Tosh Hd-xa1 User Thread & LINK to FAQ - Page 4 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #91 of 1863 Old 04-22-2006, 12:58 PM
AVS Club Gold
 
joerod's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: MIDWEST (just outside Chicago)
Posts: 22,084
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 65 Post(s)
Liked: 106
Well, with the added resolution making a crisp, clear picture and nicely saturated colors the blacks are bound to look nicer as well. Even if it is an illusion, it is a very nice one indeed. The darkers scenes in these movies are so clear they are scary. Just wait til we get our first slasher flick. Now that will be even more scary...

Build your own Concession Stand Counter for cheap! Search -> Joe Rod Home Theater .Com

Check out these new Lighted Cup Holders:
http://hstrial-jrodriguez996.homeste...=1402680301175
joerod is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #92 of 1863 Old 04-22-2006, 01:09 PM
Member
 
megalopav's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 74
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by skw549 View Post

3. Next played one of my Indian languages (Telugu) movie DVD. The DVD is basically good quality.

Athadu?
Chatrapathi?
Sri Anjaneyam?
Okkadu??

what type of display do you have? (curious to know what Telugu DVD's look like on diff displays/equipment)
megalopav is offline  
post #93 of 1863 Old 04-22-2006, 01:30 PM
AVS Special Member
 
mobius's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Posts: 1,898
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 16
Quote:
Originally Posted by BenDover View Post

maybe at some point i will get the kahunas to pop open the case, but for now, no kahunas

now if we can just get pclausen to buy an XA1, then we would be set (pclause, don't post A1 pics, get the XA1! )


C'mon dude, you know you want to.

Seriously though, if I knew that the XA1 had the "-7" chip, I'd buy it instead. There wouldn't be a firmware 1080p guarantee, but at least the capability is there.

"War is an ugly thing, but not the ugliest of things. The decayed and degraded state of moral and patriotic feeling that thinks that nothing is worth war is much worse. The person who has nothing for which he is willing to fight, nothing which is more important than his own personal safety, is a...
mobius is offline  
post #94 of 1863 Old 04-22-2006, 01:49 PM
AVS Club Gold
 
Art Sonneborn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: Battle Creek,MI USA
Posts: 22,302
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 12 Post(s)
Liked: 44
Quote:
Originally Posted by Tango22 View Post

Last night I finally had a chance to sit down and watch an entire movie (Serenity) on my XA1 that I picked up on Thursday. It's connected via HDMI to a Sammy HL-R6768W (calibrated by Eliab). I've always thought that my set looked fantastic with HD programming from DirecTV and standard DVDs up-converted with my Sony 3100ES. When Eliab finished the calibration of my Sammy a few months back, he told me that I haven't seen anything yet...wait until I see HD-DVD or BluRay on it. Last night was the best that my set has EVER looked. I had no idea that my DLP was capable of producing a picture like this. The detail and depth that I witnessed on the screen was phenomenal. I've read that Serenity has the worst picture quality of all of the recent releases. If that's the case, I can't wait to see what the other discs (and future releases) will look like. The sound was no slouch either!



I'm afraid that it's going to be extremely difficult to watch standard DVDs from this point on. We need more releases!

I agree the space scenes and some of the chase stuff were the cleansest sharpest images I've ever seen period. Today I compared it to I Robot on DTheater and the FX looked better ! I had made some earlier comments the first time I saw it that talked about it being a little soft and it was some of the live action shots that were slightly out of focus etc. This may ultimately not be a reference title but it is spectacular none the less !

Art

My HT


iRule rules my theater
 

"If she's amazing she won't be easy,if she's easy she won't be amazing"

 

Bob Marley

Art Sonneborn is offline  
post #95 of 1863 Old 04-22-2006, 03:03 PM
Senior Member
 
Tango22's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Princeton, NJ
Posts: 284
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Art Sonneborn View Post

I agree the space scenes and some of the chase stuff were the cleansest sharpest images I've ever seen period. Today I compared it to I Robot on DTheater and the FX looked better ! I had made some earlier comments the first time I saw it that talked about it being a little soft and it was some of the live action shots that were slightly out of focus etc. This may ultimately not be a reference title but it is spectacular none the less !

