Tosh G2 HD-A2 and HD-XA2 information and discussion - Page 7 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #181 of 4928 Old 09-14-2006, 06:53 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Neo1965's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: CANADA!
Posts: 3,525
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Does the 1080P output on the XA2 send 1080P24 or 60? if 60, does that mean the frame repeats are 3222 for 24P disks?
Neo1965 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #182 of 4928 Old 09-14-2006, 07:01 PM
Super Moderator
 
markrubin's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: Jersey Shore
Posts: 22,765
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 60 Post(s)
Liked: 308
mod

please limit posts to the Toshiba G2 HD-A2 and HD-XA2 HD DVD Players

Thanks

Please take the high road in every post
Please do not quote or respond to problematic posts: report them to mods to handle
markrubin is online now  
post #183 of 4928 Old 09-14-2006, 07:01 PM
AVS Special Member
 
TrevorS's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 6,232
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by Neo1965 View Post

Does the 1080P output on the XA2 send 1080P24 or 60? if 60, does that mean the frame repeats are 3222 for 24P disks?

The only specs shown so far are by Robert and are early in this thread. First was 1080p24. Then came 1080p24/60.

I guess we're still awaiting verification on the p60 and he was going to try to find out if the p24 was actually native or regenerated. We probably won't learn anything more before sometime CEDIA Day 2.

-- Trevor
TrevorS is offline  
post #184 of 4928 Old 09-14-2006, 07:11 PM
AVS Special Member
 
muzz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: MA. USA
Posts: 2,254
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
I thought Tosh said that there were NO G2 players through the end of this year?

What happened there?

I want MY Cigarettes, MINE Nurse Ratched!!
Screen Pics
muzz is offline  
post #185 of 4928 Old 09-14-2006, 07:14 PM
AVS Special Member
 
b.greenway's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 3,332
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by muzz View Post

I thought Tosh said that there were NO G2 players through the end of this year?

What happened there?

We have not announced new players was how the original, oft misinterpreted quote went. Now they have.
b.greenway is offline  
post #186 of 4928 Old 09-14-2006, 07:35 PM
AVS Special Member
 
necrolop's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 1,323
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Id order right now, But Im just so scared its upscaling abilities wont be as good, possibly Im scared for nothing but hey.


As far as the 1080i vs 1080p talk.

If you take a 24p source, telecine it to 1080i then inverse telecine it back to a 24p source then pullup to 1080p60 if needed, all while in the digital domain(HDMI/DVI) then there is no difference, Theoredical nor Practical, and this is fact. So I wouldnt get worked up about it.

CROPPED < OAR < OPEN MATTE -- OOOOH I SAID IT!
necrolop is offline  
post #187 of 4928 Old 09-14-2006, 07:42 PM
AVS Special Member
 
metalsaber's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Western, Pennsylvania
Posts: 3,515
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 37 Post(s)
Liked: 90
So if I read all this correctly, there really isn't any improvement with the A2 over the A1 except that it loads in half the time?

Does that sum it up? The video output is the exact same right or is there a better video processor in this one? If not, I'm kind of disappointed. I'm not really sure what to do now.
metalsaber is offline  
post #188 of 4928 Old 09-14-2006, 07:42 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Rob Tomlin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: SoCal
Posts: 13,752
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by John Ballentine View Post

On my 2 SD DVD players - you can hit the stop button - or turn the power off. Turn the power on the next day - and the disc resumes right where you left off. You don't have to hit any buttons or bookmark anything. It's the player that does this. I understand the bookmark function on the HD-A1. But it's not the same. Guess I'm just spoiled by this feature.

It isn't the player. The software isn't encoded for it.

Try using the stop button on your SD player on a DVD-R that was recorded without chapter stops etc. It won't resume where you hit stop.
Rob Tomlin is offline  
post #189 of 4928 Old 09-14-2006, 07:46 PM
AVS Special Member
 
TrevorS's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 6,232
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by muzz View Post

I thought Tosh said that there were NO G2 players through the end of this year?

What happened there?

They never said that! In fact, it was pointed out over and over agan that they never said that! People choose to believe what they choose to believe -- what can one say?

