My Blu-Ray Movie Burning Experiences... - Page 70 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #2071 of 2482 Old 04-01-2010, 04:23 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Wryker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Nashvegas
Posts: 2,431
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 31 Post(s)
Liked: 31
Quote:
Originally Posted by rocketknight73 View Post

I apologize..Any DVD HD.

Any reason you're not using ToNMT for your rips? Is 'size' an issue (meaning fitting the entire movie on a 25GB BD)? I rip all my BD's & HDDVD's using ToNMT and it automatically finds the streams and creates them as one file (.ts or .m2ts). If need be, I could use ClownBD to get them to fit on smaller disc. If you're not familiar with ToNMT http://www.networkedmediatank.com/sh...d.php?tid=1786

"..where you will never find a more wretched hive of scum and villainy."

Wryker is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2072 of 2482 Old 04-01-2010, 05:42 PM
Senior Member
 
rocketknight73's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Toledo,Oh
Posts: 423
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Wryker View Post

Any reason you're not using ToNMT for your rips? Is 'size' an issue (meaning fitting the entire movie on a 25GB BD)? I rip all my BD's & HDDVD's using ToNMT and it automatically finds the streams and creates them as one file (.ts or .m2ts). If need be, I could use ClownBD to get them to fit on smaller disc. If you're not familiar with ToNMT http://www.networkedmediatank.com/sh...d.php?tid=1786

Thanks. I'll give it a try. Like I mentioned the process I'm using is working fine until Terminator Salvation. It's not even that it's a must have movie. Now it's a war of attrition . Just wanted to be able to figure out how work with such BD's if I come across them. Thanks again. Will post again if it's successful or not.

XBL Gamer Tag : RocketKnight73 / xFRiT0 BANDiT0x
Fanboys = 30 year old men still living in their parents basements..Or dudes that have ZERO chance of gettin' some...
rocketknight73 is offline  
post #2073 of 2482 Old 04-01-2010, 08:08 PM
Senior Member
 
rocketknight73's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Toledo,Oh
Posts: 423
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Now I have a MPEG TS(20GB) file. How do I burn that back to a BD-R so i plays and is recognized in a stand alone Blu Ray player?

XBL Gamer Tag : RocketKnight73 / xFRiT0 BANDiT0x
Fanboys = 30 year old men still living in their parents basements..Or dudes that have ZERO chance of gettin' some...
rocketknight73 is offline  
post #2074 of 2482 Old 04-01-2010, 09:13 PM
AVS Club Gold
 
seggers's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: WNY
Posts: 2,097
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 22 Post(s)
Liked: 24
Quote:
Originally Posted by rocketknight73 View Post

Now I have a MPEG TS(20GB) file. How do I burn that back to a BD-R so i plays and is recognized in a stand alone Blu Ray player?

Rocket,

Follow the link and follow the PDF. I've used it to do BD copies of just the film and HD sound track.

Remember to go into the settings tab and check the BD only tabs and change the configurable value (under the BD25 option) to be 50Gb.

Seggers

http://www.avsforum.com/avs-vb/showt...8#post18052998

Mits 73835, Denon X4000, Emotiva UPA5 (triggered), Wharfedale Pacific Evo 40s, CS, 10s, the internet, a NAS drive, a TiVo Series 3 and an Oppo 103 (bye bye PS3). There's also a Wii, but we don't talk about that...
seggers is offline  
post #2075 of 2482 Old 04-02-2010, 03:05 AM
Senior Member
 
latreche34's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Baja, California Mexico 965392
Posts: 326
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 19 Post(s)
Liked: 26
I created a blu-ray disc from an MKV file using TsMuxer and output as blu-ray disc and burned as data using roxio on DVD9 disc, when played on my laptop blu-ray player it was detected as BDMV but my PS3 detected it as data disc, when browsing to the stream folder it plays the video but no sound at all, here is the details:
General
ID : 1
Complete name : F:\\BDMV\\STREAM\\00000.m2ts
Format : BDAV
Format/Info : BluRay Video
File size : 7.00 GiB
Duration : 1h 28mn
Overall bit rate : 11.3 Mbps
Maximum Overall bit rate : 35.5 Mbps

