New guy on the block with a problem... - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 11 Old 05-03-2010, 11:51 PM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
SERIOUS7's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Posts: 3
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
everytime i put in a HD DVD the unit starts to play then shuts off....?

i'm trying to find out what is the problem ...


SD DVD's work ok ...


any idea's...?
SERIOUS7 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 11 Old 05-04-2010, 02:09 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
JOHNnDENVER's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 13,377
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 12
When SD works and HD doesn't, it almost always indicated an issue with the HD laser. I suppose it could even be a PS of some sort. Maybe the HD laser takes more power to run it?
JOHNnDENVER is offline  
post #3 of 11 Old 05-04-2010, 10:33 PM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
SERIOUS7's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Posts: 3
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
yeah , when i put in a HD DVD the unit will play for about 15-20 minutes then shut off , lights go out and i have to power up the unit again....
SERIOUS7 is offline  
post #4 of 11 Old 05-05-2010, 09:21 AM
Advanced Member
 
sonydude1966's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 766
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by SERIOUS7 View Post

everytime i put in a HD DVD the unit starts to play then shuts off....?

i'm trying to find out what is the problem ...


SD DVD's work ok ...


any idea's...?

If you have an XA2, then it sounds like the "shutdown bug". Either change your resolution to 1080i, or you can simply power on your player BEFORE you turn on your TV. Those are two work arounds for the shutdown bug.
sonydude1966 is offline  
post #5 of 11 Old 05-05-2010, 11:39 PM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
SERIOUS7's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Posts: 3
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
i think i found the problem , it was dust ... tonight i open up the unit and blew it out with "Endust for Electronics , The DUSTER " air in a can ...then i check out my powercord to make sure it was tight and so far so good ...

i would like to thank you guys for your help...


to be on the safe side i ordered the OPPO BDP83SE as a back up ...


thanks again ....


S7
SERIOUS7 is offline  
post #6 of 11 Old 05-06-2010, 06:57 PM
AVS Special Member
 
qz3fwd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 2,780
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 7 Post(s)
Liked: 25
The Oppo is going to be an awesome HD-DVD player
qz3fwd is offline  
post #7 of 11 Old 06-03-2010, 07:13 AM
Member
 
dparisoe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Leesburg, FL
Posts: 25
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Does anyone know of a fix for the bad Laser? Is POTS tweak that may help or can you order a new laser? I have the A3 and it will no longer play HD-DVD's only DVD's. It will start to play and then after a few minutes it will freeze up.
dparisoe is offline  
post #8 of 11 Old 06-03-2010, 10:05 AM
Member
 
Viking61's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 196
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by dparisoe View Post

Does anyone know of a fix for the bad Laser? Is POTS tweak that may help or can you order a new laser? I have the A3 and it will no longer play HD-DVD's only DVD's. It will start to play and then after a few minutes it will freeze up.

Have you tried clearing the Persistent Storage?
Viking61 is offline  
post #9 of 11 Old 06-07-2010, 01:58 PM
Member
 
chili555's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: South Carolina, by the lake
Posts: 180
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by qz3fwd View Post

the oppo is going to be an awesome hd-dvd player

rofl
chili555 is offline  
post #10 of 11 Old 07-06-2010, 02:08 PM
AVS Special Member
 
blackssr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: South Florida
Posts: 2,467
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 7 Post(s)
Liked: 17
Quote:
Originally Posted by SERIOUS7 View Post

i think i found the problem , it was dust ... tonight i open up the unit and blew it out with "Endust for Electronics , The DUSTER " air in a can ...then i check out my powercord to make sure it was tight and so far so good ...

i would like to thank you guys for your help...


to be on the safe side i ordered the OPPO BDP83SE as a back up ...


thanks again ....


S7

???????????????????????????
blackssr is offline  
post #11 of 11 Old 07-06-2010, 04:32 PM
AVS Special Member
 
ti-triodes's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Damfino
Posts: 2,137
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 13 Post(s)
Liked: 53
Quote:
Originally Posted by blackssr View Post

???????????????????????????



What, you never tried tried the Endust fix? It works on balky hi-def players, automobiles and troublesome women!!!!
ti-triodes is offline  
Reply HD DVD Players

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off