My HD-A1SN won't do HDMI - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 6 Old 02-24-2012, 07:09 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
cwilson's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Location: Ben Lomond CA USA
Posts: 1,784
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 15
I just updated my dedicated theater - bought a new Epson 6010 projector, Oppo 93, and Onkyo 709 AV Receiver to replace equipment that was pre-HDMI. Obviously I'll be doing mostly Blu-ray/DVD but I was also hoping to use my Toshiba HD-A1SN player and my JVC D-VHS player to play my HD-DVD disks and D-Theater tapes. Unfortunately, the D-VHS player appears to be dead - doesn't respond to commands - and I can't get the HD-DVD player to output in HDMI. Oh, well.

The Video output works. I haven't tried the component output yet. The front panel says HDMI and 1080i but the projector isn't receiving any signal.

I thought I'd ask here if this is a known problem. It used to output over component just fine, but I hadn't used the player in a long time so there may well be an update available. I think the HDMI is like 1.1 and the new receiver is 1.4 but I assumed the versions are upwardly compatible.

Thanks for your help.
cwilson is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 6 Old 02-25-2012, 03:26 PM
Advanced Member
 
Rich86's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: USA - California
Posts: 737
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 27
Based on your post, I'm assuming you are feeding the hdmi signal to the receiver, and then on to the TV from the receiver.
Since the HD-DVD player is indicating 1080i on the front panel, I expect it is outputting 1080i to the receiver successfully. You may have a handshake issue going on between the receiver and the TV which sometimes has to do with the order in which you turn components on. If you switch the TV to a different input, and then back to the hdmi input you are connected to, do you get anything then?
Does your new receiver have some menu settings that display on the TV? Do they display OK using the hdmi connection from the receiver to the TV?
To confirm the player is providing a 1080i signal, you might try connecting the HD-DVD player directly to a hdmi connection on the TV as a test. If that works, then you know the player is functioning?
Looking over the manual for this player, it seems pretty limited on the audio output side as well - doesn't seem to support lossless audio codecs very well.

A long-time audio/video addict!
Rich86 is offline  
post #3 of 6 Old 02-27-2012, 05:50 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
cwilson's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Location: Ben Lomond CA USA
Posts: 1,784
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 15
I downloaded a zip file for the firmward update V4, and unzipped it to a CD. The disk has one file in the root directory - TN4000_Release - which is an ISO image file. When I put that disk in the player, I get "NOT PLAY". Again, my player is an HD-A1SN. Anyone who has successfully uploaded new firmware to an HD-DVD player, please detail exactly how you burned the file to disk. I wonder if I used the right format or something. Thanks.

By the way, Rich, the projector is doing great with HDMI connections from both a Blu-ray player and DirecTV.
cwilson is offline  
post #4 of 6 Old 02-28-2012, 11:49 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
cwilson's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Location: Ben Lomond CA USA
Posts: 1,784
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 15
Although I wasn't able to get a working firmware update, my A1 is now outputting HDMI and looks great. I think it was as Rich said - a handshaking issue, and now that I've fiddled with it enough that it has HDMI as the default, it'll function well from now on. Thanks, Rich.
cwilson is offline  
post #5 of 6 Old 02-29-2012, 09:30 PM
AVS Special Member
 
ChrisW6ATV's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Location: Hayward, Collie-fornia USA
Posts: 4,205
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 17
Quote:
Originally Posted by cwilson View Post

I downloaded a zip file for the firmward update V4, and unzipped it to a CD. The disk has one file in the root directory - TN4000_Release - which is an ISO image file.

You described the problem perfectly. What you did was to "create a data disc with an ISO file on it". An ISO file is itself basically a set of instructions for creating a disc (that could be of any type, not necessarily a data disc). You need to use a program such as ImgBurn, and go into that program and tell it to "create disc from image". Then when it asks for the image file, pick the ISO you already have (you may need to copy it back from your CD into a folder on your hard drive first). Good luck.

Chris

"It's [expletive] lame to watch Jaws, a film that uses the 2.40 ratio as well as any ever produced, in the wrong format on HBO." -Steven Soderbergh, Oscar-winning director

ChrisW6ATV is offline  
post #6 of 6 Old 02-08-2013, 08:55 PM
Newbie
 
shantomsir's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Posts: 3
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
great. I've fiddled with it enough that it has HDMI as the default, it'll function well from now on. thanks 10.gif
shantomsir is offline  
Reply HD DVD Players

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off