Pictures of the inside of HD-DVD player? - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 27 Old 08-17-2006, 10:59 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
ResOGlas's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 2,364
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I was curious if any of you brave souls have opened up your HD-DVD player and taken pictures? From what I understand there is a Pentium 4 processor and PC Memory inside? Does anyone know what type of memory? It would be neat if we could replace the RAM and cut back on bootup times, I guess it all depends on the maximum amount of memory the motherboard supports.
ResOGlas is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 27 Old 08-17-2006, 11:21 AM
AVS Special Member
 
BenDover's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: NY
Posts: 5,331
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
search for postings by pclausen starting around april 18th
BenDover is offline  
post #3 of 27 Old 08-17-2006, 11:26 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
ResOGlas's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 2,364
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by BenDover
search for postings by pclausen starting around april 18th
I didn't see any posts he made with pics?
ResOGlas is offline  
post #4 of 27 Old 08-17-2006, 11:41 AM
AVS Special Member
 
BenDover's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: NY
Posts: 5,331
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
http://www.avsforum.com/avs-vb/searc...4&pp=30&page=2

click on that and start with his 4/15/06 post...
BenDover is offline  
post #5 of 27 Old 08-17-2006, 11:47 AM
AVS Special Member
 
obie_fl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Location: SpaceCoast, FL
Posts: 1,951
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6 Post(s)
Liked: 31
Direct Link to pics.

Tom


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
obie_fl is offline  
post #6 of 27 Old 08-17-2006, 01:04 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
ResOGlas's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 2,364
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Ok, so it's using a 1GB DDR-333 PC2700 notebook memory module. Too bad there's only 1 slot for memory since 1GB is as large as they sell that memory.
http://www.cstone.net/~dk/hda1pcb.jpg
http://www.cstone.net/~dk/hda1ram.jpg
ResOGlas is offline  
post #7 of 27 Old 08-17-2006, 10:16 PM
Member
 
DIGITAL~DAN's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 27
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
hey ResOGlas check out this video on the hda1 I found on the net

Click here to see the video.
DIGITAL~DAN is offline  
post #8 of 27 Old 08-17-2006, 11:23 PM
Senior Member
 
RojasTKD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 443
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 14
Ummm... click where?

Apears to be no link.
RojasTKD is offline  
post #9 of 27 Old 08-18-2006, 08:38 AM
Senior Member
 
Earlydoptr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Delran, N.J.
Posts: 224
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by RojasTKD
Ummm... click where?

Apears to be no link.
You didn't see it ? It was a subliminal flash video . There it goes again . The dog is saying "must watch HD DVD"
Earlydoptr is offline  
post #10 of 27 Old 08-18-2006, 09:57 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Vasim Pathan's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2000
Posts: 1,281
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 7 Post(s)
Liked: 11
so thats whats inside? how come the sucker weighs 25 pounds?
Vasim Pathan is online now  
post #11 of 27 Old 08-18-2006, 10:36 AM
Senior Member
 
gsearles's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Rothesay, New Brunswick, Canada
Posts: 420
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Home Theater Magazine also dissected one with some great pictures 1 or 2 months back.

Greg

Greg


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
gsearles is offline  
post #12 of 27 Old 08-18-2006, 11:07 AM
Member
 
lduguay's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Montreal, Canada
Posts: 175
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hmm, 25 pounds...Copper heat-pipe, aluminum heat sink and fans adds a bit of weight, but the bulk of the weight has to be the case.
lduguay is offline  
post #13 of 27 Old 08-18-2006, 11:11 AM
Member
 
lduguay's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Montreal, Canada
Posts: 175
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hey ResOGlas, i am curious why you would add memory to the A1. Like you said, there is no SODIMM DDR memory >1GB.
lduguay is offline  
post #14 of 27 Old 08-18-2006, 02:00 PM
Member
 
ascully's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 66
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Here is a link to the HTM article with pictures

http://hometheatermag.com/gearworks/806gear/
ascully is offline  
post #15 of 27 Old 08-18-2006, 04:18 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Joe Q's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2000
Location: Annapolis,MD
Posts: 3,032
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by lduguay
Hey ResOGlas, i am curious why you would add memory to the A1. Like you said, there is no SODIMM DDR memory >1GB.
Thinking of messing with the Linux code on the USB Flash:)
Joe Q is offline  
post #16 of 27 Old 08-18-2006, 04:22 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Q of BanditZ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: blurayoasis.com
Posts: 15,242
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I wish I could upgrade that PC hardware... I'm just enough of a PC DIY'er that I feel that itch... ;)

Great ISF Job by Chad B.
Q of BanditZ is offline  
post #17 of 27 Old 08-18-2006, 04:31 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
DaveFi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Natick MA
Posts: 17,175
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 26
Quote:
Originally Posted by ResOGlas
Ok, so it's using a 1GB DDR-333 PC2700 notebook memory module. Too bad there's only 1 slot for memory since 1GB is as large as they sell that memory.
What would you do with more memory in a standalone player?:confused:

XBOX Live: Wagmman
PSN: Wagg
BFBC2: Wagman
Steam: Wag

My Second Life character looks and acts exactly like me except he can fly.
DaveFi is offline  
post #18 of 27 Old 08-18-2006, 04:41 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Q of BanditZ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: blurayoasis.com
Posts: 15,242
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by DaveFi
What would you do with more memory in a standalone player?:confused:
I would think it would yield you faster response and load times, for one...

