Xbox 360 HD-DVD player and the newest dashboard update? - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 25 Old 02-07-2012, 02:07 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
Billkwando's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 49
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Has anyone had problems getting the 360 HD-DVD player to play regular DVDs since the last dashboard update they did? (the one that borked party watching on netflix)

One of our 360s has a bum drive so we'd been using the HD drive to play both kinds of DVDs, and it suddenly stopped playing them.
Billkwando is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 25 Old 02-16-2012, 08:53 AM
Member
 
gar3's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: New Cumberland, PA USA
Posts: 126
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I have played both DVDs and HD DVDs since the update but have not had any issues.
gar3 is offline  
post #3 of 25 Old 02-16-2012, 10:39 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
Billkwando's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 49
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by gar3 View Post

I have played both DVDs and HD DVDs since the update but have not had any issues.

Awesome! That's what I needed to hear. Is this on a slim or a older 360? (just curious). The problem I'm having it on is one of the newer elites.
Billkwando is offline  
post #4 of 25 Old 02-17-2012, 04:21 PM
Member
 
gar3's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: New Cumberland, PA USA
Posts: 126
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Older white one. Jasper. I do have a friend with a slim Trinity and he hasn't had any issues either.
gar3 is offline  
post #5 of 25 Old 02-20-2012, 03:39 PM
Member
 
gerryger's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: West Haven, CT
Posts: 16
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Billkwando View Post

Has anyone had problems getting the 360 HD-DVD player to play regular DVDs since the last dashboard update they did? (the one that borked party watching on netflix)

Actually I have the exact opposite problem. My player won't play any HD-DVD discs but it will play standard discs. This problem started with the latest Xbox upgrade.
gerryger is offline  
post #6 of 25 Old 02-20-2012, 04:37 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
Billkwando's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 49
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by gerryger View Post

Actually I have the exact opposite problem. My player won't play any HD-DVD discs but it will play standard discs. This problem started with the latest Xbox upgrade.

I took mine apart and cleaned the lense with a qtip and alcohol (warning: tiny torx driver is required unless you wanna have to bend the aluminum case like I did...and it didn't go back together quite right)

Now the drive plays regular discs, but doesn't even try to play HD DVDs on the 360. If I hook it up to the computer it tries to play the hd ones, but it's jerky and the sound starts and stops.
Billkwando is offline  
post #7 of 25 Old 02-23-2012, 07:34 PM
Member
 
gar3's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: New Cumberland, PA USA
Posts: 126
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
gar3 is offline  
post #8 of 25 Old 02-26-2012, 12:49 PM
Member
 
natecorn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 53
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I can't seem to get my xbox to see that the drive is there at all, it's really weird. I have it connected and it says hd-dvd on the screen, but it says it's unreachable or something like that. I tried swapping usb cords to see if that was the issue but the same problem came back again, any suggestions?
natecorn is offline  
post #9 of 25 Old 03-24-2012, 10:09 AM
Senior Member
 
Hockeytown Fan's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Hockeytown MI
Posts: 406
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by natecorn View Post

I can't seem to get my xbox to see that the drive is there at all, it's really weird. I have it connected and it says hd-dvd on the screen, but it says it's unreachable or something like that. I tried swapping usb cords to see if that was the issue but the same problem came back again, any suggestions?

I'm having a similar problem, My x360 slim dont "see" the hd dvd add on. if i go to the settings and check hard drives it shows my hd dvd add on's drive space but I cant for the life of me find where to launch a movie from... I've trying searching and searching the dash and the internet for a solution and come across nothing but "go to video tab". Its like my x360 only see's it as a hard drive.

Help a Family in need, Show Them We Care! Like it on Facebook and tweet it!
http://igg.me/p/171832?a=874546
Hockeytown Fan is offline  
post #10 of 25 Old 03-24-2012, 12:14 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
Billkwando's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 49
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by Hockeytown Fan View Post

I'm having a similar problem, My x360 slim dont "see" the hd dvd add on. if i go to the settings and check hard drives it shows my hd dvd add on's drive space but I cant for the life of me find where to launch a movie from... I've trying searching and searching the dash and the internet for a solution and come across nothing but "go to video tab". Its like my x360 only see's it as a hard drive.

Hmm, it sounds to me like you might have one of those 360s with small internal memory unit. Mine says 319 megs, but some of it's taken.

Just to reiterate, you go to the dashboard, then Video, then My Video Apps. If you don't see the HDDVD player in there, it's straight up broke, son.

Edit: I've bought 2 drives on ebay since I posted this thread and tried them both on older 360s and a slim, and they both work as expected. Basically these drives just seem to go bad sometimes. If the eject button constantly flashes, I think that's some kinda 360 error code, cos even though the drive would work on PC the 360 still wasn't havin' it.
Billkwando is offline  
post #11 of 25 Old 03-24-2012, 02:30 PM
Senior Member
 
Hockeytown Fan's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Hockeytown MI
Posts: 406
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Billkwando View Post

Hmm, it sounds to me like you might have one of those 360s with small internal memory unit. Mine says 319 megs, but some of it's taken.

