Settings on the HD-A2 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 6 Old 03-03-2010, 12:14 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
Jim McC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Oconomowoc, WI.
Posts: 5,914
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 18 Post(s)
Liked: 32
I'm wondering if I have something set wrong on my HD-A2. I have it hooked up to a Mits. HC3800, 1080p projector with HDMI. The projector or HD-A2 won't pass a blacker than black signal. Should I have Enhanced Black Level set to "Off" or "On"? What other setting can possibly be wrong? Thanks.
Jim McC is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 6 Old 03-04-2010, 01:54 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
JOHNnDENVER's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 13,377
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 12
It does it on both SD and HD?

There is nothing inheirently tricky about the A2's output at all.

The room can have a lot of impact on this as well. Total Darkness? White walls and/or cieling?


hard to say. I ran an A2 for a loooong time in my theater.
JOHNnDENVER is offline  
post #3 of 6 Old 03-11-2010, 12:24 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
Jim McC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Oconomowoc, WI.
Posts: 5,914
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 18 Post(s)
Liked: 32
Anyone else?
Jim McC is offline  
post #4 of 6 Old 03-11-2010, 08:12 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
JOHNnDENVER's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 13,377
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Well, does it do it on both HD-DVD and SD-DVD?

For diag purposes, make a component connection to the display and see if that clears it up? There needs to be some troubleshooting done here to narrow down the potential issue causers.
JOHNnDENVER is offline  
post #5 of 6 Old 03-11-2010, 07:33 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
Jim McC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Oconomowoc, WI.
Posts: 5,914
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 18 Post(s)
Liked: 32
Quote:
Originally Posted by JOHNnDENVER View Post

Well, does it do it on both HD-DVD and SD-DVD?

For diag purposes, make a component connection to the display and see if that clears it up? There needs to be some troubleshooting done here to narrow down the potential issue causers.

It does not pass BTB with HD test patterns(AVS 709) and SD(Sound & Vision disc). It does the same thing with my Pan. BD60 player. Do most people use Enhanced Black Level? I can't test component right now. So it might be the projector.
Jim McC is offline  
post #6 of 6 Old 03-13-2010, 05:53 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
JOHNnDENVER's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 13,377
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Can you try THX Optimizer from an SD-DVD? I just have never tested either of your two examples on any HD-DVD player.

Do you see obvious issues when running content? Are you running your HDMI through an AVR? Some AVR's have been tagged as having this issue.

If it clears up with Component Video, than at least you know it is something in the HDMI chain.
JOHNnDENVER is offline  
Reply HD DVD Players

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off