Should I use the A1 or A2? - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 17 Old 01-15-2010, 10:06 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
beekermartin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Rhode Island
Posts: 1,308
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 13
My Samsung BD-UP5000 is broken. I don't want to get another one of those so I am going to get a new BR player and install one of my HD DVD players. I have an A1 and A2. Which player should I use? I will be using HDMI for audio.

Also, if I remember correctly they both don't bitstream audio. Do they both decode DTS matster and True HD internally and output it as PCM? I believe that is the case.
beekermartin is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 17 Old 01-15-2010, 10:24 AM
Senior Member
 
bradman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 382
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 15
Quote:
Originally Posted by beekermartin View Post

My Samsung BD-UP5000 is broken. I don't want to get another one of those so I am going to get a new BR player and install one of my HD DVD players. I have an A1 and A2. Which player should I use? I will be using HDMI for audio.

Also, if I remember correctly they both don't bitstream audio. Do they both decode DTS matster and True HD internally and output it as PCM? I believe that is the case.

They both do.The A2 has better load times and a better remote than the A1.
bradman is offline  
post #3 of 17 Old 01-15-2010, 01:27 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
JOHNnDENVER's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 13,377
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 12
The A1 if it still works perfectly is the better player in my opinion. L-L-o-o-o-o-n-n-n-g-g-g load times, or anything else you want to do for that matter though.
JOHNnDENVER is offline  
post #4 of 17 Old 01-15-2010, 03:00 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
beekermartin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Rhode Island
Posts: 1,308
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 13
I installed the A2. I remembered the very long load times of the A1 so I installed the A2.
beekermartin is offline  
post #5 of 17 Old 01-17-2010, 06:40 PM
Senior Member
 
Electone's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: London, Ontario
Posts: 372
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
The A2 is not that much faster than the A1. The A1 is built like a tank whereas the A2 is undoubtedly a cheapened down version of the former. Sorry, I'm a little biased. I had an A2 crap out on me after 3 months, but my A1s (I have 2) are still going strong. Plus, the analog outputs on the A1 are top-notch quality and it is a damn fine sounding CD player.
Electone is offline  
post #6 of 17 Old 01-29-2010, 06:44 AM
Advanced Member
 
luigionlsd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 899
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Remotes are all interchangable, so I'd use the A1. I've got A1, A2 and A30 (flashed to A35), and I use the A35, but I still love my A1. My mother is using the A2 as a glorified upscaling DVD player.

edit: the only caveat is that using a non-A1/XA1 remote on the A1 will not have the V. Output key, so keep your A1 remote around!!
luigionlsd is offline  
post #7 of 17 Old 02-01-2010, 12:30 AM
AVS Special Member
 
ChrisW6ATV's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Location: Hayward, Collie-fornia USA
Posts: 4,205
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 17
Quote:
Originally Posted by beekermartin View Post

Do they both decode DTS matster and True HD internally and output it as PCM? I believe that is the case.

Both players decode Dolby TrueHD (the HD-A1 requires firmware 2.0 or higher to do so); neither player decodes DTS-MA (nor did any HD DVD player ever released). Both players output the "core" (standard) DTS audio from MA discs (as do all HD DVD players).

Chris

"It's [expletive] lame to watch Jaws, a film that uses the 2.40 ratio as well as any ever produced, in the wrong format on HBO." -Steven Soderbergh, Oscar-winning director

ChrisW6ATV is offline  
post #8 of 17 Old 02-01-2010, 07:06 AM
Advanced Member
 
junglalien's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 519
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by luigionlsd View Post

A30 (flashed to A35), and I use the A35

What does this mean? Is the A30 is capable of bit streaming TrueHD and DTS HD MA? How do you do this?
junglalien is offline  
post #9 of 17 Old 05-27-2010, 08:46 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
beekermartin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Rhode Island
Posts: 1,308
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 13
A quick/long update:

I've been using the A2 for a little while now. I don't use it often but it works perfectly when I do use it. I just installed an Oppo BD-80 to replace my Samsung BD-UP5000 and Onkyo DV-SP506. While I was installing that I decided to install the A1. It still works perfectly but I ran into an immediate issue. If I select the HDMI output then I get no video over composite (composite not component). If I select the component output I get no audio over HDMI but video via composite. I guess the HDMI output is basically deactivated when component is selected. I didn't think the composite output would be deactivated when HDMI is selected but that appears to be the case.

I know I could run a toslink cable or use the analog multichannel ouputs but I don't want to. I want lossless audio via HDMI but with composite video output. The reason is because I am using 2 displays, a front projector via HDMI and RP CRT via component. Unfortunately my Onkyo 886 only has 3 component inputs which are already being used by other devices so I am using composite with the A1/A2. The 886 will convert the composite signal to component and send it to the RP CRT. I know the picture quality will suffer dramatically but I don't care when I am using the RP CRT. I mainly want video for the RP CRT just to start the disc, like when I want to listen to a concert disc. I don't want to turn the projector on just to select the audio format and start playing the disc so I use the RP CRT. I also don't want to complicate the setup by having to switch the video ouput depending what display I am using.

Anyway, the short of it is the A2 is back in the rack and the A1 is in the bedroom. The A2 can output audio over hdmi and video over composite/component at the same time. That is what I need in my setup, for now.

