Cable recording, including "On Demand" in HD + OTA ATSC + DVB-S2 + Blu-ray/HD-DVD serving 5 clients.
MKANET is offline  
post #799 of 2482 Old 12-13-2007, 08:36 PM
Advanced Member
 
MozartMan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Motown/HockeyTown
Posts: 630
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by mkanet View Post

I just tried making a blu-ray BD-RE movie disc using Nero 8. When I tried to play the disc in my PS3, I get the following error:

This Video Cannot be played
(80029945)


What am I doing wrong? Is there a simple and cheap software that just works? Or, do I have to be an assembly language programmer to do this? Unbelievable...

Did you author and burn with Nero, or did you just burn with Nero?
If you only burned with Nero, what did you use to author movie disk?
What UDF version did you use when you burned with Nero?
What firmware do you have on your PS3?
Need more info.

I author BDMV with Ulead DVD MovieFactory 6+ with HD pack, and then burn with Nero 7 to BD-RE. No problem with PS3.
MozartMan is offline  
post #800 of 2482 Old 12-13-2007, 08:55 PM
AVS Club Gold
 
MKANET's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2000
Location: NORCAL
Posts: 5,723
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 15
I just open Nero Vision 8, make blu-ray disc (editable blu-ray disc) drag n drop the video into it... and select Burn. I bought PS3 about 1 year ago. I havent upgraded the PS3 firmware. I did get a warning message about the UDF not being compatible with XP.

So... what kid of somersaults do I need to do to make this work?

Basically I did what I was supposed to do... going by "it just works" school of thought.

Quote:
Originally Posted by MozartMan View Post

Did you author and burn with Nero, or did you just burn with Nero?
If you only burned with Nero, what did you use to author movie disk?
What UDF version did you use when you burned with Nero?
What firmware do you have on your PS3?
Need more info.

I author BDMV with Ulead DVD MovieFactory 6+ with HD pack, and then burn with Nero 7 to BD-RE. No problem with PS3.


Can your HTPC Media Center / DVR Do this??

SageTV: Unrestricted full-quality 12 tuner HD Premium Cable recording, including "On Demand" in HD + OTA ATSC + DVB-S2 + Blu-ray/HD-DVD serving 5 clients.
MKANET is offline  
post #801 of 2482 Old 12-13-2007, 09:11 PM
Advanced Member
 
MozartMan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Motown/HockeyTown
Posts: 630
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by mkanet View Post

I just open Nero Vision 8, make blu-ray disc (editable blu-ray disc) drag n drop the video into it... and select Burn.

I forgot to ask in my previous post, what kind of video are you trying to burn?
Is it .TS, .M2TS, .M2T, or something else? Does Nero re-encode the video?
What does PS3 says when disk is loading, BDMV or BDAV?

Quote:
Originally Posted by mkanet View Post

I bought PS3 about 1 year ago. I havent upgraded the PS3 firmware. I did get a warning message about the UDF not being compatible with XP.

You better upgrade firmware because it may fix your playback problems.
MozartMan is offline  
post #802 of 2482 Old 12-13-2007, 09:24 PM
AVS Club Gold
 
MKANET's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2000
Location: NORCAL
Posts: 5,723
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 15
Mpeg2 1080i. Nothing special. Nero re-encodes it just fine and burns without errors. I dont think it gets too far with the disk loading in the PS3... I just noticed the error message. This disc plays with stuttering on the PC using PowerDVD. I dont have trouble playing Blu-ray commercial discs with on the PC or the PS3.

Quote:
Originally Posted by MozartMan View Post

I forgot to ask in my previous post, what kind of video are you trying to burn?
Is it .TS, .M2TS, .M2T, or something else? Does Nero re-encode the video?
What does PS3 says when disk is loading, BDMV or BDAV?

You better upgrade firmware because it may fix your playback problems.


Can your HTPC Media Center / DVR Do this??

SageTV: Unrestricted full-quality 12 tuner HD Premium Cable recording, including "On Demand" in HD + OTA ATSC + DVB-S2 + Blu-ray/HD-DVD serving 5 clients.
MKANET is offline  
post #803 of 2482 Old 12-13-2007, 09:42 PM
Advanced Member
 
MozartMan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Motown/HockeyTown
Posts: 630
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by mkanet View Post

Mpeg2 1080i. Nothing special. Nero re-encodes it just fine and burns without errors. I dont think it gets too far with the disk loading in the PS3... I just noticed the error message. This disc plays with stuttering on the PC using PowerDVD. I dont have trouble playing Blu-ray commercial discs with on the PC or the PS3.

