How many have a spare HD-DVD player ? - Page 4 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #91 of 229 Old 02-10-2009, 06:36 AM
AVS Club Gold
 
mrlittlejeans's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Memphis
Posts: 4,718
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 192
A35
A2
A3 - at my sister's house still in the box
xbox add on

thinking about picking up another one just in case.

Absence of evidence is not evidence of absence

mrlittlejeans is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #92 of 229 Old 02-13-2009, 03:54 PM
AVS Special Member
 
westgate's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: ʇuoɯɹ
Posts: 5,624
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
onkyo hd805 in use.

tosh a2 and a30 for backups.
westgate is offline  
post #93 of 229 Old 02-16-2009, 09:41 AM
Senior Member
 
dealer6871's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Brunswick Hills, Ohio
Posts: 291
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Well, I got a little crazy when Toshiba pulled the plug, so I bought two more X-A2's to back up the one in my rack. Both now in boxes. Also have a XA-1. With over 100 HD movies I didn't want to get caught short. Think I'm set.
dealer6871 is offline  
post #94 of 229 Old 02-16-2009, 10:00 AM
Member
 
polyscroll's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 194
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I have two Samsung BD-UP5000 players that are in service and two HD-A2 players as back-up.
polyscroll is offline  
post #95 of 229 Old 02-16-2009, 08:51 PM
Member
 
dauthum's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 132
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I have an XA-2 and two A-2s still use all of them.
dauthum is offline  
post #96 of 229 Old 02-16-2009, 08:53 PM
Member
 
nocski's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Metro Manila, Philippines
Posts: 149
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I have an HD A1 and an HD A30 as a reserve unit
nocski is offline  
post #97 of 229 Old 02-17-2009, 08:09 AM
Senior Member
 
mw390's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Levittown, NY
Posts: 376
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
HD-XA2 as main player
HD-A3 backup
This computer I'm typing on has HD-DVD drive
mw390 is offline  
post #98 of 229 Old 02-17-2009, 10:01 AM
Newbie
 
darbfork's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 12
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
1-xa1
1- a1
4- a2
1- d3
1- a30
darbfork is offline  
post #99 of 229 Old 02-17-2009, 12:41 PM
AVS Club Gold
 
greguva's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Charlottesville, VA
Posts: 357
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
I have 2 LG BH200s in use, and a Toshiba A3 spare.
greguva is offline  
post #100 of 229 Old 02-17-2009, 02:01 PM
Newbie
 
Beano's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: The Netherlands, Europe
Posts: 8
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I have a E1 (livingroom) and a EP30 (bedroom) and I am considering buying a EP10 as a spare.

Oh yes, and I also have the 360-drive which I use with my pc now and then.
Beano is offline  
post #101 of 229 Old 02-18-2009, 12:57 PM
Senior Member
 
enoree's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Enoree, SC
Posts: 430
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
LG BH200 with two A-3 units and one A-30 for back up
enoree is offline  
post #102 of 229 Old 02-19-2009, 05:53 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
rboster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2000
Location: USA
Posts: 17,562
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 23 Post(s)
Liked: 60
Reminder: Do not post classifieds; which include want ads, for sale ads or trade posts. Nor are promotion of auctions or classified ads from this site or another site. AVS provides a classifieds forum for all of these types of activities. There are no exceptions.

"Retired" AVS Moderator
rboster is online now  
post #103 of 229 Old 02-19-2009, 01:39 PM
Senior Member
 
audiophreak's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 234
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I have 2 xa2's and a a 35
audiophreak is offline  
post #104 of 229 Old 02-19-2009, 02:04 PM
Member
 
sungear's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Huntsville, AL
Posts: 87
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
3 XA2s
sungear is offline  
post #105 of 229 Old 02-20-2009, 08:09 AM
Advanced Member
 
fredwi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 651
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
i have the A30 in the living room(spare) and the A35 in the basement(main theater).
fredwi is offline  
post #106 of 229 Old 02-20-2009, 01:44 PM
Advanced Member
 
cws_kahuna's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Canyon Lake
Posts: 584
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I've got a few. It's to bad the format did not make it as I still like it better than Blu-Ray.

