Xbox 360 as HD DVD Player: One and Only thread Here - Page 94 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #2791 of 4781 Old 11-17-2006, 11:38 PM
Senior Member
 
Hyper_Eye's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Madison, AL
Posts: 282
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by Billbofet View Post

Here's a noobie question regarding the audio on the HD-DVD drive.
I have noticed that I really have to crank the audio up on my receiver to get it to where my normal listening volume is for standard dvd's. Also, when I turn it up, it is LOUD if I go back to playing a 360 game.

Is there any way to adjust the volume or output for the HD drive?
Normal listening for DVD's on my receiver is 12-15
Normal listenign for Xbox360 games is 10-12
On the HD DVD drive, I'm putting it up to 18-20.

At this volume, the sound quality, at least for me, is excellent, but it's just a little annoying to be adjusting the volume before going back in to the dashboard.

Thanks in advance.
Bill

I noticed this problem on "The Last Samurai" but not on "King Kong". I have not found any way to adjust it before the receiver.
Hyper_Eye is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2792 of 4781 Old 11-18-2006, 01:44 AM
Advanced Member
 
BioSehnsucht's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Dallas TX
Posts: 721
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I didn't really notice any lag with either Tokyo Drift or Kong.. there might be a hint of lag, but very slight. If this were something playing back via XBMC I don't think it's audio +- delay function would have a fine enough granularity to 'correct' it. I have a Pioneer VSX-D812K, and am currently using a 19" Viewsonic CRT monitor (no video delay). What is everyone else using?
BioSehnsucht is offline  
post #2793 of 4781 Old 11-18-2006, 08:23 AM
AVS Special Member
 
FilmMixer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 1999
Location: Los Angeles Area, CA. USA
Posts: 6,814
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 466 Post(s)
Liked: 495
Quote:
Originally Posted by Hyper_Eye View Post

I noticed this problem on "The Last Samurai" but not on "King Kong". I have not found any way to adjust it before the receiver.

The initial Warner Brothers titles (TLS, MDB, POTO, etc) were authored around 10-12 db lower than subsequent titles.. this has been well documented... it isn't a player issues.
FilmMixer is online now  
post #2794 of 4781 Old 11-18-2006, 02:26 PM
Senior Member
 
knownzero's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Location: Somewhere between zero and infinity
Posts: 242
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Well, I went out and got a 360 and HD-DVD drive today and I've had a chance to play with it a bit. Have it hooked up to a 52" LG DLP via the VGA cable and this thing looks fantastic. I haven't had a lot of time to use it because OSU is playing UM right now but the little I've played with it, it's awesome. More later after OSU wins...
knownzero is offline  
post #2795 of 4781 Old 11-18-2006, 02:32 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Linux23's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: NJ
Posts: 1,412
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Got mine yesterday from Amazon and it looks really good. Great job Microsoft. I must say that King Kong is reference material on my Pearl.
Linux23 is offline  
post #2796 of 4781 Old 11-18-2006, 02:40 PM
Newbie
 
doctor carta's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 3
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Been reading alot of problems that people are having with their hd-dvd drive trying to play movies at 1080p.I too am having problems...i can play "gears of war" at 1080p via Xbox 360 Component HD AV Cables but cant play 1080p on the Xbox 360 HD DVD Player?This site says you can view 1080p via Xbox 360 VGA HD AV Cables on the hd-dvd player but microsoft says the vga cable supports up to 1080i.What exactly is going on?

Thanks
doctor carta is offline  
post #2797 of 4781 Old 11-18-2006, 02:42 PM
Advanced Member
 
JudgeSmails's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Kennesaw, GA
Posts: 685
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 14 Post(s)
Liked: 64
Quote:
Originally Posted by twak View Post

Anyone else having trouble with their wireless adapter and hd-dvd drive. If I dock it and plug it in to the drive, sometimes it will not turn the wireless adapter on. Now I know this is not an isolated issue because this is my second hd-dvd drive ( I had to exchange my first one because of a problem with the eject button) and the same happened on it.

Obviously an easy work around is to dock the adapter back on the console and plug the drive into a front usb port but I still find this bothersome.

Mine worked OK. I have the HD-DVD running via back USB on the system and I have the wireless adapter running off back of HD-DVD.

