HD-A1 and component out. - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 3 Old 04-15-2009, 09:04 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
audiman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Montreal region, Canada
Posts: 1,122
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 14
I want to give my HD-A1 to someone who's TV can only accept HD but with component input.

1- Will the HD-DVD movies play in HD with the component out on the HD-A1 ?
2- Can i have HD sound thru the analog outs of the A1 at the same time ?

thx all.
audiman is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 3 Old 04-15-2009, 10:35 AM
Advanced Member
 
BillyBeatnik's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Atlanta
Posts: 754
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
HD-DVD movies will play in HD via component out. SD DVDs will only play at 480p max.

If you use the audio analog out jacks you can get the HD sound tracks.
BillyBeatnik is offline  
post #3 of 3 Old 04-17-2009, 02:39 AM
Advanced Member
 
luigionlsd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 899
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
There haven't been any HD DVDs to my knowledge that restrict output to HDMI video output, so you're in the clear. Only thing to watch out on the A1 is that V.Output is set properly. If you do not get picture when plugged through component/S/composite, press V.Output and make sure HDMI is not on the front panel. Also set your audio output accordingly in the setup menu (Stereo or 5.1).
luigionlsd is offline  
Reply HD DVD Players

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off