-- Trevor
TrevorS is offline  
post #190 of 4928 Old 09-14-2006, 07:48 PM - Thread Starter
 
DTV TiVo Dealer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Scarsdale, NY
Posts: 4,878
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by necrolop View Post

Id order right now, But Im just so scared its upscaling abilities wont be as good, possibly Im scared for nothing but hey.


As far as the 1080i vs 1080p talk.

If you take a 24p source, telecine it to 1080i then inverse telecine it back to a 24p source then pullup to 1080p60 if needed, all while in the digital domain(HDMI/DVI) then there is no difference, Theoredical nor Practical, and this is fact. So I wouldnt get worked up about it.

Thank you this was also explained to me by a Toshiba senior engineer. But I am hoping to have another meeting tomorrow to get more details on the technical process of the XA2's 1080p output. However, rightfully so some folks are concerned due to the poor results from the Samsung Blu-ray BD-P1000 players.

Also the Resume Play feature should be in both G2 models and may even be in a future firmware upgrade for G1 players. For now I use the bookmarks to get back to where I left off.

-Robert
DTV TiVo Dealer is offline  
post #191 of 4928 Old 09-14-2006, 07:49 PM
Senior Member
 
SonyHD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Boston, MA
Posts: 377
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Can either of these players play the new three-layered HD-DVD disks? It does appear that the XA2 is the player to get, since it outputs 1080p and HDMI 1.3. Here's a question that I have been wondering about. My Samsung DLP has HDMI, so will that connection work with HDMI 1.3? I'm guessing it will but just not positive.
SonyHD is offline  
post #192 of 4928 Old 09-14-2006, 07:49 PM
AVS Special Member
 
muzz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: MA. USA
Posts: 2,254
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by TrevorS View Post

They never said that! In fact, it was pointed out over and over agan that they never said that! People choose to believe what they choose to believe -- what can one say?

-- Trevor

Are you attacking me?

I want MY Cigarettes, MINE Nurse Ratched!!
Screen Pics
muzz is offline  
post #193 of 4928 Old 09-14-2006, 07:52 PM
AVS Special Member
 
TrevorS's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 6,232
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by metalsaber View Post

So if I read all this correctly, there really isn't any improvement with the A2 over the A1 except that it loads in half the time?

Does that sum it up? The video output is the exact same right or is there a better video processor in this one? If not, I'm kind of disappointed. I'm not really sure what to do now.

Who said the A2 was supposed to be an upgrade for A1 owners? (I know at least one person who pointed out several times it wouldn't be!)

If you want to upgrade, you get an XA2, that's the upgrade for all three players. The A2 is for people who have yet to buy into HD-DVD, not for G1 owners. The A2 is the new entry level and it appears to be a nice box!

-- Trevor
TrevorS is offline  
post #194 of 4928 Old 09-14-2006, 07:53 PM - Thread Starter
 
DTV TiVo Dealer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Scarsdale, NY
Posts: 4,878
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
At the press conference Toshiba stressed the pq benefits of the 12 bit processor\\ exclusively in the new XA2. More bandwidth, more bits = better pq.

I would assume they put in the better Video DAC not just for specmanship.

-Robert
DTV TiVo Dealer is offline  
post #195 of 4928 Old 09-14-2006, 07:56 PM
AVS Special Member
 
rover2002's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Hong Kong
Posts: 2,690
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Can we expect enymore big announcements, or are they pretty much all made the first day?
Will.
rover2002 is offline  
post #196 of 4928 Old 09-14-2006, 07:56 PM
AVS Special Member
 
TrevorS's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 6,232
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by muzz View Post

Are you attacking me?

Not at all! I'm just saying that people kept reading things into what was said by the rep that were not actually said by her at all. That's the problem with reading things into what people say, it's very frequently off base.

-- Trevor
TrevorS is offline  
post #197 of 4928 Old 09-14-2006, 07:58 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Robert D's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 4,083
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by TrevorS View Post

Who said the A2 was supposed to be an upgrade for A1 owners? (I know at least one person who pointed out several times it wouldn't be!)

If you want to upgrade, you get an XA2, that's the upgrade for all three players. The A2 is for people who have yet to buy into HD-DVD, not for G1 owners. The A2 is the new entry level and it appears to be a nice box!

