New Firmware 4.0 HD-XA2/HD-XF2/HD-A20 - Page 20 - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 
 4Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #571 of 589 Old 05-12-2015, 10:11 AM
Advanced Member
 
jdryyz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 669
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 36 Post(s)
Liked: 15
I just needed to set the clock?

I noticed my clock was not set correctly (probably after my last major power outage). It still thought it was 2008 . So, I set the correct date and, hey, no more warning message!

This makes me wonder why a clock is needed for an optical disc player in the first place. None of my Blu-Ray players require this. I suppose it has something to do with time-sensitive content that may be available on some discs. And, in fact, it was Universal that was offering something like that if I'm not mistaken. I forget the name of it though. It was their equivalent of "BD live", right?

Now if only I can get some advice on my tray problem.
jdryyz is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #572 of 589 Old 05-12-2015, 10:14 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Rambler358's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Torrance, CA
Posts: 1,168
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 94 Post(s)
Liked: 25
Sounds like a hardware issue. Things do fail over time...
Rambler358 is offline  
post #573 of 589 Old 05-12-2015, 10:22 AM
Advanced Member
 
jdryyz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 669
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 36 Post(s)
Liked: 15
If you're talking about the tray, yeah I have no doubt it is a hardware issue. But if it is something simple I can replace, I would like to know. Perhaps it is just the rubber o-ring that is used for the eject motor. I have no idea what the replacement part would be though. Hopefully I won't have to replace the entire drive.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Rambler358 View Post
Sounds like a hardware issue. Things do fail over time...
jdryyz is offline  
 
post #574 of 589 Old 05-12-2015, 11:59 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
barrelbelly's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 2,346
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 348 Post(s)
Liked: 434
I've had to reset clocks on my HD A35...HD A3...and even my older (but still preferred Panasonic DMP BD35 many times. In fact...every time power was disrupted from them. Whether voluntarily or involuntarily. It has never related to Hardware issues. But was software related to information stored in "Persistent" memory. Those earlier players used persistent memory files to access & link with the internet for updates and other content for players and movies.
barrelbelly is offline  
post #575 of 589 Old 05-12-2015, 12:02 PM
Senior Member
 
Viking61's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 226
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 18 Post(s)
Liked: 27
Quote:
Originally Posted by jdryyz View Post
If you're talking about the tray, yeah I have no doubt it is a hardware issue. But if it is something simple I can replace, I would like to know. Perhaps it is just the rubber o-ring that is used for the eject motor. I have no idea what the replacement part would be though. Hopefully I won't have to replace the entire drive.

The HD DVD drive in the A2, A20 and XA2 is the same. See if you can find a cheap A2 or A20 on ebay, and just swap the drive. If you find a player with the WELCOME fault, it is ok for your need. That fault is not drive related.
Viking61 is offline  
post #576 of 589 Old 05-12-2015, 12:05 PM
Advanced Member
 
jdryyz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 669
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 36 Post(s)
Liked: 15
Sounds great! Thanks for the tip.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Viking61 View Post
The HD DVD drive in the A2, A20 and XA2 is the same. See if you can find a cheap A2 or A20 on ebay, and just swap the drive. If you find a player with the WELCOME fault, it is ok for your need. That fault is not drive related.
jdryyz is offline  
post #577 of 589 Old 05-12-2015, 09:00 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Worf's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Posts: 1,522
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 570 Post(s)
Liked: 308
Aren't the drives keyed to the motherboard? At least they were on the a1 and such.
Worf is offline  
post #578 of 589 Old 05-13-2015, 11:51 AM
Senior Member
 
Viking61's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 226
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 18 Post(s)
Liked: 27
Quote:
Originally Posted by Worf View Post
Aren't the drives keyed to the motherboard? At least they were on the a1 and such.
On the 2nd and 3rd generation players it is very easy to change the drive. Just to open the player and unplug the powercable and datacable going from the drive to the powerboard and the motherboard. After that it is just a few screws holding the drive in place.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Toshiba_HD-XA2.jpg
Views:	115
Size:	162.2 KB
ID:	714114  

Last edited by Viking61; 05-13-2015 at 12:02 PM.
Viking61 is offline  
post #579 of 589 Old 05-13-2015, 09:00 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Worf's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Posts: 1,522
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 570 Post(s)
Liked: 308
I know the drive is easily changed, I meant the firmware itself locks itself to the drive serial number.... Change the drive and it stops working.
Worf is offline  
post #580 of 589 Old 05-13-2015, 11:03 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Rich86's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: USA - California
Posts: 1,020
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 136 Post(s)
Liked: 67
Quote:
Originally Posted by Worf View Post
I know the drive is easily changed, I meant the firmware itself locks itself to the drive serial number.... Change the drive and it stops working.
I'm not aware that the drive is locked to anything . . but . . I do seem to recall that the firmware updates have 2 sections built into them: 1 for the motherboard and the other for the drive. So if you swap out a drive and install one from a different player running a firmware version different from the one installed in the player, that might cause an incompatibility? Not sure how one would deal with that beyond ensuring both units (the player donating the drive and the one getting the drive) are both running 4.0 before swapping the drive.