Video
ID : 4113 (0x1011)
Menu ID : 1 (0x1)
Format : AVC
Format/Info : Advanced Video Codec
Format profile : High@L4.1
Format settings, CABAC : Yes
Format settings, ReFrames : 4 frames
Duration : 1h 28mn
Bit rate : 9 315 Kbps
Nominal bit rate : 9 092 Kbps
Width : 1 920 pixels
Height : 1 040 pixels
Display aspect ratio : 16/9
Frame rate : 23.976 fps
Resolution : 24 bits
Colorimetry : 4:2:0
Scan type : Progressive
Bits/(Pixel*Frame) : 0.190
Writing library : x264 core 88 r1471 1144615
Encoding settings : cabac=1 / ref=4 / deblock=1:0:0 / analyse=0x3:0x133 / me=umh / subme=7 / psy=1 / psy_rd=1.00:0.00 / mixed_ref=1 / me_range=16 / chroma_me=1 / trellis=1 / 8x8dct=1 / cqm=0 / deadzone=21,11 / fast_pskip=1 / chroma_qp_offset=-2 / threads=6 / sliced_threads=0 / nr=0 / decimate=1 / mbaff=0 / constrained_intra=0 / bframes=3 / b_pyramid=2 / b_adapt=2 / b_bias=0 / direct=3 / wpredb=1 / wpredp=2 / keyint=250 / keyint_min=25 / scenecut=40 / intra_refresh=0 / rc=2pass / mbtree=0 / bitrate=9092 / ratetol=1.0 / qcomp=0.60 / qpmin=10 / qpmax=51 / qpstep=4 / cplxblur=20.0 / qblur=0.5 / ip_ratio=1.40 / pb_ratio=1.30 / aq=1:1.0
Language : English

Audio
ID : 4352 (0x1100)
Menu ID : 1 (0x1)
Format : DTS
Format/Info : Digital Theater Systems
Duration : 1h 28mn
Bit rate mode : Constant
Bit rate : 1 536 Kbps
Channel(s) : 6 channels
Channel positions : Front: L C R, Surround: L R, LFE
Sampling rate : 48.0 KHz
Resolution : 24 bits
Language : English

Text
ID : 4608 (0x1200)
Menu ID : 1 (0x1)
Format : PGS
Video delay : 1h 28mn
Language : English
latreche34 is offline  
post #2076 of 2482 Old 04-02-2010, 04:17 AM
AVS Special Member
 
lchiu7's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Posts: 1,512
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 7 Post(s)
Liked: 12
The PS3 won't play m2ts files with DTS audio unless they are in the AVCHD format. That means the source folder name has to be AVCHD and the disk has to be in UDF 2.5 format. I have found the best tool to do that is multiavchd

http://multiavchd.deanbg.com/

If you can browse through the folder on the disk, it's in the wrong format. If it's formatted correctly once you insert the disc it comes up as AVCHD and starts to play the title in the STREAM folder or brings up a menu if authored with the tool above.
lchiu7 is offline  
post #2077 of 2482 Old 04-02-2010, 04:50 AM
Senior Member
 
latreche34's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Baja, California Mexico 965392
Posts: 326
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 19 Post(s)
Liked: 26
Quote:
Originally Posted by lchiu7 View Post

The PS3 won't play m2ts files with DTS audio unless they are in the AVCHD format. That means the source folder name has to be AVCHD and the disk has to be in UDF 2.5 format. I have found the best tool to do that is multiavchd

http://multiavchd.deanbg.com/

If you can browse through the folder on the disk, it's in the wrong format. If it's formatted correctly once you insert the disc it comes up as AVCHD and starts to play the title in the STREAM folder or brings up a menu if authored with the tool above.

Can you tel me how the setting suppose to be on tsMuxerGUI, because I've done so many discs with it and never got a problem, I may have changed something lately on the program?
latreche34 is offline  
post #2078 of 2482 Old 04-02-2010, 08:09 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Wryker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Nashvegas
Posts: 2,431
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 31 Post(s)
Liked: 31
Quote:
Originally Posted by latreche34 View Post

Can you tel me how the setting suppose to be on tsMuxerGUI, because I've done so many discs with it and never got a problem, I may have changed something lately on the program?

You can also use ClownBD to make a BD that's compatible in BD players.

"..where you will never find a more wretched hive of scum and villainy."

Wryker is offline  
post #2079 of 2482 Old 04-02-2010, 08:43 AM
Senior Member
 
vamovie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 320
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by rocketknight73 View Post

Thanks. I'll give it a try. Like I mentioned the process I'm using is working fine until Terminator Salvation. It's not even that it's a must have movie. Now it's a war of attrition . Just wanted to be able to figure out how work with such BD's if I come across them. Thanks again. Will post again if it's successful or not.