-- Trevor

So what good does HDMI 1.3 if there are no displays to take advantage of the expanded color or even if there were there is no software encoded with the information anyway? Also very few displays will accept 1080p/60 and even fewer 1080p/24 via HDMI so for most it buys us zip.
Robert D is offline  
post #198 of 4928 Old 09-14-2006, 08:04 PM
AVS Special Member
 
TrevorS's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 6,232
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by Robert D View Post

So what good does HDMI 1.3 if there are no displays to take advantage of the expanded color or even if there were there is no software encoded with the information anyway? Also very few displays will accept 1080p/60 and even fewer 1080p/24 via HDMI so for most it buys us zip.

You tell me. A number of people on this forum were clearly saying it should be there, so I presume they like it. My guess it's a combination of future compatibility, avoidance of leaving a gap with BR, plus a pinch of model differentiation.

For my purposes, 1.1 is fine for the forseeable future. You?

-- Trevor
TrevorS is offline  
post #199 of 4928 Old 09-14-2006, 08:06 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
jmpage2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 10,053
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 77
Quote:
Originally Posted by Robert D View Post

So what good does HDMI 1.3 if there are no displays to take advantage of the expanded color or even if there were there is no software encoded with the information anyway? Also very few displays will accept 1080p/60 and even fewer 1080p/24 via HDMI so for most it buys us zip.

I have no doubt that the X2 will have superior video processing capabilities and a few other things making it "worthwhile" for new owners or videophiles.

As to 1080p/24/60 and HDMI 1.3 it's primarily going to be there to shut up the blu-ray fan boys that won't shut up about how these things are a pre-requisite in any "serious" HD disc player.
jmpage2 is offline  
post #200 of 4928 Old 09-14-2006, 08:07 PM
AVS Special Member
 
raaj's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Near the lovely City by the Bay
Posts: 2,791
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 20 Post(s)
Liked: 48
Quote:
Originally Posted by DTV TiVo Dealer View Post

At the press conference Toshiba stressed the pq benefits of the 12 bit processor\\ exclusively in the new XA2. More bandwidth, more bits = better pq.

I would assume they put in the better Video DAC not just for specmanship.

-Robert

Robert,

What is your gut feeling about the announced upgrades?

Now,

1. HD-DVD has lost its price advantage compared to BR.
2. It is now saddled with a model that is not 1080p capable (the BBBs can continue their misinformation campaign)
3. Even at $999, the XA2 still "processes" the output to 1080p24/60 - [by any chance did this apply only to non-native-1080p sources, while the 1080p sources will be output as such natively without processing?]
4. HD-DVD has a slim advantage over BR at this point, if the new reviews of VC-1/AVC encoded releases are to be believed.
5. Still the same problems regarding the lack of widespread CE and studio support compared to BR. Niveus doesn't count.

Toshiba's key to survival and putting up a fight is not through parity with BR, but in being an all-round better proposition of bang-for-buck. I think Toshiba might have jumped the gun with these revisions.
raaj is offline  
post #201 of 4928 Old 09-14-2006, 08:11 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Robert D's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 4,083
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by TrevorS View Post

You tell me. A number of people on this forum were clearly saying it should be there, so I presume they like it. My guess it's a combination of future compatibility, avoidance of leaving a gap with BR, plus a pinch of model differentiation.

For my purposes, 1.1 is fine for the forseeable future. You?

-- Trevor

I guess the 1080p has some value in that at least when I go to BB I don't have to hear the blu shirt tell me BD is better because it's 1080p.

I bought the 56 inch 1080p HLR series Samsung DLP about a year ago so no plans to upgrade that for a while but when I do I may go for the new Sony "Pearl" projector.
Robert D is offline  
post #202 of 4928 Old 09-14-2006, 08:15 PM
Senior Member
 
SonyHD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Boston, MA
Posts: 377
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Again, does anyone know if these players will be able to play the new three-layered HD-DVD's? Thanks...
SonyHD is offline  
post #203 of 4928 Old 09-14-2006, 08:20 PM
AVS Special Member
 
TrevorS's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 6,232
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by SonyHD View Post

Again, does anyone know if these players will be able to play the new three-layered HD-DVD's? Thanks...

Just recognize the most you can hope for on that is speculation until the TL-45 spec is formalized by the DVD Forum. Toshiba can't say it does if the spec isn't hard.

