HD-XA2 region free question - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 
 1Likes
  • 1 Post By Worf
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 7 Old 03-23-2015, 01:45 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
KristinaAlexis6's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: TXXX
Posts: 72
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 20 Post(s)
Liked: 22
Send a message via Yahoo to KristinaAlexis6
HD-XA2 region free question

Is this legit?

http://www.ebay.com/itm/REGION-FREE-...item25a1193463

for about $15 I sure hope it is! The only region free player I still own is the Oppo BDP-83 (some FW hack)
I wouldn't mind turning my XA2 into region free!!

if any of ya'll have successfully done this, please lemme know

Display: Sony KDL-55W802A
Sound Bar: HT-XT1
Players: SONY S1200
Sony BDPS1000ES
Oppo BDP-83
PS4
KristinaAlexis6 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 7 Old 03-23-2015, 09:08 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Worf's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Posts: 1,256
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 473 Post(s)
Liked: 230
It's kinda sorta legit, but you can get the same off AVS for free plus a few CDs.

You need 3 firmware updates - one of them downgrades you to 1.x, the next converts you to the HD-XE1 which is the region free Euro version presuming you want PAL playback as well. The third accomplishes the region free part. Edit: once done, then you apply the appropriate 4.0 update.

HD-DVDs are region free by default, so all you're doing is making the DVD side region free.

There's a thread in this forum all about it... With links. I found one that brought you to someone's one live account.
RonAlam likes this.
Worf is offline  
post #3 of 7 Old 03-25-2015, 02:28 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
KristinaAlexis6's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: TXXX
Posts: 72
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 20 Post(s)
Liked: 22
Send a message via Yahoo to KristinaAlexis6
Quote:
Originally Posted by Worf View Post
It's kinda sorta legit, but you can get the same off AVS for free plus a few CDs.

You need 3 firmware updates - one of them downgrades you to 1.x, the next converts you to the HD-XE1 which is the region free Euro version presuming you want PAL playback as well. The third accomplishes the region free part. Edit: once done, then you apply the appropriate 4.0 update.

HD-DVDs are region free by default, so all you're doing is making the DVD side region free.

There's a thread in this forum all about it... With links. I found one that brought you to someone's one live account.
yea, this is for DVD playback ONLY. I need an all-region player, and I know the XA2 does a great job at upconverting.

link me to any helpful posts

Display: Sony KDL-55W802A
Sound Bar: HT-XT1
Players: SONY S1200
Sony BDPS1000ES
Oppo BDP-83
PS4
KristinaAlexis6 is offline  
 
post #4 of 7 Old 04-05-2015, 09:33 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Worf's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Posts: 1,256
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 473 Post(s)
Liked: 230
Everything you need is in the OneDrive link in this post - XA2 plays multi region NTSC and PAL DVD Just download the two ISOs (you can find 4.0 Xe1 easily), burn them and follow the instructions. reverting instructions are there too.
Worf is offline  
post #5 of 7 Old 03-17-2017, 07:47 AM
Member
 
jra166's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 191
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 12 Post(s)
Liked: 11
So I took the plunge and converted my XA2 to "region free" however there appears to be some exceptions to this. I have some older Region 1 Paramount titles and it appears all Region 1 Fox titles are unable to be played. Anyone know the reason for this? All other region 1 studios I've tried appear to play ok.
jra166 is online now  
post #6 of 7 Old Yesterday, 03:02 PM
Senior Member
 
Viking61's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 235
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 18 Post(s)
Liked: 27
Quote:
Originally Posted by jra166 View Post
So I took the plunge and converted my XA2 to "region free" however there appears to be some exceptions to this. I have some older Region 1 Paramount titles and it appears all Region 1 Fox titles are unable to be played. Anyone know the reason for this? All other region 1 studios I've tried appear to play ok.
After making the player regionfree, and if you want to play a RCE encoded region 1 disc (like those from Fox), you will need to apply the RCE hack which is as follows:

RCE HACK.
1) Turn on player
2) Open tray, put disc in tray but don´t close
3) Push T.search on remote
4) Push 1, 3, 9 and "Region number" (e.g. 1 for US discs)
5) Push T.search on remote.

You will see TEST on your player

6) Press PLAY on the remote

When player is turned off, this setting is cleared.

Last edited by Viking61; Yesterday at 03:09 PM.
Viking61 is offline  
post #7 of 7 Old Today, 08:37 AM
Member
 
jra166's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 191
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 12 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by Viking61 View Post
After making the player regionfree, and if you want to play a RCE encoded region 1 disc (like those from Fox), you will need to apply the RCE hack which is as follows:

RCE HACK.
1) Turn on player
2) Open tray, put disc in tray but don´t close
3) Push T.search on remote
4) Push 1, 3, 9 and "Region number" (e.g. 1 for US discs)
5) Push T.search on remote.

You will see TEST on your player

6) Press PLAY on the remote

When player is turned off, this setting is cleared.
Thank you kind sir. After these region hacks, my XA2 has been given new life and I am loving it! My classic film collection and concert collection also thank you. After taking my XA2 into my Oppo 103D Darbee processor, they have never looked better!
jra166 is online now  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply HD DVD Players



Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off