Firmware updates never increased boot-up time of A1 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 9 Old 08-08-2009, 05:34 PM - Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
Electone's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: London, Ontario
Posts: 372
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I just picked up a back-up HD-A1 this evening. It is in mint condition with Firmware 2.0. My other A1 has firmware 4.0. I remember reading many posts about how the updates made the boot-up times of these players faster. Well, I decided to have a little race. I set them up side-by-side and hit the power button on the remote. They both turned on at the same time. Both the 4.0 and 2.0 machine booted up to the "No Disc" message in exactly the same time. I hit the power button again to shut them off and they both turned off at exactly the same time.
Electone is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 9 Old 08-12-2009, 08:23 AM
Member
 
Donnacha's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: York, UK
Posts: 121
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
yep - I never noticed any speed up in my machine....I always wondered if it was really true! Did you try a disc to see if it loaded up any quicker?
Donnacha is offline  
post #3 of 9 Old 08-12-2009, 03:55 PM - Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
Electone's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: London, Ontario
Posts: 372
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
No, can't say that I did. I booted them up and powered them down empty. Hmmm, might have to give that a try...
Electone is offline  
post #4 of 9 Old 08-19-2009, 01:32 PM
AVS Special Member
 
DrCrawn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: under sniper fire, Seattle
Posts: 3,750
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Try booting them with HD DVDs.

Realize that many of us started with firmware 1.x also.
DrCrawn is offline  
post #5 of 9 Old 08-19-2009, 02:54 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
JOHNnDENVER's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 13,377
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 12
The speed ups were always to the disc / title menu.

Not that I ever noticed a speed up either. I just accpeted that these particular machines are slow as slow can be.
JOHNnDENVER is offline  
post #6 of 9 Old 08-22-2009, 07:33 AM
AVS Club Gold
 
Kosty's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: North East USA
Posts: 14,683
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Firmware 2.0 was also better than the out of the box firmware.

You do need to try it with HD DVDs and DVDs and CDs in the tray. The bootup time did not change much, if at all to power on, but the time to identify the discs and start playback was dramatically improved, at least on my HD XA1 and HD XA2.

I think back in the day, I was told by Toshiba that one change they made was that the process that the disc types were identified, ie, is this a HD DVD? Is this a CD? Is this a DVD? was changed so instead of trying the time consuming process of checking if it was a HD DVD first in the que, the firmware was changed to default to DVD first after HD DVD died as a format, as it was assumed the players would have more use as upconverting DVD players and that change would make DVD playback faster.

.
"A lot of good arguments are spoiled by some fool who knows what he is talking about." - Miguel de Unamuno


follow me on Twitter
Kosty is offline  
post #7 of 9 Old 09-20-2009, 02:54 PM
AVS Special Member
 
TrevorS's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 6,232
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Implication being if you primarily use it for HD DVD playback, you could be better off with a pre-end-of-format firmware version! I'm pretty sure I'm still on 2.4, so I guess that's me covered !
TrevorS is offline  
post #8 of 9 Old 09-30-2009, 11:14 AM
Advanced Member
 
luigionlsd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 899
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
The only thing I noticed about A1 v4.0 is that disc reading is less reliable. Couldn't even finish Mutiny on the Bounty without an error during the middle (prior to intermission), but downgraded to v2.6. Did I do something wrong, or is this actually an error with the firmware? It was a freshly opened factory sealed copy, by the way.
luigionlsd is offline  
post #9 of 9 Old 10-01-2009, 07:26 AM
Member
 
gar3's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: New Cumberland, PA USA
Posts: 125
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by luigionlsd View Post

The only thing I noticed about A1 v4.0 is that disc reading is less reliable. Couldn't even finish Mutiny on the Bounty without an error during the middle (prior to intermission), but downgraded to v2.6. Did I do something wrong, or is this actually an error with the firmware? It was a freshly opened factory sealed copy, by the way.

I watched Mutiny on the Bounty (brand new) on one of my v4.0 HD-XA1s just a week ago and it played fine throughout. I don't know what to tell ya. I have all three of my players (two XA1, one D1) on v4.0 and have had no disc reading issues . . . yet.
gar3 is offline  
Reply HD DVD Players

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off