HD-A1: No video after initializing? - AVS | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Baselworld is only a few weeks away. Getting the latest news is easy, Click Here for info on how to join the Watchuseek.com newsletter list. Follow our team for updates featuring event coverage, new product unveilings, watch industry news & more!


Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
Old 08-04-2014, 10:48 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
PowerPC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 174
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 10
HD-A1: No video after initializing?

So I decided to initialize to reset all of the crap I've changed over the years and then... no more video. Waited a while, then turned the machine off, turned it back on... on-unit display read that it was in SETUP but still no video.

I put in a disc, it began to play but I didn't have any audio or video.

What could have possibly gone wrong?

The component output still works though.

Last edited by PowerPC; 08-04-2014 at 10:57 PM.
PowerPC is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 09-07-2014, 08:44 PM
Advanced Member
 
RonAlam's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Bloomingdale, Il
Posts: 524
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 29
select HDMI output in the settings?
RonAlam is online now  
Old 12-07-2014, 03:58 PM
Member
 
Bepaof8's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Richmond, VA
Posts: 77
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
My HD-XA1 lost it's video and audio output this week. My main DVD player for over 6 years. Time to resort to my backup HD-A30. Hope it works!

Pete
Bepaof8 is offline  
Old 12-08-2014, 04:27 PM
Advanced Member
 
Rich86's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: USA - California
Posts: 899
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 85 Post(s)
Liked: 39
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bepaof8 View Post
My HD-XA1 lost it's video and audio output this week. My main DVD player for over 6 years. Time to resort to my backup HD-A30. Hope it works!
Pete
Have you lost audio & video via ALL available connections (hdmi, component, composite, analog audio, digital audio)? Is the player loading and reading the disc ok? Have you tried both DVDs & HD-DVDs (I believe they use different lasers mounted on the laser assembly). Have you "initialized" the player in case something got messed up internally? See pg. 57 in the manual for how to initialize your player (link below).

http://support.toshiba.com/support/m...eeText=2809956

Just some thoughts & ideas . . .

A long-time audio/video addict!
Rich86 is offline  
Old 12-08-2014, 04:44 PM
Member
 
Bepaof8's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Richmond, VA
Posts: 77
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Thanks - I'll give it a shot!

Pete
Bepaof8 is offline  
Old 05-21-2015, 10:22 AM
Member
 
Traveler62's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Kansas City, MO
Posts: 193
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 10
My A1 will not play HDDVD, but would play DVD. Does anyone know what this means? I have had it unplugged for a long time.


There is a battery on the board that may be dead. Is this worth getting fixed or find something on Ebay? I do have an A35 that works fine.
Traveler62 is offline  
Old 05-22-2015, 01:07 PM
Advanced Member
 
RonAlam's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Bloomingdale, Il
Posts: 524
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 29
Quote:
Originally Posted by Traveler62 View Post
My A1 will not play HDDVD, but would play DVD. Does anyone know what this means? I have had it unplugged for a long time.


There is a battery on the board that may be dead. Is this worth getting fixed or find something on Ebay? I do have an A35 that works fine.
try cleaning the lens?
RonAlam is online now  
Old 05-22-2015, 07:02 PM
Member
 
Traveler62's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Kansas City, MO
Posts: 193
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 10
How do you clean the lens? Is it necessary to take it apart?


It won't read HDDVDs or CDs (music or firmware CD that I made). With HDDVDs, it just makes to clunking noise for about a minute and says no disk. With CDs, it clunks a couple of times before saying no disk. DVDs play just fine.


Is there a file somewhere to use firmware on a USB thumb drive?
Traveler62 is offline  
Old Today, 08:23 PM
Advanced Member
 
RonAlam's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Bloomingdale, Il
Posts: 524
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 29
Quote:
Originally Posted by Traveler62 View Post
How do you clean the lens? Is it necessary to take it apart?


It won't read HDDVDs or CDs (music or firmware CD that I made). With HDDVDs, it just makes to clunking noise for about a minute and says no disk. With CDs, it clunks a couple of times before saying no disk. DVDs play just fine.


Is there a file somewhere to use firmware on a USB thumb drive?
sounds like a dead laser bud :-(, to clean the laser, yes, youd need to take it apart.
RonAlam is online now  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
 
Thread Tools


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off