HD DVD in laptop? - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 12 Old 03-04-2009, 06:18 PM - Thread Starter
Advanced Member
 
yrly's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 606
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 11
I just ordered an HD DVD drive for my laptop, I own a huge collection of HD DVDs and figured this would be a convenient way to access them. How well do you think my laptop will run HD DVDs? I'm running a Turion TL-52, 3gb ram, 7200 rpm 200gb hard drive, and vista premium. Given that, I can easily allocate more ram to the video if needed, I'm using only a fraction of it as it is. I'm not looking to run anything more than the max resolution of this screen (1280x800) or perhaps 1280x1024 if I hook up to the projector. Think this will work?
yrly is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 12 Old 03-04-2009, 06:48 PM
AVS Club Gold
 
Davinleeds's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 5,410
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
http://www.corel.com/servlet/Satelli.../1193332030582
http://www.arcsoft.com/public/softwa...sp?ProductID=3 DVD/BD Guide

Try these to test your system. They should tell you your Drive is absent.

"The purpose of diplomacy is to prolong a crisis." Spock, Mark of Gideon, TOS
Davinleeds is offline  
post #3 of 12 Old 03-05-2009, 10:18 AM - Thread Starter
Advanced Member
 
yrly's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 606
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Well the drive showed up today, quite quickly I might add. The software I plan on using is actually I believe to be an OEMed copy of the corel software through HP. I plan on using anydvd so I can feed through non complaint vga outputs if I wish to use the projector so I have more control over resolutions.

So far it runs fine it will run, fairly smoothly, regardless of the fact that I didn't shut anything off in the background before doing the test. I did enable virtualization in the BIOS which seemed to help. My only complaints are that HP's OEM software isn't exactly the greatest. I'm guessing that if I shut off windows sidebar and all the other stuff that doesn't really need to be running it would work fine.
yrly is offline  
post #4 of 12 Old 03-05-2009, 10:29 AM - Thread Starter
Advanced Member
 
yrly's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 606
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 11
I think I've found the reason virtualization speeds it up, because vista runs the computer in that quasi non administrator mode by default. I find this to be interesting, and perhaps worth trying if anyone can enable/disable their hardware virtualization and is running vista.
yrly is offline  
post #5 of 12 Old 03-05-2009, 10:43 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
dad1153's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 35,184
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 77 Post(s)
Liked: 168
My Toshiba Qosmio HD-DVD laptop (AV-423) also runs Vista and so far it has played every HD-DVD I've thrown at it except two ("American Gangster" and "Smokin' Aces") using the included Toshiba HD-DVD playback software. I could have gone with an Acer or HP laptop (the one's that still had HD-DVD drives included) but felt it was safer to go with an official laptop from the company that made HD-DVD. Pleased as punch to have HD-DVD entertainment on the go, happy you are too with your laptop.
dad1153 is offline  
post #6 of 12 Old 03-05-2009, 07:19 PM - Thread Starter
Advanced Member
 
yrly's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 606
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 11
I bought it mainly because of my large collection of HD DVDs. I only tried Breach and Backdraft while screwing around with it, and it worked for both, I tried other video card drivers but only the HP official drivers work for whatever reason, not hacked ones. I upgraded over several levels of HP's quickplay but still need a protection crack, I hate to go too far because I don't know if a later version eventually cancels the HD DVD support. Other than that it works fine as long as you close the other CPU intensive apps when you use it (mainly the sidebar).
yrly is offline  
post #7 of 12 Old 03-05-2009, 07:30 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
dad1153's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 35,184
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 77 Post(s)
Liked: 168
My Qosmio is vastly underpowered compared to your laptop and it still plays HD-DVD's fine. With over 120 HD-DVD's (and growing).
dad1153 is offline  
post #8 of 12 Old 03-16-2009, 12:45 AM
Senior Member
 
stretch35's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 368
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I picked up acer ferrari 5000-5382 , built in software acer arcade deluxe which seems to go into windows player of some sort only played one hd-dvd once for about an hour and not since..acer tech support wont even acknowledge that it has an hd drive..useless
stretch35 is offline  
post #9 of 12 Old 03-16-2009, 06:08 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
dad1153's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 35,184
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 77 Post(s)
Liked: 168
^^^ That's I went with the Tosh-branded Qosmio (better chance of HD-DVD compatibility than with an Acer or HP model) although I doubt if it goes in the fritz Tosh tech support would be of any help besides 'reboot the computer with the included discs' advice. Hope you can get your Acer to play HD-DVD somehow (downloading a WinDVD program maybe?).
dad1153 is offline  
post #10 of 12 Old 03-17-2009, 09:37 PM
Member
 
valleybacker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 148
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
i have a hd dvd player in my hp 14 inch
valleybacker is offline  
post #11 of 12 Old 03-20-2009, 11:18 AM
AVS Special Member
 
efjay's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Germantown, MD
Posts: 1,553
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Is there any dual format laptop drive available? Or maybe a slim line external drive? Thanks.
efjay is offline  
post #12 of 12 Old 03-20-2009, 04:32 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
dad1153's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 35,184
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 77 Post(s)
Liked: 168
Not for laptops. The only hybrid drive released was the too-thick-for-laptops LG GGC-H20L 16X Blu-ray/HD DVD drive for tower computers. Belive me, I looked and looked last June for a laptop that could play both HD-DVD and Blu-ray and couldn't find one. It's HD-DVD or Blu-ray laptop.
dad1153 is offline  
Reply HD DVD Players

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off