My Blu-Ray Movie Burning Experiences... - Page 4 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #91 of 2482 Old 03-19-2007, 09:36 PM
Newbie
 
Elektrizitat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Madison, WI
Posts: 12
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Wow! Thanks for the info - I'm running to my office to try this out right now. Thanks again!

Quote:
Originally Posted by Neo1965 View Post

Ok, here's my step by step approach for burning MPEG2 streams onto BD-R/BD-RE BDAV for PS3 or samsung player playback.

2. If you have a HDV camcorder, capture the .MPG file on your HDD skip to step B.
3. Run VideoRedoPlus on the file(s) and create .MPG file fixing any synch or stream errors in the process.

Elektrizitat is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #92 of 2482 Old 03-20-2007, 06:12 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Brajesh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2000
Location: Metro Atlanta
Posts: 5,725
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 26 Post(s)
Liked: 41
Neo1965, do you get 5.1 on the PS3 w/your method?

HD Media Keen Videosaurus
Brajesh is offline  
post #93 of 2482 Old 03-20-2007, 07:09 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Neo1965's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: CANADA!
Posts: 3,525
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by Brajesh View Post

Neo1965, do you get 5.1 on the PS3 w/your method?

Now that you mentioned this, I didn't notice it earlier as my HDV was stereo. The 5.1 appears to be downmixed to stereo --- I thought it was a bug in the PowerProducer4.
Neo1965 is offline  
post #94 of 2482 Old 03-20-2007, 10:25 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Marc D Carra's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2000
Location: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 1,172
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Neo1965 View Post

Now that you mentioned this, I didn't notice it earlier as my HDV was stereo. The 5.1 appears to be downmixed to stereo --- I thought it was a bug in the PowerProducer4.

It has been noted by several people (myself included) that the PS3 downconverts the 5.1 audio to stereo on BD-REs, and even MPEG2 files played on the PS3. Seems to be an issue with the current firmware.

Marc.

MDC
Marc D Carra is offline  
post #95 of 2482 Old 03-20-2007, 10:48 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Neo1965's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: CANADA!
Posts: 3,525
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Amazon has the DL 50GB -R for $29.57. Has anyone tried to see if it works? It used to be $50, I would have got it but this is not a RE media, so is not eraseable....
Neo1965 is offline  
post #96 of 2482 Old 03-21-2007, 06:52 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Marc D Carra's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2000
Location: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 1,172
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Neo1965 View Post

Amazon has the DL 50GB -R for $29.57. Has anyone tried to see if it works? It used to be $50, I would have got it but this is not a RE media, so is not eraseable....

If it was RE media, I'd snag a couple for sure. I've got a 'precious' movie I'd like to author to Blu-ray but it's 28gig. Right now, I suppose I could split it between a BD-RE25 and a DVD+R DL9 but its just nice to throw it all on one disc.


BTW, the PS3 1.6rev firmware is out tonight so maybe that will fix our 5.1 audio issue!

Marc.

MDC
Marc D Carra is offline  
post #97 of 2482 Old 03-21-2007, 08:11 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Brajesh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2000
Location: Metro Atlanta
Posts: 5,725
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 26 Post(s)
Liked: 41
Got my fingers crossed for the 5.1 fix. I'd dump HD DVD authoring for easier BD/PS3 authoring instead.

HD Media Keen Videosaurus
Brajesh is offline  
post #98 of 2482 Old 03-21-2007, 10:30 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Marc D Carra's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2000
Location: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 1,172
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Brajesh View Post

Got my fingers crossed for the 5.1 fix. I'd dump HD DVD authoring for easier BD/PS3 authoring instead.

The fix information also mentions BDMV playback from BD-RE an BDR. I wonder if that means BDMV from DVDR as well? Hmmmm. And I wonder if BDMV allows for 5.1 audio....

Marc.