Here is some clues for you.
I suspect that Nero re-encodes MPEG-2 into AVC and makes AVCHD disk which is not supported by early firmware on PS3. You need to upgrade your firmware.
MozartMan is offline  
post #804 of 2482 Old 12-13-2007, 10:31 PM
AVS Club Gold
 
MKANET's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2000
Location: NORCAL
Posts: 5,723
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 15
Ill look into this and report back. I know that all the Blu-ray commercial discs Ive played on the PS3 have never given that error message before. The chances of ALL the discs not being AVC are pretty slim.

Quote:
Originally Posted by MozartMan View Post

Here is some clues for you.
I suspect that Nero re-encodes MPEG-2 into AVC and makes AVCHD disk which is not supported by early firmware on PS3. You need to upgrade your firmware.


Can your HTPC Media Center / DVR Do this??

SageTV: Unrestricted full-quality 12 tuner HD Premium Cable recording, including "On Demand" in HD + OTA ATSC + DVB-S2 + Blu-ray/HD-DVD serving 5 clients.
MKANET is offline  
post #805 of 2482 Old 12-14-2007, 12:59 PM
AVS Special Member
 
space2001's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Posts: 2,039
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 8 Post(s)
Liked: 22
hey benes I got the video into scenarist, and that all worked great, but now there is some pixellation. I think it because of the hex edit,which is weird since I only changed the headers. don't know why that would affect the video in any way. and the audio for me is still off.

going to keep trying.
space2001 is offline  
post #806 of 2482 Old 12-14-2007, 05:40 PM
AVS Special Member
 
dr1394's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Mizar 5
Posts: 3,149
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 11 Post(s)
Liked: 19
Quote:
Originally Posted by space2001 View Post

hey benes I got the video into scenarist, and that all worked great, but now there is some pixellation. I think it because of the hex edit,which is weird since I only changed the headers. don't know why that would affect the video in any way. and the audio for me is still off.

going to keep trying.

There's many reasons why the hex edit could affect the playback. You may want to verify the edited bitstream with the H.264 reference decoder.

http://www.w6rz.net/ldecod_patch.zip

Use the command line:

ldecod -i edited.mpv -o nul

This will decode the bitstream, but not output any YUV (because the YUV file would be gigantic for a full-length movie). If there are any bitstream syntax problems, ldecod will print an error and terminate. Be warned that ldecod is very slow, so it's an overnight run kind of thing (assuming no errors).

Ron

HD MPEG-2 Test Patterns http://www.w6rz.net
dr1394 is offline  
post #807 of 2482 Old 12-14-2007, 08:50 PM
AVS Special Member
 
ckelly33's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: TENNESSEE!!
Posts: 1,018
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Is there any software out there that will allow you to create great Bluray menus (?possibly even 'pop-up' menus??)? I bought several over the summer but was looking at Ulead DVD MovieFactory 6+ & HD Pack but the support for good menus seems limited to only HD-DVD by that product's description.

Recommendations?
ckelly33 is offline  
post #808 of 2482 Old 12-15-2007, 08:29 AM
Member
 
Fotis_Greece's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 98
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by benes View Post

If anyone was using my Scenarist guide I updated it with some info on setting Copy controls and Region codes. We want to keep our discs as open as possible.

Where is this guide?
Fotis_Greece is offline  
post #809 of 2482 Old 12-15-2007, 09:00 AM
Advanced Member
 
MozartMan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Motown/HockeyTown
Posts: 630
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Fotis_Greece View Post

Where is this guide?

Here, page 26:

http://www.avsforum.com/avs-vb/showt...5#post12369935
MozartMan is offline  
post #810 of 2482 Old 12-15-2007, 08:45 PM
AVS Special Member
 
space2001's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Posts: 2,039
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 8 Post(s)
Liked: 22
ok I was able to get the video with no glitches, I changed all the 81 E0 01 which is what caused the glitch, I only changed it on the first appearence.
space2001 is offline  
Reply Blu-ray Software

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off