A long-time audio/video addict!
Rich86 is offline  
post #581 of 589 Old 05-13-2015, 11:22 PM
Senior Member
 
Viking61's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 226
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 18 Post(s)
Liked: 27
I changed drive on my HD-XE1 (European version of the HD-XA2) with the drive from a cheaper player which was on an early firmware version. The drive worked without any obvious errors, but to be sure I downgraded and upgraded again the firmware of my player.
Viking61 is offline  
post #582 of 589 Old 05-14-2015, 09:08 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Worf's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Posts: 1,522
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 570 Post(s)
Liked: 308
Ok, guess it was just the old a1/xa1 units. Those had an encrypted partition that was keyed to he specific drive. Swap the drive and it didn't work. Of course, you could decrypt it on a regular PC with the drive connected to the PC.
Worf is offline  
post #583 of 589 Old 03-10-2017, 02:41 PM
Member
 
jra166's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 182
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 12 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Hello Everyone,


I have had two XA2s in storage for a few years, but have recently begun building a live music/concert library. Most concerts of course are shot at 60fps. I have pulled out one of my XA2's to upscale the SD concert footage and am blown away by how much better they look than my OPPO 103D. I had forgotten just how good the XA2 was.


Both of my XA2s are still on Firmware 2.7. If my primary use for the Toshiba is to upscale concert DVD's and the rare DVD movie, is there any benefit to upgrading to firmware 4.0? I have had no issues with 2.7 so the upgrade would be purely for any added benefit if there is any. Thanks.
jra166 is offline  
post #584 of 589 Old 03-10-2017, 11:21 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Worf's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Posts: 1,522
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 570 Post(s)
Liked: 308
Probably the best answer is if it ain't broke, don't fix it....
jra166 likes this.
Worf is offline  
post #585 of 589 Old 03-11-2017, 10:21 AM
Advanced Member
 
snowghost's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: SoCal
Posts: 769
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 25 Post(s)
Liked: 20
I'm still pissed the format died. Plus I have a ton of brand new ones that have Laser Rot. Now that I work for Warner Bros. I'm going to see if somebody will swap them out for BD.
Rambler358 and jra166 like this.

"The best long distance runners eat raw meat, run naked and sleep in the snow."
snowghost is offline  
post #586 of 589 Old 03-12-2017, 07:10 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Rich86's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: USA - California
Posts: 1,020
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 136 Post(s)
Liked: 67
Quote:
Originally Posted by snowghost View Post
I'm still pissed the format died. Plus I have a ton of brand new ones that have Laser Rot. Now that I work for Warner Bros. I'm going to see if somebody will swap them out for BD.
Warner (Burbank, CA) was pretty good about that for quite a while - but they have changed their ways somewhat recently and limited their willingness to assist customers who have been bitten by their defective quality manufacturing partner (cinram?) for HD-DVDs!

A long-time audio/video addict!
Rich86 is offline  
post #587 of 589 Old 03-15-2017, 08:04 AM
exm
AVS Forum Special Member
 
exm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: NYY
Posts: 1,480
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 136 Post(s)
Liked: 83
Quote:
Originally Posted by jra166 View Post
Hello Everyone,


I have had two XA2s in storage for a few years, but have recently begun building a live music/concert library. Most concerts of course are shot at 60fps. I have pulled out one of my XA2's to upscale the SD concert footage and am blown away by how much better they look than my OPPO 103D. I had forgotten just how good the XA2 was.


Both of my XA2s are still on Firmware 2.7. If my primary use for the Toshiba is to upscale concert DVD's and the rare DVD movie, is there any benefit to upgrading to firmware 4.0? I have had no issues with 2.7 so the upgrade would be purely for any added benefit if there is any. Thanks.
I used to own the XA2, and I sold the unit with all discs a few years back. Right now I'm the happy owner of an Oppo UDP-203, and I'm sure all Oppo units upscale at least as good as the XA2. The XA2 is still a great unit though.

In the past I used to sell region-free V4.0 firmware for the XA2 on eBay. I still have the instruction and .iso files. If you have a FTP server or location where I can send these, I'm more than happy to help you out. As far as "should you update"? Here's what Toshiba said: "This firmware update improves network connectivity for supporting the download of web- enabled network content associated with certain HD DVD discs, improves certain video and audio processing capabilities, and also addresses certain disc playback and HDMI/DVI related issues identified by Toshiba."

Some other good links:
HD DVD Master Firmware Burning Thread
HD-DVD Firmware links for all models
exm is offline  
post #588 of 589 Old 03-15-2017, 09:04 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
inspector's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Menifee, CA , USA
Posts: 1,153
Mentioned: 8 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 133 Post(s)
Liked: 66
I finally took away my HDA1 from my HT...sorry to see it go.

...finally retired and spending time in my HT!!!

Equipment consists of: Epson 6040 3D/4K UB Projector(ISFed); 110" 16x9 Dalite HD Progressive Screen; Samsung 3D/4K K8500 Player; Definitive Speakers (Center, Towers, Rears); Earthquake P12 sub; Onkyo 608 A/V Receiver; MX990 Remote; 5 Bello chairs; Coaire Mini-split A/C.
inspector is online now  
post #589 of 589 Old 03-16-2017, 02:02 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
BTBuck1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Oceanside
Posts: 1,434
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 13 Post(s)
Liked: 20
Quote:
Originally Posted by inspector View Post
I finally took away my HDA1 from my HT...sorry to see it go.
I just took mine back out and plugged it in lol, had it boxed up
Since I got the HD-a30 on a crazy close out back when the format crashed and burned, but with the recent acquisition of a Samsung ks8000'for my man cave, had a extra set that needed a player so the A1 went to the older Sony 1080p set and the a30 to the ks8000!

It's fun to toy with the old relics of HT past.

HDDVD owner: 360 add-on, HD-A30, HD-A2, A1
Blu-ray disc supporter: ubp-x800, XB1s,ps3-60gb, Oppo BDP-93, ubd-k8500
TV's: xbr55x850b/kdl55hx729/un49ks8000

Audio: Denon/Polk, Onkyo/Klipsch-Sony, Samsung SB
BTBuck1 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply HD DVD Players

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off