MDC
Marc D Carra is offline  
post #99 of 2482 Old 03-21-2007, 01:16 PM
AVS Special Member
 
CKNA's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: CT, USA
Posts: 4,059
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Neo1965 View Post

Now that you mentioned this, I didn't notice it earlier as my HDV was stereo. The 5.1 appears to be downmixed to stereo --- I thought it was a bug in the PowerProducer4.


Power Producer does not support 5.1 audio. I emailed Cyberlink about it, and they confirmed it.
CKNA is offline  
post #100 of 2482 Old 03-21-2007, 01:39 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Marc D Carra's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2000
Location: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 1,172
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by CKNA View Post

Power Producer does not support 5.1 audio. I emailed Cyberlink about it, and they confirmed it.

It's inherrant in the BDAV spec from the looks of it. It really has nothing to do with Power Producer per se. It's just making the discs to the BDAV spec. BDMVs on the other hand, will allow for 5.1 audio.

DVD it HD Pro and Movie Factory 5.0.000 will produce a BDMV with 5.1 audio

Marc.

MDC
Marc D Carra is offline  
post #101 of 2482 Old 03-21-2007, 03:45 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
LeeB99's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Huntsville AL
Posts: 178
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Sorry to have been gone from this thread for so long... anyhow...

The playback issue HAS to be with the PS3, as the power producer software DOES NOT appear to re-encode the video AT ALL, and when playing back on the PS3, the PS3 IDENTIFIES the audio signal as "multi channel dolby digital" when playing the disc and viewing the "information" bar (which also shows the video bitrate).

To the person with the modified satelite receiver: -The (most likely) reason why Power Producer is taking so long is that you have not patched the "1088" horizontal resolution headers from your mpeg file. Converting to an Mpeg PS (program stream) file will not make it compatible with Power Producer OR DVD Movie Factory if it is still a 1920 X 1088 video file. Use "HDPatch" to convert it to a 1920 X 1080, and the re-encoding will stop and it will burn "straight to disc"...

I have found that adding chapter stops CAN introduce momentary audio interruptions during playback. Since the PS3 has a 120X scan, I can live without the chapter stops. And, yesterday I ran into something that was REALLY strange. I burned some discs to BD-R's, and when checking them, I found that playback stopped just as the end credits started. I then checked the original file, and the credits WERE completely intact. I then played back the BD-R on the PC using the Cyberlink Power DVD playback software and, strangely enough, video playback paused at the SAME point, but the audio continued to play throughout the rest of the credit sequence. I had never run into this before, and have no idea why it was.

If only Sony would update the firmware to allow full 5.1 audio output from Mpeg files and BDAV discs, then we would be in really good shape. I still won't be completely satisfied, however, until the audio dropouts that appear to plague the beginning of video files during the "studio title information" segments have been COMPLETELY eliminated...

Lee
LeeB99 is offline  
post #102 of 2482 Old 03-21-2007, 04:12 PM
Member
 
SS Scott's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 19
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
DVDit Pro HD will indeed pass through AC-3 5.1 to BDMV discs...hopefully this PS3 firmware update will allow BDMV on BD-R/RE
SS Scott is offline  
post #103 of 2482 Old 03-22-2007, 09:19 AM
Newbie
 
blah12345's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 3
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Copied from the PS3 1.6 patch notes:

Blu-ray Disc Rewriteable (BD-RE) Support

* PS3 system can now playback BD-RE discs (version 3.0).

This is a complete lie. We still cannot play back BDMV on BD-RE (part of 3.0 spec) or on BD-R (2.0 spec).

At this point I'm pretty upset at Sony not delivering what they said. Any ideas on how we can escalate this issue?

EDIT: I may be doing something wrong, please ignore what I posted for now.
blah12345 is offline  
post #104 of 2482 Old 03-22-2007, 09:37 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Marc D Carra's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2000
Location: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 1,172
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by blah12345 View Post

Copied from the PS3 1.6 patch notes:

Blu-ray Disc Rewriteable (BD-RE) Support

* PS3 system can now playback BD-RE discs (version 3.0).

This is a complete lie. We still cannot play back BDMV on BD-RE (part of 3.0 spec) or on BD-R (2.0 spec).