Great ISF Job by Chad B.
Q of BanditZ is offline  
post #19 of 27 Old 08-18-2006, 04:45 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
ResOGlas's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 2,364
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I was hoping that there would be an expansion slot or that the memory module wouldn't be the the best one available in that specific frequency. All in all I was just keeping my fingers crossed that there would be a way for us to upgrade our players and minimalize boot-up time.
ResOGlas is offline  
post #20 of 27 Old 08-18-2006, 05:34 PM
AVS Special Member
 
angelo913's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Canada
Posts: 1,237
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Q of BanditZ
I would think it would yield you faster response and load times, for one...
Why? Is it swapping data from the USB Disk? I doubt it. This player has to only play one HD-DVD movie at a time, I would even think 1GB or ram is over kill for this task.

I think the bottleneck is the Flash BIOS chip as the USB 2.0 connection is fast. Anyone know the throughput of the chip used?

As for processor used it isn't a "regular" P4 it's based on the P4-M core that is more efficient per clock cycle and generates less heat than a regular P4. Therefore the 2.5Ghz P4-M with single-channel PC2700 will outperform a 2.5 P4 with dual-channel DDR PC3200. Also, the current Core-Dual is based on the P4-M core NOT the P4.

...Angelo

2x HD-XA2 firmware 3.0
1x HD-A1 firmware 3.0
HD DVD movies: 141
angelo913 is offline  
post #21 of 27 Old 08-19-2006, 07:22 AM
Member
 
lduguay's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Montreal, Canada
Posts: 175
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
The Flash module is made by M-Systems, a mModule uDoc (Disc on Chip)
It has a USB 2.0 interface and is able to boot Linux (and other OS)
It can read up to 13MB/sec and 7MB/Sec writing.
I am pretty sure this is part of the bottleneck. Any hard disk (SATA or IDE) now read at >50MB/sec.
Obviously, 2 GB of memory will certainly not improve the boot time.
LL
lduguay is offline  
post #22 of 27 Old 08-19-2006, 07:50 AM
Member
 
lduguay's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Montreal, Canada
Posts: 175
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Joe Q
Thinking of messing with the Linux code on the USB Flash:)
Hmm, the mModule uDoc uses access control and data encryption with PKI. So messing around with the module itself is pretty much useless. I guess the easiest way would be to burn the appropriate code to a CD or by phishing the FTP stream , when upgrading the player from the maintenance menu. Then again, without the original source code, it could be an extremely complex task to rewrite custom code. If the original source code 'leaks' somewhere, then everything is possible. If the code was outsourced from China or India, it could showup sometime. ;)
lduguay is offline  
post #23 of 27 Old 08-19-2006, 08:00 AM
Member
 
lduguay's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Montreal, Canada
Posts: 175
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
If you want to wipe clean the mModule, check this out
http://www.m-sys.com/Files/download/...ot_Package.zip
Then flash your own code...
I guess you would buy another uDoc module and keep the original one is a safe store.
lduguay is offline  
post #24 of 27 Old 08-19-2006, 08:07 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Joe Q's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2000
Location: Annapolis,MD
Posts: 3,032
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by lduguay
Hmm, the mModule uDoc uses access control and data encryption with PKI. So messing around with the module itself is pretty much useless.
You kind of lost me there.

The fellow that opened his machine took the USB module and plugged it into a PC.

It is running Linux and I saw no sign of any encryption as you can see in the enclosed link:

http://geekswithblogs.net/lorint/arc.../05/77332.aspx
Joe Q is offline  
post #25 of 27 Old 08-19-2006, 08:17 AM
Member
 
lduguay's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Montreal, Canada
Posts: 175
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Good find Joe Q.
I guess Toshiba did not use any access control or encryption. I know the module itself is able to use PKI, probably for other uses, such as banking or other security devices.
lduguay is offline  
post #26 of 27 Old 08-19-2006, 11:16 AM
AVS Special Member
 
angelo913's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Canada
Posts: 1,237
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by lduguay
The Flash module is made by M-Systems, a mModule uDoc (Disc on Chip)
It has a USB 2.0 interface and is able to boot Linux (and other OS)
It can read up to 13MB/sec and 7MB/Sec writing.
I am pretty sure this is part of the bottleneck. Any hard disk (SATA or IDE) now read at >50MB/sec.
Obviously, 2 GB of memory will certainly not improve the boot time. :confused:
It looks like the PCBA has room for another chip. If they used a "dual-channel" set or 2 chips in parallel it would double the throughput to 26MB/s Read and 14MB/s Write that would cut the boot-times in half and also reduce the Upgrade time too.

I think the BIOS/Flash chip "upgrade" would speed-up boot times more than anything else, since some people are making a fuss about it. But then you still have DVD/HD-DVD load-times that are slower than DVD Players. which is related to the HD-DVD drive.

In my conclusion for faster Booting & Loading is upgrading to a faster USB Disk and faster HD-DVD drive is required to get the "full" effect. ;)

...Angelo

2x HD-XA2 firmware 3.0
1x HD-A1 firmware 3.0
HD DVD movies: 141
angelo913 is offline  
post #27 of 27 Old 08-20-2006, 08:34 AM
Member
 
lduguay's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Montreal, Canada
Posts: 175
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
The HD-DVD NEC drive takes around 21 seconds for media recognition alone. Only a drive firmware upgrade could help speed-up things.
I think the 2 chips module is able to read at 20MB/sec peak (according to the specs)
lduguay is offline  
Closed Thread HD DVD Players

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off