If the software ToNMT doesn't work
then you need re-encrypt the moive again
It was known to be bd+ and at that time of release the anydvd HD uses old hashfiles and then they updated it
And it works fine since then
try encrypt again with original movie
vamovie is offline  
post #2080 of 2482 Old 04-02-2010, 08:45 AM
Senior Member
 
vamovie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 320
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by latreche34 View Post

I created a blu-ray disc from an MKV file using TsMuxer and output as blu-ray disc and burned as data using roxio on DVD9 disc, when played on my laptop blu-ray player it was detected as BDMV but my PS3 detected it as data disc, when browsing to the stream folder it plays the video but no sound at all, here is the details:
General
ID : 1
Complete name : F:\\BDMV\\STREAM\\00000.m2ts
Format : BDAV
Format/Info : BluRay Video
File size : 7.00 GiB
Duration : 1h 28mn
Overall bit rate : 11.3 Mbps
Maximum Overall bit rate : 35.5 Mbps

Video
ID : 4113 (0x1011)
Menu ID : 1 (0x1)
Format : AVC
Format/Info : Advanced Video Codec
Format profile : High@L4.1
Format settings, CABAC : Yes
Format settings, ReFrames : 4 frames
Duration : 1h 28mn
Bit rate : 9 315 Kbps
Nominal bit rate : 9 092 Kbps
Width : 1 920 pixels
Height : 1 040 pixels
Display aspect ratio : 16/9
Frame rate : 23.976 fps
Resolution : 24 bits
Colorimetry : 4:2:0
Scan type : Progressive
Bits/(Pixel*Frame) : 0.190
Writing library : x264 core 88 r1471 1144615
Encoding settings : cabac=1 / ref=4 / deblock=1:0:0 / analyse=0x3:0x133 / me=umh / subme=7 / psy=1 / psy_rd=1.00:0.00 / mixed_ref=1 / me_range=16 / chroma_me=1 / trellis=1 / 8x8dct=1 / cqm=0 / deadzone=21,11 / fast_pskip=1 / chroma_qp_offset=-2 / threads=6 / sliced_threads=0 / nr=0 / decimate=1 / mbaff=0 / constrained_intra=0 / bframes=3 / b_pyramid=2 / b_adapt=2 / b_bias=0 / direct=3 / wpredb=1 / wpredp=2 / keyint=250 / keyint_min=25 / scenecut=40 / intra_refresh=0 / rc=2pass / mbtree=0 / bitrate=9092 / ratetol=1.0 / qcomp=0.60 / qpmin=10 / qpmax=51 / qpstep=4 / cplxblur=20.0 / qblur=0.5 / ip_ratio=1.40 / pb_ratio=1.30 / aq=1:1.0
Language : English

Audio
ID : 4352 (0x1100)
Menu ID : 1 (0x1)
Format : DTS
Format/Info : Digital Theater Systems
Duration : 1h 28mn
Bit rate mode : Constant
Bit rate : 1 536 Kbps
Channel(s) : 6 channels
Channel positions : Front: L C R, Surround: L R, LFE
Sampling rate : 48.0 KHz
Resolution : 24 bits
Language : English

Text
ID : 4608 (0x1200)
Menu ID : 1 (0x1)
Format : PGS
Video delay : 1h 28mn
Language : English

I noticed that the resolution is 1920x1040 and audio is dts
i would recommend you to use uncropMKV and ran it thru and then burn it disc
let see if that takes cares of the problem
vamovie is offline  
post #2081 of 2482 Old 04-02-2010, 08:49 AM
Senior Member
 
vamovie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 320
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by pixiesoft View Post

Ok I have the video sorted but I know have a sound issue.

I have 2 .mp4 files with AAC 6ch audio and 1 .mkv file with the same AAC 6ch audio. Once compiled and played back I can have sound on the first movie but on the 2nd and 3rd movies there is no sound. This was all played back through CyberLink PowerDVD 10.

In the Sub/Audio Tab and under the Audio Conversion Settings section I have the following:

Use eac3to (Ticked)
TrueHD/DTS-MA/HR 640kbps AC3 (Ticked)
Non-HD Audio to AC3 bitrate 384
AAC channel remapping 1,2,3,4,5
I would recommend use multiavchd to create a bd-r disc inorder to play it
Everything else (Unticked)

Why will it play one movie's audio but not the other two?

