New Firmware 4.0 HD-XA2/HD-XF2/HD-A20 - Page 19 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #541 of 559 Old 01-06-2012, 08:33 PM
AVS Special Member
 
tbase1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: medina Ohio
Posts: 2,373
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 15
will the firmware work with the onkyo hd85?

tony4k
tbase1 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #542 of 559 Old 01-06-2012, 09:19 PM
 
Splicer010's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 7,819
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 32
You mean 805? Last reports were that it is the same FW and works. However, if memory serves, the ONKYO logo is replaced with a TOSHIBA logo...
Splicer010 is offline  
post #543 of 559 Old 01-08-2012, 09:33 AM
AVS Special Member
 
tbase1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: medina Ohio
Posts: 2,373
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 15
my bad on missing the zero, but yes.

tony4k
tbase1 is offline  
post #544 of 559 Old 12-21-2012, 07:17 PM
Newbie
 
redsierra's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Winnipeg, MB, Canada
Posts: 4
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Anyone in Canada want to sell their XA2?

Does anyone know why my A2 would have lost it's video. It reads the discs, and has sound. It has no video suddenly through HDMI or Component. It does however have video through composite out. WTF?!

You can email me at dwight.larsonboats@mts.net if you have one for sale at a reasonable price. Again though, I want an XA2 this time though.

Thanks.
redsierra is offline  
post #545 of 559 Old 02-03-2013, 08:21 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Wetumpka, AL
Posts: 15,487
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 177 Post(s)
Liked: 199
I pulled my HD-A1 out of the closet the other day and would like to see about updating the firmware.

Is the online site still in operation? If not, can you download the latest firmware to burn to CD/DVD? If so, from where?

Samsung 64F8500, Panasonic 65VT50, Oppo 95, Tivo Roamio for OTA, Dish VIP722, Marantz AV8801 preamp, Rotel Amps, Atlantic Tech 8200 speakers, Seaton Submersive HP, Calman 5, Chromapure, Accupel DVG-5000, i1Display3pro, i1pro2, eecolor colorbox.
JimP is online now  
post #546 of 559 Old 02-03-2013, 08:25 AM
 
Splicer010's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 7,819
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 32
What is your current FW version? Any issues/problems encountered? If not, I personally wouldn't sweat it unless you have a large library of HD DVD. Otherwise;

http://www.spannerworks.net/reference/10_11a.asp
Splicer010 is offline  
post #547 of 559 Old 02-03-2013, 08:34 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Wetumpka, AL
Posts: 15,487
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 177 Post(s)
Liked: 199
The problem I'm wanting to correct is where the error correction is so bad that it doesn't take much on a disc for it to freeze. I bought the player used several years ago and I suspect that this is the reason the seller wanted to sell it.

I'm not sure that the firmware update will help. It's currently on 2. something.

I tried the above link and at the top of the page where it says to click to get the newest firmware, the page it sends you to is dead.

Samsung 64F8500, Panasonic 65VT50, Oppo 95, Tivo Roamio for OTA, Dish VIP722, Marantz AV8801 preamp, Rotel Amps, Atlantic Tech 8200 speakers, Seaton Submersive HP, Calman 5, Chromapure, Accupel DVG-5000, i1Display3pro, i1pro2, eecolor colorbox.
JimP is online now  
post #548 of 559 Old 02-04-2013, 01:26 PM
AVS Special Member
 
GmanAVS's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Ridgewood, NJ
Posts: 1,795
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 14
Quote:
Originally Posted by JimP View Post

I pulled my HD-A1 out of the closet the other day and would like to see about updating the firmware.

Is the online site still in operation? If not, can you download the latest firmware to burn to CD/DVD? If so, from where?

My XA2 has not been able to connect to the website for over a year.

I have the last firmware for both the XA2 and the A35 at home but I do not think it will be of help as I recall the A1 / XA1 use a different fw.

Here is the downlaod link for the HD-A1 from the sticky thread HD-DVD Firmware links for all models :

http://cdgenp01.csd.toshiba.com/content/support/downloads/HD-A1-4000N.zip

Hope ot helps, it does work.smile.gif

Gman
GmanAVS is offline  
post #549 of 559 Old 02-04-2013, 01:46 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Wetumpka, AL
Posts: 15,487
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 177 Post(s)
Liked: 199
Gman,

Thanks for posting.