Art

YES...especially the space scenes. The scene where Serenity is flying through the fleet of Reaver ships (1Hr and 12 minutes in) is crazy!! I couldn't believe the detail in the ships! Jaw-dropping...
Tango22 is offline  
post #96 of 1863 Old 04-22-2006, 03:22 PM
Newbie
 
skw549's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 5
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by megalopav View Post

Athadu?
Chatrapathi?
Sri Anjaneyam?
Okkadu??

what type of display do you have? (curious to know what Telugu DVD's look like on diff displays/equipment)


I played only one Telugu movie so far "Nijam". I have Pioneer Elite 1130HD
skw549 is offline  
post #97 of 1863 Old 04-22-2006, 03:29 PM
AVS Special Member
 
BenDover's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: NY
Posts: 5,331
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Guys, anyone else here been tempted to accidentally take the DVD Forum demo disc that some BBs have running?

Man, I would even pay for that demo disc...some GREAT stuff on there...my wife was wondering why my quick Home Depot run took so long

I couldn't walk away, I wanted to see all the movies that are coming out soon...the Serenity disc had an insert with a bunch of upcoming titles as well.

And, OMFG, did Kong look spectacular.

I read about people seeing a demo disc but never personally saw it and thought most of the references were to the "intro" on the WB discs...
BenDover is offline  
post #98 of 1863 Old 04-22-2006, 06:54 PM
Member
 
megalopav's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 74
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by skw549 View Post

I played only one Telugu movie so far "Nijam". I have Pioneer Elite 1130HD

You should check out the titles I mentioned. Other than Okkadu, the rest have 24fps progressive flags!
megalopav is offline  
post #99 of 1863 Old 04-23-2006, 08:25 AM
TWD
AVS Special Member
 
TWD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 1999
Posts: 1,373
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 32
Does the player upconvert standard DVDs and does it have a zoom feature?

TWD
TWD is offline  
post #100 of 1863 Old 04-23-2006, 08:25 AM
Senior Member
 
powerdog's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Vermont
Posts: 367
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Is the XA1 remote same design as the A1 but with backlight, or different/better?
powerdog is offline  
post #101 of 1863 Old 04-23-2006, 09:06 AM
 
DTV TiVo Dealer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Scarsdale, NY
Posts: 4,878
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by TWD View Post

Does the player upconvert standard DVDs and does it have a zoom feature?

Yes, it does a great gob of up-converting SD DVDs through its HDMI connection.

The Zoom is 2x/4x/8x.

-Robert
DTV TiVo Dealer is offline  
post #102 of 1863 Old 04-23-2006, 09:08 AM
 
DTV TiVo Dealer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Scarsdale, NY
Posts: 4,878
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by powerdog View Post

Is the XA1 remote same design as the A1 but with backlight, or different/better?

The remotes are exactly the same. The XA1 is motion sensored to activate the back-light. Very useful in a dark room.

-Robert
DTV TiVo Dealer is offline  
post #103 of 1863 Old 04-23-2006, 09:46 AM
AVS Special Member
 
gosawx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: other side of MA
Posts: 1,027
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Or backlit manually, the unused button above the "A" on the A1 remote is labelled backilight
gosawx is offline  
post #104 of 1863 Old 04-23-2006, 01:54 PM
Senior Member
 
Gary16's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Cleveland, Ohio, USA
Posts: 305
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 11
First the good news. I fired up my XA1 using HDMI with my JVC HD-2K projector and watched "Serenity." It looked terrific. Picture was sharp, colors were vibrant, no video noise or chroma noise, no dropouts, etc. Looks the equal of D-Theatre and broadcast HD so far.

