How do I get 1080p output from my HD A1? - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 11 Old 07-28-2012, 01:20 PM - Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
tacos's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: BAMA
Posts: 458
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I recently got my hd a1 out of the closet and hooked it up into my panny htib. I put zodiac in and on the front of the a1 it says 1080i. I changed through resolutions but, it will not go to 1080p. I changed out hdmi cables as well. How do I get 1080p output with my HDA1 player thru a Panasonic SC-BTT770 5.1 HTIB? My display is the Panasonic st60. Any help would be appreciated.
tacos is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 11 Old 07-28-2012, 04:28 PM
Advanced Member
 
Rich86's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: USA - California
Posts: 788
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 28 Post(s)
Liked: 30
I do not believe the HD-A1 supports 1080P output at all. The best you can get out of it is 1080i.
However, I would not worry, as your TV probably does a fine job of converting it to 1080p before displaying anyway, so no worries.
tacos likes this.

A long-time audio/video addict!
Rich86 is offline  
post #3 of 11 Old 07-29-2012, 03:11 AM
AVS Special Member
 
lchiu7's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Posts: 1,512
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 7 Post(s)
Liked: 12
I am in a slightly similar posotion. I have a HD-A3 which doesn't do 1080P and is still connected to my projector. But I recently stole the HDMI input for my Roku and then wanted to watch a HD-DVD I hadn't seen before (not that it matters but it was Forty Year Old Virgin which came with a bunch of free HD-DVD's I got when purchasing a BD/HD-DVD writer off ebay).

Anyway I was just as easy to rip the disc and create one large .ts file which I then played in my Popcorn Hour.

THe PCH supports 1080P and so theoretically I am getting a better image from my ripped (albeit with no additional compression) copy than playing the original disc on the A-3. The output goes to a 1080P projector. It certainly looked fine PQ wise but the movie was hardly worth the effort of making IMHO :-). The DD+ audio was also fine but then again the content hardly strained it.
lchiu7 is offline  
post #4 of 11 Old 07-29-2012, 09:35 AM - Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
tacos's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: BAMA
Posts: 458
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I appreciate that help Rich!
tacos is offline  
post #5 of 11 Old 08-23-2012, 04:13 AM
Member
 
shenxiongpeng's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Posts: 29
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I think that HD-A1 can support 1080p,because there are many converters that can convert videos to HD video formats,and it is easy to do that!
shenxiongpeng is offline  
post #6 of 11 Old 08-24-2012, 07:30 PM
Advanced Member
 
Rich86's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: USA - California
Posts: 788
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 28 Post(s)
Liked: 30
Quote:
Originally Posted by shenxiongpeng View Post

I think that HD-A1 can support 1080p,because there are many converters that can convert videos to HD video formats,and it is easy to do that!

Keep in mind that a 1080p HDTV by definition converts whatever it gets (including 1080i) to 1080p to display, so there really isn't much need to worry a whole lot, imo.

A long-time audio/video addict!
Rich86 is offline  
post #7 of 11 Old 08-25-2012, 02:59 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Gary McCoy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 1999
Location: San Jose, California, USA
Posts: 6,263
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 18 Post(s)
Liked: 43
I don't know about the players above but the Toshiba HD-A30 can and does support 1080p60 playback, but only for HD-DVDs that are recorded at high frame rates. The only disks I have that play at 1080p60 are the BBC Planet Earth disks.

For 1080p60 output, select the "1080p" resolution setting in the HD-A30 player Setup menu. This will produce playback as follows (I'm using a 1080p120 Samsung LCD display with AMP processing set at Medium).
  1. With interlaced video HD-DVDs, the Samsung says Resolution 1920x1080i, H Frequency 33kHz, V Frequency 60Hz. Two disks that work this way are titled Aquarium and Yule Log. They appear to be disks where somebody took a camcorder and recorded something. I don't know how they were mastered, but these are the only two HD-DVDs aI have that play back in interlaced mode.
  2. With the Planet Earth HD-DVDs, the Samsung display indicates Resolution 1920x1080p, H frequency 67kHz, V Frequency 60Hz. Then the Samsung performs 1:2 frame rate conversion with interpolation to 120Hz. Because the source video is captured at 60Hz, there is no motion judder visible. This is the setting that produces the "clear pane of glass" illusion on screen from the Planet Earth disks..
  3. With film source HD-DVDs (every theatrical movie I have) the Samsung display indicates Resolution 1920x1080p, H frequency 67kHz, V Frequency 60Hz. Because the source frame rate is 24fps, the player is performing a 3:2 pullup to encode the 24fps inside the 60fps video signal. Then the Samsung performs 1:2 interpolation to 120Hz. Motion judder is visible on film source HD-DVDs.

