Firmware 4.0 available for A-3, A-30, and A-35 - Page 25 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #721 of 864 Old 05-03-2009, 02:26 PM
Advanced Member
 
snowghost's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: SoCal
Posts: 718
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 15
Quote:
Originally Posted by Viking61 View Post

I don't think there ever was a version 2.7 for the A35. You can use the firmware file that is linked 10 posts above to roll back to version 1.3.

Yeah, he's right I was thinking of the XA2 when I recommended the rollback on the other thread.

1.3 should be okay for the A35.

"The best long distance runners eat raw meat, run naked and sleep in the snow."
snowghost is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #722 of 864 Old 05-11-2009, 09:23 PM
Member
 
AvGrog's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: NE
Posts: 64
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by tripleM View Post

The CP's in regards to poor transfers or making java requirements not transparent to the box makers (see TDK or Bond catalogue)

The box makers not supporting fully 1st gen boxes (see LG BH200 dual format players).

Most of all - keeping box prices still north of $200 & new releases north of $20.

This is why lack of competition is bad.

I have both formats and have had sense Dec 07. I own or have owned A2 Wallmart $99. BD1400 $259, A35 $80, BD 35 $208. I enjoy the HD formats and own over 60 Blu ray movies and 50 HD DVDs. I was at Best Buy and Wallmart this last weekend and could not believe the price of DVDs they look like they have gone up. I too thank that Blu ray movies cost to much so I only buy when I can find a good deal. But DVD prices seem to be moving up to the same level as Blu ray. Oh maybe there thinking that if they raise the cost of DVDs we will buy more Blu rays. LOL. There or good prices for Blu ray players out there you just have to wait. I'm not selling my HD DVD anytime soon.

Also I read somewhere that after doing a filmware update on any HD DVD or Blu ray player do a default reset you will have less problems. It seems that sometimes the filmware doesn't load right until after the reset.
AvGrog is offline  
post #723 of 864 Old 07-03-2009, 02:38 PM
Member
 
joez7700's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Buffalo NY
Posts: 37
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hi,
I recently updated my HD-A35 to the latest firmware. It now seems that I am having quite a problem with HD-DVD's that are freezing up. I know the disc's are ok as they played fine before the update. I have been reading that there is a way to go back to your previous firmware version. Is there an easy way to do this? The reason I ask if it is easy is because I am not very computer savy.

Thanks

Joe
joez7700 is offline  
post #724 of 864 Old 07-03-2009, 05:01 PM
AVS Special Member
 
MrHifi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Davidsonville, MD
Posts: 2,839
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by joez7700 View Post

Hi,
I recently updated my HD-A35 to the latest firmware. It now seems that I am having quite a problem with HD-DVD's that are freezing up. I know the disc's are ok as they played fine before the update. I have been reading that there is a way to go back to your previous firmware version. Is there an easy way to do this? The reason I ask if it is easy is because I am not very computer savy.

Thanks

Joe


I have updated my A35 to 4.0 and never have had a problem. If DVD's are freezing up, your unit may be failing for reasons not associated with the software.

Art Neill
a.k.a.
Mr. HiFi
MrHifi is offline  
post #725 of 864 Old 07-04-2009, 09:13 AM
Advanced Member
 
Quentin2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: NorthWest USA
Posts: 812
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I agree with Mr. HiFi that ver 4.0 shouldn't be causing this. But if you want to rollback to an earlier firmware you'll need the old firmware of your choice to be modified with a hex editor so it fools the A35 into accepting the old firmware as being a version newer than 4.0. Hopefully you can find an already modded file, otherwise you'll have to become more "computer savy".

