Toshiba HD-A1 HD DVD - First End User Reports! - Page 10 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #271 of 5103 Old 04-15-2006, 02:23 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Ken H's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 1999
Location: Metro Detroit
Posts: 45,876
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by Health Nut View Post

... I guess this player is cheap enough that you could just toss this player and upgrade in 6-12 months as necessary.

You are correct, sir!

'Better Living Through Modern, Expensive, Electronic Devices'

Ken H is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #272 of 5103 Old 04-15-2006, 02:26 PM
AVS Special Member
 
lymzy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: lalaland
Posts: 3,074
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Health Nut View Post

We need a standardized 1080p output for players and projectors, period. We need to display 1080p60 or 1080p48, 1080p30, 1080p24, etc... 1080p displays are the now AND the future, not 1080i.

I think 1080i60 output for 1080p24 and 1080i60 source is perfect. 1080p60 output could lock in the judder. I don't think any video processor could reconstruct perfect 1080p24 from 1080p60 input. But a video processor could easily output 1080p24/48/60/72 from 1080i60 input depending on the source and display

All in all. for film, I want 1080p24 or 1080i60 output. For video, I want 1080i60 output.

HDPLEX
lymzy is offline  
post #273 of 5103 Old 04-15-2006, 02:28 PM
AVS Special Member
 
HDTVwannabe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Muscatine, Iowa, USA
Posts: 1,977
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Watched the best scenes off my SD-DVD Superbit version of Spidey2 and maybe I should have selected the Film option in the setup's video menu - instead of left at Auto(?) - because the PQ didn't exactly "wow" me.

In fact, it looked pretty soft most the time. Connected to my Panny 42PX50U via HDMI, outputting at 1080i.

HD-DVD + Blu-ray = An all-inclusive HD home movie viewing experience.
HDTVwannabe is offline  
post #274 of 5103 Old 04-15-2006, 02:30 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Ilka's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Kanata, ON, Canada
Posts: 1,129
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by pclausen View Post

I tried that just now but it didn't make a difference.

I wonder if it got de-authorized somehow being that I have it connected to my LAN which in turn is connected to the Internet? I didn't check the clock yet which I see is one of the first things you are supposed to do...

You are in new territory here I think ... not sure ... the extent of my "knowledge" was just from reviewing the user manual.

Is your player still dead? It is definitely weird, especially if it just froze up permanently during playback ... good luck
Ilka is offline  
post #275 of 5103 Old 04-15-2006, 02:30 PM
boo
AVS Special Member
 
boo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Metro Detroit
Posts: 1,916
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by HDTVwannabe View Post

Watched the best scenes off my SD-DVD Superbit version of Spidey2 and maybe I should have selected the Film option in the setup's video menu - instead of left at Auto(?) - because the PQ didn't exactly "wow" me.

In fact, it looked pretty soft most the time. Connected to my Panny 42PX50U via HDMI, outputting at 1080i.

Maybe it is because it is not a HD Disc, just because it up-converts does not mean it will look any where near HD.
boo is offline  
post #276 of 5103 Old 04-15-2006, 02:31 PM
AVS Special Member
 
pclausen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Charlottesville, VA
Posts: 1,036
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 22
My player started working again and I checked that the clock was set correctly and it was. I then went in and attempted a firmware update, but after a while it came back with the message "The software has alerady been updated. The update process will end".

My firmware version is 1.0/1.09/2.00 btw.

Not sure what the heck the problem was, but everything seems fine again.
pclausen is offline  
post #277 of 5103 Old 04-15-2006, 02:34 PM
AVS Special Member
 
MarcusInMD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Posts: 1,253
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hmm,

hearing alot of "not knock your socks off" here in this thread. I will wait until we hear from some REAL 1080P displays owners before I pass judgement. My guess is that if you own a 720p display device, you might not get the full effects from HD-DVD or blu-ray (YES, REAL 1080p displays DO MAKE A DIFFERENCE)

My Ruby is waiting for one of the two above in a few months if PQ is better than what I am hearing in this thread so far. I expect BR and HD-DVD quality with regards to image to be about the same with no real advantage over the other expect perhaps the BR players that can output 1080p.
MarcusInMD is offline  
post #278 of 5103 Old 04-15-2006, 02:35 PM
AVS Special Member
 
steviec's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: the great northwest
Posts: 1,525
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by pclausen View Post

My player started working again and I checked that the clock was set correctly and it was. I then went in and attempted a firmware update, but after a while it came back with the message "The software has alerady been updated. The update process will end".

My firmware version is 1.0/1.09/2.00 btw.

Not sure what the heck the problem was, but everything seems fine again.

Pclausen:Please tell us about your experience trying to get a firmware update,what site did you connect to for this?
steviec is offline  
post #279 of 5103 Old 04-15-2006, 02:36 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Ken H's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 1999
Location: Metro Detroit
Posts: 45,876
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by HDTVwannabe View Post

Watched the best scenes off my SD-DVD Superbit version of Spidey2 and maybe I should have selected the Film option in the setup's video menu - instead of left at Auto(?) - because the PQ didn't exactly "wow" me.