-- Trevor
TrevorS is offline  
post #204 of 4928 Old 09-14-2006, 08:24 PM
Senior Member
 
SonyHD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Boston, MA
Posts: 377
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Thanks TrevorS for that reply. Well hopefully they will be able to because if would stink that everyone goes out and buys these new players, only to find out that these new three-layered disks won't be able to play on them.
SonyHD is offline  
post #205 of 4928 Old 09-14-2006, 08:42 PM
AVS Special Member
 
ckelly33's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: TENNESSEE!!
Posts: 1,018
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Forceflow View Post

Players have this function. The software needs to support the feature. The bookmark is the feature that HD DVD seems to rely upon for a "resume."

That's what I've read over & over again on these forums, but I didn't find it to be 100% correct. Once powered off the player tends to lose its place on BOTH HD-DVD's and SD-DVD's. Software within the HD-DVD's doesn't explain why it doesn't work with SD-DVD's. My Sony upconverting DVD player not only remembers its place when you stop the disc, but also when you power off and eject the disc. In a housefull of kids constantly ejecting my movie to watch their own, it's the latter function that I'd love to see .

I would think that with HD-DVD coming from the same forum as DVD, most of these (now common) features from SD-DVD players would take the next logical step into it's "new shiny format". I suppose leaving out some of these more convenient features will make for easier innovation for G2 (or later).
ckelly33 is online now  
post #206 of 4928 Old 09-14-2006, 09:02 PM
AVS Special Member
 
TrevorS's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 6,232
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by Robert D View Post

I guess the 1080p has some value in that at least when I go to BB I don't have to hear the blu shirt tell me BD is better because it's 1080p.

Is that ever true !

Quote:
Originally Posted by Robert D View Post

I bought the 56 inch 1080p HLR series Samsung DLP about a year ago so no plans to upgrade that for a while but when I do I may go for the new Sony "Pearl" projector.

I've DVI on my XBR, RGBHV on my LCD projector, and my A/V processor supports S-Video max -- all cutting edge, as you can see . However, I like the picture and sound (screen mounted above the TV) and the player HDMI is what allowed the video to come together (though I also use the component outputs). It would be fun to consider a 1080p projector, but it's definitely not in my near future.

As long as it works well, I'm satisfied.

-- Trevor
TrevorS is offline  
post #207 of 4928 Old 09-14-2006, 09:09 PM
AVS Special Member
 
TrevorS's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 6,232
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by SonyHD View Post

Thanks TrevorS for that reply. Well hopefully they will be able to because if would stink that everyone goes out and buys these new players, only to find out that these new three-layered disks won't be able to play on them.

I'm curious as to who manufactures the drives in the new players. I read NEC was out since their optical unit merged with Sony's optical unit, but with Sony having like 51% ownership. At the same time, Toshiba seems to have been moving forward with their own HD-DVD drive development -- though I wouldn't have thought it would be ready for the marketplace so soon.

-- Trevor
TrevorS is offline  
post #208 of 4928 Old 09-14-2006, 09:11 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Robert D's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 4,083
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by TrevorS View Post

I'm curious as to who manufactures the drives in the new players. I read NEC was out since their optical unit merged with Sony's optical unit, but with Sony having like 51% ownership. At the same time, Toshiba seems to have been moving forward with their own HD-DVD drive development -- though I wouldn't have thought it would be ready for the marketplace so soon.

-- Trevor

I believe the drive is a Toshiba.
Robert D is offline  
post #209 of 4928 Old 09-14-2006, 09:12 PM
AVS Special Member
 
ResOGlas's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 2,364
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
It would be nice to get rid of those boot up times and I already get my 5.1 with the HDMI out, but I'm going to wait and get a different player once Panasonic or JVC releases one. I'm not such a big fan of Toshiba, but I'm not against them either.
ResOGlas is offline  
post #210 of 4928 Old 09-14-2006, 09:18 PM
Advanced Member
 
ckong's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Posts: 529
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Can someone please explain in layman's term the difference between the HDMI 1.1 used in HD A1 and HDMI 1.2a that is used in A2?What does one have to do to enjoy DD TrueHD and DTS-HD Master now with the A2?
ckong is offline  
Reply HD DVD Players

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off