Thanks Richard

They've done studies, you know. 60% of the time it works, every time.
cws_kahuna is offline  
post #107 of 229 Old 02-21-2009, 11:39 PM
Senior Member
 
Chingu808's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 220
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Have a couple of A2s and a A35. Return the A2 to Walmart when they were taking back the units. I sold the A35 stupid move on my part. Had over 200 hd-dvds but sold over 125 of them. Now I am back over 150 and looking for more players. A few weeks ago purchased a A30 for $75 + $10 shipping. It was mint condition and still with 1.1 firmware. I upgraded it to 4.0 works like a charm. I stuck the A2 back in the box for a backup. I am trying to pick up a almost brand new A2 from someone locally. I missed a A3 for $40 last week.
Chingu808 is offline  
post #108 of 229 Old 02-23-2009, 09:19 AM
Advanced Member
 
luigionlsd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 899
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
I've got my original A1, an A2 I bought when Toshiba bowed out ($70 at Wal-Mart), and an A30 I bought last summer from Amazon refurbished to cover 1080p once I get a compliant display down the line. Primarily use the A30 at the moment, and my mom uses the A2 at home.
luigionlsd is offline  
post #109 of 229 Old 02-25-2009, 12:39 PM
Newbie
 
JimRochester's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Rochester, NY
Posts: 7
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I have an A35 as my main player. I have an extra A3 hooked up in the bedroom and a spare A3 clone in the box in the basement just in case
JimRochester is offline  
post #110 of 229 Old 03-01-2009, 10:45 PM
Member
 
ROB98374's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Puyallup, WA
Posts: 70
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
A-30 on the 82" in the Family room
A-30 on the 65" in my bedroom
(2) Xbox 360 HD-DVD players just sitting there.
ROB98374 is offline  
post #111 of 229 Old 03-02-2009, 12:08 PM
Member
 
mhendrixsr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Deep South TX
Posts: 20
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Have an XA2 in the system and an A35 upstairs in it's box. Funny... I don't recall the last time I watched an HD-DVD.
mhendrixsr is offline  
post #112 of 229 Old 03-02-2009, 02:07 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Djoel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: NYC
Posts: 7,520
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 44 Post(s)
Liked: 160
I use my trusty XA2 in my main system, and have an A1 hanging around my bebroom which doesn't get much use. <-Spare.

Djoel
Djoel is online now  
post #113 of 229 Old 03-02-2009, 04:31 PM
Advanced Member
 
bruceames's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: San Rafael, CA
Posts: 788
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 114 Post(s)
Liked: 56
I have these players:

A1 (2)
XA1
XA2 (3)
Onkyo
Integra (same as Onkyo/XA2)
A2
A20 (2)
add-on (2)
A3
A35
LG BH200 (2)
Samsung BD-UP5000

The active players among the above are the XA2, BH200, add-on, A1, A2 and A20. May be a little overkill, but I do have a large collection and I want to be set instead of worrying about if they'll last and/or what would ebay have if I need to go there later. Also the mileage of the used players on ebay in several years will be a lot higher.
bruceames is online now  
post #114 of 229 Old 03-02-2009, 06:07 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Djoel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: NYC
Posts: 7,520
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 44 Post(s)
Liked: 160
Quote:
Originally Posted by bruceames View Post

I have these players:

A1 (2)
XA1
XA2 (3)
Onkyo
Integra (same as Onkyo/XA2)
A2
A20 (2)
add-on (2)
A3
A35
LG BH200 (2)
Samsung BD-UP5000

The active players among the above are the XA2, BH200, add-on, A1, A2 and A20. May be a little overkill, but I do have a large collection and I want to be set instead of worrying about if they'll last and/or what would ebay have if I need to go there later. Also the mileage of the used players on ebay in several years will be a lot higher.


So how many HD discs do you have

Djoel
Djoel is online now  
post #115 of 229 Old 03-02-2009, 06:46 PM
Advanced Member
 
bruceames's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: San Rafael, CA
Posts: 788
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 114 Post(s)
Liked: 56
Quote:
Originally Posted by Djoel View Post

So how many HD discs do you have

Djoel

Around 800, or so. Pretty close to all of them, as I'm a collector as well.
bruceames is online now  
post #116 of 229 Old 03-02-2009, 10:59 PM
Advanced Member
 
sonydude1966's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 766
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by bruceames View Post

I have these players:

A1 (2)
XA1
XA2 (3)
Onkyo
Integra (same as Onkyo/XA2)
A2
A20 (2)
add-on (2)
A3
A35
LG BH200 (2)
Samsung BD-UP5000

The active players among the above are the XA2, BH200, add-on, A1, A2 and A20. May be a little overkill, but I do have a large collection and I want to be set instead of worrying about if they'll last and/or what would ebay have if I need to go there later. Also the mileage of the used players on ebay in several years will be a lot higher.