In fact, it looked pretty soft most the time. Connected to my Panny 42PX50U via HDMI, outputting at 1080i.

You mean all my existing DVD's won't look like HD DVD? What a drag....

'Better Living Through Modern, Expensive, Electronic Devices'

Ken H is offline  
post #280 of 5103 Old 04-15-2006, 02:37 PM
AVS Special Member
 
thaxx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Gainesville. Fla.
Posts: 1,001
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Massimo N View Post

Mike, did you figure out the cause? Are you connecting via HDMI or Component?


HDMI
I want to find out how others are seeing it.

Mike
thaxx is offline  
post #281 of 5103 Old 04-15-2006, 02:40 PM
boo
AVS Special Member
 
boo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Metro Detroit
Posts: 1,916
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by MarcusInMD View Post

Hmm,hearing alot of "not knock your socks off" here in this thread.

Since most of us do not have Hd-DVD discs it will be hard to get that kind of a review.
boo is offline  
post #282 of 5103 Old 04-15-2006, 02:40 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Larry Sutliff's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Philadelphia
Posts: 1,094
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Just out of curiousity, does anyone here have the player connected to a DVI input? Wondering how the player does in the HDMI to DVI handshake.
Larry Sutliff is offline  
post #283 of 5103 Old 04-15-2006, 02:41 PM
Senior Member
 
Aaron Davis's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: New Castle, IN
Posts: 252
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by thaxx View Post

HDMI
I want to find out how others are seeing it.

Have you tried changing output res on the remote? Some people have reported 1080i looking better than 720p on 729p and other stuff, so try them all!
Aaron Davis is offline  
post #284 of 5103 Old 04-15-2006, 02:41 PM
Senior Member
 
Rob79's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Canada
Posts: 249
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
There was a poster a few pages back that said he has his hooked up with HDMI-DVI and it works great. So no worries there! >
Rob79 is offline  
post #285 of 5103 Old 04-15-2006, 02:42 PM
AVS Special Member
 
lovswr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: St. Petersburg, FL
Posts: 1,545
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 10 Post(s)
Liked: 18
Quote:
Originally Posted by pclausen View Post

I tried that just now but it didn't make a difference.

I wonder if it got de-authorized somehow being that I have it connected to my LAN which in turn is connected to the Internet? I didn't check the clock yet which I see is one of the first things you are supposed to do...

Actaully, since you have verified that it has some "standard" pc components inside, it might have some form of "kill/tamper" protection as well. Or it could be as you say & it just "phoned home" realized that you are a few days early & shut down. If she comes back up 1 minute after midnight on the 18th, then we will know that the Illuminati are in charge!

carry on with your HD-Lite Directv loving banter! <--Comedy Gold
Don't fall for the HDMI 1.3 Hype!
PSN = lovswr
XBOX Live = lovswr
lovswr is offline  
post #286 of 5103 Old 04-15-2006, 02:42 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Larry Sutliff's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Philadelphia
Posts: 1,094
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Rob79 View Post

There was a poster a few pages back that said he has his hooked up with HDMI-DVI and it works great. So no worries there! >



Cool, thanks!
Larry Sutliff is offline  
post #287 of 5103 Old 04-15-2006, 02:43 PM
AVS Special Member
 
pclausen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Charlottesville, VA
Posts: 1,036
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 22
This thing has 1Gig of DDR 333 RAM:



And this is the message you get when upgrading the firmware:

pclausen is offline  
post #288 of 5103 Old 04-15-2006, 02:43 PM
AVS Special Member
 
HDTVwannabe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Muscatine, Iowa, USA
Posts: 1,977
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by boo View Post

Maybe it is because it is not a HD Disc, just because it up-converts does not mean it will look any where near HD.

\\
Just trying to relay some info on an upconversion trial. I'll keep to myself in the future. No biggie.

HD-DVD + Blu-ray = An all-inclusive HD home movie viewing experience.
HDTVwannabe is offline  
post #289 of 5103 Old 04-15-2006, 02:44 PM
AVS Special Member
 
RWetmore's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Brick, New Jersey
Posts: 3,298
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 102 Post(s)
Liked: 83
I'm watching Last Samurai and my Sony 30XS955. I compared the PQ to the standard DVD, and the HD-DVD is clearer. I'd say about 25-50% better than the DVD. The problem is this particular film has a consistent fine film grain on it, which reduces its overall clarity.

I have seen clearer PQ via my digital cable with some sporting events.

I'm anxious to hear from people who are watching these first releases on large 1080p displays.
RWetmore is online now  
post #290 of 5103 Old 04-15-2006, 02:45 PM
Member
 
automata's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Anaheim, CA
Posts: 187
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
After seeing all of these posts of people getting the HD-A1 today I decided to go down to BB to see if I could get one. I checked the dvd player area but I did not see any so I asked an employee who then asked another employee. He told me they couldn't sell them yet. Before I could try and convince him to sell me one, he asked me to wait as he went to the back. After he left I noticed 3 HD-A1's sitting on the overstock shelf above the DVD players. When he came back I pointed them out and he said "I know, I'll get one down for you." SCORE!!