JS

Big Trouble in Little China - greatest film ever made

Gamertag: Team Banzai
JudgeSmails is offline  
post #2798 of 4781 Old 11-18-2006, 02:43 PM
Senior Member
 
twak's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Vancouver, Canada
Posts: 355
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by doctor carta View Post

Been reading alot of problems that people are having with their hd-dvd drive trying to play movies at 1080p.I too am having problems...i can play "gears of war" at 1080p via Xbox 360 Component HD AV Cables but cant play 1080p on the Xbox 360 HD DVD Player?This site says you can view 1080p via Xbox 360 VGA HD AV Cables on the hd-dvd player but microsoft says the vga cable supports up to 1080i.What exactly is going on?

Thanks

You will only get 1080i with component cables and hd-dvd movies. You will only get 480p with regular dvd's and component cables. You will get 1080p with VGA. Games you will get 1080p over component because there is no copy protection in games as there is in movies.

Here is a link which confirms what I speak:

http://www.engadgethd.com/2006/09/21...ent-1080p-vga/

Hope you understand as well as all the others who are having trouble grasping this.
twak is offline  
post #2799 of 4781 Old 11-18-2006, 03:18 PM
Member
 
JasZ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Houston, TX
Posts: 112
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hey guys. I'm kind of a newb here. I just got the HD-DVD add-on and I'm running it on my HP LC3700N (Sharp) LCD TV over a Monster VGA w/DVI adapter with my output set to the 1366x768 native rez of the TV.

Since I use VGA, I've had to adjust my colors to avoid the wash out for games, but when I played the KK movie I kept getting weird "artifacting?" in the scenes in the beginning where the ship is in the mist just before getting to the island. Happened when there was a light source in the dark mist. Sorry I'm not savy enough yet to describe this any better. Anyway, I had to adjust all my color settings again (turning down the blue, cyan, and magenta colors and saturation) to get rid of this effect. Its weird because I've never seen it on upscaled DVDs or WMV-HD files, but I just may not have had the right scene. Has anyone else seen anything like this? I have to see how Gears of War looks with these new settings or maybe I'll switch to component.

BTW. I've just had my audio set to DD+ and I didn't have any issue with audio sync on KK.
JasZ is offline  
post #2800 of 4781 Old 11-18-2006, 03:20 PM
Member
 
isayx3's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Sourthern California
Posts: 18
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Picked up my HD-DVD drive thursday. I used it with my SP7200 projector @ 720p. Watched MI:3 last night, great picture and noticed no sound lag.

Picked up Van Helsing today and will compare it with the DVD on my Pany S77 upconversion (hooked up via HDMI).

Right now im using component, but should have 360 VGA cables soon to compare.
isayx3 is offline  
post #2801 of 4781 Old 11-18-2006, 04:26 PM
Newbie
 
doctor carta's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 3
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by twak View Post

You will only get 1080i with component cables and hd-dvd movies. You will only get 480p with regular dvd's and component cables. You will get 1080p with VGA. Games you will get 1080p over component because there is no copy protection in games as there is in movies.

Here is a link which confirms what I speak:



Hope you understand as well as all the others who are having trouble grasping this.

but Microsoft says their cables are only capable up to 1080i?i dont quite understand...


Thanks for your help twak
doctor carta is offline  
post #2802 of 4781 Old 11-18-2006, 04:29 PM
Senior Member
 
twak's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Vancouver, Canada
Posts: 355
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by doctor carta View Post

but Microsoft says their cables are only capable up to 1080i?i dont quite understand...


Thanks for your help twak

Show me a link please, cables will display anything they are told to display by the adjoining device.
twak is offline  
post #2803 of 4781 Old 11-18-2006, 05:58 PM
Senior Member
 
whitenoise's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 273
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by nataraj View Post

Essentially both VGA/RGB and component use 3 video inputs. VGA uses RGB and component uses YPbPr. So, if your TV takes RGB over component you can take the VGA output from 360 - use a cheap vga to component adopter cable ...

Thanks for the advice! I am going to pull the very heavy entertainment center back and check for these inputs tonight.
whitenoise is offline  
post #2804 of 4781 Old 11-18-2006, 07:23 PM
Advanced Member
 
Jdog35's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 758
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 9 Post(s)
Liked: 30
Hey all. I too have my new happy HD-DVD drive for my 360. I don' t have any questions that haven't already been asked. I don't have any observations that haven't already been stated. All I want to say is I really love my new toy, and thanks to everyone here, I didn't have any problems with settings, cables, etc. Plug it in, play the movies, enjoy my visual o-gsm Thanks for everyone on the previous 94 pages for your comments, y'all don't get enough credit for how much you help everyone here.

