HD XA2 How to Up-convert over Component - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 2 Old 03-07-2016, 09:42 AM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2016
Posts: 1
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 0
HD XA2 How to Up-convert over Component

I realize this is a throwback, but I would like to know if anyone with an XA2 is having success using specific converters to enable up-convert eventually going into component. I understand there are a number of boxes available to receive HDMI and convert to component. VisionFC4 seems to not be available and might have shift issues, HDFury 2,3,4 seem to work but are expensive but there are a number of boxes available to convert HDMI to component but I can not tell whether the HDCP issue would prevent the XA2 from up-converting. I have a nice Yamaha Receiver with no HDMI and the in wall cable to my living room TV is component and running HDMI to it seems impractical. Do not want to decript DVDs. I only want to let the XA2 do what it is supposed to do well, up-convert, seems a shame to not have this feature for the occasional watch of non high def DVD. Please reply to this post if you have specific experience solving this with XA2.
Steven Point is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 2 Old 04-01-2016, 11:18 AM
Advanced Member
 
RonAlam's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Bloomingdale, Il
Posts: 638
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 65 Post(s)
Liked: 52
Quote:
Originally Posted by Steven Point View Post
I realize this is a throwback, but I would like to know if anyone with an XA2 is having success using specific converters to enable up-convert eventually going into component. I understand there are a number of boxes available to receive HDMI and convert to component. VisionFC4 seems to not be available and might have shift issues, HDFury 2,3,4 seem to work but are expensive but there are a number of boxes available to convert HDMI to component but I can not tell whether the HDCP issue would prevent the XA2 from up-converting. I have a nice Yamaha Receiver with no HDMI and the in wall cable to my living room TV is component and running HDMI to it seems impractical. Do not want to decript DVDs. I only want to let the XA2 do what it is supposed to do well, up-convert, seems a shame to not have this feature for the occasional watch of non high def DVD. Please reply to this post if you have specific experience solving this with XA2.
cant be done internally from the unit bud. HDCP prevents upconversion exceeding 480P via component when playing DVD's.
RonAlam is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply HD DVD Players

Tags
component , hd xa2 , upconvert , xa2

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off