I understand the A1 may be a slightly better sounding CD player via analog but I am using HDMI so I doubt there is much of a difference. Plus I will be using the Oppo BD-80 for most music listening, also via HDMI.
beekermartin is offline  
post #10 of 17 Old 05-28-2010, 11:52 PM
EJ
AVS Special Member
 
EJ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 1999
Location: Minot, ND
Posts: 2,779
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
The A2 can output 480i over HDMI with SD DVD, so I send 480i to my anchor bay scaler in my Denon 2310.

Former USSB uplink operator.
EJ is offline  
post #11 of 17 Old 05-29-2010, 11:56 AM
Advanced Member
 
Rich86's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: USA - California
Posts: 737
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 27
Quote:
Originally Posted by junglalien View Post

What does this mean? Is the A30 is capable of bit streaming TrueHD and DTS HD MA? How do you do this?

There is a bootleg process that cross-flashes an A30 to think it is an A35. It permits some bitstreaming of some codecs (Dolby Digital + for instance) - but does not permit bitstreaming any of the lossless codecs, since apparently the chip needed for that is not in the A30. I had considered cross-flashing my A30, but decided there was little point to it, as the A30 decodes DD+ and can bitstream it as lpcm, which would appear to serve the same purpose.
If you want to bitstream lossless codecs, you need a XA2 (or its Onkyo clone) or an actual A35. I have and use an A35 these days, and bitstreaming to my lossless codec capable receiver works very nicely.

A long-time audio/video addict!
Rich86 is offline  
post #12 of 17 Old 06-02-2010, 04:19 AM
Advanced Member
 
blacklion's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 601
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Advice needed for an AV noob here! I missed the format wars. Now I just want to take advantage of dirt cheap HD DVD disc prices. I'm want to experiment with HD DVD via a used HD A3 now available sub $100.

I know this thread is about A1 vs A2 but someone here can help me out. What do you think of the A3? I understand its a basic, entry-level player with 1080i output max? Will an HD DVD disc on this player output an image about the same or better than upconverted DVD?

Thanks!

Denon X4000: Yamaha AS500;TS500;CDS300: Pioneer BDP62FD;BDP23FD;DV58AV;DV610: Panasonic DMP-BDT500; Sony BDP-S790; Samsung PS60E6500
blacklion is offline  
post #13 of 17 Old 06-02-2010, 04:33 AM
EJ
AVS Special Member
 
EJ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 1999
Location: Minot, ND
Posts: 2,779
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I have an A2 and A3 + blu ray. With a properly authored disc, you should get blu ray quality pictures. Make shure you use the HDMI output. The audio features are somewhat lacking, but you'll be fine.

Former USSB uplink operator.
EJ is offline  
post #14 of 17 Old 06-02-2010, 04:35 AM
Advanced Member
 
homank76's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: South Korea, USAF
Posts: 662
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
In my opinion no DVD can match the HD DVD in video quality, I don't care what player you use.

I own a A30 and the Onkyo HD805.

Panasonic TC-P58S2, Onkyo TX-NR1007, Onkyo DV-SP1000, Onkyo DV-HD805, Onkyo BD-SP807, Onkyo DX-V801, Onkyo UP-A1, Onkyo TA-RW411, Onkyo EQ-201, Yamaha Speakers NS700/750 Series, Blue Jean Cables
homank76 is offline  
post #15 of 17 Old 06-02-2010, 04:38 AM
Advanced Member
 
homank76's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: South Korea, USAF
Posts: 662
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by EJ View Post

I have an A2 and A3 + blu ray. With a properly authored disc, you should get blu ray quality pictures. Make shure you use the HDMI output. The audio features are somewhat lacking, but you'll be fine.

I'm sorry, but most of the HD DVD's that are now on Blu ray, the HD DVD looks better. The HD should be reference and not the blu in my opinion as I don't have the equipment to test nothing

Panasonic TC-P58S2, Onkyo TX-NR1007, Onkyo DV-SP1000, Onkyo DV-HD805, Onkyo BD-SP807, Onkyo DX-V801, Onkyo UP-A1, Onkyo TA-RW411, Onkyo EQ-201, Yamaha Speakers NS700/750 Series, Blue Jean Cables
homank76 is offline  
post #16 of 17 Old 06-02-2010, 07:51 AM
Advanced Member
 
blacklion's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 601
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Thanks everyone for your kind assistance!

Another noob question please - do I need to worry about disc compatibility and FW update issues? The seller claims the player has the latest FW updates. I assume buying a used HD DVD player in 2010 that there are no new FW updates needed since no new HD DVD discs have been manufactured/released since 2008?

Denon X4000: Yamaha AS500;TS500;CDS300: Pioneer BDP62FD;BDP23FD;DV58AV;DV610: Panasonic DMP-BDT500; Sony BDP-S790; Samsung PS60E6500
blacklion is offline  
post #17 of 17 Old 06-02-2010, 08:00 AM
Advanced Member
 
DenisG's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Austin TX
Posts: 914
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 15
Quote:
Originally Posted by blacklion View Post

Thanks everyone for your kind assistance!

Another noob question please - do I need to worry about disc compatibility and FW update issues? The seller claims the player has the latest FW updates. I assume buying a used HD DVD player in 2010 that there are no new FW updates needed since no new HD DVD discs have been manufactured/released since 2008?

No, HD DVD wasn't as bad as blu ray and its endless FW problems.
DenisG is online now  
Reply HD DVD Players

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off