Problem: I wanted to use the 5.1 analog outputs into my Lexicon processor. I went into the XA1's speaker settings menu and set the proper sizes and distances for my speakers and then went to the settings for speaker levels with the automatic test tone. I clicked on the automatic test tone and it went immediately to the left speaker with tone which I was then able to adjust. However, when I then tried to go to any of the other speakers the test tone would go away. I tried several times (including rebooting the XA1) with the same results. I can only hear a test tone from the front left speaker. The others go silent and the "automatic test tone" light goes off. Has anyone else had this problem? Perhaps I missed it elsewhere in the forum. Since I couldn't set the balance, I listened to the movie with through the optical out converted to DTS 5.1 which sounded very good to my ears (with a powerful low end).
Gary16 is offline  
post #105 of 1863 Old 04-23-2006, 02:24 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Josh Z's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Planet Boston, source of the spice, Melange.
Posts: 20,043
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 256 Post(s)
Liked: 343
Quote:
Originally Posted by Gary16 View Post

Problem: I wanted to use the 5.1 analog outputs into my Lexicon processor. I went into the XA1's speaker settings menu and set the proper sizes and distances for my speakers and then went to the settings for speaker levels with the automatic test tone. I clicked on the automatic test tone and it went immediately to the left speaker with tone which I was then able to adjust. However, when I then tried to go to any of the other speakers the test tone would go away. I tried several times (including rebooting the XA1) with the same results. I can only hear a test tone from the front left speaker. The others go silent and the "automatic test tone" light goes off.

The test tones will automatically cycle through all of the speakers if you leave them be. If you try to manually move to the next speaker, the test tones turn off.

It's a little annoying, but it will work.

Josh Z
Writer/Editor, High-Def Digest (Blog updated daily!)
Curator, Laserdisc Forever

My opinions are my own, and do not necessarily reflect those of my employers.

Josh Z is offline  
post #106 of 1863 Old 04-23-2006, 02:30 PM
 
quickfire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: NorthEast Tennessee
Posts: 1,381
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by TWD View Post

Does the player upconvert standard DVDs and does it have a zoom feature?

O my GOODNESS
quickfire is offline  
post #107 of 1863 Old 04-23-2006, 03:24 PM
Advanced Member
 
nhey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: Highland Park, NJ
Posts: 703
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by DTV TiVo Dealer View Post

Yes, it does a great gob of up-converting SD DVDs through its HDMI connection.

The Zoom is 2x/4x/8x.

-Robert



How do you activate the Zoom function? Can't find it mentioned anywhere in the HD-A1 manual.
nhey is offline  
post #108 of 1863 Old 04-23-2006, 04:15 PM
AVS Club Gold
 
aaronwt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Northern VA(Woodbridge)
Posts: 21,234
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 527 Post(s)
Liked: 674
Quote:
Originally Posted by nhey View Post

How do you activate the Zoom function? Can't find it mentioned anywhere in the HD-A1 manual.

I know it's the "A" button for HD DVDs. I don't know about SD DVDs.

39TB unRAID1--53TB unRAID2--36TB unRAID3
LED DLP
XBL/PSN: WormholeXtreme

aaronwt is online now  
post #109 of 1863 Old 04-23-2006, 05:51 PM
Senior Member
 
Gary16's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Cleveland, Ohio, USA
Posts: 305
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by Josh Z View Post

The test tones will automatically cycle through all of the speakers if you leave them be. If you try to manually move to the next speaker, the test tones turn off.

It's a little annoying, but it will work.


Many thanks!
Gary16 is offline  
post #110 of 1863 Old 04-24-2006, 11:31 AM
AVS Special Member
 
YoungC55's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 1,282
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Gosh, Tango22's and Art Sonneborn 's post in this page makes me want to buy the HD-XA1 . Ohh well.

Dual core processor or HD-DVD :P
YoungC55 is offline  
post #111 of 1863 Old 04-24-2006, 12:16 PM
AVS Club Gold
 
joerod's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: MIDWEST (just outside Chicago)
Posts: 22,084
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 65 Post(s)
Liked: 106
I would get the XA1. It is really a nice piece of equipment. The motorized door is a neat option. And the remote is easy to read since it lights up quickly. We like a darkened room, so this is a bonus...