Also I am getting this error from TSMuxeR that only happens with 1 .mkv file "Unsupported media type 15 for AVCHD/Blu-ray muxing"

SmartLabs tsMuxeR. Version 1.10.6 http://www.smlabs.net
Decoding H264 stream (track 1): Profile: High@4.1 Resolution: 1920:1080p Frame rate: 29.9701
H.264 manual setted fps not equal stream fps. Change H.264 fps from 29.9701 to 30
H264 bitstream changed: insert nal unit delimiters
H264 bitstream changed: insert pict timing and buffering period SEI units
Decoding AAC stream (track 2): Sample Rate: 48KHz Channels: 2
B-pyramid level 1 detected. Shift DTS to 2 frames
H264 bitstream changed: insert SPS/PPS units
Processed 162828 video frames
Creation of Blu-ray playlist

any standalone and ps3
the reason: when using tsmuxer with mutli m2ts files its known peoblem to audio synch problems and able to not playable

if u use multiavchd its creates seemless branches and its very lkely comptable on its ps3 too.
vamovie is offline  
post #2082 of 2482 Old 04-02-2010, 12:19 PM
Senior Member
 
latreche34's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Baja, California Mexico 965392
Posts: 326
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 19 Post(s)
Liked: 26
Quote:
Originally Posted by vamovie View Post

any standalone and ps3
the reason: when using tsmuxer with mutli m2ts files its known peoblem to audio synch problems and able to not playable

if u use multiavchd its creates seemless branches and its very lkely comptable on its ps3 too.

multiavchd is not a user friendly, too slow and it doesn't show the progress bar too complicated for me just my opinion, anyways I found out that it is not tsmuxer fault, it's the PS3 latest firmware, any BD structure not burned to BD-R media is going to be detected as DATA disc, I burned the same folders to BD-RW disc and PS3 played it as blu-ray fine, I will be passing the DVD9 to a friend to see if it plays on his blu-ray player.
latreche34 is offline  
post #2083 of 2482 Old 04-02-2010, 12:40 PM
AVS Special Member
 
lchiu7's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Posts: 1,512
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 7 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by latreche34 View Post

multiavchd is not a user friendly, too slow and it doesn't show the progress bar too complicated for me just my opinion, anyways I found out that it is not tsmuxer fault, it's the PS3 latest firmware, any BD structure not burned to BD-R media is going to be detected as DATA disc, I burned the same folders to BD-RW disc and PS3 played it as blu-ray fine, I will be passing the DVD9 to a friend to see if it plays on his blu-ray player.

I have the latest firmware and I am pretty sure I haven't seen this problem.

You say multiAVCHD is too complicated and slow. Perhaps..

But the really cool thing about it is the fact that you can dispense with DVD9 or any optical media. It can create the AVCHD structure on a hard drive that you just plug in and the PS3 plays - with full audio etc.

And it gets over the 4G filesize limit of FAT32 by cutting up longer movies into 4G chunks and creating a standard BD branching structure so that the PS3 just plays each chunk in sequence with no pause between them.

I have a 200G drive lying around that I have put a number of movies onto in this format, many of them just the original m2ts files from the BD and each accessible with the menu that multiAVCHD creates during the compilation stage. I do this because I often purchase Region B titles that the PS3 cannot play. Ripping them and putting them onto a HD gets over this problem.
lchiu7 is offline  
post #2084 of 2482 Old 04-03-2010, 12:35 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
zoro's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Posts: 10,073
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 33 Post(s)
Liked: 17
I tried multi avchd but could not make it work. Any simpler tutorial there?
zoro is offline  
post #2085 of 2482 Old 04-03-2010, 07:22 AM
Senior Member
 
vamovie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 320
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by zoro View Post

I tried multi avchd but could not make it work. Any simpler tutorial there?

what are you trying to do though?

simply add files
wait until it adds and the name of the title greens its good to go
if its red u need to use uncropmkx
second screen next to it start
and it will ask you which format u want it author
dvd5/dvd9/for panasonic/avchd/bd-r
choose it and it will create the file if its 20gb files it would take atleast 30min-1hour depends on ur cpu speed
burn it to disc
vamovie is offline  
post #2086 of 2482 Old 04-03-2010, 08:53 AM
Advanced Member
 
mtallent's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Cecilia,KY
Posts: 867
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Quote:
Originally Posted by latreche34 View Post

Can you tel me how the setting suppose to be on tsMuxerGUI, because I've done so many discs with it and never got a problem, I may have changed something lately on the program?

If you are going to use a DVD disk then you need to select "AVCHD" as the output in tsMuxeR not Blu-Ray. Then burn using UDF 2.5 settings. This has worked fine on my PS3.

