HD-A1 lockups AFTER 2.0? - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Baselworld is only a few weeks away. Getting the latest news is easy, Click Here for info on how to join the Watchuseek.com newsletter list. Follow our team for updates featuring event coverage, new product unveilings, watch industry news & more!


Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 5 Old 10-25-2006, 02:32 PM - Thread Starter
Advanced Member
 
jayrader's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 883
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Trying to do some research here on lockups, and from what I was reading the lockups should have been resolved with the 2.0 firmware. Whats strange is BEFORE the 2.0 (with 1.4) I had ZERO lockups, now I tend to have at least one per HD DVD disk (SD disks are fine)

Anyone else have an increased number of lockups after 2.0?
jayrader is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 5 Old 10-25-2006, 02:44 PM
AVS Special Member
 
obxdiver's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: SouthEastCoast, VA
Posts: 1,459
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 7 Post(s)
Liked: 42
I watched Tokyo Drift last night and had 2 lockups, forcing long reboots, right when the movie is getting good.
Im on Ver 1.4
It could have been the disk. It was a rental from Netflix and was pretty sratched.
I have had lockups on brand new disk as well.
I will not be upgrading to 2.0 any time soon
obxdiver is offline  
post #3 of 5 Old 10-26-2006, 06:03 AM
Member
 
stewa's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Mason, MI
Posts: 153
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I just got my A1 last week. It came preloaded with 2.0. I have watched 3 new movies (Aeon Flux, Corpse Bride, Bourne Supremacy) with no lockups. I have tried only one standard DVD so far - Pleasantville. I tried it first with 1080i resolution and the player locked at startup. After clearing it and switching to 480p the disc played fine. I was able to switch it to 1080i after starting and it continued OK. Have not tried that disc again to see if lockup repeats.
stewa is offline  
post #4 of 5 Old 10-26-2006, 08:24 AM
AVS Special Member
 
ThePrisoner's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Jupiter and beyond infinite
Posts: 2,288
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 89 Post(s)
Liked: 44
I get quick audio drop-outs once in a while, I'm running v2.0, when I had v1.3 I never had a single problem. Maybe the next update will correct this.

Dolby Atmos 5.2.4
Denon AVR-4100X - Oppo BDP-103 - Panasonic 60GT30 - Definitive Technology BP-8060ST
Definitive Technology CS-8060HD - Definitive Technology SR-8040BP -
Definitive Technology PM800 (4) ceiling mounted - SVS PC12-NSD (2)


2 Channel - Marantz PM8004 - Oppo BDP-105D - Music Hall MMF-5.1 - iFi Phono - Pioneer SP-BS22LR
ThePrisoner is online now  
post #5 of 5 Old 01-14-2007, 09:50 AM
Member
 
sprocto4's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Brockport, NY
Posts: 199
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
So, lockups and freezes are nothing new. For me, most HD-DVD disks have at least a momentary pause or 5. Over half lock up the player requiring power cycle. From what I am reading, this doesn't seem typical. Has anyone had errors at this level and done anything to fix it? Has sending the unit in for repair fixed it? SD DVDs are flawless.

HD-A1
October Manufacture
FW 2.0
HDMI connection
Mostly Netflix
sprocto4 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply HD DVD Players

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off