Firmware 3.0 for HD-XA1, HD-A1, and HD-D1 (4/23/08) - Page 7 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #181 of 196 Old 10-03-2008, 09:26 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Blacklac's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 2,065
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by jpeter1093 View Post

Somebody on one of the other 4.0 threads says it offers Toshiba's SRT for SD DVDS. I Googled 'Toshiba SRT' and found this:

SRT Super Resolution Technology upconverts and enhances 480i/p and 720p input signals for a more detailed picture. Now all your DVDs and TV channels will be displayed in near High Definition picture quality.

That is absolutely incorrect. He was either joking or doesn't know what he is talking about. Sorry. There is no SRT in ANY of these HD DVD players.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
Blacklac is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #182 of 196 Old 10-03-2008, 10:45 PM
Member
 
Brett Miles's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: KS
Posts: 195
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I can not get this firmware to load on my RCA player. I've updated successfully 4-5 times in the past via CD without trouble, but this is this 1st attempt I've made with a new computer. I can't get broadband internet, so the direct download isn't an option. I discovered that I couldn't load my old Nero 6 on Vista so I tried using the ISO burning programs on the "Master Burning" sticky thread, and none of those discs were even readable. I burned one with Roxio and one with Nero 8 on a school computer and each of these gave the message on screen to "Update - Yes/NO" with "verup" on the player as you would expect. However, when I hit yes, the machine just ejects the disc and powers down. I also tried re-downloading the update in case of corruption and had the same problem. Anyone had this problem?

P.S. Why doesn't the A1 get a firmware sticky like the 2nd and 3rd gen players?
Brett Miles is offline  
post #183 of 196 Old 10-06-2008, 06:43 AM
AVS Special Member
 
whiskey alpha's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: IA
Posts: 1,088
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by BobTennis View Post

Many thanks to jpeter1093, bobgspr and jamjas for your suggestions. I really appreciate your helpful advice.

Just as an update, I tried one more burn of the ISO version, without success, so I resorted to the internet download through the maintenance Update option on the menu once this was reported as being available in this thread, and it worked perfectly.

.

I too burned a couple of copies and neither one worked for me. I finally just called Toshiba and they are going to send me out a disk.

Understanding the unexplainable"
whiskey alpha is offline  
post #184 of 196 Old 10-10-2008, 04:12 AM
Senior Member
 
jfbar1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: SW Florida
Posts: 319
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by Htdude14 View Post

I'm still running 2.4 with no issues on my XA1, is there any benefit to 3.0...4.0??

I updated my "refurb" XA1 to 4.0 Until then I directly compared it to my A30 hooked up to my "legacy" Tosh CRT RP. The A30 had a much better quality (1080i) than the XA1, using "Planet Earth" as a test. After the 4.0 update (on both) the XA1 is every bit as sharp and clear as the A30 (MUCH slower though). When I first got it (2 months ago), I first updated it to 3.0 before even running it.
jfbar1 is offline  
post #185 of 196 Old 11-04-2008, 05:35 PM
Advanced Member
 
mrkrispy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: San Diego, CA
Posts: 821
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I received 4.0 in the mail yesterday, I own an XA1. Updated in under 10 minutes
mrkrispy is offline  
post #186 of 196 Old 11-05-2008, 06:41 AM
AVS Special Member
 
whiskey alpha's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: IA
Posts: 1,088
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
I received a disc but it was for the A3 part number 34000. I guess I'll have to call them again. I spoke tothem last week but they said the disc was on backorder.

Understanding the unexplainable"
whiskey alpha is offline  
post #187 of 196 Old 11-05-2008, 02:16 PM
Senior Member
 
mobgre's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 387
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by mrkrispy View Post

I received 4.0 in the mail yesterday, I own an XA1. Updated in under 10 minutes

Ditto. Updated my A1 in about 15 min.
mobgre is offline  
post #188 of 196 Old 11-05-2008, 03:25 PM
AVS Special Member
 
mtrot's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: east texas
Posts: 1,559
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6 Post(s)
Liked: 26
Quote:
Originally Posted by mobgre View Post

Ditto. Updated my A1 in about 15 min.

OK, those who have updated 1st generation units to 4.0, what differences do you see compared to 3.0? I have the RCA with 3.0, and it seems to have improved playback greatly over any previous version in the area of stalls and stutters. I sure don't want to take a step back.