Mike T
mtallent is offline  
post #2087 of 2482 Old 04-03-2010, 02:30 PM
AVS Special Member
 
lchiu7's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Posts: 1,512
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 7 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by zoro View Post

I tried multi avchd but could not make it work. Any simpler tutorial there?


Pretty comprehensive instructions here

http://multiavchd.deanbg.com/tutorial.php
lchiu7 is offline  
post #2088 of 2482 Old 04-03-2010, 04:56 PM
Senior Member
 
latreche34's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Baja, California Mexico 965392
Posts: 326
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 19 Post(s)
Liked: 26
Quote:
Originally Posted by mtallent View Post

If you are going to use a DVD disk then you need to select "AVCHD" as the output in tsMuxeR not Blu-Ray. Then burn using UDF 2.5 settings. This has worked fine on my PS3.

Mike T

I will do that in my next project, I just burnt it to BD-R worked fine I waisted 16GB of disc space but it's $2 BD-R not a big deal, thank you guys for the help.
latreche34 is offline  
post #2089 of 2482 Old 04-05-2010, 04:47 AM
Senior Member
 
latreche34's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Baja, California Mexico 965392
Posts: 326
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 19 Post(s)
Liked: 26
Quote:
Originally Posted by latreche34 View Post

I found out that it is not tsmuxer fault, it's the PS3 latest firmware, any BD structure not burned to BD-R media is going to be detected as DATA disc, I burned the same folders to BD-RW disc and PS3 played it as blu-ray fine, I will be passing the DVD9 to a friend to see if it plays on his blu-ray player.

Yep, PS3 is doing this in purpose, my friend reported that DVD9 burned as blu-ray output from tsmuxer worked fine on his blu-ray player, too bad, but at least it works when done as AVCHD.
latreche34 is offline  
post #2090 of 2482 Old 04-15-2010, 10:51 AM
Senior Member
 
Mark A Gonzalez's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 215
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 14
Is there a best software to use for cloning blu-ray or do they all have thier flaws? I want to back up some of my blu-rays without any loss of quality.
Mark A Gonzalez is offline  
post #2091 of 2482 Old 04-15-2010, 11:12 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Wryker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Nashvegas
Posts: 2,431
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 31 Post(s)
Liked: 31
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mark A Gonzalez View Post

Is there a best software to use for cloning blu-ray or do they all have thier flaws? I want to back up some of my blu-rays without any loss of quality.

AnyDVDHD (you must purchase)
Then use either ToNMT or ClownBD.
ClownBD can rip/burn either just the movie and whatever audio you desire or the full BD.
Cheers.

"..where you will never find a more wretched hive of scum and villainy."

Wryker is offline  
post #2092 of 2482 Old 04-16-2010, 04:12 PM
Advanced Member
 
Pepster returns's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 734
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 17
Quote:
Originally Posted by pixiesoft View Post

I have a MKV file that I want to make into a Blu Ray movie and everything seems to go ok but when I burn it using IMG Burn and play it on my Blu Ray player I get sound but a blank screen. I thought that maybe it was NTSC as I am UK so I changed setting on player to NTSC but still blank picture.

What am I doing wrong?

My player is a BMP-DB35

Did you author the directory structure using TSMUXER ?

(for @#%^&#$% sake, why do people bother creating %&^*@!#$% MKV files anyway ??)

Use TSMUXER to create the directory structure - then burn with IMGBURN.

BTW, I have a BD35 too.
Pepster returns is offline  
post #2093 of 2482 Old 04-16-2010, 06:08 PM
AVS Special Member
 
lchiu7's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Posts: 1,512
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 7 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by Pepster returns View Post


(for @#%^&#$% sake, why do people bother creating %&^*@!#$% MKV files anyway ??)

.

Maybe because it's the "best" format for uploading content of questionable legality and quite flexible in terms of codec support

I myself backup my BluRay's as .ts or .m2ts format so that it's easily played by my Popcorn Hour or PS3. I don't care about the slight increase in space over MKV.
lchiu7 is offline  
post #2094 of 2482 Old 04-16-2010, 06:29 PM
Advanced Member
 
MozartMan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Motown/HockeyTown
Posts: 630
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by lchiu7 View Post

Maybe because it's the "best" format for uploading content of questionable legality and quite flexible in terms of codec support

MKV is not format, it is container, to be correct. Like .TS or .M2TS.