At this point I'm pretty upset at Sony not delivering what they said. Any ideas on how we can escalate this issue?

Very disappointing to hear this. I'm not sure who at Sony would be able to help bring this to their attention? Especially since they specifically stated it was fixed!

Has anyone tested MPEG2 5.1 audio yet? Is it fixed?? I should get around to updating my PS3 tonight so if nobody reports back sooner, I will later tonight.

Marc.

MDC
Marc D Carra is offline  
post #105 of 2482 Old 03-22-2007, 10:10 AM
Senior Member
 
1st on the Block's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Southwest Ontario
Posts: 266
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by blah12345 View Post

Copied from the PS3 1.6 patch notes:

Blu-ray Disc Rewriteable (BD-RE) Support

* PS3 system can now playback BD-RE discs (version 3.0).

This is a complete lie. We still cannot play back BDMV on BD-RE (part of 3.0 spec) or on BD-R (2.0 spec).

At this point I'm pretty upset at Sony not delivering what they said. Any ideas on how we can escalate this issue?

After updating to 1.6, I can tell you that I have been able to play back a BDMV title on both BD-RE and BD-R. Download the firmware and see.

Pete

The endless pursuit of perfection..or my idea of it anyways........
1st on the Block is offline  
post #106 of 2482 Old 03-22-2007, 10:12 AM
Newbie
 
blah12345's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 3
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by 1st on the Block View Post

After updating to 1.6, I can tell you that I have been able to play back a BDMV title on both BD-RE and BD-R. Download the firmware and see.

Wow, maybe I'm doing something wrong. Let me double check. Sorry for jumping the gun early.
blah12345 is offline  
post #107 of 2482 Old 03-22-2007, 10:28 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Marc D Carra's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2000
Location: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 1,172
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by 1st on the Block View Post

After updating to 1.6, I can tell you that I have been able to play back a BDMV title on both BD-RE and BD-R. Download the firmware and see.


Have you tried BDMV from DVDR? Are you getting 5.1 sound from BDMV's on the PS3?

Marc.

MDC
Marc D Carra is offline  
post #108 of 2482 Old 03-22-2007, 11:16 AM
Member
 
SS Scott's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 19
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
1st on the block. what did you create your BDMV project with?
SS Scott is offline  
post #109 of 2482 Old 03-22-2007, 11:33 AM
Senior Member
 
1st on the Block's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Southwest Ontario
Posts: 266
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Marc D Carra View Post

Have you tried BDMV from DVDR? Are you getting 5.1 sound from BDMV's on the PS3?

Marc.

Sorry, I have not tried DVD-Rs. I'm running optical output set to bitstream and yes I'm getting 5.1.

Pete

The endless pursuit of perfection..or my idea of it anyways........
1st on the Block is offline  
post #110 of 2482 Old 03-22-2007, 11:38 AM
Senior Member
 
1st on the Block's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Southwest Ontario
Posts: 266
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by SS Scott View Post

1st on the block. what did you create your BDMV project with?

VideoStudio 10, the initial release has the ability to create BDMVs, then was updated and the feature was removed.

Pete

The endless pursuit of perfection..or my idea of it anyways........
1st on the Block is offline  
post #111 of 2482 Old 03-22-2007, 12:09 PM
Member
 
SS Scott's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 19
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
that is a disc with HD menus & HD title(s) that you are having success with?
SS Scott is offline  
post #112 of 2482 Old 03-22-2007, 12:22 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Phloyd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Santa Clara, CA
Posts: 2,879
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by 1st on the Block View Post

After updating to 1.6, I can tell you that I have been able to play back a BDMV title on both BD-RE and BD-R. Download the firmware and see.

Great.

I will see if I can mirror these results myself later today (though I only have RE media at this stage).
Phloyd is offline  
post #113 of 2482 Old 03-22-2007, 12:26 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Neo1965's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: CANADA!
Posts: 3,525
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by 1st on the Block View Post

After updating to 1.6, I can tell you that I have been able to play back a BDMV title on both BD-RE and BD-R. Download the firmware and see.

