Xbox 360 as HD DVD Player: One and Only thread Here - Page 81 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #2401 of 4781 Old 11-11-2006, 11:26 PM
Senior Member
 
AuroraProject's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Lodi, CA
Posts: 322
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Got mine today, I just walked into my local Game Crazy and asked for one! For those asking about regular dvd upconversion, I tried a regular dvd in both drives over component and both output 480p, so it looks like no upconversion over component. I'm off to pick up a vga cable tomorrow.
AuroraProject is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2402 of 4781 Old 11-11-2006, 11:28 PM
Advanced Member
 
vanilla rice's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Posts: 550
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
i really hope it's true about the HDMI, primarily because i don't have an upconverting DVD player and it'd be nice if the 360 could do it for me. plus, i recently got Monster components, and while it was an upgrade from the stock, i can return them to switch to HDMI (i got them less than a month ago).
vanilla rice is offline  
post #2403 of 4781 Old 11-12-2006, 12:56 AM
Senior Member
 
Blippy2005's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 202
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
http://www.avsforum.com/avs-vb/showt...&&#post8872426

Quote:


I have an 8800GTX . And I now have, I believe, a hybrid BD/HD DVD player. I'm going to do some more testing and make sure everything is still working correctly, and then I'll document the entire creation process and how it all works together. It's not exactly the most intuitive system but I think it works! I'm not trying to be a tease, it will likely be Monday evening before I can have everything up. So if you want to try it yourself, then here's what you need:

The Japanese WinDVD release with patches
Altiris' Software Virtualization Personal Edition (free)
XBox HD DVD drive
Blu Ray drive
HDCP compliant video card
Fairly beefy system or a card that can handle the decoding

Use the Altiris software to create virtualization layers of both the HD and BD versions of WinDVD. Activate whichever layer you require for the disk you want to play. It worked for me with the HD DVD drive, and based on that it should work fine with BD. I'll be able to tell you for sure on Monday evening. Is it cheap? Nope. But having a hybrid player feels pretty good.

Here's a link to a post describing how to order Intervideo WinDVD 8 with HD-DVD/Blu-Ray support.

http://www.avsforum.com/avs-vb/showt...&&#post8871286

And another discussion on TheGreenButton (WINMCE forums)

http://thegreenbutton.com/forums/per...ad.aspx#148368




Thanks Microsoft & Toshiba!

So in theory assuming one had all the compliant parts already the HD-DVD addon drive for Xbox 360 is the drive to buy for PC as well! WOOHOO!
Blippy2005 is offline  
post #2404 of 4781 Old 11-12-2006, 01:39 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Robert D's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 4,083
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by vanilla rice View Post

i really hope it's true about the HDMI, primarily because i don't have an upconverting DVD player and it'd be nice if the 360 could do it for me. plus, i recently got Monster components, and while it was an upgrade from the stock, i can return them to switch to HDMI (i got them less than a month ago).

I believe the xBox will up-scale standard DVD's via the vga output.
Robert D is offline  
post #2405 of 4781 Old 11-12-2006, 03:36 AM
Newbie
 
jgasp's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 1
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
does anyone have their set with a mitsubishi wd-52631?
if so do you use a regular VGA to DVI adapter to display 1080p?
jgasp is offline  
post #2406 of 4781 Old 11-12-2006, 05:22 AM
Member
 
pospower's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 194
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Anyone willling to part with there coupon for CC. Or where can I get one.
pospower is offline  
post #2407 of 4781 Old 11-12-2006, 05:37 AM
Senior Member
 
purduealum91's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Posts: 389
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hey Gang,

THe link to that CC coupon came from I believe fat wallet. I downloaded, printed it out and took it to the only CC that had it in stock. Yes, it says no phorocopies are accepted. Mine took it with no questions asked.
purduealum91 is offline  
post #2408 of 4781 Old 11-12-2006, 05:44 AM
Senior Member
 
bass4040's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: san jose, ca, usa
Posts: 204
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
From the xbox scene forums, seems to be a driver released for the xbox hd drive for the pc. With it you can view the file structure and dump your bought movies to the hard drive, but it won't play the movie without the right software player. King Kong read as 30 gigs and Batman 24.8 gigs.
LL
bass4040 is offline  
post #2409 of 4781 Old 11-12-2006, 05:54 AM
Senior Member
 
gotspeed6's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 383
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
How do I get hd dvd to play from dashboard? I know its something very simple

im so far ahead...I feel outdated
gotspeed6 is offline  
post #2410 of 4781 Old 11-12-2006, 06:00 AM
Senior Member
 
purduealum91's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Posts: 389
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Gotspeed,

You need to go to the media tab on the dashboard I believe. Look towards the bottom for a spere on the left hand side. The sphere is bisected. Move your cursor over the upper-hals, and you eject the 360 drive. The lower half of the sphere ejects the add-ons tray.
purduealum91 is offline  
post #2411 of 4781 Old 11-12-2006, 06:35 AM
Member
 
Rhegaana's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 135
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hi everyone! Can someone let me know if the HD-DVD playback has small black bars on the left and right side via vga on lcd's, with the settings on the 360 at 1360x768. Preferably recent 768p samsungs.
I notice this during regular dvd playback with the 360. A small minor annoyance but the picture was still great.
Rhegaana is offline  
post #2412 of 4781 Old 11-12-2006, 06:43 AM
Member
 
Spooksta's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 25
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by mboojigga View Post

I am here to say HDMI not needed at this point in time.