2008 Samsung HLxxA650/Series 6 DLP Thread/FAQ
HD DVDs: 235
BD: 20
DVD: Too Many!

Free Men Do Not Ask Permission to Bear Arms
Quentin2 is offline  
post #726 of 864 Old 07-04-2009, 02:30 PM
Senior Member
 
rcserg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 377
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Does anyone have a ISO for FW 1.3. I'd like to go back from 4.0

HD DVD 354ish
Blu Ray 375ish
360 Halo Reach Slim,360 Elite 120GB, MW2 250GB, Halo 3 20GB, RE5 120GB, PS3 Fat 320GB, PS3 Slim 250GB, Wii
HD DVD & Blu Ray players, too many
Money Spent.... Priceless
rcserg is offline  
post #727 of 864 Old 07-04-2009, 03:23 PM
Senior Member
 
Mike N Ike's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 437
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by rcserg View Post

Does anyone have a ISO for FW 1.3. I'd like to go back from 4.0

See post # 708 in this thread. There is a link to the ISO that will take you back to 1.3 for the A35.
Haven't used it myself.

Mike
Mike N Ike is offline  
post #728 of 864 Old 07-05-2009, 08:12 AM
AVS Special Member
 
MrHifi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Davidsonville, MD
Posts: 2,839
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
I'm sorry but I really do not understand this desire to go back to previous versions of the firmware. If a system has trouble after an update, it is likely that something occurred during the update to cause a glitch. I've lost the radio on a receiver after an update. Had to send it in for repair. Those are the breaks and risks of updating but that does not mean the software itself is bad or will cause a glitch. Manufacturers spend a lot of time and money getting these updates to us. I believe they are thoroughly tested before release. While I update Bluray and HDDVD players routinely, I do not update receivers or preamps.

Art Neill
a.k.a.
Mr. HiFi
MrHifi is offline  
post #729 of 864 Old 07-05-2009, 11:52 AM
AVS Club Gold
 
htwaits's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Palo Alto, CA
Posts: 24,781
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 83 Post(s)
Liked: 465
Quote:
Originally Posted by MrHifi View Post

I'm sorry but I really do not understand this desire to go back to previous versions of the firmware.

It's simple. That's why good companies use beta releases of FW to detect problems with new versions. Given the vast number of combinations of connected components, it's always possible for code that solves one problem to cause new and unexpected problems with different combinations of equipment.

Reinstalling older FW is an excellent debugging tool, and is frequently the first step in finding the source of a "new" problem.

If HD-DVD had lasted, like Blu-ray, there would have probably been an endless stream of FW changes just to keep up with the silly coding that studios keep adding to their high definition releases.

I've done a large number of FW updates in over forty years of computer work, but I've been lucky enough to never have needed to update the firmware on a A/V receiver. Blu-ray, on the other hand, looks like it's going to require very frequent updates with the constant possibility that a particular FW update will need to be reversed. OPPO handles their updates such that any FW version can be loaded without regard to the installed version. I think that OPPO is on the right track.
htwaits is online now  
post #730 of 864 Old 07-05-2009, 07:11 PM
Advanced Member
 
Quentin2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: NorthWest USA
Posts: 812
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I also think firmware shouldn't restrict going back to earlier versions. That is a good troubleshooting technique. Hats off to Oppo for allowing that.

I guess many manufacturers push you to upgrade firmware (and prevent you from rolling back) just so they have only one firmware revision to troubleshoot with you on the phone, etc. And they hope it will reduce help desk calls.

Wouldn't be surprised if "upgrade your firmware" isn't a way to get you off the phone, too. You know, like the #1 Help Desk answer, "Shut up and reboot"! Click!

2008 Samsung HLxxA650/Series 6 DLP Thread/FAQ
HD DVDs: 235
BD: 20
DVD: Too Many!

Free Men Do Not Ask Permission to Bear Arms
Quentin2 is offline  
post #731 of 864 Old 07-06-2009, 10:50 AM
AVS Special Member
 
BasicBlak's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 1,853
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by MrHifi View Post

I'm sorry but I really do not understand this desire to go back to previous versions of the firmware. If a system has trouble after an update, it is likely that something occurred during the update to cause a glitch. I've lost the radio on a receiver after an update. Had to send it in for repair. Those are the breaks and risks of updating but that does not mean the software itself is bad or will cause a glitch. Manufacturers spend a lot of time and money getting these updates to us. I believe they are thoroughly tested before release. While I update Bluray and HDDVD players routinely, I do not update receivers or preamps.