Thanks much

mtrot is offline  
post #189 of 196 Old 11-05-2008, 05:49 PM
Advanced Member
 
craftech's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 893
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I have been running 2.0 for a long time with no issues. Am I missing anything not upgrading to 4.0? The disc arrived yesterday.

John
craftech is offline  
post #190 of 196 Old 11-10-2008, 08:44 AM
AVS Special Member
 
5150zx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 1,075
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 50
Quote:
Originally Posted by craftech View Post

I have been running 2.0 for a long time with no issues. Am I missing anything not upgrading to 4.0? The disc arrived yesterday.

John

I've been running 2.0 for a long time WITH issues (I hate Toshiba) but got the 4.0 firmware installed over the weekend. As mentioned in this thread, 4.0 allows you to switch inputs from HD DVD and the movie will continue to play. Also, the grinding noise present while playing SD DVD's is gone!!! At least on two discs I played that made the noise on previous firmware (2.3 for sure had it). That is a nice thing that I was hoping for. I'll do more listening regarding this. BUT, I had Bourne Ultimatum HD DVD freeze on me immediately when the movie started. That's after initializing and clearing persistent storage, etc. Typical Toshiba..two step forward, three steps............
5150zx is offline  
post #191 of 196 Old 11-11-2008, 11:41 AM
Senior Member
 
filmbuff2's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Vancouver , B.C., Canada
Posts: 258
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
I downloaded 4.0 from the link provided in this thread, burned it and the XA1 updated. Now, when I checked in update it was version 2.4 before and after it still shows as 2.4. Any ideas on what happened? It has been some time since I last burned a cd though, maybe I missed something. Everything works fine and the player turned off after ejecting the burned cd. Bummer!
filmbuff2 is offline  
post #192 of 196 Old 11-11-2008, 03:24 PM
Advanced Member
 
mrkrispy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: San Diego, CA
Posts: 821
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
did you try unplugging the player or deleting the cache?
mrkrispy is offline  
post #193 of 196 Old 12-04-2008, 04:28 AM
Advanced Member
 
craftech's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 893
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by 5150zx View Post

I've been running 2.0 for a long time WITH issues (I hate Toshiba) but got the 4.0 firmware installed over the weekend. As mentioned in this thread, 4.0 allows you to switch inputs from HD DVD and the movie will continue to play. Also, the grinding noise present while playing SD DVD's is gone!!! At least on two discs I played that made the noise on previous firmware (2.3 for sure had it). That is a nice thing that I was hoping for. I'll do more listening regarding this. BUT, I had Bourne Ultimatum HD DVD freeze on me immediately when the movie started. That's after initializing and clearing persistent storage, etc. Typical Toshiba..two step forward, three steps............

I haven't had any discs do that with 2.0. The only one is the infamous Happy Feet freeze that is the fault of the disc since so many had the DVD lock up in the exact same place. I loved firmware 1.4. It was flawless. I reluctantly upgraded to firmware 2.0 after a year when many discs wouldn't work with 1.4 and required 2.0 and above. So far so good.

John
craftech is offline  
post #194 of 196 Old 12-04-2008, 08:47 AM
AVS Special Member
 
TrevorS's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 6,232
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
My preferred releases are 2.4 for the RCA HDV5000 (A1, D1, XA1) and 2.7 for the HD-A2, whatever problems they may have haven't materialized with my setups or the discs I've played, and those firmware revisions were the first in their series to give me the correct HD colorspace for both upscaled DVD and HD DVD.
TrevorS is offline  
post #195 of 196 Old 12-04-2008, 10:38 AM
AVS Special Member
 
5150zx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 1,075
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 50
Quote:
Originally Posted by craftech View Post

I haven't had any discs do that with 2.0. So far so good.

John

Yes John, 2.0 for me was fine as well. NO grinding on SD DVD's. Updated to 2.3 and there it was. At least on the discs I've tried thus far, no grinding with the 4.0 firmware.
5150zx is offline  
post #196 of 196 Old 12-04-2008, 10:41 AM
AVS Special Member
 
whiskey alpha's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: IA
Posts: 1,088
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
I finally received my 4.0 disc. It updated in about 2 minutes. However my picture on SD material is a bit on the soft side now at 720p. I need to play around with it and see if I can get it sharper.

Understanding the unexplainable"
whiskey alpha is offline  
Reply HD DVD Players

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off