Just to reiterate, you go to the dashboard, then Video, then My Video Apps. If you don't see the HDDVD player in there, it's straight up broke, son.

Edit: I've bought 2 drives on ebay since I posted this thread and tried them both on older 360s and a slim, and they both work as expected. Basically these drives just seem to go bad sometimes. If the eject button constantly flashes, I think that's some kinda 360 error code, cos even though the drive would work on PC the 360 still wasn't havin' it.

have the slim 250 gig... it worked perfect till the dash update. I have no flashing lights on it either. its as if it just disappeared on the dashboard. Hooked it up to my PC to see what it does... it worked lol. WTF man

Help a Family in need, Show Them We Care! Like it on Facebook and tweet it!
http://igg.me/p/171832?a=874546
Hockeytown Fan is offline  
post #12 of 25 Old 03-24-2012, 02:42 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
Billkwando's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 49
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by Hockeytown Fan View Post

have the slim 250 gig... it worked perfect till the dash update. I have no flashing lights on it either. its as if it just disappeared on the dashboard. Hooked it up to my PC to see what it does... it worked lol. WTF man

I just remembered something. Do you still have King Kong? I would try putting that in. IIRC my drive wasn't working right til I put that movie in, then it forced an update and was fine. Also try checking your USB cable. I know it's stupid but just in case.
Billkwando is offline  
post #13 of 25 Old 04-01-2012, 02:14 PM
Newbie
 
Gchristie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Posts: 1
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I had the same issue then I noticed the hd DVD app alongside my other video apps in the dashboard. It's completely off the guide otherwise
Gchristie is offline  
post #14 of 25 Old 06-21-2012, 04:37 PM
Newbie
 
Samuel M's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 2
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Mine doesn't play HD DVD's anymore, go figure.....
Samuel M is offline  
post #15 of 25 Old 06-22-2012, 02:42 PM
Advanced Member
 
RonAlam's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Bloomingdale, Il
Posts: 513
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 29
I had a similiar issue on the new slim models. My solution:
First re-install the drivers from the disc it came with, now look in the video apps tab. The new dash moved it to the tab. Now I can watch my HD DVDs again...
RonAlam is offline  
post #16 of 25 Old 12-18-2012, 04:56 PM
AVS Special Member
 
tbase1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: medina Ohio
Posts: 2,373
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 15
no sound playing hd-dvd add-on (usb) to 360 slim (hdmi) to avr to tv (hdmi)? (WTF)

tony4k
tbase1 is offline  
post #17 of 25 Old 12-19-2012, 12:52 PM
Advanced Member
 
RonAlam's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Bloomingdale, Il
Posts: 513
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 29
possible HDMI handshake issue ?
RonAlam is offline  
post #18 of 25 Old 02-19-2013, 12:13 AM
 
JasonRain's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Posts: 2
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I had the same issue then I noticed the hd DVD app alongside my other video apps in the dashboard

_________________
WoW gold|Diablo 3 Gold|Runescape Gold|GW2 Gold
JasonRain is offline  
post #19 of 25 Old 03-18-2013, 01:07 AM
Newbie
 
Lord Q Hilleous's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Posts: 1
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I just tried to play my Hd DVD player and had the same issue. After an hour or so, I finally got it working. You have to go into settings, and enable 'auto play'. then insert your disk into the drive and it will start automatically. After that you can then turn auto play off again if you wish. Now when you go to the video/movie blade, you go into 'my video apps' and there will be a app that says 'HD-DVD" and thats how you play it from now on. This is the only way to get the app to show up.
Lord Q Hilleous is offline  
post #20 of 25 Old 03-18-2013, 01:07 PM
Advanced Member
 
RonAlam's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Bloomingdale, Il
Posts: 513
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 29
look 3 posts up...and the previous post...
RonAlam is offline  
post #21 of 25 Old 06-30-2013, 01:50 PM
Newbie
 
Gary Smith's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Posts: 2
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
yes this works spot on cheers
Gary Smith is offline  
post #22 of 25 Old 06-30-2013, 01:58 PM
Newbie
 
Gary Smith's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Posts: 2
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
why not? reinstall hd dvd disc go to video apps it will be there
Gary Smith is offline  
post #23 of 25 Old 12-10-2013, 10:11 AM
Newbie
 
Gabriel Sch's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Posts: 1
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10

can anyone know the latest version of the HDDVD player upload to download because it is no longer available latest version

Gabriel Sch is offline  
post #24 of 25 Old 12-10-2013, 10:24 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
Billkwando's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 49
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
If you still have your King Kong DVD that should install the software. I don't think newer versions have any added functionality.
Billkwando is offline  
post #25 of 25 Old 02-12-2014, 03:41 PM
Newbie
 
zacmac77's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Posts: 1
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10

what worked for me is putting a disc in hd player (if able) and going to tv/video on dashboard and select "my apps" and look for hd movie. hope this helps as this advice helped me find mine. And sorry if this was already figured out or to old

zacmac77 is offline  
Reply HD DVD Players



Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off