(Emphasis mine.)

While I believe there is some merit to your position, the fact remains that firmware is not always thoroughly tested before release. No one has proven this fact more than Toshiba. In fact, each FW subsequent to 1.3 (and prior to 4.0) was saddled with serious bugs and defects. Moreover, it took Tosh more than 2 updates to correct the 1080/24p deinterlace bug they created by not properly QC-ing their work prior to release. Truth be told, manufacturers are not infallable when it comes to these things.

Panasonic PT-AX200U

Da-Lite Model B 106" HCMW
Sony KDS-60A3000

VIP 3D Theater Plus Converter w/ MonsterVision Max 3D Eyewear
Onkyo TX-SR805 (v1.08 w/DSP & HDMI Updates)
Oppo BDP-103
Sony PS3 Slim (v4.50)
Toshiba HD-A35 (v4.0)
Polk Audio RTi8 / CSi5 / FXi3
Boston 595x Subwoofers

My DVD Collection

BasicBlak is offline  
post #732 of 864 Old 07-08-2009, 08:43 PM
Senior Member
 
rcserg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 377
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Quentin2 View Post

I agree with Mr. HiFi that ver 4.0 shouldn't be causing this. But if you want to rollback to an earlier firmware you'll need the old firmware of your choice to be modified with a hex editor so it fools the A35 into accepting the old firmware as being a version newer than 4.0. Hopefully you can find an already modded file, otherwise you'll have to become more "computer savy".

No need to trick the player with a hex editor. I just downgraded from FW 4.0 to 1.3 via ISO. No problems at all.

HD DVD 354ish
Blu Ray 375ish
360 Halo Reach Slim,360 Elite 120GB, MW2 250GB, Halo 3 20GB, RE5 120GB, PS3 Fat 320GB, PS3 Slim 250GB, Wii
HD DVD & Blu Ray players, too many
Money Spent.... Priceless
rcserg is offline  
post #733 of 864 Old 07-08-2009, 08:51 PM
AVS Club Gold
 
htwaits's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Palo Alto, CA
Posts: 24,781
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 83 Post(s)
Liked: 465
Quote:
Originally Posted by rcserg View Post

No need to trick the player with a hex editor. I just downgraded from FW 4.0 to 1.3 via ISO. No problems at all.

There may be folks who would like to do what you did. Can you povide some pointers for the uninitiated.

My player is happy at 4.0.
htwaits is online now  
post #734 of 864 Old 07-09-2009, 11:03 AM
Senior Member
 
rcserg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 377
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Pretty straight forward. Copy the file from an earlier post here onto a CDR, put into drive, then it starts updating on its own.

HD DVD 354ish
Blu Ray 375ish
360 Halo Reach Slim,360 Elite 120GB, MW2 250GB, Halo 3 20GB, RE5 120GB, PS3 Fat 320GB, PS3 Slim 250GB, Wii
HD DVD & Blu Ray players, too many
Money Spent.... Priceless
rcserg is offline  
post #735 of 864 Old 07-09-2009, 01:17 PM
AVS Special Member
 
BasicBlak's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 1,853
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
^The file you copied went through the hex editor process prior to posting and was provided to us as a convenience. The fact remains, the player does indeed need to be "tricked" in order to allow the downgrade. It just so happened that someone was cool enough to tackle the chore for you.