Whoa!!!! Have to try that. I can see a very productive weekend ahead of me.
Neo1965 is offline  
post #114 of 2482 Old 03-22-2007, 03:27 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Phloyd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Santa Clara, CA
Posts: 2,879
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Here is one very interesting side effect of the update:

A DVDR that I have which has a BDMV file structure (plays as a BD in the Panasonic) is not recognised as a BD disc.

However it does show up as a data disc and the 00000.m2ts file is playable.

It seems that the .ts files are still not seen as video files.

Note that the m2ts files are a little different from ts files so it is not clear if just renaming a ts file will work either.
Phloyd is offline  
post #115 of 2482 Old 03-22-2007, 03:56 PM
Advanced Member
 
MozartMan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Motown/HockeyTown
Posts: 630
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Phloyd View Post

It seems that the .ts files are still not seen as video files.

Note that the m2ts files are a little different from ts files so it is not clear if just renaming a ts file will work either.

I renamed .ts file to .m2ts. PS3 plays video, but no audio.
MozartMan is offline  
post #116 of 2482 Old 03-22-2007, 04:21 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Marc D Carra's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2000
Location: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 1,172
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
A BREAKTHROUGH!!

After the new PS3, 1.6 update, I just made a BDMV on a BD-RE using Movie Factory 5, and it plays back perfectly with menu's and 5.1 audio!!!! This rocks!!!

No audio dropouts, no problems whatsoever.

The info displays as Dolby Digital Multi-channel audio 448Kps, which is how the original stream is encoded.

Looks like I'll be re-authoring all of my 2 channel BDAVs as BDMVs now.


Fully functional high bitrate BDMVs with 5.1 audio are now a reality. Thanks Sony!

Marc.

MDC
Marc D Carra is offline  
post #117 of 2482 Old 03-22-2007, 04:38 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Phloyd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Santa Clara, CA
Posts: 2,879
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I had no luck with the renaming game - .ts files renamed to .m2ts showed 'unsupported'.

Short .m2ts files from home authored and real BDs could be played from the PS3 HDD with no trouble.
Phloyd is offline  
post #118 of 2482 Old 03-22-2007, 04:39 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Phloyd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Santa Clara, CA
Posts: 2,879
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Marc D Carra View Post

After the new PS3, 1.6 update, I just made a BDMV on a BD-RE using Movie Factory 5, and it plays back perfectly with menu's and 5.1 audio!!!! This rocks!!!

Seems that the ULead tools are working out then.

Hopefully we will hear about the DVDit Pro HD BDMV output too soon...

If not I can probably make an image tonight and test it tomorrow.
Phloyd is offline  
post #119 of 2482 Old 03-22-2007, 04:40 PM
Senior Member
 
Civuck's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Posts: 221
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Marc D Carra View Post

A BREAKTHROUGH!!

After the new PS3, 1.6 update, I just made a BDMV on a BD-RE using Movie Factory 5, and it plays back perfectly with menu's and 5.1 audio!!!! This rocks!!!

No audio dropouts, no problems whatsoever.

The info displays as Dolby Digital Multi-channel audio 448Kps, which is how the original stream is encoded.

Looks like I'll be re-authoring all of my 2 channel BDAVs as BDMVs now.


Fully functional high bitrate BDMVs with 5.1 audio are now a reality. Thanks Sony!

Marc.

You're in the lucky minority. No luck here with PS3 1.6 and BDMV on BD-R.

What type of media are you using?

C.
Civuck is offline  
post #120 of 2482 Old 03-22-2007, 04:43 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Phloyd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Santa Clara, CA
Posts: 2,879
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Civuck View Post

You're in the lucky minority. No luck here with PS3 1.6 and BDMV on BD-R..

C. - what authoring tool did you use? And what issue did you see?

Error message or other kind of failure?
Phloyd is offline  
Reply Blu-ray Software

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off