Error msg - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 10 Old 02-26-2017, 09:09 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
muslov1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 20
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Error msg

When i attempt to play a dvd or hddvd disc i receive an error msg. That reads " this disc is not dvd format" any one know what the issue causing this? Thanks
muslov1 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 10 Old 02-26-2017, 10:26 AM
Super Moderator
 
teachsac's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Elk Grove, CA
Posts: 9,859
Mentioned: 33 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 861 Post(s)
Liked: 1397
It would help if we knew what player you are using.

Please use the report post button to alert staff to problematic posts. Never quote or respond to them yourself.

Oppo UDP-203 -> Yamaha CX-A5100 -> Sony XBR-75X940C; Mediabridge 6' and 15' HDMI cables.
teachsac is offline  
post #3 of 10 Old 02-26-2017, 12:03 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
muslov1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 20
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by teachsac View Post
It would help if we knew what player you are using.
I apologize, DAH! HD-A2
muslov1 is offline  
 
post #4 of 10 Old 02-26-2017, 12:05 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
muslov1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 20
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by muslov1 View Post
I apologize, DAH! HD-A2
Also, I have done the firmware update , its showing 2.8/T23T
muslov1 is offline  
post #5 of 10 Old 02-26-2017, 10:35 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Rich86's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: USA - California
Posts: 1,020
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 136 Post(s)
Liked: 67
Quote:
Originally Posted by muslov1 View Post
When i attempt to play a dvd or hddvd disc i receive an error msg. That reads " this disc is not dvd format" any one know what the issue causing this? Thanks
I expect the player is unable to read the discs you are trying. Is this a player you have had for a while and it has always worked ok? If it does this on all discs, and you have tried a number of them you know are good, then the laser assembly in the player may be the culprit. You might try cleaning the laser lens.

A long-time audio/video addict!
Rich86 is offline  
post #6 of 10 Old 02-27-2017, 09:00 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
muslov1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 20
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Yes I purchased this new , when the blue ray vs. HDDVD war was on. I picked the wrong side! It has been working last time I used it about 6 months ago. I have tried several discs and regular DVD's getting the same msg. I'll try what you suggest. thx
muslov1 is offline  
post #7 of 10 Old 02-27-2017, 10:32 AM
Senior Member
 
Viking61's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 226
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 18 Post(s)
Liked: 27
Quote:
Originally Posted by muslov1 View Post
Also, I have done the firmware update , its showing 2.8/T23T
The latest firmware version is v 4.0.
https://onedrive.live.com/?id=6948F2...48F2460BDD190C

Download HD-A2-4000N.zip, unzip the iso file and burn that file as an image to a CD (do not use DVD).

But most likely it is an hardware error on the HD DVD drive in the player.
Viking61 is offline  
post #8 of 10 Old 02-27-2017, 12:54 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
muslov1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 20
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 11
I will try the newer update , but you'd think it would still recognize the disc with the previous update. if it is a hardware error will this update remedy that? if it does not is there something else I can do for the hardware issue? thanks
muslov1 is offline  
post #9 of 10 Old 02-28-2017, 06:43 AM
Senior Member
 
Viking61's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 226
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 18 Post(s)
Liked: 27
You can check on ebay if you find a cheap broken A2, A20 or XA2 with an error anything else than drive related. They all have the same drive. Some players got stuck on WELCOME during a firmware upgrade. Those players should have a perfectly fine drive. Then you can just swap the drive. But I guess HD DVD players are so cheap now that you can just buy one fully working. Your HD-A2 was one of the early models that don't support Full HD, so you will get better picture with a bit newer model.
Viking61 is offline  
post #10 of 10 Old 02-28-2017, 12:23 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
muslov1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 20
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by Viking61 View Post
You can check on ebay if you find a cheap broken A2, A20 or XA2 with an error anything else than drive related. They all have the same drive. Some players got stuck on WELCOME during a firmware upgrade. Those players should have a perfectly fine drive. Then you can just swap the drive. But I guess HD DVD players are so cheap now that you can just buy one fully working. Your HD-A2 was one of the early models that don't support Full HD, so you will get better picture with a bit newer model.
thanks for the information and assistance
muslov1 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply HD DVD Players

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off