I wasn't having any luck finding the latest firmware and after one too many freezes, I tossed it into the green garbage can.

I'm thinking about getting an A30 or A35 off of ebay on the cheap when one rolls around that looks lightly used. I don't have that many HDDVDs and am considering just rebuying those I really want in BluRay and being done with it. Only problem is the HDDVD of Phantom of the Opera is in high resolution audio and the BluRay isn't. Don't know if I can give up on Phantom. lol

Samsung 64F8500, Panasonic 65VT50, Oppo 95, Tivo Roamio for OTA, Dish VIP722, Marantz AV8801 preamp, Rotel Amps, Atlantic Tech 8200 speakers, Seaton Submersive HP, Calman 5, Chromapure, Accupel DVG-5000, i1Display3pro, i1pro2, eecolor colorbox.
JimP is online now  
post #550 of 559 Old 02-22-2013, 09:40 PM
Newbie
 
cjmander's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Posts: 4
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I had not been using my XE1KY very much as the fan was noisy. Rather than throw the machine away, I decided to order a new fan from Toshiba (Australia). Anyway Toshiba couldn't supply me with a new fan so instead they sent me a brand new XE1KY
Thanks to Vikings61 and other contributors I have been able to make the player multi regional and updated it to firmware version 4.0 Still a little bit of fan noise but a lot less than my original machine.
I am now using the player to play my HD DVD collection as well standard DVDs. I use my Poineer BDP 450 for music and blu-rays.

thanks Toshiba..
cjmander is offline  
post #551 of 559 Old 02-23-2013, 05:35 AM
Advanced Member
 
inspector's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Menifee, CA , USA
Posts: 960
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 14 Post(s)
Liked: 14
Wow, good for you! I still have my HD-A1 since the day it came out and never a problem. It has the latest FW upgrade and I use it for all my SD upscaling...not many BD players do as good a job. One day I'd like to get a XA-2, just for the 1080p.

...finally retired and spending time in my HT!!!

My equipment consists of: Epson 9500 UB Projector(Avical ISFd); 110" JKP Affinity Screen; Panny BD30 Player, Tosh HDA1 Player; Definitive Speakers (Center, Towers, Rear); Onkyo 608 A/V Receiver; Nevo Q50 Remote; TWC DVR-HD Cable Box; 5 Bello chairs.
inspector is offline  
post #552 of 559 Old 02-25-2013, 10:11 AM
AVS Special Member
 
blipszyc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Location: Concord, NC
Posts: 2,627
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 55 Post(s)
Liked: 37
Quote:
Originally Posted by inspector View Post

Wow, good for you! I still have my HD-A1 since the day it came out and never a problem. It has the latest FW upgrade and I use it for all my SD upscaling...not many BD players do as good a job. One day I'd like to get a XA-2, just for the 1080p.
What firmware do you have your A1 at? 4.0? Do you have any issues with it? I think my last update was 3.0 and had so many problems I went back to 2.0. Just pulled my A1 out of storage and would love to start using it again.

Visit the Lipszyc Home Theater! 1.0
2.0 done and finally posted! - Theater 2.0

And now...The Queen City Theater (3.0)
blipszyc is offline  
post #553 of 559 Old 02-25-2013, 05:08 PM
Advanced Member
 
inspector's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Menifee, CA , USA
Posts: 960
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 14 Post(s)
Liked: 14
Quote:
Originally Posted by blipszyc View Post

What firmware do you have your A1 at? 4.0? Do you have any issues with it? I think my last update was 3.0 and had so many problems I went back to 2.0. Just pulled my A1 out of storage and would love to start using it again.

I have FW 4.0 and have never had any issues, Everything plays on it including DVDrs. From what I've read, once you install one FW, you can't go back to a lower FW.

...finally retired and spending time in my HT!!!