Quote:
Originally Posted by lchiu7 View Post

I myself backup my BluRay's as .ts or .m2ts format so that it's easily played by my Popcorn Hour or PS3. I don't care about the slight increase in space over MKV.

I agree completely, I don't care about MKV too. TS or M2TS plays easily on my PS3.
MozartMan is offline  
post #2095 of 2482 Old 04-16-2010, 08:26 PM
Senior Member
 
bigcat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Columbus, Ohio
Posts: 294
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 21
what tools do I need to backup a bluray movie to regular DVD so it can be watched on the road on regular DVD players?

Vizio 80" 3D LED M801D-A3 w/ Denon AVR-1612, Polk Audio RM6750 | Sony Bravia XBR-60LX900 w/ Sony HTCT550W 3D Sound Bar | Sony SXRD KDS-R70XBR2 w/ Onkyo HT-S770 | Sony PS3 (Slim) | DIRECTV Genie HR44-500, C41s | Harmony 700
bigcat is offline  
post #2096 of 2482 Old 04-16-2010, 08:41 PM
AVS Special Member
 
lchiu7's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Posts: 1,512
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 7 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by MozartMan View Post

MKV is not format, it is container, to be correct. Like .TS or .M2TS.


..PS3.

Agreed - slightly sloppy terminology
lchiu7 is offline  
post #2097 of 2482 Old 04-20-2010, 03:40 AM
Member
 
montecristo's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Belgium
Posts: 28
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
hi,

i have a question about compressing a blu-ray to BD9.
is there any noticable loss of quality if i copy a BD to BD9?

i want to copy my BD discs to my HTPC so i can play them from there in my front end instead of having to put the disc in to play.
if i do a full copy of the movie (extra's not included) it will take me a lot of space.
so, i wanna try the BD9 which is only max 9 GB.

so if anybody knows let me know.
i just started a copy myself but it will take 3 hours before it's finished.
i just wanna know for sure beefore i do my other BD's.


regards,
Monecristo
montecristo is offline  
post #2098 of 2482 Old 04-21-2010, 03:40 AM
AVS Special Member
 
lchiu7's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Posts: 1,512
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 7 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Do you mean BD9 or DVD D/L which is also about 9GB.

The answer is it depends. I have found that a 90-100 min movie compressed with H.264 and retaining one lossless audio track compresses quite nicely to a DVD D/L and the PQ is very good. Of course it's the usual saying about "beauty is in the eye of the beholder"
lchiu7 is offline  
post #2099 of 2482 Old 04-22-2010, 05:10 PM
Newbie
 
jcsmith22's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Greenville, S.C.
Posts: 4
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Ok, so I have a weird problem. I have burned about 15 blu rays, exact 1-on-1 copies onto bd-r 50gb Mitsubishi discs, I also am using the Pioneer BD 205 btw. I use AnyDvd HD for decoding and Blu Cloner 2 for burning. I have not had any issues until I recently tried to burn the movies "The Fourth Kind" and "Up". When I put the movie 4th kind in is brings up a load bar screen, I think this has to do with blu ray live maybe? Then after a while nothing....it will just sit there blank and you have to go to main screen, on ps3, to get out of the blank screen. The same thing happened with the movie Up. I have put the orginal movie in and after the loading screen it does start the movie so I am at a loss for what the problem might be and why my copied version isnt playing.....any suggestions or help before I make another very expensive coaster???
jcsmith22 is offline  
post #2100 of 2482 Old 04-23-2010, 07:34 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Wryker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Nashvegas
Posts: 2,431
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 31 Post(s)
Liked: 31
Quote:
Originally Posted by jcsmith22 View Post

Ok, so I have a weird problem. I have burned about 15 blu rays, exact 1-on-1 copies onto bd-r 50gb Mitsubishi discs, I also am using the Pioneer BD 205 btw. I use AnyDvd HD for decoding and Blu Cloner 2 for burning. I have not had any issues until I recently tried to burn the movies "The Fourth Kind" and "Up". When I put the movie 4th kind in is brings up a load bar screen, I think this has to do with blu ray live maybe? Then after a while nothing....it will just sit there blank and you have to go to main screen, on ps3, to get out of the blank screen. The same thing happened with the movie Up. I have put the orginal movie in and after the loading screen it does start the movie so I am at a loss for what the problem might be and why my copied version isnt playing.....any suggestions or help before I make another very expensive coaster???

I'm not familiar with Blu Cloner 2 - try downloading and using ClownBD

"..where you will never find a more wretched hive of scum and villainy."

Wryker is offline  
Reply Blu-ray Software

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off