LG BH200 Firmware on XA1 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 4 Old 12-11-2012, 10:46 AM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
nightstalkerbry's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 3
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hi,
I'm rather new to the HD-DVD arena. I've found it's a cheap way to beef up an HD video collection, and am trying to make the best of it. With that said, I'm really curious if this can be done:

The A1 and the XA1 both use standard motherboards that allow you to easily replace the firmware flash memory with a different usb drive.

With that said, I'm really curious if the firmware from the LG BH200 could be written to a flash drive and swapped into an XA1. If not, perhaps it could be ported over?

I suggest this because the HDDVD drive in the XA1 is a standard IDE drive that could easily be swapped out with a Bluray/HDDVD combo drive.

This if done correctly would potentially give you an LG BH200 with multichannel analog out.

Perhaps you could then replace the processor with something faster, and faster larger RAM and have a Dual format player that kicks major ass!
nightstalkerbry is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 4 Old 12-11-2012, 11:20 AM
 
8traxrule's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 746
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 14
Firmware for one product can't be installed on another. I bricked a Toshiba A2 (it stayed on "Welcome" and never started up) just by loading a CD with firmware for a different Toshiba model by accident.
8traxrule is offline  
post #3 of 4 Old 12-11-2012, 11:47 AM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
nightstalkerbry's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 3
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
With the A1 and XA1, it shouldn't brick, because you'd keep the original firmware device on the side and replace it if necessary. I think...

Sorry, that sucks about the A2 though frown.gif
nightstalkerbry is offline  
post #4 of 4 Old 12-11-2012, 04:26 PM
Advanced Member
 
junglalien's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 519
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 12
lol
no you can not put LG firmware on a Toshiba
junglalien is offline  
Reply HD DVD Players

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off