Panasonic PT-AX200U

Da-Lite Model B 106" HCMW
Sony KDS-60A3000

VIP 3D Theater Plus Converter w/ MonsterVision Max 3D Eyewear
Onkyo TX-SR805 (v1.08 w/DSP & HDMI Updates)
Oppo BDP-103
Sony PS3 Slim (v4.50)
Toshiba HD-A35 (v4.0)
Polk Audio RTi8 / CSi5 / FXi3
Boston 595x Subwoofers

My DVD Collection

BasicBlak is offline  
post #736 of 864 Old 07-09-2009, 02:52 PM
Advanced Member
 
Quentin2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: NorthWest USA
Posts: 812
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Also something to think about if using modded firmware to trick the player into a rollback - it may be difficult to upgrade later. I haven't tried this but the stock version 4.0 could look like older firmware to the modded v1.3 causing the upgrade to fail unless 4.0 was modded too. If this is the case it would be good to find a modded 4.0 right now and keep it handy.

2008 Samsung HLxxA650/Series 6 DLP Thread/FAQ
HD DVDs: 235
BD: 20
DVD: Too Many!

Free Men Do Not Ask Permission to Bear Arms
Quentin2 is offline  
post #737 of 864 Old 07-09-2009, 04:06 PM
Member
 
Viking61's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 196
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by Quentin2 View Post

Also something to think about if using modded firmware to trick the player into a rollback - it may be difficult to upgrade later. I haven't tried this but the stock version 4.0 could look like older firmware to the modded v1.3 causing the upgrade to fail unless 4.0 was modded too. If this is the case it would be good to find a modded 4.0 right now and keep it handy.

As the one who provided the rollback firmware, I can assure you that it won't cause problems for later upgrades.
Viking61 is offline  
post #738 of 864 Old 07-18-2009, 05:20 AM
 
Splicer010's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 7,819
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 32
Quote:
Originally Posted by dlbsyst View Post

I noticed after updating my A3 to 4.0 from 1.3 DVD upconversion quality seemed to improve but at the same time HD-DVD quality slipped down a couple of notches. I was getting glitches and picture freezes that were absent with the 1.3 firmware. I have recently rolled back to 1.3 and everything is back to normal. I am staying put with this firmware.

-dlbsyst

This is what I have found to be true using 4.0 on my A35 and it is annoying as hell...I have no way of burning a rollback disc...Anyone have any suggestions???
Splicer010 is offline  
post #739 of 864 Old 07-18-2009, 02:46 PM
Advanced Member
 
Rich86's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: USA - California
Posts: 742
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 27
Quote:
Originally Posted by Viking61 View Post

As the one who provided the rollback firmware, I can assure you that it won't cause problems for later upgrades.

I am trying to help Splicer out by burning the A35 rollback to 1.3 firmware to a cd-r for him. However, Imgburn keeps saying the iso file is not a valid or supported image file. Has this file been corrupted somehow? What program do folks use to burn it to cd-r?

Edit: Never mind - I apparently messed up downloading it the first time because I grabbed it again and all is now well. Splicer's cd-r will go out in the mail on Monday.

A long-time audio/video addict!
Rich86 is offline  
post #740 of 864 Old 07-18-2009, 04:11 PM
 
Splicer010's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 7,819
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 32
A gentleman AND a scholar!!! Thanks much brother...
Splicer010 is offline  
post #741 of 864 Old 07-22-2009, 12:21 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Linux23's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: NJ
Posts: 1,412
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Very long thread. My A35 has been collecting dust for quite awhile. When was 4.0 released? I assumed Toshiba stopped supporting this player after HD-DVD died. Is the update only available via ISO or can I plug in an ethernet connection into my player and have it auto update?
Linux23 is offline  
post #742 of 864 Old 07-22-2009, 01:52 PM
 
Splicer010's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 7,819
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 32
Splicer010 is offline  
post #743 of 864 Old 07-22-2009, 01:56 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Linux23's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: NJ
Posts: 1,412
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Should I upgrade? Does it fix the stuttering with playback of DVD content at 1080p/24?
Linux23 is offline  
post #744 of 864 Old 07-22-2009, 02:12 PM
 
Splicer010's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 7,819
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 32
I don't have a 1080p capable TV so can't comment on that...Having said that I am awaiting a rollback disc so I can go back from 4.0 to an earlier FW to see if my discs stop freezing...
Splicer010 is offline  
post #745 of 864 Old 07-22-2009, 02:26 PM
Member
 
Viking61's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 196
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by Linux23 View Post

Does it fix the stuttering with playback of DVD content at 1080p/24?