Build your own Concession Stand Counter for cheap! Search -> Joe Rod Home Theater .Com

Check out these new Lighted Cup Holders:
http://hstrial-jrodriguez996.homeste...=1402680301175
joerod is offline  
post #112 of 1863 Old 04-25-2006, 06:12 AM - Thread Starter
Advanced Member
 
Nats's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 565
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Played my first SD DVD last night on this puppy.
Looks quite good, less blocking then my Denon 3910 but it took a long time, and a few tries for the player to recognize the disc (over and above the usual 1 min. load time). Player kept trying to find a disc, but could'nt. It finally read it after pulling the disc out, and pressing play after closing the tray drawer.
Havent tried any other discs yet. The HD discs play automaticly when you close the drawer.
When I get home today, I'm going to try loading several different discs to see if the problem repeats.
Is anyone else having trouble with loading SD DVD's ?
Nats is offline  
post #113 of 1863 Old 04-25-2006, 06:48 AM
AVS Special Member
 
bferr1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Somewhere in the back of my mind
Posts: 3,388
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
No problems here, Nats, and I've tried store-bought DVDs, as well as burned DVD+Rs and DVD+R DLs. Haven't tried any rewritables, yet, though.
bferr1 is offline  
post #114 of 1863 Old 04-25-2006, 08:26 AM - Thread Starter
Advanced Member
 
Nats's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 565
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by bferr1 View Post

No problems here, Nats, and I've tried store-bought DVDs, as well as burned DVD+Rs and DVD+R DLs. Haven't tried any rewritables, yet, though.

Hmmm! I guess it's just me
I will play with it more when I get home.
Havent had much time, and I would still like to take some pics of the inside of this thing and post them.
Nats is offline  
post #115 of 1863 Old 04-25-2006, 08:28 AM
AVS Special Member
 
bferr1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Somewhere in the back of my mind
Posts: 3,388
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Some people are saying it's the brand of blanks you use that might make a difference. I use Verbatim for my dual-layers.
bferr1 is offline  
post #116 of 1863 Old 04-25-2006, 09:10 AM
AVS Club Gold
 
joerod's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: MIDWEST (just outside Chicago)
Posts: 22,084
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 65 Post(s)
Liked: 106
I haven't had any issues either playing SD dvds... I would definitely experiment with other dvds as soon as you can...

Build your own Concession Stand Counter for cheap! Search -> Joe Rod Home Theater .Com

Check out these new Lighted Cup Holders:
http://hstrial-jrodriguez996.homeste...=1402680301175
joerod is offline  
post #117 of 1863 Old 04-25-2006, 10:37 AM
Advanced Member
 
JayF's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2000
Location: Minneapolis, MN
Posts: 957
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I'm about to pick up the XA1 at a local retailer... just came in today. Wondering what the current thinking is on buying an extended warranty for this model.
JayF is offline  
post #118 of 1863 Old 04-25-2006, 11:29 AM
Advanced Member
 
rjruby's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Nazareth, PA, USA
Posts: 512
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 15
Quote:
Originally Posted by bferr1 View Post

No problems here, Nats, and I've tried store-bought DVDs, as well as burned DVD+Rs and DVD+R DLs. Haven't tried any rewritables, yet, though.


Strange.

The Toshiba web site indicates the following:
Disc Playback: HD-DVD/HD DVD-R/DVD/DVD-R/DVD-RAM/DVD-RW/CD/CD-R/CD-RW/

+Rs aren't listed.
rjruby is offline  
post #119 of 1863 Old 04-25-2006, 11:34 AM
AVS Special Member
 
bferr1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Somewhere in the back of my mind
Posts: 3,388
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
+R format isn't officially recognized by the DVD Forum; only the -R format. Compatibility with +R is a given, but not a documented and promoted feature.
bferr1 is offline  
post #120 of 1863 Old 04-25-2006, 01:02 PM
AVS Club Gold
 
joerod's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: MIDWEST (just outside Chicago)
Posts: 22,084
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 65 Post(s)
Liked: 106
Warranties are really insurance. I would rather gamble with the manufacturer's warranty than spend extra for something that might not be used. That extra money could by more HD DVDs...

Build your own Concession Stand Counter for cheap! Search -> Joe Rod Home Theater .Com

Check out these new Lighted Cup Holders:
http://hstrial-jrodriguez996.homeste...=1402680301175
joerod is offline  
Reply HD DVD Players

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off