Big Dumb Mammal
Jdog35 is offline  
post #2805 of 4781 Old 11-18-2006, 07:37 PM
Senior Member
 
gotspeed6's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 383
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
what tv allow 1080p through component cables?

im so far ahead...I feel outdated
gotspeed6 is offline  
post #2806 of 4781 Old 11-18-2006, 07:44 PM
AVS Special Member
 
nataraj's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2000
Location: WA
Posts: 8,020
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by whitenoise View Post

Thanks for the advice! I am going to pull the very heavy entertainment center back and check for these inputs tonight.

I'm not so sure anymore. VGA normally converts to RGBHV - so, not sure how just RGB would work. May be something to check in the HDTV forum.
nataraj is offline  
post #2807 of 4781 Old 11-18-2006, 07:54 PM
Member
 
PDonthate's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Atlanta
Posts: 52
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by twak View Post

Show me a link please, cables will display anything they are told to display by the adjoining device.

This link says 1080i or 720p for MS HD Components

http://www.xbox.com/en-US/hardware/x...ponenthdcable/

This one for VGA says 1080p gaming

http://www.xbox.com/en-US/hardware/x/xbox360vgahdcable/
PDonthate is offline  
post #2808 of 4781 Old 11-18-2006, 08:12 PM
Senior Member
 
twak's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Vancouver, Canada
Posts: 355
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by gotspeed6 View Post

what tv allow 1080p through component cables?

Mine will thank you.
twak is offline  
post #2809 of 4781 Old 11-18-2006, 08:14 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Frohlich's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Cincinnati
Posts: 1,984
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 116 Post(s)
Liked: 193
Quote:
Originally Posted by PDonthate View Post

This link says 1080i or 720p for MS HD Components

http://www.xbox.com/en-US/hardware/x...ponenthdcable/

This one for VGA says 1080p gaming

http://www.xbox.com/en-US/hardware/x/xbox360vgahdcable/

They only say 1080I because that is what XBOX 360 did until the recent update via Live. When the component cables came out a year ago that is what the XBOX could display (720P or 1080I) so that is what they advertised. Component cables themselves have no idea what signal is being fed to them, they will display whatever they are told to display. They have no limitation specific to the wire itself (though they may have some theoritical limit).


My updated (2/2014)HT set-up


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

Frohlich is online now  
post #2810 of 4781 Old 11-18-2006, 08:15 PM
Senior Member
 
twak's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Vancouver, Canada
Posts: 355
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by PDonthate View Post

This link says 1080i or 720p for MS HD Components

http://www.xbox.com/en-US/hardware/x...ponenthdcable/

This one for VGA says 1080p gaming

http://www.xbox.com/en-US/hardware/x/xbox360vgahdcable/

Vga says 1080p games and movies which is correct.

Component says 1080i, which is what you will get in hd-dvd movies because of hdcp, but you will get 1080p in games if your tv is compatible.
twak is offline  
post #2811 of 4781 Old 11-18-2006, 10:48 PM
Senior Member
 
gotspeed6's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 383
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by twak View Post

Mine will thank you.

and what tv is that? I have not seen any

im so far ahead...I feel outdated
gotspeed6 is offline  
post #2812 of 4781 Old 11-18-2006, 11:10 PM
Senior Member
 
twak's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Vancouver, Canada
Posts: 355
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by gotspeed6 View Post

and what tv is that? I have not seen any

Sharp lc37d90u and I might suggest you do some research because there is quite a few on the market.

twak is offline  
post #2813 of 4781 Old 11-18-2006, 11:41 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Category 5's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Ft. Lauderdale, FL
Posts: 1,266
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Scott KL View Post

Not sure if this has been asked before but when connecting the HD-DVD add on to a Pioneer plasma 1366 x 768p is there any benefit in connecting via the VGA cable, i.e. can it display native resolution? I am currently using component out via a VP30 video processor set to 720p for games and will probably use 1080i for movies so display will deinterlace and scale to 768p (I'm pretty sure it cannot accept 1080p). Is there an option for VGA 1366 x 768 output from the HD-DVD add on and can this be connected through the VP30 or will it have to be connected to the pioneer VGA PC input directly?

Thanks in advance for yor help.

Scott

P.S. I do not have the add-on yet but will receive in next 2 weeks when Japanese add-ons are released and will be connecting to my Asia Xbox 360. Just don't want to waste 60 bucks on the VGA cable if no benefit.

Xbox has 1360x760 VGA resolution (direct pixel map will just leave 3 pixles on each side black so you get true 1/1 reproduction). On my Aquos, once I finally lowered the brigthness and raised the contrast I get an amazong picture. In fact, HD-DVD on the 360 over VGA beats the 360 over component at 1080i or 720p, and get this - for PQ it beats the Roshiba HD-A1 over HDMI at 1080i or 720p. The scaler in the 360 is WAY better than the one in my Aquos...although it takes getting used to VGA and switching back before it becomes evident.