I think this is the main thing version 4.0 fixes.
Viking61 is offline  
post #746 of 864 Old 07-22-2009, 03:36 PM
AVS Special Member
 
BasicBlak's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 1,853
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by Linux23 View Post

Should I upgrade? Does it fix the stuttering with playback of DVD content at 1080p/24?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Viking61 View Post

I think this is the main thing version 4.0 fixes.

No, it doesn't address that...and it was never meant to. If your standard DVDs are stuttering when played back in 1080/24p, then that's due to part or all of the DVD itself being mastered at the Video frame rate of 30-/60fps (usually the menus, but often the film itself). Playing back a 30-/60fps DVD at 24fps will produce anomalies, as there is no auto-detection on these players. The main issue f/w 4.0 fixed was the jaggies exhibited with AVC/MPEG-4 HD DVDs when played back at 24Hz.

Panasonic PT-AX200U

Da-Lite Model B 106" HCMW
Sony KDS-60A3000

VIP 3D Theater Plus Converter w/ MonsterVision Max 3D Eyewear
Onkyo TX-SR805 (v1.08 w/DSP & HDMI Updates)
Oppo BDP-103
Sony PS3 Slim (v4.50)
Toshiba HD-A35 (v4.0)
Polk Audio RTi8 / CSi5 / FXi3
Boston 595x Subwoofers

My DVD Collection

BasicBlak is offline  
post #747 of 864 Old 07-23-2009, 12:51 PM
 
Splicer010's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 7,819
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 32
I just posted this over at HDD:

Quote:
Alrighty then...Rich was super kind enough to burn and send me the rollback disc and it arrived today...Popped the disc in and VOILA!!! Back to 1.3!!! But here's the catch...

After checking my starting FW #'s I started out at 4.0/2.0...Initially when the player was new and had never had any updates the FW was 1.3/1.1 IIRC...I skipped the 2.0 update after hearing all the bad reports but then 3.0 came out...So I upped the FW and the new #'s were 3.0/1.1...Not wanting to leave well enough alone I when FW 4.0 came out I took my Toshiba supplied update disc and the new #'s were 4.0/2.0...Now that I rolled the FW back to 1.3 the new #'s are 1.3/2.0...It was explained somewhere before what the 2nd set of #'s were for but I can't remember...Anyone know???

Anyway I'm sure y'all want to know how the rollback is performing...First let me tell you how my A35 acted on 4.0/2.0...I never had any real issues worth mentioning at first...SDVD played beautifully...Of course SDVD was never an issue with any of the FW versions...When it comes to HD DVD however 90% of the time they played perfectly...But there are times on different discs in different places that the picture would freeze on a perfect disc with no scratches...Brand new even...Other times those same discs played fine with no freezing...

I've watched a couple of movies so far and as yet the only issue I see is that when rewinding it is a little choppy...But playback has been rock solid...No dropouts no glitches no freezing...

Time will be the ultimate test though and I will report back my findings...After some time has passed I will update the player to 3.0 FW and see if it will update as 3.0/2.0 or 1.1...The main question is what does the 2.0 stand for in terms of the FW itself???

I wish to express my gratitude to Rich once again...Without his assistance I would not be able to do these tests...

Splicer010 is offline  
post #748 of 864 Old 10-02-2009, 12:18 PM
AVS Club Gold
 
Mark Booth's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Beautiful California
Posts: 1,503
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 24
I was feeling industrious today and decided to upgrade my backup HD DVD player (the HD-A3 that I keep in the bedroom) to firmware 4.0. BIG MISTAKE!