You would be "set" with one quarter of what you have. However, if you don't need money, go for it. I had 16 at one time, now down to 5, and I think I should be ok. I needed the money though.
sonydude1966 is offline  
post #117 of 229 Old 03-03-2009, 07:26 AM
Advanced Member
 
bruceames's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: San Rafael, CA
Posts: 788
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 114 Post(s)
Liked: 56
Quote:
Originally Posted by sonydude1966 View Post

You would be "set" with one quarter of what you have. However, if you don't need money, go for it. I had 16 at one time, now down to 5, and I think I should be ok. I needed the money though.

You're probably right. I kept adding players for different reasons. The second XA2 I got for a backup to the first one, and the Onkyo and Integra I got just to have one (I know the Integra isn't very common and turns out it's the same everything as the Onkyo except the nameplate). The A20s I got because they were dirt cheap 1080p players (about $30 each with shipping). The combos I got just to have (they aren't making any more combos, that's for sure), and also for BD playback (and region free BD playback, which is why I got the 2nd BH200 and it had the $75 no-BD-live rebate). I got the XA1 really cheap and just to have as well (it's a tank and I love the remote door). I already had the A1s which I bought from the beginning (one at launch and the other in June).

Also I have several players scattered around the house, so there will be concurrent use. But since I realized that the XA2/Onkyo puts out the best picture, I'll be using those players exclusively myself (I watch in the bedroom setup) in sequencial fashion. Hopefully I'll never need the spares, and I wouldn't be surprised if I didn't. Also, even if the XA2 drive wears out, I'll just replace the drive with one from an A2 or A20 and keep on using it until it fails in some other fashion that I can't fix.
bruceames is online now  
post #118 of 229 Old 03-06-2009, 10:06 AM
AVS Special Member
 
lchiu7's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Posts: 1,497
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
I only have one player - the A3 and about 50 discs (though still buying them).

But rather than have a backup player I picked up the LG BD/HD-DVD drive and am backing up the titles to a server. In fact in some instances reformatting (but recompressing) the content to play on my PS3 That's somewhat ironic I guess.

If my A3 dies all I lose are the menus in the discs and the HDi interactivity. All other content can still be viewed with no loss in quality from the original disc. In fact quality is improved since the A3 only outputs 1080i but the backed up titles on the PS3 can be displayed in 1080p.
lchiu7 is online now  
post #119 of 229 Old 03-06-2009, 10:46 AM
Senior Member
 
scdaf-'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: central Washington state
Posts: 373
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by lchiu7 View Post

I only have one player - the A3 and about 50 discs (though still buying them).

But rather than have a backup player I picked up the LG BD/HD-DVD drive and am backing up the titles to a server. In fact in some instances reformatting (but recompressing) the content to play on my PS3 That's somewhat ironic I guess.

If my A3 dies all I lose are the menus in the discs and the HDi interactivity. All other content can still be viewed with no loss in quality from the original disc. In fact quality is improved since the A3 only outputs 1080i but the backed up titles on the PS3 can be displayed in 1080p.


And my cassettes sound better than the original records...
scdaf- is offline  
post #120 of 229 Old 03-06-2009, 10:52 AM
Senior Member
 
scdaf-'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: central Washington state
Posts: 373
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
As of today, add me to the list. The Big Brown Truck of Happiness just dropped off the D2 I got on eBay for $50.02, shipped. Still waiting for an XA2 to be a little cheaper or for me to sell a little more plasma.

Meanwhile, the A2 that started me from Wallyworld sees use several times a week, mainly Blockbuster rentals, which it plays much more reliably since firmware 4.0.

THANK YOU TOSHIBA!
scdaf- is offline  
Closed Thread HD DVD Players

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off