So your saying my 12m $150 HDMI cable i use for my Denon DVD player should sit there and do nothing...?

I would say its best to have "The Best Of Both Worlds" to please everyone. If its possible then why not?
So stop with the not needed. It is needed!!!!
Spooksta is offline  
post #2413 of 4781 Old 11-12-2006, 06:48 AM
Member
 
Spooksta's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 25
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Spooksta View Post

Can someone please let me know if the Ghosting problem over component on the Xbox360/DVD playback (as seen on Pany AE500/700/900 projectors) is a problem with this Add on over component.

Realy need to know...Thanks


Sorry to quote myself but while my HDMI cable sits idle waiting for the Microsoft HDMI cable to to come out id really like to know if my component cable will work with the AE700. Someone has already pointed out that it should be fine as the HD-DVD add on will output 720p not 576p but id love to have proof.
Spooksta is offline  
post #2414 of 4781 Old 11-12-2006, 06:55 AM
AVS Special Member
 
lovswr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: St. Petersburg, FL
Posts: 1,527
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 14
Quote:
Originally Posted by Uptown193 View Post

here is my pic of my set up, wat u think? excuse the PQ, its form my analog camera phone.

Nice Yptonw193. I especially like the Sony RX as I have the very same one downstairs!

carry on with your HD-Lite Directv loving banter! <--Comedy Gold
Don't fall for the HDMI 1.3 Hype!
lovswr is offline  
post #2415 of 4781 Old 11-12-2006, 06:56 AM
Senior Member
 
gotspeed6's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 383
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by purduealum91 View Post

Gotspeed,

You need to go to the media tab on the dashboard I believe. Look towards the bottom for a spere on the left hand side. The sphere is bisected. Move your cursor over the upper-hals, and you eject the 360 drive. The lower half of the sphere ejects the add-ons tray.

thanks like I said VERY SIMPLE

im so far ahead...I feel outdated
gotspeed6 is offline  
post #2416 of 4781 Old 11-12-2006, 07:43 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Archaea's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Kansas City, MO
Posts: 5,786
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 2 Thread(s)
Quoted: 261 Post(s)
Liked: 566
Quote:
Originally Posted by BioSehnsucht View Post

It's been said before but I'll say it again. If your 360 is loud while playing DVDs/HD-DVDs you need to ventilate the system better.

During games, well the disc is spinning 12X constantly then and its quite loud. It's not the fans that make all the racket.

If someone has a "loud" player (louder than their DVD playback w/ internal drive) then I'd presume they got a bum drive.

There's more to it than that.....the launch units had two different drives, one of the drives was really loud, the other wasn't so bad....they've since replaced the really loud drive entirely. I read this on one of the xbox sites. If you've got the loud drive you've just got a loud system. My hand falls there for my launch day unit........the xbox 360 is loud enough to not want to be used as a dvd drive.

"Without subs it's just background music - with subs it's the main event!"
Archaea's Theatre Room
2011 KC Sub Shootout
2012 KC Blind Sub Shootout
My Subwoofer Recommendations by Pricepoint
Archaea is offline  
post #2417 of 4781 Old 11-12-2006, 07:44 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Damnationdoormat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 1,982
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Has this been posted yet?

From another forum:

Quote:


As discussed earlier, I was quite excited to discover a little package from Microsoft when I got back from Montreal. A brand new Xbox 360 HD DVD drive. After installing the hardware and associated updates I was I horrified to discover that when I hit the eject button for the first time the unit decided to rip out its HD DVD laser diode.

When the tray ejected it stopped about one third of the way out, did a little back and forward movement and then fully ejected. Of course sitting happily on the tray was the laser. Unit completely broken.

Damnationdoormat is offline  
post #2418 of 4781 Old 11-12-2006, 07:49 AM
AVS Special Member
 
cnickersonjr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Missouri City, Texas (Next door to SUGARLAND)
Posts: 3,031
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
What The *#$%
cnickersonjr is offline  
post #2419 of 4781 Old 11-12-2006, 08:37 AM
Senior Member
 
persiannight's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: Bristol, CT. USA
Posts: 401
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I've found both Charlie & Chocolate Family and V for Vendetta to be on the softer side as far as image quality goes. King Kong though looks razor sharp. I'm using a Westy 37" 1080p set via VGA cable. Just my observations. I returned my initial HD-DVD drive because it was REALLY loud and exchanged it and the new one is mega-quiet.
persiannight is offline  
post #2420 of 4781 Old 11-12-2006, 08:52 AM
Senior Member
 
lowenbotten's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 407
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Spooksta View Post

So your saying my 12m $150 HDMI cable i use for my Denon DVD player should sit there and do nothing...?