My equipment consists of: Epson 9500 UB Projector(Avical ISFd); 110" JKP Affinity Screen; Panny BD30 Player, Tosh HDA1 Player; Definitive Speakers (Center, Towers, Rear); Onkyo 608 A/V Receiver; Nevo Q50 Remote; TWC DVR-HD Cable Box; 5 Bello chairs.
inspector is offline  
post #554 of 559 Old 09-09-2013, 06:53 PM
AVS Special Member
 
TSHA222's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2000
Location: barely within my means
Posts: 1,165
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 54
Anyone with an A3 want to sell a complete idiot a fw update disc? I've tried a few different discs and no luck. Just get a message that it's not a DVD format or something along those lines...
TSHA222 is offline  
post #555 of 559 Old 09-10-2013, 05:08 PM
Advanced Member
 
Rich86's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: USA - California
Posts: 783
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 24 Post(s)
Liked: 30
Quote:
Originally Posted by TSHA222 View Post

Anyone with an A3 want to sell a complete idiot a fw update disc? I've tried a few different discs and no luck. Just get a message that it's not a DVD format or something along those lines...

Steps for Toshiba HD-DVD firmware disc
1. Gather what you need:
a. Have some blank cd-r's on hand and a computer with a cdrw burner in it.
b. Download "imgburn" from here:
http://www.imgburn.com
This is the program you will use to create the firmware update disc.
c. download the Toshiba firmware images files for your computer. Look here and download
the appropriate files (version 4.0 for each model)
http://support.toshiba.com/drivers

2. Get everything ready:
a. Install imgburn on your computer - let it install to its default location, etc.
b. Unzip the downloaded firmware files (probably just need to double-click them).
Make sure you know which resulting file is for which player (take notes).

3. "Burn" your firmware update disc:
a. launch imgburn
b. blank cd-r into burner
c. click "write image file to disc"
d. make sure "destination" is your burner.
e. choose a "write speed" in the middle of your burner/media speed rating (ie. 52x burner & 52x media, pick 24x or 26x).
f. under "source" - "browse for" and select the correct file to use (it should end in .iso - NOT .zip).
g. click the "write" button.
h. wait for program to say it successfully completed.

4. Update your hd-dvd player:
a. power the player on - open the tray - insert the proper firmware disc - close the tray.
b. say "yes" when it asks if you want to update.
c. let it run - it is slow - do not interrupt it under any circumstances!
d. it will take a while - and go through 5 steps, as I recall.
e. when done - remove the disc.

A long-time audio/video addict!
Rich86 is online now  
post #556 of 559 Old 09-10-2013, 05:16 PM
AVS Special Member
 
TSHA222's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2000
Location: barely within my means
Posts: 1,165
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 54
Thanks for the info. I remember having to use imgburn on another PC some time ago and it worked when the other burners failed. Completely forgot about that...old age I guess. wink.gif
TSHA222 is offline  
post #557 of 559 Old 01-03-2014, 03:35 PM
Member
 
tmuller's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 43
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 13
If someone needs the HD-XA2 firmware's, I keep an archive of them in ISO format. I have 1.3, 2.5, 2.7, 2.8 and 4.0. I also have a 2.8 -> 2.7 down rev firmware (that I actually tested!), so if you want to down rev from 2.8 to 2.7, I have that too.

Send me a PM.
bguzman likes this.
tmuller is offline  
post #558 of 559 Old 01-03-2014, 03:52 PM
exm
AVS Special Member
 
exm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: NYY
Posts: 1,323
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 18 Post(s)
Liked: 59
Quote:
Originally Posted by tmuller View Post

If someone needs the HD-XA2 firmware's, I keep an archive of them in ISO format. I have 1.3, 2.5, 2.7, 2.8 and 4.0. I also have a 2.8 -> 2.7 down rev firmware (that I actually tested!), so if you want to down rev from 2.8 to 2.7, I have that too.

Send me a PM.

I actually know someone who has the region free versions if someone needs those.
exm is offline  
post #559 of 559 Old 01-03-2014, 08:04 PM
Member
 
LoWd0Wn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Kelowna, BC, Canada
Posts: 106
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
That's excellent that you two have done that for everyone - if needed.
LoWd0Wn is offline  
Reply HD DVD Players

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off