The HD-A30 Setup menu also has a selection for "1080p24" resolution. With this selection, the same three disk types play back as follows:
  1. With interlaced video HD-DVDs, the Samsung says Resolution 1920x1080i, H Frequency 33kHz, V Frequency 60Hz. (Correct for interlaced source.)
  2. With the Planet Earth HD-DVDs, the Samsung display indicates Resolution 1920x1080p, H frequency 67kHz, V Frequency 60Hz. (Correct for non-interlaced source.) Again, the illusion of a window onto another part of the Earth.
  3. With film source HD-DVDs, the Samsung display indicates Resolution 1920x1080p, H Frequency 27kHz, V Frequency 24Hz. The Samsung display does 5:5 pulldown, and motion is smoothed and blur reduced with AMP processing on. With AMP processing OFF, there is the typical 24fps strobe effects and plentifull blur.

I leave my HD-A30 player set for "1080p24" resolution most of the time. I also select "Enable HDMI control". I also use AMP processing by PREFERENCE. You are free to not use frame interpolation if you think the result is "too real".

Disclaimer: My HD-A30 has firmware 1.1. YMMV with other players or other firmware versions. I have firmware 4.0 archived but no plans to update, the player is presently compatible with every HD-DVD I own, and is my only 1080p60 source.

Gary McCoy
The United States Constitution ©1791. All Rights Reserved.

Gary McCoy is offline  
post #8 of 11 Old 08-27-2012, 08:20 AM
Moderator
 
PooperScooper's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Leominster MA
Posts: 19,952
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 69 Post(s)
Liked: 303
The first HD-DVD players (A1 and XA1) did not output 1080p. The decoders only output 1080i. In later players the 1080i was converted to 1080p which was also a cause of a bug in the XA2, IIRC. In the third gen, I don't know if the decoder output 1080p or what, but they output 1080p and some (all?) 1080p24.

Opportunity is missed by most people because it is dressed in overalls and looks like work. -- Thomas Alva Edison
PooperScooper is offline  
post #9 of 11 Old 08-30-2012, 01:09 AM
Advanced Member
 
jd213's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: less than 10 minutes from Akihabara
Posts: 753
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6 Post(s)
Liked: 15
I have a feeling that the decoders in 3rd gen players couldn't directly output 1080p either. It doesn't seem that HD DVD was made with 1080p24 output in mind given that the PiP tracks I've demuxed from various discs like Star Trek Season 1 weren't encoded in 480p24, unlike Blu-ray PiP tracks. 3rd gen players also had severe jaggies when outputting AVC discs at 1080p, which would also suggest deinterlacing instead of direct 1080p output.
jd213 is offline  
post #10 of 11 Old 08-30-2012, 08:04 AM
Advanced Member
 
Rich86's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: USA - California
Posts: 788
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 28 Post(s)
Liked: 30
The 1080P/24fps video output from my Toshiba HD-A35 from source 24fps HD-DVD material looks perfectly fine on my Sony LED 1080P set.

A long-time audio/video addict!
Rich86 is offline  
post #11 of 11 Old 09-02-2012, 11:04 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Ronomy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Massachusetts
Posts: 3,038
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 8 Post(s)
Liked: 18
The XA2 did a fine job converting films on DVD to 1080p/24. The only issue I had with the XA2 was when set to 1080p/24 it didn't go back to 60p when a non 24p video was inserted. I have to go into the setup and select 1080p/60 for concert and other 60fps films.

The XA2 is still used in my system when I watch a DVD. The upconversion is fabulous!
Ronomy is offline  
Reply HD DVD Players

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off