I would say its best to have "The Best Of Both Worlds" to please everyone. If its possible then why not?
So stop with the not needed. It is needed!!!!

Um, did you think you were impressing us by letting us know you have a $150 HDMI cable? I hope you realize that most people here will think you are quite foolish for spending that much on an HDMI cable.
lowenbotten is offline  
post #2421 of 4781 Old 11-12-2006, 09:14 AM
Senior Member
 
persiannight's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: Bristol, CT. USA
Posts: 401
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Well because it's $150, won't my 0's and 1's be transferred at a higher quality???
persiannight is offline  
post #2422 of 4781 Old 11-12-2006, 09:17 AM
Advanced Member
 
nharmon91's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Summerville, SC
Posts: 882
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by purduealum91 View Post

Heres the link to the coupon. My Amazon add-on will be going back.

http://img242.imageshack.us/my.php?image=cc40200zk2.jpg


Does this work?, If so does anyone know if EB Games does returns?, Cause $40 is definatly worth the hassle.
nharmon91 is offline  
post #2423 of 4781 Old 11-12-2006, 09:30 AM
Member
 
unimatrixzer0's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 20
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Why do you need the Japanese version of WinDVD? Doesn't WinDVD 8 offer HD support already? So I'm going to assume the menu's and options are all in Japanese as well?
unimatrixzer0 is offline  
post #2424 of 4781 Old 11-12-2006, 09:34 AM
Member
 
mlb5000's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Annapolis, MD
Posts: 170
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Damnationdoormat View Post

Has this been posted yet?

From another forum:




That's f-ed up...glad mine didn't do that.
mlb5000 is offline  
post #2425 of 4781 Old 11-12-2006, 09:37 AM
AVS Special Member
 
cnickersonjr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Missouri City, Texas (Next door to SUGARLAND)
Posts: 3,031
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by nharmon91 View Post

Does this work?, If so does anyone know if EB Games does returns?, Cause $40 is definatly worth the hassle.

I inquired about returns when I did my preorder at the local EB. I was told once it was opened, it couldn't be returned. You could trade it in towards another purchase(but the credit is BS, as always). So I canceled my preorder. Try it and see, but I dought it.
cnickersonjr is offline  
post #2426 of 4781 Old 11-12-2006, 09:38 AM
 
Uptown193's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: New York
Posts: 756
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by lovswr View Post

Nice Yptonw193. I especially like the Sony RX as I have the very same one downstairs!

thanks a lot bro, it works great right and give out nice sound in DTS. Cheers to you.
Uptown193 is offline  
post #2427 of 4781 Old 11-12-2006, 09:40 AM
 
Uptown193's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: New York
Posts: 756
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Wow i cant believe that happened to you, definately defective. oh well go back and get a new one.
Uptown193 is offline  
post #2428 of 4781 Old 11-12-2006, 09:51 AM
Member
 
racerx77's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 127
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by persiannight View Post

I've found both Charlie & Chocolate Family and V for Vendetta to be on the softer side as far as image quality goes. King Kong though looks razor sharp. I'm using a Westy 37" 1080p set via VGA cable.

Thats really odd. Charlie and the chocolate factory is beyond amazing on my set. Not soft at all. (Mitsubishi 65731) not sure if it has anything to do with VGA or not. Or perhaps even the player (Toshiba HD-A1).
racerx77 is offline  
post #2429 of 4781 Old 11-12-2006, 10:02 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Karnis's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2000
Location: Frederick MD USA
Posts: 6,862
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 13
I picked one up this morning, the various Electronics Boutique stores and their variants seem to be the way to go. Installation is a snap. The drive also has 2 USB ports which can be used as a hub. The drive tray seems pretty flimsy. The overall audio volume seems a bit low as reported, at least on Batman Begins. The remote is back lit and responsive...remember to remove the plastic film from the remote. Picture quality is excellent, I'm using 720p component out to a Samsung 50" 720p DLP HDTV. BB is nice and sharp with deep blacks. Havent tried King Kong yet, and I also have MI:3 as well. First impressions are impressive, excellent value for the money, especially when you throw in the remote & the KK disc. One nice feature of HD DVD is you can access all the disc menus without interrupting the movie.
Karnis is offline  
post #2430 of 4781 Old 11-12-2006, 10:05 AM
Member
 
Spooksta's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 25
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by lowenbotten View Post

Um, did you think you were impressing us by letting us know you have a $150 HDMI cable? I hope you realize that most people here will think you are quite foolish for spending that much on an HDMI cable.

No i didn't. Your point is, apart from being pointless?


http://www2.dvigear.com/hffiopcaff10.html

http://www2.dvigear.com/hdmi12metershr.html

Mine looks cheap now.. happy
Spooksta is offline  
Reply HD DVD Players

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off