I burned the 4.0 ISO to a CD and the firmware update process worked perfectly. When the player was done, it ejected the disc tray and shut itself off. I removed the upgrade CD from the disc tray and turned the player back on. The player automatically pulled the empty disc tray back into the unit and then proceeded to show me "WELCOME" on the LCD screen and stayed that way, apparently, permanently. None of the buttons on the front of the unit work (I just hear beeping sounds when I press the buttons). After letting it sit at the WELCOME screen for about 45 minutes (the fans were going by then), I decided to pull power and let it sit unplugged for about 30 minutes. Plugged it back in and powered it up, same thing. Bricked!

So, I called Toshiba and, much to my relief, they are replacing the unit for no charge. My only cost will be the expense to return this unit to them. The rep advised me to not bother with any firmware updates on the replacement unit. He said it will probably be either firmware 1.3 or 3.0 and very unlikely it will be 4.0. He said I should just leave it alone and not bother with any further firmware updates. I guess they've had too many bricked players from this.

I am most impressed with Toshiba's response to my problem! I bought the A3 around March of '08 so it's been out of warranty for about 8 months. There was no hesitation on their part to replace it for no charge and the rep even apologized for me having troubles.

Mark
Mark Booth is offline  
post #749 of 864 Old 10-02-2009, 01:17 PM
Senior Member
 
r3v3nant's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: SF Bay Area, CA
Posts: 305
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 23 Post(s)
Liked: 32
Well.. that's encouraging.. their response that is. I'm scared of going to 4.0 on my A30

Listening: Outlaw Audio 950 | Sony CDPCX355 | 2x Marantz MA-700 + 2x MA-6100 | Energy RC-70 bi-amped + SVS PB-1000
HT: Pioneer Elite SC-71 AVR | LG 60PV450 plasma | all BIC 7 speaker surround + Klipsch sub-12hg | Sony BDP-S350 | WD TV
r3v3nant is offline  
post #750 of 864 Old 10-15-2009, 04:11 PM
AVS Club Gold
 
Mark Booth's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Beautiful California
Posts: 1,503
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 24
My replacement A3 arrived from Toshiba today. I really don't think it is a refurbished unit. It looks brand new to me. There were even promo copies of Bourne Identity and 300 in the box.

I tried loading a DVD and an HD DVD. The DVD played fine. The HD DVD wouldn't load at all at first, but a second attempt got it loaded but then the A3 quit playing almost immediately and gave an error code. So, I checked the firmware version. 1.1! That's an oldie!

I debated on trying to just go to 1.3 or 3.0 but, since I was going to do a firmware update anyway, I threw caution to the wind and burned a new 4.0 CD from a fresh download of HD-A3-4000N.zip (AJ4000U_S-USER.iso after unzipping). I like to live dangerously, I guess! It's updating now (on Step 4/4). Fingers crossed!

Mark

Edit: Firmware updated to 4.0 just fine. Player functioning normally. Except, it turns out the HD DVD I grabbed to test load above is a bad disk! It still wouldn't load after the firmware update. So, I tried the HD DVD in my XA2 in the home theater room. It loaded and started to play, but then started stuttering and then gave an error code. I tried three other HD DVDs in the replacement A3 and they all played just fine.

What are the freakin' odds that I grab possibly the only bad HD DVD out of my entire collection of 100+ HD DVD discs? Old man Murphy never sleeps!

BTW, The title is Meet The Parents. I got it, and its companion Meet The Fockers from an Amazon reseller a few weeks ago. I hadn't tried either disc yet until just now. But Meet The Fockers is one of the discs that plays just fine in the A3 (as did Bourne Identity and 300). Meet The Parents is DOA in both of my players.

A3 stays, Meet The Parents needs to be replaced. Hopefully, they aren't all bad!
Mark Booth is offline  
Reply HD DVD Players

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off