If you have brightness and contrast controls you should be able to dial it in. Going back to component for me yields a oversaturated, blooming, overscanned mess comparitively. Long live VGA.

Now if only Amirm would let us know if they are working on the color issue, MS could tout VGA as a significant advantage over PS3. To my knowledge, HDMI is a very fidgety standard so far, and color tables/handshaking etc are handled differently from set to set giving mixed results (i.e. the black crush issues).

I Like Digital!
Category 5 is offline  
post #2814 of 4781 Old 11-18-2006, 11:41 PM
Senior Member
 
gotspeed6's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 383
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by twak View Post

Sharp lc37d90u and I might suggest you do some research because there is quite a few on the market.


thanks, but dayum it was just a question some people like to go... wait nevermind

im so far ahead...I feel outdated
gotspeed6 is offline  
post #2815 of 4781 Old 11-19-2006, 12:20 AM
Senior Member
 
twak's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Vancouver, Canada
Posts: 355
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by gotspeed6 View Post

thanks, but dayum it was just a question some people like to go... wait nevermind

Sorry, I got frustrated at the notion that there was none out there just because you have not seen any.
twak is offline  
post #2816 of 4781 Old 11-19-2006, 01:18 AM
Newbie
 
doctor carta's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 3
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by twak View Post

Vga says 1080p games and movies which is correct.

Component says 1080i, which is what you will get in hd-dvd movies because of hdcp, but you will get 1080p in games if your tv is compatible.

so whats the big deal with the legal rights of not letting 1080p be viewed via component cables?

thanks again guys!
doctor carta is offline  
post #2817 of 4781 Old 11-19-2006, 01:24 AM
AVS Special Member
 
talbain's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: New Jersey
Posts: 5,015
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by gotspeed6 View Post

what tv allow 1080p through component cables?


mine does. westinghouse 37w3

---Mr. Met---

J-E-T-S-JETS JETS JETS!!!!!!! --- LETS GO DE-VILS!!!!!!! --- LETS GO METS!!!!!!! --- LETS GO NETS!!!!!!!
talbain is offline  
post #2818 of 4781 Old 11-19-2006, 02:12 AM
Member
 
spiderjericho's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: California
Posts: 77
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I ordered one through EB a few weeks ago. I still haven't tinkered with it (military and TAD), but I bought Batman Begins, Superman Returns, Unleashed, Full Metal Jacket, Good Fellas, Superman The Movie, Superman II, Traffic and Training Day.

I have a 26"XBR1 (I'd buy a bigger tv, but it's such a hassle to get it overseas).

I have a few questions...

Is there a website where it shows what titles are on the horizon, as Amazon and Best Buy don't really provide much information.

And what software will allow you to play the movies on a PC? I have a Dell Inspiron E1705 with MCE. I saw in the article posted a few pages back that there was a Power DVD HD-DVD, but went to the Cyberlink website and couldn't find it. The same for Win DVD.

Thanks in advance.
spiderjericho is offline  
post #2819 of 4781 Old 11-19-2006, 02:55 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Robert D's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 4,083
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by spiderjericho View Post

I ordered one through EB a few weeks ago. I still haven't tinkered with it (military and TAD), but I bought Batman Begins, Superman Returns, Unleashed, Full Metal Jacket, Good Fellas, Superman The Movie, Superman II, Traffic and Training Day.

I have a 26"XBR1 (I'd buy a bigger tv, but it's such a hassle to get it overseas).

I have a few questions...

Is there a website where it shows what titles are on the horizon, as Amazon and Best Buy don't really provide much information.

And what software will allow you to play the movies on a PC? I have a Dell Inspiron E1705 with MCE. I saw in the article posted a few pages back that there was a Power DVD HD-DVD, but went to the Cyberlink website and couldn't find it. The same for Win DVD.

Thanks in advance.

Here you go http://hddvd.highdefdigest.com/releasedates.html and I believe the software is out in Japan but not here yet.
Robert D is offline  
post #2820 of 4781 Old 11-19-2006, 06:36 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Schlotkins's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Posts: 1,871
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
This is going to sound stupid, but I'm thinking about getting one of these and a xbox just to play HD-DVDs - absolutely no games. The reason is to get 1:1 pixel mapping on my panny plasma. The question is: Which Xbox would I need? Do I just need the core? I have the VGA cable I'd need and the HD-DVD comes with a remote. Any suggestions?

Thanks,
Chris
Schlotkins is offline  
Reply HD DVD Players

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off