A2, Batman Begins, and True HD - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 7 Old 06-23-2011, 11:00 AM - Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
18628239's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Elysium
Posts: 397
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I have a Toshiba A2 connected via HDMI to a Denon 3312 (which in turns feeds a JVC projector). I'm trying to get Dolby True HD output.

In the A2 Setup, I have HDMI Audio set to Auto (PCM and Downmixed PCM are the only other choices). While I am not using the SPD/IF, it is also set to Auto (Bitstream and PCM are its other choices).

In the movie, I have selected Dolby True HD selected, but this is not being received by the Denon 3312 as the AVR is reporting BD Multichannel In, which means no True HD.

Since I pulled the A2 out of storage after a couple of years I thought maybe someone could tell me what I am doing wrong, or just not doing right in the A2 setup.

"What we do in life echoes in eternity." General Maximus Decimus Meridius
18628239 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 7 Old 06-23-2011, 01:20 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
afrogt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: SF Bay Area
Posts: 22,716
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 43 Post(s)
Liked: 348
The A2 can't bitstream TrueHD or DTS-MA. Only the A-35 and X-A2 can do that.

Multichannel PCM is the best you can get which is still excellent audio quality!

I have an A2, A-35 and Batman Begins so I can verify this!

You're never going to see TrueHD or DTS-MA from the A2. Doesn't have the hardware to do it.

You also only get 1080i from the A2, not 1080p.

Afro GT
afrogt is offline  
post #3 of 7 Old 06-24-2011, 02:53 AM - Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
18628239's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Elysium
Posts: 397
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Is True HD prohibited across SPD/IF? I noticed its option includes Bitstream, but I'm guessing that is for regular DD. Thanks for letting me know about the limitations of the A2. Time to go try the BD versions.

"What we do in life echoes in eternity." General Maximus Decimus Meridius
18628239 is offline  
post #4 of 7 Old 06-24-2011, 08:55 AM
AVS Club Gold
 
HogPilot's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Good Ol' US of A
Posts: 2,869
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 18
Quote:
Originally Posted by 18628239 View Post

Is True HD prohibited across SPD/IF? I noticed its option includes Bitstream, but I'm guessing that is for regular DD. Thanks for letting me know about the limitations of the A2. Time to go try the BD versions.

IIRC, you have two options when using optical or coax for sound - you can downgrade to the "core" lossy DD or DTS and get 5.1, or you can stay lossless with decoded PCM and get 2.0.

There are 10 types of people: those who understand binary, and those who don't.

HogPilot is offline  
post #5 of 7 Old 06-24-2011, 09:06 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
JOHNnDENVER's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 13,377
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 12
That Multi-channel is the lossless audio, just being decoded by the A2 and is as optimal as it gets period even though it is not being decoded by the AVR.
JOHNnDENVER is offline  
post #6 of 7 Old 06-26-2011, 05:30 PM - Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
18628239's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Elysium
Posts: 397
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
John, I had not realized the interpretation of 'Multichannel In' on the Denon meant the processing (decoding) was being done at the source. Good info!

"What we do in life echoes in eternity." General Maximus Decimus Meridius
18628239 is offline  
post #7 of 7 Old 06-30-2011, 09:34 PM
AVS Special Member
 
lchiu7's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Posts: 1,497
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by afrogt View Post
The A2 can't bitstream TrueHD or DTS-MA. Only the A-35 and X-A2 can do that.

Multichannel PCM is the best you can get which is still excellent audio quality!

I have an A2, A-35 and Batman Begins so I can verify this!

You're never going to see TrueHD or DTS-MA from the A2. Doesn't have the hardware to do it.

You also only get 1080i from the A2, not 1080p.
Similarlyly I have an A3 and am slowly migrating my content to my server and playing with a Popcorn Hour.

Interestingly when playing a HD-DVD on the A3 my HK receiver shows multichannel PCM and of course I am only seeing 1080i on my projector. But the Popcorn cannot decode HD audio and sends the audio as bitstream so the HK displays Dolby TrueHD and of course I get a 1080P image on my projector.
lchiu7 is online now  
Reply HD DVD Players

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off