I couldn't get any movies though. Here it is sitting on the trunk of my car.

automata is offline  
post #291 of 5103 Old 04-15-2006, 02:46 PM
AVS Special Member
 
jones07's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: Phila Pa.
Posts: 4,851
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by MarcusInMD View Post

(YES, REAL 1080p displays DO MAKE A DIFFERENCE)
.

At this point in time that statement is just a opinion

WeÂre doomed. It will never work
jones07 is offline  
post #292 of 5103 Old 04-15-2006, 02:47 PM
Member
 
PerHT's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Norway
Posts: 111
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ken H View Post

You mean all my existing DVD's won't look like HD DVD? What a drag....

Hey, would you expect that a 9gig DVD would equal a 15 or 30gig HD-DVD? Well then, why bother buying High Def content??

Btw, you can get a dvd player that upconverts your DVD's to 1080p, if you'd like that.. But you will not gain anything in terms of PQ, if your scaler in PJ=>Scaler in DVD player.

Per
PerHT is offline  
post #293 of 5103 Old 04-15-2006, 02:49 PM
AVS Special Member
 
pclausen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Charlottesville, VA
Posts: 1,036
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 22
Quote:
Originally Posted by steviec View Post

Pclausen:Please tell us about your experience trying to get a firmware update,what site did you connect to for this?

The player doesn't really tell you what site it connects to. During the update process, you see this on the screen:



And after about 30 seconds, I get the message:

pclausen is offline  
post #294 of 5103 Old 04-15-2006, 02:51 PM
Senior Member
 
Greg Black's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 248
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I hope we'll be able to see some DVD vs. HD DVD screenshots soon Especially Serenity and The Last Samurai.
Greg Black is offline  
post #295 of 5103 Old 04-15-2006, 02:52 PM
Senior Member
 
Aaron Davis's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: New Castle, IN
Posts: 252
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by PerHT View Post

Hey, would you expect that a 9gig DVD would equal a 15 or 30gig HD-DVD? Well then, why bother buying High Def content??

Btw, you can get a dvd player that upconverts your DVD's to 1080p, if you'd like that.. But you will not gain anything in terms of PQ, if your scaler in PJ=>Scaler in DVD player.

Per

I believe that was sarcasm...
Aaron Davis is offline  
post #296 of 5103 Old 04-15-2006, 02:52 PM
AVS Special Member
 
skogan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Koror, Palau
Posts: 4,415
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by RWetmore View Post

I'm watching Last Samurai and my Sony 30XS955. I compared the PQ to the standard DVD, and the HD-DVD is clearer. I'd say about 25-50% better than the DVD. The problem is this particular film has a consistent fine film grain on it, which reduces its overall clarity.

I have seen clearer PQ via my digital cable with some sporting events.

I'm anxious to hear from people who are watching these first releases on large 1080p displays.

Can you find any sort of compression artifacts in TLS? Or do you believe that your copy on HD DVD is pretty much indistinguishable from the master?
skogan is offline  
post #297 of 5103 Old 04-15-2006, 02:53 PM
AVS Special Member
 
bferr1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Somewhere in the back of my mind
Posts: 3,388
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Aaron Davis View Post

Have you tried changing output res on the remote? Some people have reported 1080i looking better than 720p on 729p and other stuff, so try them all!

I can corroborate this: 1080i looks better than 720p on my Mits 52725 720p DLP. 720p looks softer, and you can see the difference right away in the FBI logo warning screen on the Samurai HD DVD.
bferr1 is offline  
post #298 of 5103 Old 04-15-2006, 02:54 PM
AVS Special Member
 
nataraj's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2000
Location: WA
Posts: 8,020
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by PerHT View Post

Hey, would you expect that a 9gig DVD would equal a 15 or 30gig HD-DVD? Well then, why bother buying High Def content??

LOL. BTW, Ken is joking ...
nataraj is offline  
post #299 of 5103 Old 04-15-2006, 02:55 PM
Senior Member
 
Massimo N's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Ontario, Canada
Posts: 349
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by RWetmore View Post

I'm watching Last Samurai and my Sony 30XS955. I compared the PQ to the standard DVD, and the HD-DVD is clearer. I'd say about 25-50% better than the DVD. The problem is this particular film has a consistent fine film grain on it, which reduces its overall clarity.

I have seen clearer PQ via my digital cable with some sporting events.

I'm anxious to hear from people who are watching these first releases on large 1080p displays.

I think this might be some of what we are hearing. The movie is only as good as the source and how it was shot. Not every movie is going to be as sharp and vibrant as movies as "The Fast and the Furious" or computer animation "Toy Story".

I think we'll have a different opinion once Chronos is released to showcase off the technology ... Super Vibrant, High Detail, Sharply Focused
Massimo N is offline  
post #300 of 5103 Old 04-15-2006, 02:55 PM
Advanced Member
 
Rockokma's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: San Diego
Posts: 570
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
why does it say 16x9 on the back but still show bars, I don't know too much about aspect ratios btw.
Rockokma is offline  
Reply HD DVD Players

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off